Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter

Moody Publishers Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter

"The Bible is the greatest of all books; to study it is the noblest of all pursuits; to understand it the highest of all goals."- Dr. Charles C. Ryrie

Regardless of how many Bibles you may already have, a study Bible is a must if you intend to deepen your understanding of God, His character, His methods, and His commands.

The Ryrie NASB Study Bible (1995 New American Standard Lockman Foundation translation) is purposely designed to keep the focus on God's Word, the 10,000 explanatory notes are written to enhance, not comment on Scripture.

Whether you are a new believer or a mature Christian, Dr. Ryrie includes helpful articles to further your knowledge of the Bible.

Features

  • Helpful articles by Dr. Ryrie's to further your knowledge of the Bible
  • Wider margins allow you to add your thoughts, notes, and insights
  • In-text supporting maps, charts, timelines, and diagrams
  • 16 full-color maps
  • 8-page historical timeline
  • Thorough topical index
  • Comprehensive concordance
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Free WORDsearch™ software download valued at over $400
  • Presentation page
  • 9-point text
  • 9.50" x 7.00" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
20 out of 2774%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Review 1 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good bible!

Date:July 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
oilbarron
Location:Jamestown, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ryrie study bible's have changed over the past couple of years in their look and design. While I prefered the older layout, this new bible is still a good quality bible. I have the genuine leather one and I felt it was good quality all around. Most bibles today are made in leather imitations and genuine leather and even finer leather covers are harder to come by these days unless you go with a Allan bible or one like them and then your paying several hundreds of dollars. As with any bible, it's all in how you take care of it. I have a bonded leather NIV from 1994 and it's still in great shape. I use it, but take care of it. So this leather Ryrie bible will last a long time with good care. For some reason people abuse their bibles and there is a belief the rougher looking your bible is the better christian you are. That dont make sense to me, but to each their own. The NAS translation is my preferred translation along with the NLT. I use both but when I preach or teach, I use the NLT. Anyways, this Ryrie NASB is a good quality bible and at a good price. $50.00 isnt a lot of money for something you'll have a long time ( a dinner at Applebees for 2 people will cost that). It's a good price and good bible. You wont go wrong on this bible all around. I dont always refer to the notes as sometimes the authors theology comes through and thats fine and offers good thoughts, but isnt the final understanding on scripture. The notes are good here, but I do disagree sometimes but thats ok too. I still rate this bible high marks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Diminished quality.

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ally516
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Being the fourth Ryrie Study Bible owned by my family, I was expecting the same quality of the previous ones. I do like the fact that it is a bit thinner than the other ones, making it easier to tote around. But, the genuine leather cover is very thin, and is a matte, dull black. It looks cheap and not durable. The spine has sharp edges. I was hoping to have a Bible that would last many years, developing a nice patina over time. That's not going to happen with this one. Had I not had it personalized, I would have returned it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It has changed ...

Date:April 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased a Ryrie Study Bible for myself about 4 years ago, my mom has had one since the 80's, and we love them. My son who is 17 wanted a study bible and, after looking at mine, decided to go with a Ryrie. It arrived and his first comment was, "it's so thin!" In my opinion it's like they have sacrificed too much white space on the page to make it thinner. You loose significant note-taking space. But that's not the worst part, and this may not be a big deal for SOME people, it is that they have changed from numbering their verses all at the left to a "paragraph style" where the verses are numbered all over within the text. For my dyslexic son who has tracking issues, this is a major deal. But it's also my own fault for assuming something might have stayed the same. It's still a good bible, but it has lost some of what made a Ryrie special to me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I was looking for

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
jdavis
Location:Pensacola
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for more commentary as my first study Bible. This one is very slim in that area. I regret not purchasing in store to look over what I was getting. Also, I believed I was ordering the notched book index, but isn't what I received. Other than that it's okay. Oh, and the red words are hard to read as they seem to be printed lightly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great gift for teens

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri Whitney
Location:Seward, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased with engraving for our teenager and she is very happy with it. Have not had it long, so cannot vouch for the longevity of the engraving, but am hopeful it will look nice for a long time. Purchased genuine leather with engraving, NASB
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent translation in a serious study bible...

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MCGS
Location:Burlington, VT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a Ryrie, so with the prices here at CBD, I bought two. This one is wonderful, and the illustrations are good. I think the ESV Study Bible provides a lot more in the way of study helps, commentary, maps, etc., but this Bible is a good companion to any other study bible or text bible. The commentary is from one perspective, and I do prefer a bit of balance, but I appreciate the commentary in the Ryrie very much. When you purchase here, you have an idea what you are buying because of the excellent descriptions. Thank you CBD! By the way, the binding is excellent and I think this one will last. I gave this one away because I loved it so much I bought the ESV Ryrie in a Burgundy Leather with imperfect imprint - and those bibles are really a bargain while being excellently bound and soft to the touch. Both editions will stay open to where you put them for reference.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
RyanBouse
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By far the most comprehensive Study Bible I could find.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
adimra
Location:Grants Pass OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is beautiful and worth the extra wait to have monogrammed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Content OK, Quality of Bible -- POOR

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Blair
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this copy of the Bible for about a year. There are two major problems. First is the red letter printing in many areas is very light and hard to read. Second is the construction of the book is poor. It is already coming apart in both the front and back. Very disappointed in the workmanship and with Moody Press. A study Bible should be made to hold up under use.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ryrie Study Bible is excellent.

