Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook

Thomas Nelson Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook

Dubbed the billion-dollar babies, Kara and Lizzie have known only squalor, neglect, and lies. Robbed of their birthright by a legal technicality, the twins are "raised" by greedy relatives. But when their stepmother finally tracks them down, she discovers two deceived and angry 18-year-olds. Can she prove her love---and will they believe in grace?
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Review 1 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jools
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had forgotten how much I love Terri Blackstock's writing, this is an emotional rollercoaster from the first page to the lip biting last paragraph.
Loved this book, even though I am an emotional mess at the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's promises shown through

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already knew that I enjoyed books by Terri Blackstock and I was not disappointed by Covenant Child. Of course nothing compares to the word of God for spiritual food, it's always a joy to read fictional books that remind a reader again, and again of God's covenant to His people. The author was able to remind me of God's faithfulness to His people despite or sin and tendency to do things our own way.
At the start of the book, we learn of twin girls that are orphaned at 3 years old. What they don't learn until they are much older is that they were born millionaires.
Their father, the son of a millionaire, refused to live in affluence once Jesus caught a hold of his heart. He met and fell in love with the twins' mother, but she died in a car accident shortly after the girls' birth. Despite their tragic early years, their father meets their stepmother, Amanda, at bible study and they are an instant family. But, tragedy strikes again, when their father and grandparents are killed in a plane crash, leaving them instantly orphaned and rich. Although she truly loves the girls, she loses rights to them and must hand them over to their maternal grandparents.
Amanda is determined to keep her promise to the girls' father to care for and protect the girls. As the story unfolds, we see the form this fierce determination to keep a promise takes - through the eyes for Kara, one of the twins. I thoroughly enjoyed this tender reminder of God's covenant and His redemptive grace to His people. I would definitely recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my favorite books now!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:A Library, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Brief Description:
Amanda's heart broke as she watched them drive her beloved twins away. She resolved to hope . . . and to fight for them to her last breath.
Kara and Lizzie are heiresses to one of the largest fortunes in the country. But when their father dies suddenly, the toddlers are taken from the arms of Amanda, their loving stepmother, and given to relatives who only want the children's fortune for themselves.
Kara and Lizzie grow up questioning their worth . . . until the day when they learn the truth.
Intensely involving, emotionally charged, and infused with hope, Covenant Child is an inspiring story that challenges us to embrace the life God holds out to us.
My Review:
I honestly thought that Covenant Child was the best fiction book I've read in a long time. It did a great job of reminding me that I am God's child, and that I HAVE that inheritance waiting for me. And I don't need to do anything to deserve it, it's His gift to me! I can relate at different times to Amanda, Kara, and Lizzie, and their feelings and experiences. Amanda is a great mother, and looks forward to the day when she is reunited to her daughters. Lizzie wants to believe that Amanda cares for her, but is afraid to open up after being hurt. Kara loves her sister, but has to decide wither to trust Amanda, or stay with her sister.
I'd give Covenant Child five stars, and I definitely would suggest that you read it!
I am required to mention that I got this book for free. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raised as paupers, Lizzie and Kara had no idea they could have been raised as wealthy princesses. When Amanda, their stepmother and widow of their late father, reaches out to them, they cower in fear, following the advice and stories their maternal grandparents have taught them their entire lives. Amanda leaves, hurt and betrayed, but determined to love the girls, even from a distance.
When the girls are old enough to make decisions for themselves, Amanda reappears in their lives. She gives them the option to live with her and learn how to run the family business, taking hold of their inheritance, the inheritance she has been keeping safe for them all these years. Or they can choose to believe the lies they were told and ignore her.
Terri Blackstock does an excellent job portraying the love and acceptance that God has for us in this book. Jesus has our inheritance, given to us by the Father. He is taking care of it, maintaining it, until the day that we each chose, on our own, to follow Him and quit believing the lies the enemy has been telling us. I enjoyed this book, as a fictionally story and a Christian-lifestyle parallel.
I received this complementary eBook from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the covenant child review

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"The Covenant Child" by Terri Blackstock is a wonderful book. It follows the life of the "billion dollar babies" who happen to be penniless orphans raised by neglectful and abusive biological grandparents. They are the grandchildren of billionaires whose mother dies shortly after their birth. Their father remarries and then is killed in a plane crash with his parents. His parents are the billionaires. Their step-mother is in the process of adopting them at the time of the death, but their maternal grandparents step in with dollar signs in their eyes. I normally do not like to read or watch stories where children are taken from their parents, whether they be biological or not. I believe a child should not be separated from the one who loves and cares for them. Lizzie and Kara, twins, are taken from the only mother they know and given away to strangers who happen to share genes. In this case, everything is about the money.
When the girls turn 18, they come to a cross roads and one goes one way, one goes the other. The story follows Kara, the prodigal child who chooses to not trust anyone and go for the greed. One might wonder how she can be so dumb, but if you think back to your own mistakes, I am sure you can figure it out. I did. This is a Christian story but uses it to relate to real life and not get preachy. It also talks a bit on abortion. Kara feels guilt, but is not condemned. I like where the author took that story line. I would highly recommend this one. I have read Blackstock before, but this one is my favorite from her. I received this e-book for free from www.netgalley.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique, sad story

