Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Moody Publishers NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch

Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Review 1 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps me love and understand God's word more!

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
serious student
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I prefer the NASB for STUDY so was delighted to see this product at a sale price. This is my 2nd study bible with Ryrie notes. It's more comprehensive & substantially enhanced (includes recent archeological discoveries) but only slightly larger thanks to thin leather cover, thinner paper and slightly smaller type. Yet edge margins permit short local notes in addition to the last 12 blank pages for end notes space.
Others comments: "I had high hopes for this Study Bible ... Unfortunately, they were not met. Positives are that the binding, paper quality and font are excellent." "The leather is fine ... But the good thing with pigskin is that it's supple and very flexible ( the bible melts in your hand)" - I concur enthusiastically with the binding comments. I am sorry that the one buyer was disappointed with his purchase. Many negative comments seem to stem from the expectation that notes should conform to the particular theological view of the purchaser. I heartily agree with Ryrie's theological viewpoint (accounting it to be thoroughly biblical) and the methods of annotation too.
"Only thing I would recommend is better paper quality" - But it's the normal, ultra thin, high quality paper used in most bibles - like what my Scofield KJV version was printed on 50 years ago. A pencil or special bible marker is required to avoid bleeding of ink through the thin paper. Recommendations for making notation-making are included in this volume.
To current owners:
A) "The notes and study helps are excellent" But many of these valuable lists, tables, maps, and notes are neither indexed or tabulated in the Contents so may be difficult to relocate. So I found the (upfront) acknowledgements (of other contributors) to be a helpful, alternate means to relocate tables and commentary neither in the Contents nor indexed.
B) BONUS: The (included) access to online notes and stand-alone alternate study writings are VERY extensive and save the owner from toting an otherwise much larger volume. The online access is very valuable and the WORDsearch help personnel were quite helpful and gracious when I had access trouble.
"When you purchase here, you have an idea what you are buying because of the excellent descriptions. Thank you CBD! " This purchase exceeded my expectations also.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great study Bible for all.

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
CB Duncan
Location:Lakewood, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible was built with great ability for a disciple or student of the faith to do in depth studies of God's word. It has great reference and cross reference options, and the design, cover and study notes make it a great tool for one to use over their life time. I do not believe their is a better Bible for study to use out there. The price for this Bible through Christianbooks.com is the best value I have seen even with shipping.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Book

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charlie
Location:Greenville, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent study bible. NASB version easy to read, easily compared to other versions. The book is loaded with timelines for each book, explanatory footnotes, subject index, a full concordance, and an abundance of relative maps. A good value.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NASB Ryrie Study Bible, burgundy imitation leather

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
seeker
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I wanted a study Bible in the NASB updated translation, and I am pleased with this one. (The NASB is said to be the most literally accurate translation readily available. The 1995 update made it more readable, taking out the thou's and thine's.)
This Ryrie Study Bible has larger size print than my other study Bibles, making it easier to read. It is in double column, side reference, verse format with study notes at the bottom. It includes charts, timelines, maps, etc. on some pages, and introductions to the books. The study notes are in slightly smaller print than the Scriptures, but they aren't too small. The study notes are not quite as extensive as in my other study Bibles. In some study Bibles, the notes often take up half of each page. Not so in this one. Some pages have many notes, but typical pages range from about a fourth of the page down to an inch or so of notes. The notes have good information, but they aren't as lengthy as in some other study Bibles. There are articles, a topical index, extensive concordance, maps, etc. in the back. The words of Christ are in red. There is a presentation page and several blank pages for notes in the front.
This Bible is a good size for a study Bible, thicker than a regular Bible but not overly large. The imitation leather binding looks good and is soft and flexible. I prefer it over stiff bonded leather. The front cover is embossed with a simple cross and border, and the back is uniquely embossed with 2 Tim 3:16 (not printed onto, but embossed into, the cover). This Bible has a ribbon marker and the page edges are gold gilted. Free access to on-line study materials is included.
It would be good if sample pages could be added to the product page, as they are for most Bibles here. I'll try to upload a picture to give some idea of the page layout.
This is a nice study Bible at a good price.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disappointed Buyer

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gwendolyn Snearl
Location:Baton Rouge, La.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a study Bible. I was disappointed that this Bible did not really offer a lot of information. The leather is nice and it is a large Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Bible at a Great Value!

