Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sheaf House Publishers Seasons in the Mist

Sheaf House Publishers Seasons in the Mist

Stranded in 1353 Cornwall, American graduate student Bethany Lindstrom knows she must find a way back to her own time or face a life of falsehoods and peril. But with the stern overlord Sir Michael Veryan, she is swept into the intrigues of King Edward's court, which will test their mettle and their faith in God to the limits-and forever bind their lives together.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seasons in the Mist
Review 1 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good historical novel, but read with caution

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MedievalGirl
Location:Winchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pinion: This novel was clearly well researched and written by an author who values historical accuracy and authenticity and used plenty of period terms and phrases in the narrative. She also apparently had a good knowledge of linguistics, both of Middle English and Medieval Cornish and the peppering of the narrative with Cornish, Middle English and Medieval French phrases again gave the novel a more authentic edge. Details of political, social and economic conditions also made for a more realistic and plausible historical setting.
The Middle English-like language spoken by the characters could be something of a double edged sword- it made the novel accurate and authentic, but could also make the narrative cumbersome and heavy- going, so that sometimes it was necessary to read passages of dialogue two or more times to get the gist of what the characters are saying. Thankfully, the author provides a glossary at the back, and the Kindle dictionary makes life easier, but this could be a little off-putting for some readers.
The romantic aspects of the story were also generally well done and there is no sexual content, which many `romance' novels feel the need to resort to. Though some of the romantic scenes seemed a little overstretched and overdone at times, and this really did not always seem necessary as Beth and Michael the hero's depth of feeling was pretty obvious for the most part anyway, so did the audience really need to have it affirmed so many times to get the picture?
The characters were generally well developed and believable, allowing the reader identify with or feel for most of them. The time travel concept is also well handled, Beth's sense of confusion and isolation at landing suddenly and unexpectedly in the 14th century was very relate-able and quite understandable for her circumstances- as were the responses of the Medieval people to her strangeness.
Christianity/Morality: To 'get by' in the past Bethany tells a lot of lies and falsehoods, primarily for the reason that she thinks nobody will believe her claims to be from the future, and so invent a sort of 'cover story' for her turning up alone and hurt in the 14th century. She does agonise over the morality of such a course of action, and eventually reveals the truth to the hero Michael, but not to anyone else.
I had some issues with the treatment of some biblical and Christian concepts in the book. For instance, in one place Bethany says that Michael's evil half-brother who was killed by him in single combat's `soul dwells with our dear Lord' , despite having lamented the fact that he had not been shriven or made his peace with God a few sentences before. So it is seems to have clearly been implied that the person is question went straight to heaven without having confessed, repented or been forgiven of his sins.
Bethany also 'says Aves' or prays to Mary a few times throughout the novel.
Sheila, Bethany's modern day Cornish host is a strange and unconventional personality to say the least. Her main role is as Bethany's `guide' and `mentor' which is all well and good, but the constant references to her `seeings' or ability to anticipate future events, and `intuition' by which she knows intimate details about Bethany are really just- weird. Sheila is supposed to be a Christian and the author tries to attribute her abilities to God, but I simply could not buy this. It would be all too easy for readers to see Sheila as a `psychic' of some description, and come to the conclusion that psychic power supposedly comes from God, or is compatible with Christianity- a dubious and perhaps even dangerous implication for a Christian book.
History: One thing that I found incredibly annoying being a Medievalist Historian myself was Beth the Historian heroine's belief that she could be branded a `witch' and summarily burned at the stake by the people around her for the slightest and most trivial things, such as wearing `strange' clothes, or having surgical scars. As a Doctorate level `expert' on 14th century English history she should have realised that the above would quite possible neither have been legal or very likely, as burning at the stake was not particularly common in England at this time and often reserved as a last resort for only the most serious of offences, such as heresy and supposed Satanism (to my knowledge.)
On a personal level I disliked the way that some Historians and the members of the historical profession seemed to have been depicted in the story. It appeared to be claimed that all they were interested in was 'dry facts' for their own sake, or for their own self-aggrandisement, yet many Historians wish to learn about the day to day lives of the people they study- contrary to what Beth thought.
Beth also seemed to adopt a rather condescending view of `medieval medicine' for most of the book, dismissing it as rubbish that could not heal anyone and marveling at how soldiers could have survived the wounds which gave them the scars they bore without the wonders of modern medicine. Apparently she expert was unaware of the ability of at least some surgeons to deal with wounds relatively effectively (to my knowledge) . So for a supposed trained Medievalist, Bethany's knowledge of many aspects of Medieval history was decidedly lacking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome time-travel romance!

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this time-travel novel Deborah Kinnard writes a story that I liked in all aspects.
The main character Bethany Lindstrom is a student in medieval history. For her studies she travels from the US to England. There she meets the friendly Sheila who offers Bethany a place to spend the night in her historical house.
