Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook

Revell Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2893%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Massey family learns that greed for more and more money, material things and social status can lead to devastating results.
Tuck Massey, a Texas billionaire, has built his empire by fraudulently taking money from associates, friends and family.
His wife Claire Massey lives in a world that most people can only imagine. She lacks for nothing. They have huge homes, she wears only designer clothes, jewels, luxury cars and a social status that puts them at the top of the Texas Elite. Her life comes crashing down around her when Tuck is arrested for fraud and imprisoned. They lose everything. She feels betrayed and is angry. Will she stand by her husband and forgive? How will this affect their three grown children? Will Tuck and Claire be able to embrace their new life style together?
An emotional and heartbreaking story that will remind you that the true meaning of life is not money nor material things but is faith, love of God and love of family.
A great thought provoking and enjoyable read with well developed characters.
I recommend this book
I received this book from bookfun.org for my hones opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love Through Loss

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pamela Jo
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first book in the Texas Gold series. It is a story about a dream life gone bad. I found it difficult to connect to the characters, so did not enjoy the book as much as I expected to.
Claire Massey is a Texas socialite and mistress of Legacy Ranch. Her husband, Tuck, is a cattle broker. Along with their children, they have been living a life of luxury. Their world falls apart when Tuck is arrested and convicted of fraud. He is sent to prison and Claire is left to bear the shame and humiliation of Tuck's crimes.
Claire has been betrayed by Tuck and finally has enough of the scandal which he has created. She wants a divorce. Tuck loves Claire and does not want to lose her.
The story follows Claire as she tries to rebuild her life, protect her family, and distance herself from her husband. Can Claire salvage any dignity? Will she forever be cast out of Texas high society? Will she find forgiveness, or be able to forgive Tuck? As she seeks to find answers, she discovers what really matters in life is not what she previously believed to be important.
Overall, there is a message of faithfulness and rebuilding trust throughout this novel. I liked that aspect of the story. That being said, I simply did not like the characters very much. I do appreciate being given the opportunity to read and review this book. It just never completely engaged my interest.
I received a copy of this novel from the publisher, through The Book Club Network (bookfun.org) in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A For-Better-Or-For-Worse book

Date:July 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katheryn
Location:Casa Grande, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is nearly a riches to rags story. A man worth billions, with a wife and three barely-grown children, is arrested for bilking thousands of people out of their life savings. He is sent to prison for 20 years and leaves behind a family struggling with what their husband and father did to them. Some drift away from other family members as their grief and anger engulf them. The mother suffers the loss of the love of her life while trying to hold her family together and find a job, something she has never held in nearly 50 years of life. The wife and daughter suffer most in trying to financially survive.
The author handles well the ambivalence family members have toward their husband and father and their strange new life. Forgiveness plagues them all; can they do it? But then their lives take such strange turns in ways they never thought possible, they wonder if they can forgive themselves, and if God can even forgive them all.
The book is a good example of faithfulness in marriage, even when things go terribly wrong, and the need for family to stay together. It is a for-better-or-for-worse kind of book, and might be helpful as a gift to couples and families struggling for their own survival.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claire Massey has it all. The mansion, the Maserati, the Jimmy Choo’s. The billionaire husband, the perfect son, and the daughter who is engaged to the man poised to become Texas’s youngest senator. Then it all goes wrong, when her husband is arrested as the mastermind behind a Ponzi scheme, a fall to rival that of Bernie Madoff.
It’s natural to not want to like Claire. After all, she has everything, yet it was all built on smooth talking. That mind of success just isn’t normal. How could she not have known? Yet she doesn’t come across as the spoilt little rich girl (although her daughter, Lainie, certainly does). Claire is honest, sincere, and hard-working, and believes in her husband against all the odds. Her character is one of the strengths of A Woman of Fortune. It’s tempting to not feel any sympathy for a woman who has so much, yet somehow I did.
Another strength is Margarita, Claire’s housekeeper. While the Massey family are churchgoers, none of them show any evidence of a real Christian faith. Margarita does. She’s a strong, loyal and likeable character. In fact, all the characters are strong (they’re not all likeable, but that’s kind of the point).
A Woman of Fortune is a fascinating insight into the problems faced by a family who lose everything – money, reputation, friends – and have to navigate a range of unimaginable personal and social situations. It's a strength of the novel that I actually sympathised with Claire, and even with her spoiled daughter, despite all the reasons not to.
Recommended.
Thanks to Revell and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of family, scandal and forgiveness

