Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black

The ESV Journaling Bible is a new and unique format, with generous margins allowing you to record your thoughts and interact with the Scriptures as you read and study.

  • "This Bible Belongs To:" page
  • Wide, ruled margins - nearly two inches - ideal for recording sermon notes, reflections, prayers, etc.
  • One-year Bible reading plan
  • Double-column format
  • 7.5-point type
  • Black letter text
  • Book Introductions (collected in the back of the Bible)
  • Section headings
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Footnotes clarify translation questions and other issues
  • Attached elastic strap - to securely close your Bible
  • Ribbon marker
  • Cream-colored pages reduce eye-strain
  • 7 1/2" x 6 1/2" x 1 5/16"
  • Durable Black Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Review 1 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delighted.

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carmen
Location:Arvada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift and my friend was DELIGHTED! The shipping took a bit longer than I was told but it was worth the wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrsTilley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted and expected. Love the wide margins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily
I love my new journaling bible! its beautiful and inspires me to get into the Word, and learn about my King!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Riley P.
Pros:Great margins. If you can write small (I am known for it), then the journaling space in this Bible will become a boon. Soon, recollections of all sorts will begin to appear in your Bible if you are diligent in its study. Though there is only one column for writing for every two columns of text, by simply prefacing a note with the verse number, one can overcome this difficulty.The ESV is an excellent translation. The textual notes, while not exhaustive, are always insightful.Cons:Tiny font. While it is certainly readable, one cannot help but question its impact on your eyes. I carry it to church but do most of my reading out of a different Bible.Not entirely durable. I've had to little nicks appear on bottom of the back cover. Nevertheless, after owning it for almost a year, I have had no problems with the cover or binding as I have heard from others who own the same (or a similar) Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
The Baptist Parson
I found this to be a most useful tool for personal Bible study and highly recommend it. The description provided gives a reliable representation of what you will get with this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
J. Hansen
I love the wide margins for notes. I would like to see the same thing in larger print and with a quality cover. The cover only lasts about a year before it tears out and needs to be duct-taped at the seams!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peggy Stachurski
I purchased this for my son who is attending college and studying theology. He thought it was amazing. He loves that you can make notations along the side. Would recommmend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paul Neskow
Well constructed, with excellent margins. Good area for marking. However, type size is very small and so difficult to read. Friend who looked at it also made exact same comment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bruce Eaton
Pay attention to the reviews and you won't be disappointed. The text is small, and it won't get any better simply by not reading what everyone has said about it in the reviews. I wear glasses so I took that into consideration when I bought this, but I'm fine with my glasses on. Lots of room for my notes, and the translation is good, though very conservative. My one complaint is that the subject index is very conservative, and not from a theological perspective, but rather from a political one. It is selective in the verses it chooses to emphasize to illuminate a given subject, and the choices made are skewed, in this readers opinion. Other than that, just what I expected and very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rob Bogle
For the price this Bible is awesome. I love the wide margin where I can put my notes. If you are looking for a inexpensive option for a Bible this is one of the best options I have seen. To me the ESV translation is easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark Christensen
The print is, indeed very small. The Bible itself is rather small to be useful for much note taking. I like the idea of having a large, lined margin. Ideally, I would like to see a larger Bible, single column, with the lined margin. It is difficult to make notes in this Bible in the space provided if you want to comment on the two columns of text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eric Martin
The print was WAY too small for most to read, without the aid of a magnifying glass, and the lines on the side for writing notes were too close together to be of much use, so I wouldn't recommend this Bible to anyone. They need to redo it and to publish something with larger type and much more plentify margins for real Bible Students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mike Neglia
I really enjoy this bible and have actually convinced 2 of my friends to go out and buy their own, so hopefully this review will have the same effect on you. this is actually the first bible that i have ever bought for myself, my whole Christian walk people have given me bibles and this was the first time that i researched and read reviews and picked out the bible that i wanted. many of the reviews that i read criticized this bible for having small font, and i'm not going to lie, it is a little bit small, but nothing i can't handle. if your eyesight is less than 20/20 then i'd suggest you look at one in person before you buy it online. the margins are great, i teach a fair bit and i find i am able to squish a fair sized outline into the margins, i think it makes for a better sermon if the preacher doesn't have to keep going back and forth between his notes and the bible, and this format allows the notes to be written into the bible! the esv is a great translation, if you have any hesitancy about the translation John Piper and Mark Driscoll have both written position papers as to why they teach from it and i think they put forth some great arguments. great bible, great format, great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tina
I think this is an awesome tool! It's almost perfect. PERFECT for me would consist of a larger font, more space between lines, available in KJV, and possibly on 8 1/2 X 11 pages. This would be PERFECT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Todd Fouss
I really love this bible. I wanted a wide margin without the bible being heavy and bulky. It is easy to read and easy to use. The only thing I did not like about the bible is the extra comments in the back about God's plan of salvation. They are not based on the scriptures written in the pages. You will not find a sinner's prayer anywhere in the bible's contents, nor will you exclude baptism for the remission of sins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Vira Armstrong
I DO LIKE THE SIZE AND FORMAT OF THE BIBLE; BUT I WOULD HAVE PREFERRED TO HAVE HAD A LARGER SELECTION OF VERSIONS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin Alford
The lines for note taking are so close together I have to use up two lines or write very, very small. This publisher should take some hints from the layout of the NLT Notetakers Bible. I like the ESV Version and I take a lot of notes in my Bible. I am sorry to say this does not work.But I am sure I will find a use for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Daniel Thompson
I welcome a literal translation with wide margins! The ESV has taken over the NASB as my study Bible. This ESV is wonderful as a wide margin Bible because it is also portable. I do not mind carrying it around. The significant downside is the type-size of the font. It is very small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Journaling Bible, Original, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Stephen
I really enjoy my new esv journaling Bible. I love the translation, probably more than the nasb. The journaling lines are kind of close together, but i write kind of small anyway. since i'm a youth pastor it's exellent to write notes in for Bible studies. This Bible can be used in quiet time and teaching, it's awesome. God's word is good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.