When Bethany wakes up early she is going to explore the house a bit and stumbles on a time portal that transports her back in time to the 14th century.
It's a shock for Bethany to discover she has traveled back in time. But as a historian she also enjoys to see real life in the 14th century.
Bethany makes new friends, but also enemies. She comes to fall under the protection of Lord Michael Veryan and together they travel to king Edward's court. Bethany is trying to guard her heart, but nonetheless finds herself falling in love with Michael.
This journey back in time brings Bethany on her knees and she finds God again. What does He want her to do? Can she stay in the 14th century, or does she have to travel back to the 21st century? She doesn't know what she should choose. She is missing her mom, but she also doesn't want to leave Michael.
Travel with Bethany through the ages and find out if there's a future for her and Michael!
This novel is full of historical facts and colorful descriptions of life in medieval times. I enjoyed the author's writing-style and liked the use of old English in the conversations. I appreciated the Christian theme and how it was portraited. Wonderful job, Deborah!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
lovetoreadinlv
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful reading! Loved the detail about life in the 1300's. I was a little disappointed in the abrupt ending, but overall, a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Therese Stenzel
Seasons in the Mist was a wonderful escape into a medieval world. I found myself not wanting to read too fast. The descriptions of the people and the scenery really, "took me there." which is exactly what I love about time travels. I was actually sad when I finished reading it-. This book will go into my read again pile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie Alice Eakes
If you like time travel, you are sure to enjoy the way Kinnard transports you back in time to an danger from the known and unknown. Kinnard knows her medieval history and it shows in rich detail that takes the reader there. This is a must if you enjoy medieval history, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandi Rog
A book you won't want to mist . . . er. . . I mean MISS!Okay, this was such a fun read, I couldn't put it down. I LOVE history, especially this time period, and for a modern day girl to get thrown back in time . . . I simply can't think of a more intriguing tale!Deb has a wonderful imagination, and this book was an exciting read. I mean, it's not everyday one gets to travel back in time. I've often imagined what it might be like, and Deb does a wonderful job at portraying this in her latest release. From Bethany's funny, modern quips to the dashing Sir Michael Veryan, you'll be swept away into dangerous intrigues of King Edward's court. I have to say, Deb did an awesome job on her research, not to mention, on telling a great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Deborah Kinnard has made me an instant fan of Medieval romance. The element of time travel would not have been my first choice of story material, to be honest. And the cover was not the thing that caught my attention. This book sneaked up on me and seized my heart, and it accomplished this through the following ways.First of all, Kinnard has a masterfully distinct, enjoyable voice. She created a story world so tangible and inviting that I totally suspended my initial disbelief. In fact, she managed to get this non-sci-fi/fantasy reader to feel cascading chills in the description of her time-travel portal, to make this writer fall in love with language all over again, and to infect me so deeply that I found myself thinking in her quaint middle English patterns of speech.The second reason this book resonated with me is Kinnard's historical detail. Images, sights, sounds, names, customs and places became so real to me I feel a loss now that my journey to Fourteenth Century England is over. I experienced castles, the King's court, fabrics, feasts, and falcons so real that I could smell, feel and taste them. Music, hearth-baked bread, lover's kisses, the majesty of lords and ladies. . . I didn't want the living history to end.Third and last, the love story defied space and time. I felt Bethany Lindstrom's conflict as she placed her future in God's hands, letting His sovereign will choose whether she pursue an intellectual understanding of history in the present age, or live history with all of her heart, her soul and her mind, and to offer her deepest affection to the man who had stolen her heart. She risked her hope to marry if God sent her back to her original life. I agonized to the last pages to see what would become of her and Lord Veryan. I didn't just fall in love with the characters, I felt I had become part of their tapestry.I cannot wait for Kinnard's next. Bravo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Demarie Webb
I thought it was a really good book. I love time travel books. It's about time someone thought to write a Christian one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Moody
Seasons in the Mist was an absolute delight! I'm a bedtime reader, and I found myself anxious to get through the day so I could get back to Bethany's time-travel adventure! The details, the descriptions, the drama, the colorful characters . . . it was all there and more. AMAZING accomplishment for a debut novel! Bravo, Deb Kinnard! Well done. Keep 'em coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lynne Costello
Deb Kinnard did a wonderful job weaving the fantasy of time travel into a Christian theme. Her story is fun and interesting. Her knowledge of the medieval time period shines through on each page you read and her descriptions bring things alive. Each page draws you deeper into the plot and keeps you wondering how she is going to pull it off. I will say, she does manage to do it and with flying colors! You won't be able to put the book down. Seasons in the Mist is most assuredly a book you'll be thinking about days or weeks after you finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
