Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook

Revell One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.292 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 2492%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Review 1 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Annoying heroine

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It seems I'm in the minority in not enjoying this book.
Chef Chris Reed has recently moved to the small town of Last Chance where he has taken over the Dip ‘n’ Dine diner with the hope of turning it into a destination restaurant—a plan that might be foiled by stuck-in-the-mud employees, and the fact he now has to care for his seven-year-old niece, Olivia. Sarah Cooley has returned to Last Chance to teach second grade, having recently broken up with her college boyfriend, Brandon Miller, as he was too controlling.
I liked the writing. I liked Chris, especially the way he had such patience with his stubborn employees, and the way he cared for Olivia. I really liked Olivia, who struggled to cope with feelings of rejection and abandonment (and I would have liked to have seen more of her personal growth). Elizabeth, Sarah’s grandmother, was wonderful the way she stepped in and looked after Olivia. In fact, Olivia was the only thing that kept me reading.
But I didn’t like Sarah, and didn’t I understand what Chris saw in her. At one point she describes herself as “too stupid to live”, and while that might be a bit harsh, she came across as narrow-minded and judgemental, unfriendly, and none too bright. She doesn’t like the fact Brandon keeps texting and calling her, yet doesn’t think to change her cell phone number (or block his number). She doesn’t like Chris because he’s from the city (Albuquerque might be the biggest city in New Mexico, but it’s hardly Chicago or New York). And there’s no noticeable change or growth in her character.
It seems I already own the first book in this series, Welcome to Last Chance, although I haven’t read it (it was a free download). After reading this, I’m not sure I want to, even though it won the 2009 ACFW Genesis Prize. The writing in One More Last Chance is good, the plot had potential, and the minor characters are portrayed well (several of them are annoying, but they are portrayed well). But those positives aren’t enough to outweigh the Sarah effect. I have a hard time enjoying a romance novel where I don’t like the heroine and can’t understand what the hero sees in her.
Thanks to Revell and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Angela Suzanne
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second book in the A Place to Call Home series. I did not read the first one but it didn't affect the way I read this one. It was an okay book but it didn't live up to my expectations. This is supposed to be a romance novel and I found the romance lacking. The romance aspect of the book seemed to drag on until the end where it happened fairly quickly. It was almost as if the two fell in love without anything really happening between them. At times I also felt like yelling at Sarah because it seemed like she lacked a backbone when it came to Brandon. He kept manipulating her but she didn't seem to notice or care. She continuously let him get away with it until something happened to let her see what a jerk he was which she should have noticed a long time ago. It was an okay book but it was too slow going until the end for my tastes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible read

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This second book in the A Place to Call Home series is just as incredible as the first! And we're right back in Last Chance, New Mexico with the same collection of well-meaning town busy bodies who don't know the meaning of the word 'no'. They just bulldoze their way through any situation with enough love to make up for their lack of finesse. I want to live in Last Chance!
And everyone needs a grandmother like Elizabeth. Spunky and gracious and full of unconditional love. There are life lessons to be learned just reading about Sarah's grandmother.
I love the fresh angle of small-town girl wanting to come home after college. She comes back for her first teaching assignment basking in the glory of how unchanged Last Chance remains. Sarah has a problem with change. Unfortunately our hero, Chris, is full of plans to instigate change. Talk about a clash of wills! Sarah is prejudiced right from the very start while poor Chris is royally smitten.
And if that isn't complicated enough there's a gut-wrenching secondary plot that will pull at your heartstrings. One More Last Chance is a beautiful celebration of embracing change in order to live life to the fullest.
*My thanks to the publisher and Net Galley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful romance