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Full of politics, scandal, torn family relationships and trying to hold it all together amid adversity. Claire’s whole posh, high society life has crashed and burned at her feet by the criminal actions of her husband. How can a family ever stay together after that? This story is about their struggle to have a life again when you have to start out with next to nothing. All of the characters have soul searching and many hard decisions to make. The author writes from the perspective of inside the scandal. A unique way of looking at how those in the public eye do suffer and can find their way to God through it all.
I received this book from bookfun.org for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A story of Betrayal and Humiliation

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Copley, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the book cover of A Woman of Fortune from Kellie Coates Gilbert. The enticing red dress and the foreground of the book made me want to pick it up and read the story behind the cover. Though, the cover of the book was great. I did have a hard time getting through the book. A story of betrayal and humiliation of Claire Massey, a socialite woman who was married to Tuck,a cattle rancher. There life seemed like a dream, with fancy cars, a great big house, all the money they could have, and other luxuries you could imagine. When during an event, he is arrested for scamming people and stealing their money. He is prosecuted and sent to prison, while his wife and family is left to pick up the pieces of their lives. The story talks about how each member of the family dealt with the situation and how they moved forward. The author put realism in each character and at times there were a few instances that I could relate to the character. For me, it was a slow read, but a great story. I commend the author for stepping out and writing about real life issues that happens not only to the rich, but to the poor as well.
Received this book from The Book Club Network my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

public and personal nightmare

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who taking their wedding vows ever expects the worse rather than the better, or the poorer rather than the richer? What happens when the spouse and parent you rely on to “fix” any unpleasant situations life may bring suddenly can’t make things right because he caused them? What happens when masks are removed and you find that the one you thought you knew best had more secrets than you could ever imagine? What happens to a family, forever changed, who can’t get back to “the happy of Before”? All these issues and questions must be faced by the characters of this story of a privileged, wealthy family who have their world turned upside down--heavy issues that Tuck, Claire and their grown children all handle or react to in their own way.
The ripples of harm created by Tuck’s decisions have wider reaching effect than just the family, but that guilt only makes the family’s hurt and anger and humiliation so much the greater. Each character must decide how to deal with these emotions, including how they will relate to Tuck. As their lives unravel, the façade of perfection and happiness crumbles along with their dreams for the future. As Max tells his mother, Claire, “Mom, this family has always been broken. Problem is, you are just now discovering the fact.” Yet, Claire decides “The Massey dynasty was over, but their family must go on, despite their wounds”. The overwhelming questions in the reader’s mind revolve around what will happen to everyone—will they fold or will they become stronger? Will the individuals stay shattered in their own little misery, or will they be able to pull together, find and offer forgiveness, and go on?
It is a painful story that reflects recent headlines about fraud in the marketplace. It also relates to the author’s experience in the legal field investigating the largest cattle fraud in the history of the country. The fact is then that these characters’ stories could be real, but this doesn’t detract from the reader’s sympathy for innocents caught in someone else’s web. My favorite character of all was Margarita who offered unconditional love and support as well as well-chosen expressions of wisdom and faith when they were most needed.
This is a book that will grab the reader’s emotions and interest from the beginning and provide great twists and turns in the plot and the characters as the action rushes toward a very satisfying conclusion. It has a lot to say about what is really important, repentance and redemption, and faith in a loving God to carry one through the waters of trouble-whatever they may be. I received this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for this my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fortune lost: True fortune found