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lightatheart
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covenant Child is a story about Amanda, Lizzie, and Kara. Amanda is the step-mom who fights to keep twins Lizzie and Kara when death claims her husband, their father. She fights the girls’ maternal grandparents and when the dust clears they have won…or at least it looks that way. Kara tells the story based on information given her by Amanda and others, as well as Kara’s own memories.
The entire story begins sometime ‘after the fact’ but harkens back to when Amanda met their dad, they fell in love and married. The twins were three at that time.
Amanda’s selfless love toward the twins and the diligent care she gives to their future is what keeps this story from being too dark and depressing.
The characters were adequately developed, maybe a little unbelievable at times but not enough to detract from the story. I liked the way Ms. Blackstock kept the story moving. Showing glimpses into the twins’ lives over a fifteen year period. It was such a sad story that if she had dwelt any longer on any one time period it would have been hard to get through. I also like how she had Amanda turning to the Bible and finding hope and living out her faith.
The story reminds me of someone riding along in a train on a bright sunny day with their back to the front of the train. When suddenly they find themselves going through a tunnel. For a very short time they can still see light from outside but before long everything is dark. Then stays dark the whole time they are in the tunnel and even once they come out of the tunnel they still see darkness until the train is far enough away from the tunnel to see full light again. Only in this case the darkness lasts approximately fifteen years.
Even though there are inspirational parts I’m not sure I’d recommend it to others or not. I liked Amanda’s commitment to her promise and love, but even though Ms. Blackstock was writing this as an analogy of coming to The Father and becoming a Christian, sadly it didn’t come across that way to me.
Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a temporary digital copy of the book mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful read!

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock's novel, "Covenant Child," is a gripping, emotional story that will keep you turning the pages all the way to the end.
Book Description from the publishers:
"Amanda’s heart broke as she watched them drive her beloved twins away. She resolved to hope . . . and to fight for them to her last breath.
Kara and Lizzie are heiresses to one of the largest fortunes in the country. But when their father dies suddenly, the toddlers are ripped from the arms of Amanda, their loving stepmother, and given to their maternal grandparents, who only want the children’s fortune for themselves.
While even the stipend their guardians get for supporting them is squandered, the children are left to raise themselves. Kara and Lizzie grow up believing they are worthless . . . until the day when they learn the truth."
Kara and Lizzie grew up having very little and believe they are worthless, when really it is the exact opposite on both accounts. This is how many people see themselves, but really each of us is worth so much and can have have everything through being a child of God. This book is such a great story that is filled with suspense, heartache and promise! My heart went out to these girls and Amanda and I found myself wanting to help them (as if they were real!). Blackstock has written numerous novels and this one is at the top for being the best! This is a great reminder of God's love for each of His children!
*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Promises are meant to be kept

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus used parables to get his point across in many instances. Terri Blackstock tells a parable of the entire gospel, intertwining her versions of the parable of the lost sheep and the prodigal son (in this case daughter) masterfully. There is a certain poignancy and depth to the story that helps emphasize the elements of forgiveness and redemption, all the while pointing each reader to the similarities of their own journey to accepting both.
Kara and Lizzie are orphaned twins. Their stepmother, Amanda, had promised their father that she would do anything for the girls, and that she would always take care of them. Unfortunately, before long the strength of that promise was put to the test, and it would take everything Amanda had to make good on it. In the meantime, Kara and Lizzie are not living the life they should be, and in time their complicated situation becomes all they know. They don’t remember Amanda or their father, and the more life that happens, the more certain they are that this is not a loss.
Amanda refuses to give up, though. She wants very much to show the girls that not only does she love them, there is One who has always loved them. As Amanda leans on Jesus, she trusts Him to show her how to show the twins that there is more to her promise than they could ever imagine – and that there is nothing that will change her plans to fulfill it.
Terri Blackstock always delivers. She writes stories of faith and forgiveness that are entertaining and thought-provoking. I am always able to find a connection to my own experiences in her tales, and I have yet to read one that disappointed. As long as she continues to write, I will continue to read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Allegory of Placing Faith

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Covenant Child" is an amazing story. It’s sad—heartbreaking, actually— and full of unimaginable pain, but it points readers to the truth of God’s incredible love, mercy, patience, and grace. The story is an allegory of each person’s journey toward faith and the decision to accept or reject God’s Truth, to believe what He says or be misled by Satan’s selfish and hurtful lies.
I loved the way author Terri Blackstock told the story with twins in order to make the truth about choices more clear. When their father dies in a plane crash, three-year-old Kara and Lizzie are taken from the only home they’ve ever known, from their stepmother, Amanda, who loves them and who intended to raise them faithfully as her own. Though legal technicalities continue to keep Amanda, the stepmother, from the girls, she determines to carefully preserve their inheritance for when they come of age. But this truth is kept from Kara and Lizzie, and their heads are filled with lies. Finding their way to the life they were meant to lead is the challenge they both face.
Following the story itself is an insightful author interview and a reader’s discussion guide. Thomas Nelson Publishers sent a complimentary eCopy of this book for my honest review. I’m recommending it to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Covenant Child: A Story of Promises Kept - eBook
This review is fromCovenant Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart Wrenching

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the way this novel was written, to the characters filling to the pages, to the story that grabbed my heart, “Covenant Child” is a novel to be cherished and shared.
I can’t honestly say I “enjoyed” this story as a means of pure entertainment. The story is exceptional, don’t get me wrong, but because of the strong subject matter, it quickly becomes a story that I wanted to see redeemed.
The main character of Kara is a bitter young woman and if the story weren’t written from her perspective, as one who stands back and looks back on her life, I think I would have become fatigued with her. But to see the struggles of Kara and Lizzie and not have your heart wrenched is an impossibility.
The story is gripping from one chapter to the next moving on a swift emotional roller coaster. My heart was jerked more than one time.
I loved that the story was first person, it truly came alive. Though I would have loved to experience the story from Amanda’s point of view.
I believe this is a rerelease from a previous edition, but the story is timeless. A stirring story from a masterful story teller and a wonderful allegory for God’s unending grace and love.
This review is my honest opinion. My thanks to the publisher for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.