Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The Return of the Prodigal Son

Random House, Inc The Return of the Prodigal Son

When Henri Nouwen stumbled across a poster of Rembrandt's Return of the Prodigal Son he began a spiritual journey that would help him understand the biblical parable as well as the story of his own life. Take this opportunity to join Henri as he leads the wayward prodigal and judgmental sibling who reside within each of us towards the open-handed, overwhelming compassion and eternal love of the Father. The Return of the Prodigal Son will transform your reading of the parable and the way you understand your life story.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Review 1 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
BobP
Location:Madison, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book to re-read and keep on my shelf, but I was moved to give it to an Orthodox friend as I enthusiastically recounted my own experience after my first read! This is a life-altering reflection, worthy of re-reading from time to time. Thank you Nouwen! I will be ordering a few more to share, and one to keep!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed with this product as I did not realise it was made to look like an old book.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Execllent dipiction of the Christian Life

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Claris Skerritt
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Christian we are the Father/Mother that even though humiliated by children still continues to care and love them and is always ready to welcome them back into the fold not looking on their faults as a reproach. Yet as the one who stayed at church would realize the fruit are our for the asking and taking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Are not all adults prodigal sons?

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda L
Location:eastern NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Truly special book by one of my favorite delineators of the spiritual life. Nouwen bares his own soul in this book, more than in some of his other works. As a meditation and interpretation of Rembrandt's famous painting, it can be very moving to read. Worthwhile in the highest degree.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Profound.

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nana Mo
Location:Auckland, New Zealand
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Henri Nouwen book causes me to see my Lord, myself and my faith with new spiritual eyes. I find I must read them very slowly, stop and consider certain passages, then read again. Finally I must have the book on my shelf, so that I can refresh myself often from the author's deep love of God and boundless compassion for humanity. This review will serve for every one of his books.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent commentary on the Father's love

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Geneva, Il
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Henri's writing is profound and personal. He leads the reader to explore their own heart attitudes, but more importantly the heart of Father God for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterful

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
aaronwmatthews
Location:Alma, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A chance encounter with a poster depicting a detail of Rembrandt's The Return of the Prodigal Son set in motion a chain of events that enabled Nouwen to redefine and claim his vocation late in his life. As Nouwen articulates the aspects of the painting in comparison to the Parable in Luke 15:11-32, we see a deeper meaning to the story unfolded.
I happened upon this book by chance, much like Nouwen did with Rembrandt's painting in a friend's office. It is now a favorite. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to delve into a deeper reflection of God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Meditation Book

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian De Fereire
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received a old copy of this book a few years ago and loved it. So, now that I needed to get another copy , I got it here at Christian Book.com. I recommend it highly for Lenten meditation and contemplation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Thorn
excellent easy reading and very enlightening for the reader. Understanding in many areas of forgiveness
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Theora Ohaneson
Awesome book, the author does a fantastic job of allowing his readers to go to broader and new views of the parable. This book brings to life, the painting by Rembrandt, but also your own life in realtion to the lost son, unforgiving brother, and the ever open arms of the Father. Best book I have read in my 67 years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bruce J Simpson
What a wonderful expositing of Luke 15:11-32. I believe that I may have coined the term "teachamony" which would apply to this book. The reader should check out an online original image of the painting as the cover photo is too dark to pick out details relevant to the book. It truly blessed me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judith Cassells
This book is a brilliant new look at how we view this parable and I recommend it to all my friends and even tho I don't need more books on my shelf I had to buy this one so that I could lend it to people I felt would grow from reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Lake
A friend lent me this book, and while learning to accept the Love of Father God, Henri Nouwen reveals his journey to not only receive the Father's Love, but to give out His Unconditional Love as well it was soothing, had me cry and let my feelings out and oh my, i have bought 5 copies to give to some special people in my life, some who are artists and can identify with Rembrandt's painting, praying for their understanding of how much we are loved by Our Heavenly Father, that He will always provide, protect and heal us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Robert W. Kellemen
For millions of people of many faiths, the story of the Prodigal Son resonates with something deep within. Which of us in the human family does not long for faithful love? Which of us does not crave reconciliation? Because the story is so familiar to so many, it requires an artist not with a brush but with a pen. In "The Return of the Prodigal Son," Henri Nouwen paints from the palette of Scripture, Rembrandt, Church history, his life, and his soul-telling the story as if it had never been told before. In his masterful hands, it becomes the Parable of the Forgiving Father, then the Parable of the Pharisaical Son, then the Parable of His Life, and then the Parable of My Life. Rarely has anyone so poignantly revealed so many shades of meaning from a painting or a passage. Don't worry, you need not be an art connoisseur or a lover of Scripture to savor Nouwen's story telling. Being human will suffice. Reviewer: Dr. Bob Kellemen, author of "Soul Physicians: A Theology of Soul Care and Spiritual Direction" and "Spiritual Friends: A Methodology of Soul Care and Spiritual Direction."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rick Miller
The Return of the Prodigal Son is one of the most convicting books I have recently read. In Nouwen's book, I have found myself to be a prodigal who needs to return home to my Father. I have been convicted of being a self-righteous older brother who has stayed home but desperately needs to return to my Father. Lastly, I have been challenged to imitate the Father who weeps over the leaving of His children and who longs for, and rejoices in, the return of His children. This book, along with Yancey's What's So Amazing About Grace?, is a call for modern believers to rediscover God's grace and be transformed by God's grace.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Return of the Prodigal Son
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2000
Customer Avatar
Ed Eubanks
Nouwen's clear and understandable explanation of the depth of our identity in the parable of the prodigal son is met with his vulnerable and emotional response to it. Nouwen superbly draws insight out of Rembrandt's painting by the same title, which becomes the hub around which our discussion of the parable revolves. I could not more highly recommend a book for personal growth and understanding of the scope of one's faith in life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.