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:SW MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kellie Coates Clark has written a memorable story exploring the greed of one Texas billionaire and the resulting devastation it visits upon his family. Tuck Massey is a cattle broker who, it turns out, has made his family rich by bilking an incredible number of people out of their life savings. Whether an average joe, their best friends, or even Claire's mother , all are victims.
When the law catches up with Tuck, it comes as a complete surprise to his wife, Claire, and the rest of the family. They lose their highly regarded social standing, nearly everything they own, plus former friends turn their backs on them and the general public hates them.
Not only does Tuck get sentenced to prison for 20 years, but the family is torn apart. Claire considers divorce due to all the deceit Tuck practiced. Lainie's engagement falls through, and she hides from the family. Garrett and his wife leave the ranch to work for her folks, again distancing themselves from Claire and the others. Only Max, the "unreliable" son, is there for both his mother and father. In the end, each family member has to make a decision: will they rely on God to forgive what seems unforgivable, and wait faithfully 20 years for Tuck's release; or will they grab their last chance for happiness and move on with life without him?
Clark's inside knowledge of cattle fraud cases and the legal system help provide the backbone for a very realistic, well-written novel.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept me coming back!

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in 15 minute chunks I inhaled Kellie Coates Gilbert's latest novel, A Woman of Fortune. I honestly didn't know if I'd have time to read this book, but the cover drew me. I LOVE that red dress. Then the characters and their problems sucked me in. In an author note, Kellie writes about what inspired the book. Essentially it was thinking about the families of men who engage in huge fraud cases. What would it be like to have everything ripped away from you? To learn that your entire life was built on fraud?
That's exactly the position that Claire Massey and her kids find themselves facing. They each respond in different ways, and the book reads like a slice of real life as Claire has to confront what has happened, and how she will ever piece her life back together. Everything from finding an apartment to locating a job is a challenge. But that's not what kept me turning the pages and thinking about the book when I couldn't read. What kept me glued to the story was the thought, What would I do? How would I respond?
This book was a rare treat in women's fiction. While I don't usually read women's fiction, this one is going on my keeper file, and I can't wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Story Without Pulling Punches!

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This author was very new to me. I had never heard of her or her books but when I saw the plot, it sounded quite interesting. Enough for me to review it:) And I am soo glad I did!! The story pulls you into it and I couldn't put it down if I wanted to. Yes, I read it in one day it was that interesting. I just had to know what happened next. If it would turn out the way I thought it would or if a twist would be put in there somewhere. And while twists and curves were thrown in, I am glad with the way it turned out. Even if I wish there was more to the ending.
Claire is the wife and mother who thinks life is going along great until the day her husband is arrested on fraud charges. For a while I expected him to get off somehow and walk away totally free. But nope, the author doesn't paint things all rosy and gloss over the troubles. Definitely something I admired with the writing. We see things up close and personal. And the struggles that Claire and her family go through are so pertinent to the trials of today. Her fight to save her family even in the midst of great loss really made her a hero in my eyes. I went through varying emotions with her husband. Which we see in her struggle as well. He committed all these crimes and yet Kellie makes you see why he did it and that in reality, many of us have some of the same choices to make, we just have to decide right.
This is not a book I would give to a teenager unless they are mature. We see a young woman move in with a man old enough to be her father. Partly to hurt her ex but also because this man has money enough to help her when she loses everything. There are also a couple times dealing with intimacy between husband and wife that were borderline in my opinion. Just giving a heads up for those who don't like stuff like that. Overall though an excellent book that I liked because it was different. A different plot and it seemed like the author wasn't afraid to pull punches. Loved it!!
I received a copy in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality women's fiction