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased several of these bible that I use in jail ministry and evangelism. I could not pass up the great price and to have the opportunity to put such a great study bible into the hands of new believers is a privilege. I was very happy with the price and the quality was good as well. I would recommend this bible to anyone who wants a great bible at a great price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
QuiltedDrummer
Location:Bandon By the Sea
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was greatly surprised by the wonderful value of this Bible. I have since ordered a couple of extras to have on hand to give away. I personally have had my Ryrie's Study Bible for 31 yrs. It has so many nice bits of information as you read to help you understand what the verses are saying. May you be blessed as I have been with the purchase of this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value superb commentary

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim A
Location:Delaware Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the Ryrie study bible in soft touch is well constructed - feels better than some genuine leather bibles which is a real added value in this bible for a very nice price- But the commentary and other study features in this bible are as clear, comprehensive and superb in scholarship as I have ever seen in any of the most popular study bibles. Charles Ryrie supplies the beginning bible student with a wealth of helps and the very long time bible student/or teacher with a treasure trove of bible study tools and outstanding commentary- his purpose to help readers understand all the bible comes through in this bible without a hint of position bias.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
hedgehawg
Location:IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!!! I'm hoping to purchase another for my granddaughter for her graduation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the most beautiful Bible I've ever seen!

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
pamie
Location:kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is definitely worth it. It is beautiful inside and out. It is a very easy Bible to read and it comes with super study notes and lots of extras such as maps, vocabulary, cross-references, etc. I love the size print for older eyes. I would love to have this Bible in every translation. It would make a beautiful gift. I wish I would have had my name put on it, so make sure you do. I so enjoy it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible, and reasonably priced!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Syreda Roberts
Location:Calif.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is a great Bible. It has great study notes, cross references, concordance, and clear maps, etc. I love the cover. It feels like glove leather, and the pages turn easily. The font is a good size, and easy to read. It's also reasonably priced. I bought mine last year. My 17 year old granddaughter loved it and asked for one for her birthday. My other two granddaughters saw hers, and asked for one for their birthdays, also. All-in-all I bought five (4 NASB and 1 NIV). What's encouraging to me is that, as teenagers, they want to study God's word and want a good Bible, and I'm all for that!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
maskedtoad
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the NASB Ryrie Study Bible. I love the cover and think it will be great in the long run even though some prefer leather. The pages are very thin, making the print from the other side show thru, making the overall appearance not as bright as it might be. The study helps are very good, and I love the feel of the overall page layout as I read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible.

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheila53b
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was recommended by a friend and I absolutely love it. I also bought one for my good friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Bible student should own a Ryrie Study Bible

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ncarolinian
Location:Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a revivalist and Bible teacher, I have recommended the Ryrie Study Bible for the past three decades as the very best study Bible available. At times, I have even purchased them in bulk to make them available on my product table in my meetings. I cannot tell how many times I have ordered a Ryrie Study Bible for my parishioners, when I have been serving as pastor. And, when gift-giving times have come, I have attempted to make certain that all my close friends have had their own personal copies It was just such a time, when I saw the latest edition in the soft-touch advertised. I was intrigued, and honestly wondered if I might be disappointed in the physical appearance and construction of the imitation leather edition. Boy, was I ever pleasantly surprised! When I received the two which I had ordered for friends, I was tempted to keep one for myself. Of course, I didn't, since I already possess a few Ryrie Study Bibles of my own. It remains a Bible college education in one volume. I shall continue to recommend it to everyone!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just what I was looking for

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherpa
Location:Hawaii
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thankful to find an earlier version of the Ryrie Study Bible that has side column references and wide enough margins for my personal notes. It came highly recommended by a trusted Bible scholar. Pricing (on sale) was excellent. Color is brown vs burgundy, which is OK. The print on some of the pages seems to be rather light, but still readable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A typically satisfying transaction.

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
BILL
Location:Conroe, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I am able to afford the purchase of Study Bibles, Dictionaries and other resources for the attendees of my Prison Bible Classes, I keep on patronizing CBD because I can absolutely depend on a prompt shipment and receipt of the needed resources. The men for whom I purchase these resources are typically indigent and are totally unused to anyone doing anything for them without strings attached. This provides another opportunity to teach them the principle of Grace.
CBD is part of my regular source for these items that are so essential to the continuation of my minstry. Thank you...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
C. Mark
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Ryrie footnotes, comments, charts, etc. are great! My only complaint is that I ordered a burgundy color, it said burgundy on the box, but the Bible is brown.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These Bibles exceeded our expectations.

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:North Platte, Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is access to the web for commentaries and study helps.
There are foot notes, maps, and great references added to this study Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I needed

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shortstuff
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My work as Bible teacher is in the local jail. One inmate gave her life to Christ and became serious about Bible study. She wanted a study Bible, and the Ryrie Study Bible, NASB, was my choice for her. It is my favorite, most scholarly translation, and the notes and helps are wonderful for anyone who wants to go deeper in the Word. The inmate was thrilled with the gift of this Bible, and is committed to use it faithfully.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NAS Ryrie Study Bible, Burgundy Soft-Touch
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Ryrie study Bible

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
M Jane H
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a ministry of giving away Bibles. I gave away 104 last year. I'm proud to give this Bible to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>