Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter

Moody Publishers Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
26 out of 3281%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Review 1 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It has changed ...

Date:April 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased a Ryrie Study Bible for myself about 4 years ago, my mom has had one since the 80's, and we love them. My son who is 17 wanted a study bible and, after looking at mine, decided to go with a Ryrie. It arrived and his first comment was, "it's so thin!" In my opinion it's like they have sacrificed too much white space on the page to make it thinner. You loose significant note-taking space. But that's not the worst part, and this may not be a big deal for SOME people, it is that they have changed from numbering their verses all at the left to a "paragraph style" where the verses are numbered all over within the text. For my dyslexic son who has tracking issues, this is a major deal. But it's also my own fault for assuming something might have stayed the same. It's still a good bible, but it has lost some of what made a Ryrie special to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I was looking for

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
jdavis
Location:Pensacola
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for more commentary as my first study Bible. This one is very slim in that area. I regret not purchasing in store to look over what I was getting. Also, I believed I was ordering the notched book index, but isn't what I received. Other than that it's okay. Oh, and the red words are hard to read as they seem to be printed lightly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great gift for teens

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri Whitney
Location:Seward, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased with engraving for our teenager and she is very happy with it. Have not had it long, so cannot vouch for the longevity of the engraving, but am hopeful it will look nice for a long time. Purchased genuine leather with engraving, NASB
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
RyanBouse
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By far the most comprehensive Study Bible I could find.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent translation in a serious study bible...

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MCGS
Location:Burlington, VT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a Ryrie, so with the prices here at CBD, I bought two. This one is wonderful, and the illustrations are good. I think the ESV Study Bible provides a lot more in the way of study helps, commentary, maps, etc., but this Bible is a good companion to any other study bible or text bible. The commentary is from one perspective, and I do prefer a bit of balance, but I appreciate the commentary in the Ryrie very much. When you purchase here, you have an idea what you are buying because of the excellent descriptions. Thank you CBD! By the way, the binding is excellent and I think this one will last. I gave this one away because I loved it so much I bought the ESV Ryrie in a Burgundy Leather with imperfect imprint - and those bibles are really a bargain while being excellently bound and soft to the touch. Both editions will stay open to where you put them for reference.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
adimra
Location:Grants Pass OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is beautiful and worth the extra wait to have monogrammed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible is a great study tool.

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dyoung00
Location:Pontotoc, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Ryrie NASB Bible is one of the few NASB editions still available that embodies large print and genuine leather cover in a red letter edition. I was searching for these features in a non-study, pulpit Bible. The great study features of the Ryrie edition makes this Bible bulkier than I personally wanted, but for anyone looking for a study Bible, the Ryrie is one of the best. I was a little disappointed in the leather cover. Although clearly stamped "genuine leather," it has the look and feel of bonded leather. The finish is dull, and I prefer one that is shinier and softer. Only time will tell how rugged the cover is and how well it will hold up to daily use. Although falling slightly short of my personal expectations (hopes?), I would still recommend this Bible as a quality study Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Content OK, Quality of Bible -- POOR

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Blair
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this copy of the Bible for about a year. There are two major problems. First is the red letter printing in many areas is very light and hard to read. Second is the construction of the book is poor. It is already coming apart in both the front and back. Very disappointed in the workmanship and with Moody Press. A study Bible should be made to hold up under use.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ever study Bible

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tiocatino 61
Location:Central Valley California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Ryrie NASB for 30 years plus, I have five of them KJV ESV NASB they just get better over time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ryrie Study Bible is excellent.

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
caecude
Location:Burnet, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first Ryrie Study Bible I ordered was exactly what I wanted, the 1995 edition, red letter with indexes and separated out verses, one from another. The second Ryrie Study Bible I ordered, which I thought was the exact as my first purchase, edition, was not.
My experience with Christian Books has been excellent, the return policy is gracious beyond my expectations. I will purchase another 2 Ryrie Study Bibles if it is exactly as the first Bible I purchased .
Thanks
W Kay Cude
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Some verses faded. One note incomplete.