Date:June 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
After being wowed by Kellie's debut novel, Mother of Pearl, she instantly became one of my very favorite writers. Sometimes a sophomore novel fails to meet expectations, but that is certainly not the case here. In A Woman of Fortune, Kellie creates a gripping, ripped-from-the-headlines story and shows what could happen with faith in the mix. The story has all the trademarks that I've come to expect from Kellie's stories: exquisite writing that flows across the page, emotionally complex characters who deal with troubling situations, legal drama, southern humor (Texas style), spiritual application, and a plot that just won't let go.
In Dallas, a town that "liked to place the rich on pedestals, then knock them off for sport, " Kellie has taken an unimaginably horrible situation and shaken a family to its core. The Massey family isn't very likeable, at least in the beginning, so to make this reader care about them is a quality of great writing. Politics, scandal, and all the trappings of wealth are blended with themes of friendship, commitment, mercy and forgiveness.
Husband and father Tuck Massey had a driven spirit to come out a winner, no matter what - but shortly after the story opens, he is arrested and incarcerated on multiple counts of cattle fraud and federal racketeering charges. There's no doubt that Claire and Tuck loved each other, but Claire had never seen things as they really were. "Funny how she'd always known the grass was green - but never needed to know how or why." And the three Massey children, raised in the proverbial "lap of luxury" without a strong faith on which to stand, are left with their own coping mechanisms. I was particularly drawn to daughter Lainie for some reason - daddy's "princess" who bartered her self-worth, but eventually discovered it wasn't enough and would eventually break her soul. These characters and their raw emotions felt so very real.
There were two secondary characters that I loved, Jana Rae and Margarita. Jana Rae is that friend that we all need in our lives, someone we can depend on to be in our corner, but who will speak the truth that we need to hear. And I want to believe that Margarita's deep faith had a tremendous influence on Claire.
While A Woman of Fortune highly entertains, its spiritual insights remain with me. I felt challenged to ask myself what I would have done had I been in Claire's place, if everything I valued and cared for was suddenly ripped away. Do I really feel, like Margarita, that nothing comes into our lives without first being sifted by God's hands, and that God makes all things possible? Am I quick to turn to God during hard times so that I can hold His hand as He guides me through? And sometimes toughest of all, is God really all I need? These words of Lainie say it all: "Her daddy had tried to give her the world and failed. On the other hand, God had created her heart. Who was more qualified to satisfy what she craved?"
Thank you, Kellie Coates Gilbert, for a wonderful, hard-to-put-down story that challenges my faith at the same time. Highly recommended to all readers.
Thank you to Revell for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books to come out this year!

Date:June 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading and being wowed by Kellie Coats Gilbert's debut novel Mother Of Pearl, I was quite excited to not only find out about A Woman Of Fortune but also to get my hands on a copy.
I don't know how she does it, must be a sign of a truly good writer, but Kellie Coates Gilbert has an amazing way of getting into the characters minds and totally immersing the reader in the story. My life couldn't be any more different than Claire's, for one thing there is an age gap of 20+ years, and yet I was so completely pulled into Claire's life that it came as a mild shock when I had to return to my own world.
A Woman Of Fortune is a thought-provoking look into what might happen to a family that has been torn by deceit and are in the public eye. Each member has to deal with the fallout and make their own choices on how to handle it.
I have to say that after reading this book I won't look at the news stories in quite the same way anymore. Kellie Coates Gilbert shows the pain a family can go through when only seen through the lens of a news camera and I don't think I will be quite as quick to judge after this.
The author is a master at capturing how people truly are. The emotions, reactions, and actions of the characters are so realistic that it will make you examine yourself and wonder how you might act in the same situation. This is a family reeling from a shocking blow, they make mistakes, they don't always act like perfect Christians, but they are totally real. And in the end it all comes down to family, faith, and the power of real love.
A Woman Of Fortune is a book for women of all ages, one you really shouldn't miss. It's entertaining and the reader comes away with the desire to strengthen their own families.
(I received a copy of this book from Revell for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Family In Crisis, Loyalty and Forgiveness

