Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan #1: Even Now

Zondervan #1: Even Now

Shane Galanter is ready to put down roots after years of searching. But is he making the right choice? Or is there a woman somewhere who remembers a love that hasn't faded with time? Lauren Gibbs is a successful war correspondent who gave up on happily-ever-after years ago. So why is life so empty? Emily Anderson is about to take her first internship as a journalist. But before she can move ahead, she discovers a love story whose tragic ending came with her birth. As a result, she is drawn to search for parents she never knew.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Even Now
Review 1 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very great features

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
nanny
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this book to anyone it is so great I can't put it down keeps you wandering what is going to take place next love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book makes you hunger to read the sequel!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leslie Randall
Location:Ketchikan, Alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parents can make some really dumb choices! We all love our children so much that sometimes we don't stop to ask God for wisdom. In this book, that's exactly what happened. It's heart wrenching! Karen Kingsbury has once again masterfully woven lives together and then, as if a mistake was found in the middle of the knitting, pulled them apart, leaving a huge gap to be filled in lives that were separated against their wishes. Great story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Gold
She has done it again. She moved me to tears again. I think this is the best love story of the 21st century. In this story not only are you moved but you are encouraged by the time you get through the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
THis book was so good! I loved it! I liked her message about true peace from God! It is true! Karen Kinggsbury is such a good writer and her faith shines through her boooks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Billie Byrd
IF you have read/not read any of Karen Kingsbury books, you will love this book. She is a dynamic writer and writes about real life issues. This book will make you want to get it read and read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Niki
A friend gave me a stack of Kingsbury books and though well written, I cannot recommend them to anyone who reads for enjoyment. Because I do not enjoy a book with so much loss and Kingsbury seems to have a habit of killing off a main character in each book that I've read. In fact, I put the stack away, I cannot read anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Norton
One of the best books I have ever read!!! I could not put it down!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sue Galucki
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel and had a hard time putting it down. It is an honest & courageous story containing a wonderful message of forgiveness and unconditional love. I look forward to reading the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paulette Long
A book that fills your heart with hope in a world of much violence and confusion today.God still performs miracles in the lives of everyday people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chloe T.
While this book was entertaining, it was kind of predictable. I knew Emily was alive from the beginning. Other than that, it was well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deborah Mcbee
It was a pleasant read but hard to really buy into since Lauren never seemed to have a change of heart. I wish that there had been more content on their faith change instead of a general talk of faith change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
rob t
i liked this book (better than "ever after", actually), though the main flaw is its anticlimatic ending. i thought it could've been more dramatic; kingsbury made it such that the intensity just wasn't there. the secondary flaw is how lauren decided to leave at 17: she interpreted "gone" to mean "dead". c'mon...seriously? and then lauren decides to leave without properly burying the baby that she so dearly loved? kingsbury just has a flair for the unbelievable in these two books, even when i SO want to suspend my disbelief. other than these two flaws, it's a decent book but not one worthy buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kym
What a wonderful book! So gripping and meaningful. Well done!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Loraine
This book is GREAT!!!!!! My mom read the book before me and loved it also!This book is great for ages 13-100! Good job Mrs. Kingsbury.=)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2007
Can I give Even Now 50 gazillion stars????? OMIGOSH this is one of the best books I've EVER read. You literally have to set aside a whole day to read it...I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robin Pozgar
I absolutely loved this book. It is heartwarming and sad at the same time. I was feeling their pain and the elation at the end. What a wonderful message of God's love for us and to never give up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
camrie
I started reading the book Friday right before school. I didn't put it down until i finished it!while i was at school i wanted class to get over with so i could read! Then saturday the first thing i did when i woke up was read and i read all day!! the book was amazing!! its one i would recommend to and one!!! ive read a couple more of her books and each one has touched me in a different way!!! Karen is an AMAZING writer! and i look forward to reading more of her books!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Brandi
From the beginning of this story my heart broke for Shane, Lauren, and Emily. I found myself lost in the novel and I didn't want to climb out until I could see how the story would unfold. As Christians we often hear "God will work it out". But what happens when it doesn't get worked out on your terms and in your time. How easy do we give up on God and His perfect timing. This is the journey that Kingsbury leads you on as you follow these three lives. Will too much time have passed for reconciliation or can Emily arrange it so she gets her fairy tale ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Susan
This is without a doubt, one of the best books I have ever read.I read it from start to finish without putting it down. This is the first of Karen Kingsbury's books I've read & I have already ordered 4 more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #1: Even Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sue Gary
I don't know how Karen makes each one of her books better than the other. She is my favorite author now and wish she could write the books faster. Love ALL your Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>