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jack
Smaller print than the first two versions (NKJV) and (NASB). Very disappointed.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great price for this bible

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
annefaddle
Location:tinley park, il
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered this for my mom for Christmas. she loved it and it was a great price. much cheaper than in the store. the stores don't even carry this bible. great buy!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is a very informative tool.

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
None
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ryrie Study Bible has made a very deep impression on my study life and has made studying God's word much easier for me . This is the second purchase that I have made and it has proved to be a very informative and valuble item (i.e. in depth explanations of key verses, charts and maps in order that the learner my get a feel of what's trying to be explained or demonstrated in the verse).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product at a good price.

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
fitchj1
Location:Nevada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was exactly as advertised. The price was very good, shipping was timely. I have, and will, recommended CBD to others. A great shopping experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It!

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jam Miles
Location:Wilson, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible as a birthday gift for my mother. I have owned one my self for 6 years and love it. My mother was very excited to get it and is really enjoying the study part of it. This is the first study bible that she has ever owned. Her old bible is so worn out and falling apart, so I thought way not get her a new one and why not get her one like the one that i have gotten so much use out of my self. The Ryrie study bible is fantastic and not only to I own one but I also got one for my husband and my two best friends who all also love this bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quality not what expected.

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this new Ryrie Study Bible because my old Ryrie Study Bible was falling apart after many years. My old Ryrie was bonded leather while the new one is genuine leather. While the new Ryrie is thinner, its width is wider. The notes and study helps are excellent. The paper and print quality is inferior to the old Ryrie. I believe the print is smaller and the paper is thinner, and as a result the words on the back side of the page being read bleeds through. The new Ryrie gives literal meaning of words, which the old Ryrie did not. I do like this feature. The old Ryrie started each verse as if starting a new paragraph, which made it easier to read and to locate where the verses begin. The new Ryrie does not do this. The leather is the worst leather covering I have ever come across in a bible. It is thin and has a cheap appearance. Overall, I believe the Ryrie study system is great. However, with the exception of the addition of the literal meanings of words, I was disappointed in the new Ryrie Study Bible.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible is well made with many features.

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
biblecollector
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This genuine black leather Ryrie study bible in NASB has been a valulable study aid. The Bible is well made with superior Smyth binding and excellent leather. The bibles study features add a fresh insight to passages with information no other study Bible has provided. They all have strengths but this Bible clarifies some of the paticular historical context that I have found lacking in other study Bibles. Overall, I would highly recommend this Bible as a first time study Bible purchase.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but not the best

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vincent
Location:Canada, Québec
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the notes, when the Bible says something, say to yourself God says; And M. Ryrie's note explain that clearly.
Only thing I would recomand is better paper quality ; it feels like cheap paper...you have to touch it to see... And I speak of experience, I own an Allan bible which is binded in Scotland. The rule is, if you can see a little bit of light reflection on the paper, it's good quality paper...if you can see the fiber in the paper...you're out of luck...your paper will bleed with a marker or a sharpie micro.
But ! The resources from this bible are great and lot's of notes on theological arguments. The leather is fine ( thin tho), It says genuine leather, but I'm not surprise if it's pigskin. I own a John MacArthur NEG 1979 ( French New Geneva edition) The cover is made of genuine leather and it has the seal on the back like all real cowhide leather have; now that's real leather to me. But the good thin with pigskin is that it's supple and very flexible ( the bible melts in your hand) .
Overall : Good notes, Best English version ever NASB beats them all but is on the same level as the legendary NKJV and
has very good notes in the end concerning the history of the church.
Paper quality could be better and leather quality also could be better, But hey the price is very nice and printed, binded in the U.S. ...Good enough for me for i'm against printing in china.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will enjoy this Bible.

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Lancaster, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love the Ryrie NAS Bible, as it is easy to read and to study and explains scriptures in an easy language.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Soft Touch Brown, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Bible

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
SueBee
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Bible for my husband as his old Ryrie study Bible was falling apart. It is thinner than the old one, which he liked. He also liked the bright white pages for reading and has really enjoyed using this new Bible. It was a great deal for the money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>