Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Cry in the Night - eBook

Thomas Nelson Cry in the Night - eBook

Bree Nichols gets the shock of her life when her husband--presumed dead--reappears.

Bree and her search and rescue dog Samson discover a crying infant in the densely forested woods outside Rock Harbor, Michigan. Against objections from her husband, Kade, who knows she'll become attached, Bree takes the baby in. Quickly she begins a search for the mother--presumably the woman reported missing just days earlier.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cry in the Night - eBook
Review 1 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It will keep you reading.

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marlene
Location:Holland, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of her best! I couldn't put it down and I read all the rest of the series because I enjoyed it so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luv2read
Location:KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had read the first few books in the series quite some time ago and had enjoyed them so I picked this one up to see how the story continued. I have to admit I was somewhat disappointed. There was plenty of excitement in the story, but I kept having to go back and reread parts because it seemed like I was missing something. And like another one her books I just read, I disliked how much emphasis was placed on an evil mythological creature as possibly being the culprit. But overall, it kept me in suspense enough to finish reading the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good read

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
midwestmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wished I had read the other books in this series first, because I would love to read more! But now I know the answers and it wouldn't be as fun. I loved the author's style, great Christian themes and full of suspense.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book immensely and would like to have the opportunity to read the previous books in the series with the same value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Allie
I have recently read ALL the Rock Harbor Series. I give them all a five star rating and loved the way the series ended. Good books to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Bree Matthews, her son Davy, and her dog Samson have moved on with life, after a tragic plane crash, killed her first husband. However strange happenings in their UP Michigan area, has Bree on the edge. She is seeing things, or is she?Babies are disappearing, a social worker is missing, and someone has tried to snatch Davy. Bree's nerves are stretched to nearly snapping. Add in a sister-in-law who is super irresponsible and who has blackmailed a criminal. Truly you have a recipe for disaster and that is exactly what it is taking place.A woman in their town is found dead in her front yard, and an autistic young man is arrested for the murder. Bree is convinced it was not him, and works hard to solve the mystery. However solving this mystery, may be the unraveling of her new life and love. Colleen Coble has brought us a mystery/suspense novel that will thrill you! Most definitely a book you will not want to put down till the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because there are unanswered questions at the end of this book. As a reader you are going to assume that perhaps there will be a 5th book in this series. I love the dog Samson and I'm not even a dog fan. It's a good storyline and unlike another review her, it would seem natural to me that Bree WOULD have feelings for her first husband. After all he died, they didn't part in a divorce. Even then people are sometimes still in love with the other person. It was a good read and I enjoy Colleen Coble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Priscilla Fields
Just when I thought I'd read all the books in this series, out comes another one! Wow, I could hardly wait to get started and I certainly wasn't disappointed! There's intrigue at every turn. I enjoyed it to the fullest. Ms Coble is fast becoming one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynette Freake
This is a wonderful ending to an amazing series. I had given up on Christian fiction, due to the predictability of the plot, and 'sweetness' of the characters, but this writer has become one of my favorites. If you like mystery novels that keep you guessing, this is a great read. I could not stop reading until I finished the book & never knew what would happen next!You do not want to miss this series, get them all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
Really enjoyed this book, Colleen Coble has a knack for suspence stories that keep you on the edge of your seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susanne
I have read all of the Rock Harbor book series. I have enjoyed them all. The story line moves well and excitment is great. I had a hard time putting any of the series down and that includes "Cry in the Night". Thank you Colleen Coble for this great series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
OLGA
I usually love her books but I have been very disappointed with the last 2 books "Distant Echoes" and this one "Cry in the Night." The reason I was unhappy with this book is how Bree feels about her first husband even after learning about his crimes and he is so selfish and she still had feelings for him. If Kade was not a GREAT husband I could see why but Kade reminds me of my husband so understanding and caring. I do not like when kids are hurt and Bree's son Davey had to know about his father he has been hurt so much. Bree's first husband hurt all his family and he didn't care even till the end.I would like to know how Davey adjusts after this because Kade loves him like his own son. I was hoping that Bree could have been able to get pregnant. I hope there is another book I would like to know more about Lauri; she is so lost I feel bad for her. I would like to know more about Kade and Bree and Kade's job. I love Samson it makes me want to get another dog.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Verlyn Neilson
