Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Riverhead Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook

Riverhead Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Review 1 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book goes in my top five of must reads.

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Artlac
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read it! Then pick up Richard Foster's Celebration of Discipline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great author

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
amzng
Location:sunny florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my top two favorite books. This hits big wigs, it hits your friends, your relatives and then (hopefully), most of all, it hits YOU (and you may be a big wig!).
It is so well written that it's easy to read and understand, but it needs to be read slowly to get the impact and take it to heart. It's deep and profound.
I HIGHLY recommend "Counterfeit Gods."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:South St Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good book to read. It points out things you would never have thought of. Very thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book anyone and everyone should take to heart.

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Mifflinburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Keller goes in depth to expose the idols and idolic behavior we allow in our daily lives. Included are analysis of various Bible heroes and their stories as well.
Always a good read but very timely just now in the face of our world's financial and other issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful, well written, impactful, excellent!

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
mvander
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read most of it twice and have given additional copies to friends and coworkers. CGs addresses a topic so dominant in Scripture, yet this was the first book that I have seen or read on the subject of idolatry. It has been the book that has impacted me on my journey with Christ more that any other that I have read in years! I learned so much about myself that I just had not realized. I loved "The Resson fore God" for my mind and CGs for my heart.
Like many books the, most powerful part is at the beginning and the end not as much. That being said, the latter part discussed "National Idolatry" and was helpful in understanding history and various regimes like Nazi Germany.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very convicting, a must read for Christians!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lolo
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very deep book, that forces you to look into your own heart to see what is taking the place of God in your life. Very convicting and life-changing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worthwhile

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roy C
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very valuable book. Says much of what needs to be said on the subjects. Not quite as good as "The Reason for God" by the same author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was very informative.

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jimi
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has excellent information on idols and what you can do about them and how to spot them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am still reading the book and I love it. I will give to a family member to help with their faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very inspiring book!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Perth, Western Australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, Tim Keller really inspired me to rethink my own life. He always provides a reader with plenty of challenges for your own life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing Book

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
McCandace
Location:NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read a couple of Timothy Keller's books, The Prodigal God, and The Reason for God, I knew this would be a great book. Keller is the present day C.S. Lewis. In Counterfeit Gods, he gives insight and explanations for the idols of our day - exposing my own idols that I was unaware of. Because of that, I consider this a life changing book as I bring to God all that in the unknown corners of my heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
sach
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book made me really look at my life to identify my idols.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Luke Andrew Morris
Counterfeit Gods was an outstanding book. It begins with facts about suicides that occurred as a result of the recent economic downturn which struck the world. He argues that these men and women committed that sin as a result of idolatry. Keller, in his book, defines idolatry as putting your hope and trust in anything other then God Himself. Keller points out how often in our lives money, relationships, politics among other things often take the place of our God. He quotes one author who, when examining the life of Jacob and his being fulled by Laban-Leah and Rachel's father-into sleeping with Leah that if we place our trust in anything besides God that metaphorically speaking, we will always wake up next to Leah, never Rachel-we will never be satisfied. The book was so offensive to the way I live my life daily that after reading each chapter I was left broken over the sin in my own heart. Through Keller's exegesis and the objective exposition he expresses, after reading this book your eyes will be opened to your sin. This is a must read for anyone struggling with total trust in God. (That should apply to everyone)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
DARYL MCGINNIS
Absolutely life changing book. Helps you to start loving God with all of your heart, mind and soul. For years I just skimmed through that scripture. This book has helped me realize what setting God on the throne really means.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stella Williams
An excellent book that will make you think about idols that may be in your life without being aware. Good book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Reagan
I think this book is awesome but it is not a "comfortable read", it is very convicting. I am reading it with a group of friends in our community group and the feedback I am getting is very positive and the discussions are lively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.