Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3

Avon Inspire Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3

Shelley Shepard Gray's Sisters of the Heart Series continues with Forgiven. New levels of healing reach the Amish community in the lives of Winnie and her brother Jonathan. First, Jonathan is heartbroken when his barn burns down---it's been in the family for generations. When Winnie stumbles upon a clue, she must decide what to do. Should she confront the culprit? And if Jonathan finds out, will he be able to forgive? Injured in the fire, Winnie is confined to the hospital for weeks. While there she reconnects with her childhood friend Samuel Miller, a professor and researcher at the local university. Will their mutual respect for one another become something more? Don't miss the conclusion to the Sisters of the Heart series.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Review 1 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Wonderful Installment

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Forgiven - Sisters of the Heart Book #3 - Shelley Shepard Gray - August 2009
One of my current Christian authors that I have been making my way through her books is Amish author Shelley Shepard Gray , I first discovered this authors name through her co-authored Potluck Club books and then I read her own book Hidden and Wanted from the Sisters of Heart Series and I was hooked. Each book talks about a different family while at the same time connecting the previous communities characters in the book. In this book we are presented with Katie who we know from previous novels married Jonathon Lundy. In Forgiven , Jonathon and Katie's barn has been burned down and Jonathon's sister Winnie who lives with them - always one for the animals rushed in to save them from the burning barn's debris and in this course of action , she herself ended up badly burned and rushed to hospital. It is in the hospital that we see due to circumstances Winnie and Englischer Samuel Miller become closer and who knows by the end of the book, is it wedding bells we hear for these two chiming? However , Winnie's heart is torn in two as she knows that her being Amish and him from the Outside world , they could never be together. Is their love strong enough for one of them to reconsider the way they have been living and will God's faith prove to be strong enough for one to change?.
On the flip side, the story also covers Katie and Jonathon Lundy's relationship as when the fire brigade discover that the cause of the fire was arson caused by cigarette butts , Jonathon makes it his personal mission to find out who would be silly enough to put him and his family in jeopardy. But when he finds out , will Jonathon be strong enough to forgive or will his heart be stubborn and unwilling and hurt that he will forget forgiveness. What will happen when Katie and Jonathon divide as their community is based on the truth of forgiveness and the grace of God.
Can Jonathon turn his worries and annoyance towards God and God be able to soothe his heart and accept the power to forgive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series was wonderful.

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
JASH
Location:Covington, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All four of the books in this series, encluding "Grace", were hard to put down. I read one a day for four days. Not very often you can say a book is hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valerie Fein
this is the first series I have read from this author. The series was alright but not as much action as other authors I have read about the amish. The series I thought also was slow, but I am unsure if all of this was just this one series or if this author is just always like that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Glenda Rossignol
Here is a beautiful story on Gods lesson of forgiveness. It went from frustration, to anger and finally to forgiveness which brought peace back to his family. With the fire brought injury to Winnie brought frendship to Samuel and maybe away back to his family. Great book with alot of feeling in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane Moshell
The love story of Winnie and Sam is so sweet and shows how God can work in our lives and give us what we want if we only pray and ask his will. Well written and wonderful to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy Haskell
Wonderful book! Wraps up all the loose ends of the series nicely. Since it had been a while since I read the first two books in the series, I went back & re-read them before starting "Forgiven". What a great series! The characters truly do feel like friends! I look forward to reading Shelley's next book. She is a wonderful writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
I've been a big fan of the books in the Sisters of the Heart series since I picked up book one. For some reason, they read differently from other Amish books. It's fresh and light, yet takes into account realistic views of both the Amish and English world. In this story the focus is on Winnie, the sister of Jonathan and sister in law of Katie. From the last book in the series, we learn that she has just gotten over a failed courtship and is attempting to move on. Unfortunately she's been severely limited due to being injured from a fire at Jonathan's farm. Therefore Sam, a university professor who left the Amish years ago, comes to her rescue and offers to take care of her while she's ailing. I really liked Sam and it was fun seeing him in both of his conflicting worlds. He fits comfortably in both, which is a nice change from seeing an Amish person so out of place in the English world. I really liked the chemistry between the two of them and it was realistic enough to understand how if affected Sam's final decision. I was also pleased with the conditions of his decision as it was realistic, again with small details that other books fail to mention.There are two other story lines that are taking place in addition to Winnie's and Sam's relationship. Jonathan is trying to find out who set fire to his barn and struggles with forgiving that person. It's understandable about his anger because his entire family could have been killed and the guilty party still won't fess up to the crime. Also taking place in the background is the upcoming wedding between Anna and Henry. I really liked seeing this even take place as it ties together the entire series and brings it around full circle. I really have enjoyed reading this series and I think it's one of the best Amish series that's out there currently. I'm going to be looking forward to the next series by Shelley when it comes out later this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
The last book of the series of Sisters of the Heart had an exciting beginning and a good ending. I don't want to give the story away but if you like Amish stories this is one to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roberta Steinhoff
I have just finished reading Forgiven, the last of Shelley's series. I was very pleased with the manner in which it ended as I am a "family" person, to me family is MOST importantI was happy for Sam that he was able to return "home" and that Winnie had found her way in life --- a life with Samuel. How touching that she was willing to give up her way of life to become the wife of a professor !! I have a very close relationship with our Old Order Amish Community in our area and they have taught me soo much about what is important and what is not. I love them to pieces !! They are busy reading my other books as I share with them any of your Christian reading. I LOVE CBD. Thanks, Bobbie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joycelyn Steib
I have just finished reading Forgiven and it was a wonderful story and great reading! If you want to get away from your daily routine, start reading these series and escape into relaxation!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
angelica
This book is wonderful. I finished reading it in 2 days. It was difficult for me to stop reading. It made me laugh, it made me cry. Another great story, and I am looking forward to Shelley Shepard Gray's next series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Matteson
Once again Shelley Shepard Gray has provided me with a delightful, warm, interesting story. Having read "Wanted" and "Hidden", the first two books of the Sister of the Heart Series, I was anxious to read the third novel, "Forgiven".I just finished reading it and, as expected, I was captivated with the characters as soon as I began reading. Actually, they're not only 'characters', but seem to be new friends I've met and shared some time with.Shelley is a gifted writer and I feel fortunate to have read her books. I'm eagerly awaiting her next novel, "Winter's Awakening", due out in Jan. 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forgiven, Sisters of the Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
FORGIVEN was everything I thought it would be, after reading the first two books in Sisters Of The Heart series. If you loved HIDDEN and WANTED, there is a little of both in this book. You are drawn in from the beginning and engaged to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.