Date:June 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kellie Coates Gilbert in her new book, “A Woman Of Fortune” Book One in the Texas Gold series published by Revell brings us into the life of Claire Massey.
From the back cover: You never know what you’re really made of until you lose everything.
Texas socialite Claire Massey is living the dream–designer clothes, luxury cars, stunning homes. But everything comes crashing down when her charming cattle broker husband is arrested for fraud. Suddenly she finds herself facing attorneys, a media frenzy, and a trail of broken hearts. Betrayed and humiliated, Claire must face incredible odds to save her family–and discover a life worth living.
Author Kellie Coates Gilbert delivers a story both poignant and emotionally gripping that celebrates the kind of fortune that lasts.
Everything is bigger in Texas. Greed, deceit, betrayal and corruption. On the flip side of that there is also love of family, forgiveness and loyalty. “A Woman Of Fortune” is filled with tension and many twist and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story is about a family that is falling apart and society is enjoying their fall into destruction. Claire is devastated by the betrayal and corruption of her husband but fights to keep her family together. In the hands of a less skillful writer this book could degenerate quickly. However, Ms. Gilbert is highly talented and keeps, not only the story moving, but she keeps it at a high level of quality. Ms. Gilbert makes you care for all the characters and their journey. This is also just plain fun and exciting as well. Don’t start this book late at night because it will cost you sleep.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2014
What does it profit a man to gain the whole world yet lose his own soul in the process? Unbeknownst to the Massey family, they are about to experience this first hand. The Massey's are a larger than life family living the good life in the heart of Dallas society. Tuck Massey has built a cattle trading dynasty and his wife Claire is part of all the elite society groups. Their son Garrett is being groomed to take over the family business. Their daughter Lainie is set to marry a future senator with aspirations of the White House. Even the black sheep of the family, Max, is doing well at his reporting job.
But one day in the most humiliating and confusing of circumstances all the walls come tumbling down. Life as they knew it ended in that moment. When you fall from such great heights how do you pick yourself up and begin again? How do you hold a fractured family together when the wounds go so deep? Claire is faced with these situations and must find the inner strength to carry on.
This glaringly honest portrayal of a family in turmoil could be ripped from the headlines. Kellie Coates Gilbert has created fictional characters that allow us to examine the true cost of fame and fortune. Through their story we're allowed to ponder what lengths we'd go to get what we desired. While this is a book filled with scandal it is also a story of forgiveness and the power of the marital bond. My favorite line of the book comes towards the end:
". . . the Masseys were a family who knew how one day could shift your course and catapult you into a series of events never intended to be lived. She'd explain that they'd all stumbled and lost their footing, but in the end they found their way--together."
For an uplifting read about the power of family, love, forgiveness and enduring commitment, pick this book up. It is sure to make you appreciate your family and hold them a little tighter.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my all time favorite novels

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You don't just read a Kellie Coates Gilbert novel; you become part of the story, and A Woman of Fortune is a novel of extraordinary excellence. It's going on my Top Ten for 2014 list and my All Time Favorites list. Novel Rocket and I give it our highest recommendation. It's a 5-star read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow beginning, but rest is great!

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Review:
This book was fairly interesting. Although modern day fiction is not my favorite, I did enjoy this storyline. I liked that the story was set in the state of Texas, I am sucker for a book that is a good southern state.
Although the beginning of this book did not grab my attention immediately, I enjoyed reading about the characters and the mid and end of the book were very well written.
“I received this book from Revell Publishing for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skillful character portrayal, stirring novel

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took note of Kellie Coates Gilbert with the release of her stellar debut novel last year (Mother of Pearl, reviewed here), and her sophomore release is just as impressive. Although the utter opulence of the Massey family's life in the opening chapters frankly made me cringe, Gilbert's skill at character portrayal gradually caused my heart to warm toward Claire and sympathize with the plethora of emotions she experienced during the upheaval of the life she knew. The nuances of family relationships, the superficiality of "friendships" based on status, and what defines a marriage - all of these issues and more are capably explored in this riveting story. A stark reminder that sometimes we have to lose it all to discover what we really have, A Woman of Fortune will stir your heart and strengthen your faith.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishers as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3.5 stars