Colleen Coble has done it again. With her keen sense and ability to accurately describe people, places and feelings, I fell under the spell of her and her service dog, Sam, who in my opinion, simply adds to the story line. Anyone who likes mysteries, characters with integrity, small town comaraderie and those four legged creatures who are included in the central cast of characters, don't miss this one. I sincerely hope Colleen continues this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
A fantastic book!I hated to see it end!There were so many twists & turns that kept me from wanting to put the book down.Hopefully, this isn't the end to the series.After all, the bodies were never found.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ceci Sheets
Rock Harbor is an outstanding series. I am an avid reader who loves Christian based mysteries. I was thrilled when I found Colleen Coble's books. She rivals Dee Henderson in her ability to make her stories spell-binding. When I'm reading one of Coble's books, it goes everywhere with me! When I finish, it's like saying goodbye to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
This page-turner is a suspense-filled story right from the beginning with an abandoned baby in peril of freezing to death in the harsh Michigan winter. It's a book that I did not want to put down, and therefore, I read it over the space of a 24-hour period. The characters were familiar to me as I had read an earlier Rock Harbor mystery, but even if this is your first Colleen Coble novel, the characters will seem like family before too many pages. The people of the small Michigan town are easy to know.What a complex turn of events Bree has to face! After grieving for her first husband, who died in a plane crash, Bree is happily married for the second time, when husband number one reappears. Is he a ghost or a windigo as some claim? What connection is there to the missing babies? Was a woman murdered, or was it an unfortunate accident?Interwoven is the continuing story of Samson, a search and rescue dog. If you enjoy suspense, this one's for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
"Alas poor Bree" is what you will utter while you read this book! We're taken back to the familiar setting of Rock Harbor where we get to meet up with old friends again. I always like it when authors go back to their older series and give the reader another book to catch up again with everyone. This series is a favorite of mine as I love reading about the adventures of Bree and her wonderdog Samson. It was great to visit the area again and I enjoyed seeing all the characters interact and come to life. This book had the best mystery story of the series and the most personal. I honestly do not know what I would have done in Bree's situation. I would have been as shocked as she was. I'm glad though she has Kade, as he is the perfect and the right man for her and David. It was also good to see what Laurie was up to and see her true feelings about the child she gave up for adoption. This book incorporated several issues such as baby buying, ethics issues, and spiritual legends. It's all wrapped up in a suspense story that tells us that we need to trust in God no matter what happens. The book does stand alone so if you haven't read any of the Rock Harbor series before, you won't be totally lost. However to get the full impact of the story, the other 3 books should be read. Hopefully this isn't the last we'll see of Bree, Kade and Samson. I feel like there's more of their stories just waiting to be told!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
geniebug
I depend on Colleen Coble to give me a good read and again was not disappointed. The edge of your seat excitement starts in the very beginning and goes all the way thru to the end. Cry In The Night is a must read for Colleen Coble fans. Great book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Toole
I loved this series. Now we know just what kind of man her first husband was. Lots of twists and turns. The search and rescue dog is terrific. Would recommend this series to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cry in the Night - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
With her latest book, Colleen Coble takes her readers back to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and into Bree Nichols Matthew's life. If you've read the earlier books, then you will be thrilled to walk the streets of Rock Harbor, wave at the friendly faces you remember, and hunker down for another page-turning suspense. If this is your first venture to the area, you'll soon find yourself engrossed in the tale of all that is happening to Bree, her search and rescue dog Samson, and her son Davy. You may decide after the read -- since you won't need it during the book -- that you'd like to find out more about Bree and go back for the earlier adventures.In Cry in the Night, Bree is confronted with her worst nightmare. She's found an abandoned infant in the frozen wilderness and has welcomed the baby girl into her home -- and heart -- even as Kade cautions her to be careful. Then as she hunts for the baby's mother, the clues keep pointing to her first husband's mysterious plane crash. The more she picks away at the puzzle, the more she wonders if the very fibers of her life -- and love -- will be swept away.I knew where this book was heading, because of some brainstorming in the early days of this book, and I honestly didn't know if Colleen could pull all the twists off. Especially in a way that would satisfy me as a reader. I kept waiting for a thread to unravel taking a large part of the story with it, but instead, the fibers of the story pulled tighter and tighter until they seemed to pull a taunt noose around Bree. And even though Bree is happily married, the romance will satisfy those of you who refuse to read a story that does have a strong romantic thread.This is another great offering from Colleen Coble. If you like suspense with a strong romantic thread, you will enjoy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>