Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2

Avon Inspire Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2

Widower Jonathan Lundy, the man twenty-year-old Katie Brenneman has secretly always fancied, asks her to watch his two young girls while his sister pays a visit to Indiana. Katie knows this will be a trying time. Jonathan has made it clear he has no intention of starting a relationship with her. Yet Katie can't pass up the opportunity to get to know him.

Just as she's settling into her new life caring for Jonathan's children, Katie receives a threatening note from her past, someone who befriended Katie during her Rumspringa, her running around years. Those years were a dark time for Katie. She dressed English, lied to her parents, and experimented with many activities forbidden in the Amish way of life. After one tumultuous night, Katie realized how far she'd strayed from her values. Scared by the person she'd become, she ran back home and vowed to cut all ties with the outside world.

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Review 1 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product has great features

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put the book down once I started reading it. It was a great book and look forwarding to reading #3 series in Sisters of the Heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
This was great, but for me not as good as Hidden. For me it didn't have enough of Anna and Henry in it. But overall a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
This is another great book by Shelley Shepard Gray. When Katie and Holly meet up again for the first time and Katie learns about Brandon I cried this scene was so touching. I also love that Jonathan and his kids fall in love with Katie. I can't wait to read the third book about Anna and Katie's friend Winnie.(Jonathan's sister.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Shelton
Both this and "Hidden", the first in the series, is well written, holds interest, makes you yearn for that simpler but busy lifestyle, and the fellowship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Warner
I positively loved this book (as I did the first one). Couldn't put it down........I can hardly wait for the next one to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
When we try to block out our past and notconfront it, it will come back to haunts usas it does for Katie Brenneman. Youth canmake ones future had to face. Excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Liscombe
I liked this book very much. I will be looking forward to the next in her series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lacko
I enjoyed this book as well as the others in this series. Katie's past is very mysterious, that leads you to want to read on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am very eager to continue with the series. As each book has ended, there is a chapter of the next one and it whets one's apetite for the follow-up to come soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
The first book in this Sisters of the Heart Series, "Hidden", was absolutely fabulous and a wonderful romance full of suspense. This second book is good, and I enjoyed the read and love the characters, but it was not very exciting to me. At least not in any comparison to the first book and other Amish books out there.As a theme for this book, the idea of being "wanted" is nothing new to most people, and our Katie wanting to be wanted and going after that attention (in her past) in poorly advisable ways is not terribly surprising. What was surprising is how she talked about her past as if she had done something completely unforgivable. That comes just from the back of the book blurb with "Will Katie be able to forgive herself for her transgressions and allow herself to move forward in her life? Or will her inability to receive God's love keep her from everything she's ever wanted?" It was just a little over the top for me.As a light hearted romance for practically any age to read, this is a good book with a good moral base behind it. Just for me, the way things were portrayed, I figured that something more exciting to repair from had existed.I love the first book in this series, and I cannot wait for another and more from this author in the future. But this book was slightly boring to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shaun Rossignol
The book had an excellent plot and the characters are very warm and believable. I would recommend this author to anyone who enjoys Christian romance books. I am looking forward to reading Forgiven which is book 3 of the Sisters of the Heart Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daniel Todd
Shelley Gray weaves spell binding stories into her novels! I found it difficult to put the book down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Walsh
Have enjoyed reading Wanted as much as I did Hidden. Looking forward to many more books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Turner
I thought the book was well written I just lpved it couldnt put it down gave it to my granddaughter and she loved it too. Cant wait till the next one comes out..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Walsworth
I enjoyed this book. This is the second in the series by Shelley Shepherd Gray. I have always enjoyed Beverly Lewis' Amish stories, and Shelley S. Gray is writing interesting books, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joyce Britton
This is a well written book. It keeps your interest through out the whole book. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading about the Amish. Joyce Britton
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Shelley Shepard Gray's first book, Hidden, was such a refreshing book to read that I was eagerly awaiting the release of the second book in the series. It was good to see that this was a good continuation of the first book. This time we get to see the viewpoint of an Amish girl who's had a taste of the English world but chose to come back. I liked her story because it was more focused on wanting to be loved. It just so happened that she was Amish. It was also still interesting to see how Anna is adapting to the Amish lifestyle. While she's starting to get more comfortable, it was still refreshing and realistic to see her still having trouble fully submerging to her new life. I say this, because I've read other Amish stories where I've seen people give up modern things cold turkey and slip 100% into this new culture and it comes off very fake. The only complaint I had about the book was that it felt a little short. Jonathan and Katie's romantic relationship felt a little rushed. I know that Katie had been pining for him for a while but it seemed like he resisted her for a little bit and then completely caved in. I think more tension between the two would have been interesting to read. I also would have liked more story on Katie's rumspringa . I always find it interesting to read about Amish teens who get a taste of the "English world" before they get baptized. All in all I did very much enjoy this book. It feels different from the other Amish books that are out there. More light hearted and not as dramatic. I'll be looking forward to reading Winnie's story in the next installment of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wanted, Sisters of the Heart Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Wanted is the second book in a series and I enjoyed it even more than the first book, Hidden. Wanted was interesting and a quick read. It definitely engages the reader's heart. All Katie wanted was to be wanted. Pretty profound, eh? Not exactly, but I still loved the storyline. The subtle attraction between the main characters was sweet, too. It's not even close to edgy and is what Amish fiction tends to be, warm and fuzzy. But I did enjoy it. The conflict was believable and the author explored some issues and inner workings of the heart that many novels never touch such as motivations behind friendships and love. I enjoyed this story and plan to keep reading the series because it's not as cliche as some Amish novels can be. This author is one of the better novelists in this genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.