Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed

Moody Publishers ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed

Charles C. Ryrie's years of study, teaching and writing make him exceptionally qualified to help you grasp the Bible's fundamental truths. By focusing on Scripture, the Ryrie ESV Study Bible is designed to enhance a deeply personal study of God's Word. A comprehensive source containing 10,000 concise explanatory notes, in-text graphics, and thorough book outlines, extensive cross-references, expanded topical index and concordance, the Ryrie ESV Study Bible is a complete tool for to help you know God more intimately. Now integrated with the popular English Standard Version and a larger trim size that lays open easily on a lap or desk, this Ryrie Study Bible is the best yet!

In addition, you will receive a code allowing you to download The Moody Library, an ideal Bible software program for Pastors, Teachers, Professors, Students, Bible Study Leaders—anyone thirsting to learn and understand more fully. Valued at over $400, this software was developed by Moody Publishers and WORDsearch™as an electronic companion to the Ryrie Study Bibles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
34 out of 3889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superior product at an excellent price.

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pete
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still exploring this new study bible but so far it's all and more than I expected. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well laid out. Index tabs assist with easy identification of books. Quality of leather is as expected. Time will tell how well leather and binding hold together. Extensive information available for study and reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great bible

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
alldunn333
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with the look of this bible. It is substantial without being cumbersome. It has great study helps. Glad I purchased this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As a study bible

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
rod c
Location:Waterloo, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have studied the Ryrie Study bible since "82 so I'm very partial to this bible. I have several other study bibles that I refer to periodically but I always go back to "old faithful"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this version new to me, but looks good

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ginge
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This was a good price and I like Ryrie Bibles and it will be a priceless gift for this couple as it is a wedding gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a different perspective

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
King Michael
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I joined cbs because i never doubted their quality or promptness. getting products out to the customer as soon as possible is a plus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane
Location:Evansville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect bible. It is easy to read and understand what the bible is teaching as well as our lead pastor's sermons are from this version of the bible. Makes it even easier to understand. Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected!

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Usroadrunner
Location:Tampa Bay, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a student of the Bible 40+ years and have studied Greek. Both the. ESV translation and the study Bible itself has greatly impressed me with their accuracy! Thank You... I spent a lot of time researching which Study Bible is best and I'm sooo glad I did.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the size this Bible is lighter weight.

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Grizzard
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible surprised me as to the weight. I have similar Bibles and they are all much heavier and denser. This Bible was purchased because it was a Ryrie ESV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
scottylizzard
Location:Bakersfield, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Study Bible. liked it so much I bought 20 NIV study Bibles for my youth group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice quality!

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Enyeart
Location:Prescott, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my husband's birthday. Everyone that sees it wants one just like it. The thumbed index is better than some of the others. I love it so much that I could go on, and on, and on, but I will stop by saying I'm putting one, for myself, on my Christmas list! God Bless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

RE: Hand-Fitted Bible Cover Recommendations

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Northwest
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bible is similar in quality as other bibles in this price range. There were pages stuck together throughout the bible, but they did not tear when separated. The problem I had was with the recommended cover. All the recommended covers are "large" size, and I figured that someone must have tried different sizes for this bible since they are supposedly "hand-fitted". But the bible almost falls out of a large cover, so I took what appears to be a medium size cover from another bible I have, and it fit it perfectly. I will return the large one back, and find another at a local store where I live.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poor print size

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keith Hein
Location:Rathdrum, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The text is not significantly different than the NKJV, which I use along with the KJV as my main study bibles. The ESV is very conservative and a word for word translation. I insist on this for properly deciphering the text. The footnotes are good, I like Dr. Ryrie's commentary, but I haven't found anything in the notes that has really expanded much on what I have garnered from reading the bible over the last twenty years.
The leather cover and binding are fine, but the print is very small. At sixty years of age, the superscript letters and numbers are nearly impossible to read. Even for the size print of the text, the fonts look extra small as the are not dark enough. This bible would be nice in a larger print or even a bolder type, but I would definitely not recommend this for anyone over thirty as it causes me eye strain.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heidi from Howard
Location:Howard, Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible. I had such a difficult time finding an ESV study Bible in genuine leather with Christ's words in red...CBD came through! The print is a good size and very easy to read. I really appreciate that the study notes do not overwhelm the page. Some of my favorite features include:
A nice introduction at the beginning of each book and a detailed outline.
The various time lines, maps and comparison tables that Ryrie includes. This is especially helpful when comparing the gospels.
Nice topical index.
All in all, this is an amazing Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall Good Product

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
RJGD
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ESV Ryrie study Bible is an overall good product. It was discouraging to find such a limited number of study ESV Bibles available as well as those which were offered with thumb-indexing. The color selection was also a bit limited. The Bible text is nicely spaced and easy to read with plenty of room to write notes in the margins if desired. The cover is nice and flexible. The monogramming would be nicer if it had been embossed rather than printed. Also, I would have preferred for the name to be on the lower right corner of the Bible. As far as indexing, it took a moment to get used to "JHO" as an abbreviation for John as I've never seen it used that way before.
Overall we are happy with the Bible, but there are a few things which could be improved in regards to selection and personalization.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, Excellent Features

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kirke H
Location:Greenwood, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my ESV Ryrie Study Bible in genuine leather burgundy. The ESV is very readable and excellent for study as it closely follows the original languages. The study notes aren't overbearing and don't overtake the text like some study bibles, where there are more notes on a page than text. The book introductions are good and to the point, and the outline of the book contained there flows over to the text. I find this helpful for study. If you're not familiar with the teaching at Moody or Dallas Theological Seminary, you may not be pleased with the notes on prophecy. However I'm a huge fan of both those fine institutions. The Bible only lacks two things as far as I'm concerned: It needs two bible ribbons, one for my old testament reading schedule and one for my new testament reading schedule; and the quality of the genuine leather is very stiff, but I kind of expected this since there was no premium leather option for this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Ryrie Study Bible

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angela Payne
Location:Melrose. FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible with trusted notes from Ryrie. Will purchase again for gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harold
Location:Livermore, Co
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Bible & I love the limited commentary. I am disappointed in Print being so small. At my age it is going to be harder to read
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saxman
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have come to appreciate the ESV version. Its readability and accuracy are important factors for me in the study of the Word of God. I appreciate the historical notes as a way to grasp the culture and traditions of the times when these words were inspired by Godly men of old speaking down through the centuries to us.
I'd highly recommend this bible and the Ryrie Study notes to those who experienced in the handling of Gods Word or to one who is new in the faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Ryrie Study Bible, Brown Soft-Touch, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gorgeous Bible

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
jayndee
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the look of this bible. Its great for studying God's word, lots of maps and comentary and great indexes make whatever you are looking for easy to find!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>