A Christian author finally wrote the book I was looking for. Deb Kinnard took one of my favorite storytelling plotstime traveland wove it into a Christian novel Seasons in the Mist. For those readers who prefer Christian literature, I give you a warningno one is saying, time travel is realbut Deb Kinnard paints a lively, rich story novel. The character, Bethany Lindstrom, a graduate student in medieval history, steps through a time portal to King Edwards court. I was entertained listening to the modern day voice of a young woman trying to adjust to wearingnot jeans and a t-shirtbut surcoat and veils, eating with a knife, and doing without coffee, Aspirin, and a million other conveniences. But from the moment she wakes up in a castle she is in danger. One slip of her tongue and her everyday knowledge such could brand her as something evil. This story takes place in a day when what is not understood is often burned at the stake. Bethany comes under the protection of Baron Michael Veryan. But he, too, has dangers lurking around him. These two people of similar heart and faith, and yet so different in the culture of their time, are drawn together. Through intrigue in the court of King Edward, they rescue each other and fall in love. But does God want them together? Or is Bethany to return to her own time and people, never to see him again? I found at the bottom of the time-travel vortex, the grains of truth. Bethany asks the same questions Christians should ask todaywhat does God want me to do in this situation?As a reader of a wide selection of stories and genres, which include Christian and secular, then I recommend this clean, fast-paced romance, rich in historical detail of about 300 pages. If you are willing to suspend your belief just a tiny bit and go through a time portal, then you will find the grains of Christian truth glistening when all else is washed away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terese Kraus
I was a time-travel skeptic, but Seasons in the Mist proved to me what an entertaining read such a book can be. I found the adventure in the Middle Ages to be quite interesting, and the romantic and spiritual aspects of this book do not disappoint. With a satisfying ending that readers will relish, I thought the journey back in time from the perspective of a contemporary character to be a lot of fun and very well done. It is impeccably researched, yet does not get bogged down with historic details, but the time period comes to life and the characters are well-developed. With its very likeable writing style, which includes both humor and spiritual insight, this book will keep readers turning the pages and eager for the next book in the Seasons of Destiny series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
A.K. Arenz, Case of the Bouncing Grandma
TIME TRAVEL, ADVENTURE & ROMANCE!Every reader has at least one book they've loved so much that all others are in some way compared to the extraordinary way the favorite made them feel - the excellence of the writing, the ability of the author to take them into the story. For me, Diana Gabaldon's OUTLANDER epitomizes the best of the best - the tale of time travel, a love across the ages, the hero and heroine who feel as though they are part of my life . . . the book that I had to re-read the moment I'd read the last sentence. I have now found another author, another book, that makes me feel this way.Kudos to author Deborah Kinnard and SEASONS IN THE MIST! I devoured every word, every nuance and went back for more. I cannot wait for more in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Axtell Morren
Deborah Kinnard's novel proves to be a fascinating look at 14th century England, particularly Cornwall, an area that has always attracted me. She makes a believable time travel transition for heroine, Bethany, who finds herself in 1353. Luckily, for Bethany, she is a medieval scholar/grad student, so the incomprehensible English liberally laced with French is no stumbling block for her. I liked how Kinnard's dialogue sounded medieval without being hard to follow. I also enjoyed Beth's very modern expressions within her thoughts.Baron Michael Veryan, an admirable, attractive hero, rose to the challenge of befriending an outspoken, witty 21st century woman. The reader will follow their story with interest to see how they can resolve a growing attraction they feel to one another. As this is Book 1, I was left wondering whether Baron Michael will ever get a peep at Beth's world. For fans of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series, I think this will prove a very satisfying read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dina Sleiman
Season in the Mist provided a fun trip back to the Middle Ages. Time traveling with medieval historian, Bethany Lindstrom proved an informative and rollicking adventure. Serving as the readers tour guide through this little known era, she brought the period to life and offered a quirky contemporary viewpoint as well as the much needed linguistic translation. The novel is well-executed and full of excitement and romance. Ive never pictured the world of Edward the III as clearly as I did in this book, and that from a fellow medieval author. I also found the spiritual perspective and the take on time travel interesting and inspiring, leading up to a satisfying ending. Deb Kinnard did a great job with this voyage into history. I recommend you schedule your trip soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seasons in the Mist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This Medieval tale of love is rich with historical detail and lyrical prose. The characters, setting, language, culture, and the pure simplicity of it all creates an escape for the reader that is so fantastic it is hard to pull one's mind back to the present. And the romance was awesome. Too bad it's not real life. Michael was so heroic and yummy I couldn't get enough of him. Full of passion and emotion, Seasons in the Mist takes historical fiction lovers on an emotional ride they won't soon forget. Is time travel a new trend in Christian fiction? This novel may very well start one because it grabs the reader and pulls them through a portal that is so realistic and convincing readers will be hooked and want more from this author. I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed the ride. I hope there is a sequel in the making.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.