Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Oceans Apart

Zondervan Oceans Apart

It's not easy being a single mom, but Kiahna has a wonderful 7-year-old son named Max, a good job as a flight attendant, and a relationship with Christ. When the plane she's on crashes into the ocean, she prays that the Lord will bring Max and his dad together. Will God grant her this one miracle? 352 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
1.517 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
127
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oceans Apart
Review 1 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Kingbury's best

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancy Bell
Location:Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Up to Karen Kingsbury's standards. One of her best. Keeps you guessing about the outcome. Written with passion and emotion. I found myself crying at times and angry with Connor's wife at other times over her treatment of Connor's son. Well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
writingrhonda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story with four main sets of characters: a man, a wife, another woman, and some children. The man is a husband and father, who lives oceans apart from the truth; and therefore, he lives oceans apart from his loved ones. It's also a story of a betrayed wife who experientially learns that "love doesn't begin until you forgive." It's also a story of children who get reconciled to their father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving story.

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Buscemi
Location:Sparrows Point, Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got hooked into the story by the third page. It is a heartfelt believable story. The touching hand of God is weaved all throughout the book. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well written, I would like to see a followup

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
korki
Location:Riverside CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oceans Apart haled my attention from the first page. I have already past the book along to my granddaughter, I know she will enjoy it as much as I did. I am looking forward to more books about Max and his new family. This book talks about real life stores in families, and how there is hope through our trials.
I like the way Karen Kingsbury brings God, faith, family, and love together in her books. I am looking forward to reading many more books by Karen Kingsbury in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roberta Shauna Riley
I really felt offended by Karen's lack of compassion for the wife, Michelle. She made her out to be a dunce, fix all her hubby's sins, and fall girl. The husband, Conner walked away scott-free of any feelings of his sin by feeling sorry for himself. Where is the Christian marriage in this snapshot?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terence Snelling
As a naval pilot my wife thought I might enjoy this story, as she's a Kingsbury fan. I guess it was okay, but frankly, if Christian writers have such little regard for adultery is it any wonder Christian marriages are falling by the hour.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Adair
Not the integrity I expected from a Christian author when dealing with the devastation adutlery creates in one's life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Corrine Cox
I was angry by the time I closed this book. Grace is something none of us ever deserves; BUT there are consequences for our sin. Conner had none and Michelle did all the work. Where is God glorified in that?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret Rogers
As the child of an affair I can tell you this story line was way off the mark. Max was more like a college kid and the girls were too naive. Michelle was horrid as the walked on wife and liar who supported her husband being "in love for a brief time" with his one night fling. Conner was deplorable and got a free pass for everything just by pouting. Where is the victory in seeing a marriage stay together under these conditions? Really disappointing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Hucks
I was genuinely disappointed in this story; a first from KK that hit me this way. There is no accountabilitiy and thus no way for grace to really take center stage. Conner gets a pass on his sin while Michelle does the cleanup. That is not how God's grace works and KK was completely wrong to present it as such. Furthermore, having Michelle tell her daughters their dad loved his mistress is a slam in every wife's face trying to justify lust. How sad!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Jolene Worley
For 352 pages I kept waiting for Conner to be a man, Michelle to be a woman, and the three kids to be real kids...it never happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richie Sawyer
My first Kingsbury read. Yes, it's well written. But, there is no solid Christian message. How does Kingsbury offer her readers such a jerk in the shell of a "man" who cheats, has his wife do all his clean-up because she's "30 pounds overweight", and get pouty like a little child when he doesn't get his way. Wow! I hope Mr. Kingsbury wasn't her model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Riley Hawkins
Disappointing treatment of adultery in this story. Depicting sin causually and then presenting no consequences does not give God's grace honor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liam Trusse
I'm not a fiction fan and if Kingsbury's light off the cuff position on adultery as depicted in this book is usual for her - that's disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brendaan Butterworth
Sadly disappointing accounting of a man who fell from grace and took no responsibility for his actions - not what real men should do. Adultery does occur and this kind of trivializing of it gives the impression it's okay!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carl Dunn
Kingsbury usually presents honesty in her characterizations of men and women. Not one character in this story was worth the time I spent reading the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger T. Dorman
My wife said this was a "second chance" book and I should read it. But it was not what I expected. The second chances given the cheating husband were at the expense of his walked over wife. I'm not sure what my wife saw in this book, because I found nothing in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Harland Cole
I don't do fiction for the very reason I disliked this story - it doesn't portray the real side of any situaiton. My wife insisted I read this as she "wondered" about the relationship between the "cheating hubby" and the "run-over wife". Her instincts, as usual were dead-on. What I simply do NOT understand is why any Christian husband or wife who would read this would see anything here but another guy who strayed and manipulated his gal to go along with it. Hopefully, this will never represent any real-life scenario and men will take responsibility and women will have spines. I'm sticking with biographies and non-fiction; plus real authors who offer something of value in their writings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Price
I could not believe Karen, a favorite author of mine wrote this dribble. Conner is a JERK. He uses and misues his wife and Karen gives him every OUT available; including have dumb Michelle clean up her husband's affair, rapport with his kids, and his floundering relationship with his dad. Come on, Karen! This is horrid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oceans Apart
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tristin Copeland
This was a most difficult book to read. The privotal characters lacked in every area, especially in accountability and authentic faith. Surprising for a work by Kingsbury.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...8Next >>>