Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1

Avon Inspire Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1

Anna Metzger's handsome boyfriend holds a prestigious law firm position. But Rob's pillar-of-the-community facade masks frightening flaws! Fleeing to Brenneman's Bed & Breakfast, Anna finds refuge with Amish friend, Katie. Resenting this "fancy woman's" intrusion, Katie's brother, Henry, ignores Anna---while concealing his true feelings. Will the one man who won't ignore her destroy Anna's happiness?
Average Customer Rating:
4.86 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Review 1 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hidden is a "Hidden Gem"

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
StacyW
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you haven't had the chance to read an Amish Book or if you like to read books in this genre then you'll want to read Hidden. A friend of mine gave me this book to read, it was the very first Amish book that I had read. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Hidden is a "Hidden" Gem! Shelley Shepard Gray gives us a rare glimpse into the Amish life. A unique touching love story that spans two different ways of life. You will be drawn in from the first page. Her characters seem so real and will pull you into the story.
Hidden is a special story to me. Anna and Katie are my favorite characters in this story. I totally felt Anna's struggle as she ran away from an abusive relationship, to finding her own voice, independence, and a new way of living while she was staying with Katie and her family at the bed and breakfast. I was cheering her on as she renewed her faith and found God's love, and when she realized that she had found love again with Henry. I was on the edge of my seat when Anna and the family faced her abuser.
I love that the setting was in a bed and breakfast and it sounds so beautiful the landscape and the town. I was glad that her and Katie's friendship was strengthened even though they had some differences. Reading about how the Amish live and their values really struck a chord with me. I enjoyed learning how the Amish work the land, and use no electricity, and they work hard for what they do have. All the characters add depth to Anna's story and are each unique in their own way. I would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hidden

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lorraine A
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HIDDEN is a story of how a beautiful timid woman finds strength to leave her very powerful, handsome & abusive boyfriend. Up until she’d finally seen what kind of man Rob Peterson was Anna had done everything he told her to do in order to please him. She had even left her job and took a part time one so she’d have more time to spend with him. Rob was running for a seat in the House of Representatives and he needed beautiful Anna on his arm at political functions.
After another “accident”…that’s what Rob called it, Anna was determined she would get away from Rob and he would never hit her again. She left her parents a note saying she was going to Florida for a couple of weeks with friends. Then she headed for Amish country and the home of her childhood friend Katie Brenneman. She felt sure Rob would never think to look for her among the Amish. He was determined to find her for several reasons. She knew too much. No one ever walked away from Rob Peterson. He needed his arm candy & everyone liked Anna.
The Brenneman’s welcomed her into their home with the exception of Katie’s brother Henry. He was skeptical of Anna and the English in general. He had lost the girl he thought he would marry to the English world. Anna quickly became a part of the Brenneman B&B helping with chores, cooking, whatever needed doing. She was very comfortable living and dressing Amish. She showed such compassion after the death of Henry’s beloved dog that he started seeing her through different eyes.
Will Anna be safe at the B&B? Will danger come to the Brennemans? Will Rob be able to find her in Amish country dressed as one of them? Will the secret that she knows about Rob come out? What of Anna & Henry? Will Anna stay at the B&B and even become Amish? Read this wonderfully written story by NY Times & USA Today’s bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray and find out what happens to Rob, Anna and the Brennemans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
lilakaser
Location:Coshocton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read Hidden and it was a great book. Its about an English woman who lives in the city and is being physically abused by her boyfriend. She goes to the Amish country to escape him. There are twists and turns but she eventually finds love within the Amish community. I loved this book because it dealt with a growing problem in America and things you have to overcome to get on in your life. I recommend this book to everyone. It is a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
gramap
Location:Evans City, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i loved the book! I received all the volumes and loved every one of them. Can't wait until more come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
I have really enjoyed the sisters of the heart series.I loved seeing the emotional and spiritual growth in the characters. I would highly recommend any book the author writes. I felt like I was walking right along with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
"Hidden" got my attention and kept it through out the entire book. The story comes from a very interesting and different perspective. Henry and Anna have two of the most intriguing yet antagonistic personalities. This is one of my favorite books, thanks to the wonderful writing of Shelley Shepard Gray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Lewis
I bought this series for my wife to read. However, I picked it up one nightt, and to make a long story short, I read the whole series. Very well written, and good story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Grindle
I couldn't hardly put the book down. It was very spellbinding. I enjoyed it so much as well as the others by this Author, and can't wait until I find more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
This book is really good, this is what got me hooked on amish books. A great story of how love blooms in the most unusual ways, with the most unexpectant people. Also, how God will deliver those who ask for deliverance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Courtney
It was a awesome book... Recommend it to everyone. Give you a good insight of the Amish people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
This review is fromHidden, Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
From the first page of this book you will be unable to put it down. It is excellent and all Amish fiction readers will love it. I highly recommend it. It is one of my very favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Voodre
I have always enjoyed novels about the Amish. Hidden and the 2nd book Wanted were excellent reading. I just came back from vacation where I was able to visit Lancaster in PA and enjoyed the many shops and the shopkeepers knowledge when I asked them a question about the Amish. It was wonderful to see the horse and buggies, the women and children working in the fields, The Kitchen Kettle where the canning of Chow Chow and others products are made for everyone. Hope that this author lets us know how many books are in the Sisters of the Heart series.thanks for enjoyable reading. Looking forward to the reading the 3rd book, Forgiven, by author Shelley Shepard Gray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise
Easy reading. I can't wait for the next one in the series to come out. It gave a different picture of the Amish than a lot of the other novels. It shows the more gentle side than some. I will certainly plan to read another book by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Snyder
I enjoyed it very much. Easy read, and did not want to put it down. Anna had a lot of issues she had to work out, but the Lord gave her the strength to get through it and work it out. I enjoyed the author's way of writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Lafferty
it was different from what i was used to reading. Here she is English and turns Amish instead of the other way around. all in all it was a great book i would like to see more of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bruce Cox
Great series. We can't wait for the third book to come out. Also can't keep it on our library because those who have already read it loved it and are telling others to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Connie Burgess
This is the first time i read anything by this author and i rate it a 5 i really injoyed this book and the second one in this series was also very good cant wait till the next one comes out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Green
This book shows what love can do and overcome. Very good reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Landreth
Read it in one day! Very good. I wanted to find out what happened so I just couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hidden, Sisters of the Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Reginia Knowles
I liked this book alot. It was very well thought out and very realistic to our day and age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.