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
caecude
Location:Burnet, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first Ryrie Study Bible I ordered was exactly what I wanted, the 1995 edition, red letter with indexes and separated out verses, one from another. The second Ryrie Study Bible I ordered, which I thought was the exact as my first purchase, edition, was not.
My experience with Christian Books has been excellent, the return policy is gracious beyond my expectations. I will purchase another 2 Ryrie Study Bibles if it is exactly as the first Bible I purchased .
Thanks
W Kay Cude
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Some verses faded. One note incomplete.

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jack
Smaller print than the first two versions (NKJV) and (NASB). Very disappointed.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great price for this bible

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
annefaddle
Location:tinley park, il
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered this for my mom for Christmas. she loved it and it was a great price. much cheaper than in the store. the stores don't even carry this bible. great buy!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ever study Bible

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tiocatino 61
Location:Central Valley California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Ryrie NASB for 30 years plus, I have five of them KJV ESV NASB they just get better over time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is a very informative tool.

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
None
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ryrie Study Bible has made a very deep impression on my study life and has made studying God's word much easier for me . This is the second purchase that I have made and it has proved to be a very informative and valuble item (i.e. in depth explanations of key verses, charts and maps in order that the learner my get a feel of what's trying to be explained or demonstrated in the verse).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product at a good price.

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
fitchj1
Location:Nevada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was exactly as advertised. The price was very good, shipping was timely. I have, and will, recommended CBD to others. A great shopping experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It!

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jam Miles
Location:Wilson, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible as a birthday gift for my mother. I have owned one my self for 6 years and love it. My mother was very excited to get it and is really enjoying the study part of it. This is the first study bible that she has ever owned. Her old bible is so worn out and falling apart, so I thought way not get her a new one and why not get her one like the one that i have gotten so much use out of my self. The Ryrie study bible is fantastic and not only to I own one but I also got one for my husband and my two best friends who all also love this bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quality not what expected.

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this new Ryrie Study Bible because my old Ryrie Study Bible was falling apart after many years. My old Ryrie was bonded leather while the new one is genuine leather. While the new Ryrie is thinner, its width is wider. The notes and study helps are excellent. The paper and print quality is inferior to the old Ryrie. I believe the print is smaller and the paper is thinner, and as a result the words on the back side of the page being read bleeds through. The new Ryrie gives literal meaning of words, which the old Ryrie did not. I do like this feature. The old Ryrie started each verse as if starting a new paragraph, which made it easier to read and to locate where the verses begin. The new Ryrie does not do this. The leather is the worst leather covering I have ever come across in a bible. It is thin and has a cheap appearance. Overall, I believe the Ryrie study system is great. However, with the exception of the addition of the literal meanings of words, I was disappointed in the new Ryrie Study Bible.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will enjoy this Bible.

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Lancaster, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love the Ryrie NAS Bible, as it is easy to read and to study and explains scriptures in an easy language.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I wouldn't recommend this Bible for Anyone

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Study Bible when I purchased it. Unfortunately, they were not met. Positives are that the binding, paper quality and font are excellent. I can't however say the same for what is on the pages. In the publisher's description, they quote the author as saying, "The Bible is the greatest of all books; to study it is the noblest of all pursuits; to understand it the highest of all goals."- Dr. Charles C. Ryrie
I find it hard to understand how someone can say that and totally discount some of what the Bible says. Now, I am not here making an argument for or against baptism as being necessary for salvation, however, Mr. Ryrie does. On whether baptism is immersion or nonimmersion, he just offers the arguments for and against. For baptism, repentance, surrender, and confession to be necessary for salvation; he says absolutely not!!. When he says, in his doctrine outline at the back of the book that baptism is not necessary for salvation, he says that Mark 16:16 was probably not a part of Mark's original gospel. Like I said, whether you believe baptism is necessary or not, dismissing verses you can't explain as not being part of the Bible is not OK. It might be that the student is wrong and needs to rethink, not just dismiss. There are some well known passages that are in some manuscripts and not in others that are in dispute, Acts 8:37 is one of them, but Mark 16:16 is not.
Then, one of the reasons I purchased this Study Bible was that it was supposed to be wide margin format. I admit that the margins are a tiny bit bigger than in my other Bibles, but not all that much. I definitely would not classify it as wide margin.
I want a study Bible that helps me learn more about God's word, maybe discusses word meanings, and arguments for and against controversial issues I don't really want a study Bible that tells me what I ought to get out of the Bible and what it says, especially if it contradicts the Bible in places. I am not returning this Bible as I had it imprinted, but I would otherwise.
-18points
14of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ryrie NAS Study Bible Hardback, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As usual great bible

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evie
Location:Florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used a Ryrie Study Bible since about 1978, and it is falling apart now. So I ordered a new one and I really like it. The language has been updated and is the way we speak now, so that is much better. The only thing I am not crazy about is there is not much room for notes in the margins, and the verses are not marked boldly enough so I have trouble sometimes finding the verses I am looking for. I was surprised at how quickly I received my order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>