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is a hard one to review. Kellie's writing skills are superb, she took characters that were not likeable and turned them into a story that entertains you. I enjoyed reading this book, it was a quick read that I didn't put down until I was finished. For me the biggest disappointment in the whole book was the fact there was not a strong faith element, yes the husband was an elder in a church, and yes they attended church. However, the faith element seemed to be an afterthought. So that disappointed me. The ending wrapped up too quickly also, and there was some other things that made me pause. My afterthoughts about the storyline, give me pause and reason to give this book 3.5 stars. The writing skills of this author are extraordinary, and I loved her first book, this book was not a favorite but the skills are still there. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting, taken from the headlines story.

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was intrigued by this book right off the bat. It is set in Texas. Generally, that's all I need to hear to want to read a book. I mean really, Texas is just an amazing state.
I also was interested in the the idea of the story. I remember Enron and the Berny Madoff scandals. I always did wonder about the families. The ring leaders of these scams are hated with such a passion, you can't help but wonder if their families didn't help with such schemes, because of the amount of money laundered. A Woman of Fortune offered a look into a families life when the lies finally catch up.
Kellie's background as an investigator enhanced this story. The knowledge of the workings and reactions is great. The anger, resentment, the hurt are written by one who has knowledge of it all, it really shows in how the characters act and what they say. I enjoyed that immensely about this story. There is so much more that goes on then what the press writes about.
Having been born in raised in Texas, especially in the general area that the story is set in, I noticed one of my pet peeves pop up. It's the over abundance of the Texas culture. It saturated the story. It took away from the enjoyment a bit for me. Just as I was getting drawn in to the, "Oh, my goodness, did that really happen, wow!" moments, the exaggerated Texas moment would pop up and push me back a little bit.
I will say, that is from battling people my whole life and dealing with Yankees who assume that we ride horse and have no grass or trees, (yes, people have looked at me with disbelief when I burst their bubbles), but back to the story....
I loved how this story unfolded with the new information that was presented and how Claire dealt with each blow that hurt her and her family more. When life seems to fall apart in an instant, you are set in the stages of loss and grief, and Claire showed how hard it is to deal with, especially when it comes out of the blue. The damage to the family, the personal heartache, and the physical pain are all present and the different ways to cope.
The story really draws you in and makes you wonder what will happen next. It also shows how one person can affect so many lives.
Thank you to the Revell Blog Tour Program, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Woman of Fortune, A (Texas Gold Collection): A Texas Gold Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating

Date:June 2, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did. I know that sounds strange, but sometimes after I request a book to review I wonder if I will really enjoy it.
Well, I am not sorry I requested this one. I couldn’t put it down, this story captivated me.
Now, I will say I struggled through the first chapter and was really beginning to wonder if I would be able to give this a good review. In hindsight I think it was due to the fact that everything seemed too perfect, which I think was Kellie’s point because everything wasn’t perfect and when that comes to light it is a huge blow to the family.
This family had it all. Great kids (for the most part) a great marriage and lots of money. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to relate to Claire.
By the end of the chapter two my worries were gone. Kellie had me hooked and I loved this family and was rooting for them and hoping they wouldn’t fall apart. I wanted them to see how much the needed Jesus to pull them through and gain a deeper relationship with the only One who could redeem.
This really is a beautiful story about what family means. A true Genesis 5020. The enemy wanted to use this horrible thing that Tuck did to destroy them but it ended up making them stronger. I don’t want to say too much so you will have to read it for yourself to see how that all happens.
This is definitely a different world than most of us our used to but I think you will enjoy entering this atmosphere of Texas Gold.
Can’t wait for the next book!
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>