Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free

Hailed by Theology Today as "F.F. Bruce's magnum opus," this splendid biography uses history, archaeology, and the biblical text to focus primarily on the apostle's life. Bruce also examines the main themes in Pauline thought, set in their historical background and illustrated from his letters. An excellent starting point for your Pauline studies! 526 pages, softcover from Eerdmans.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Review 1 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All things Pauline

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Speechpath
Location:Fort Worth, T
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent, in-depth, analysis of the world, the vision and the life of Paul. Essential reading for anyone who truly wishes to understand the work of the great apostle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas Groeneman
Excellent scholarship and well balanced. Bruce is my favorite academic. I learned alot about the journey of Paul that makes sense of the maps you see in Bibles of his missionary journeys. Very clear about what can be known for sure and what is speculation. Rooted in responsible history with the sources well footnoted. Enough theology without becoming pedantic. My only criticism is the lack of any mention of Paul's farewell to the Church at Ephesus; an event that must have been important to him.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charles Mclean
Wonderful reading. The description is quite accurate. Highly recommended for anyone interested in the teaching of New Testament letters.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
KB
This book is phenomenal. It begins by building a history so that you are not lost about what you are reading. It definitely stretches your vocabulary. The only thing I wish was that the print was a size bigger, but besides that, it's a very good book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Did a quick overview and am impressed. Am now in the process of finishing the book and even now can say impressive. F.F. Bruce is the man. His research is more than thorough. He gives much background of the times. I had to look at the cover several times to see the book was about Paul and not the whole culture of the times. It gave tremendous insite and clarified many points of scripture. While Mr. Bruce is no longer with us He'll always be listed among the greats of Christian literature and studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brenda Johnson
We are using this book as a textbook for a class in the life of Paul. I am enjoying the book and the class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2005
A great book written by an equally great man, shining light on one of God's greatest saints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2002
Customer Avatar
Matthew Baland
This is one of the best treatments of the life and character of Paul ever written. It is apparent that Bruce spent most of his life in the study of Paul. It is apparent through the work that Bruce not only knew the historical circumstances of Paul, but was also intrigued by his personhood. This work adequately represents the experiences of Paul, treating the major messages and ministries to the early churches, as well as depicting the heart of the apostle. This work enlivens the readers heart to the heart of the apostle Paul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Grant Rothberg
I first had to read this book as requirement for one of my classes, but it quickly became one of my favorites. Bruce does a great job in presenting detailed theological issues along with basic truth. It is written for laymen and deep-thinkers alike. It certainly requires your attention, but Bruce's seemingly endless well of knowledge more than warrents it. I think this is the definitive work on the life of Paul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.