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One More Last Chance
By: Cathleen Armstrong
A book you won't want to put down one you start. This is a sequel to Welcome to Last Chance. Sarah is going home to Last Chance where nothing ever changes. Tired everyone including a x boyfriend trying to change her. She wants to be who she wants to be. She has decisions to be made about her boyfriend Brandon if she does want to marry him or not. Mean while she will be a teacher. Small towns tend to be that way where no one likes change.
New man in town Chris owns the Dip "n" Dine and he is making waves by wanting to put new things on the menu. Now he is already to make changes and is all for it.
Will things work out for Chris and Sarah? Nice romance not over done. The characters are just like people in my small town. Can this small town except new changes or will it tare the town apart? I look forward to book 3. I really enjoyed the characters I think they are well written. I think Cathleen did a wonderful job writing this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: This book came to me free from the publisher, Revell, In exchange for my own honest review. I have expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the small town feel

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One More Last Chance is a light romantic read that has the small town feel that where it seems nothing ever changes, or that's what Sarah Cooley thinks. Chris Reed has just purchased the Dip n Dine Restaurant and plans on stirring things up a bit, little does Chris and Sarah realize just what sort of change might be coming to Last Chance.
I loved the characters and setting of this novel, a delightful read that I would almost label as feel good because it put a smile on my face more than a few times. While the characters have issues in their lives, it was the growth and change that kept me reading to see how the story would wind up. Wonderful characters and a small town setting made this book a winner for me, and while I didn't read the first book in the series I had no problems diving right into this one, and enjoyed this story and characters so much that I plan on going back and reading the first book.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
One More Last Chance is the 2nd book in this Series. I have not read the 1st book, and can tell you this book can definitely be a stand alone. While I didn't know the characters in the first book, I never felt like I was missing anything but I plan on reading it next! :)
Sarah has just ended a relationship and is looking to a city called Last Chance to help her mend her broken heart. The last thing she ever wanted was someone in her life that would change things up but Chris Reed was certainly brought into Sarah's life for a reason!
One More Last chance is a wonderful story in a sweet town that will make you want to visit and you might not want to leave !! While Sarah is very difficult to like in the beginning, things begin to change just as I hoped they would! I highly recommend it and can tell you it would be a great read over this next holiday weekend!
Thanks to Revell for allowing me this complimentary book in exchange for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TRADITION FALLS FOR CHANGE

Date:May 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reading Rover
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ONE MORE LAST CHANCE
By Cathleen Armstrong
Our female lead is a recent College Grad looking for a new start after the last fiancé.
Sarah our ‘bulldozer’ has decided she wants everything to stay the same, and returns to her tiny town to roll in sameness and tradition.
Where she encounters change in the form of our male lead, the new owner of the only eatery in this picturesque tiny town.
Sarah cannot stand Mr. Change-Chris, ‘I’m following my Dream (And Meeting All Kinds of Resistance!)’.
Chris is captivated by Sarah, his opposite. If it wasn’t for Grandma, and Chris’s little spunky niece-’I’ve had enough of being an unwanted burden!” would there be any hope?
Of course the Ex has to sharm in and just about wrecks everything-but, we get a pretty happy ending, and the real of the harsh part of life, is not …excluded.
-30- Revell
PLANTS
Posted Yesterday by BethBR
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2014
Once More Last Chance brings us back to the quaint little middle-of-nowhere town in New Mexico. Things are changing in Last Chance and that doesn't sit well with the locals. In fact Sarah Cooley decided to move back because she likes the way things always stay the same.
Much to her dismay there's a new man in town and his name is Chris Reed. He is the new owner of the Dip 'n' Dine restaurant. A restaurant that has featured the same daily specials for as long as anyone can remember. Chris may be the owner and a professional chef but it sure feels like Carlos and Juanita, the cook and waitress, are the ones calling the shots!
With Sarah's negative attitude about change and Chris' need to change things up, any type of romantic relationship is surely doomed. But just when it all seems lost, Chris' sister breezes in and leaves him a surprise that will change not only Chris' life, but Sarah's as well.
This second installment in the A Place To Call Home series can easily be read as a stand-alone novel. Many of the characters from the first novel, Welcome to Last Chance, make appearances but the story-line itself doesn't necessarily need the knowledge of the first novel.
The third book in the series is scheduled to be released in the Spring of 2015. I for one will be looking forward to seeing what happens to Chris' sister Kaitlyn Reed who is introduced in this novel.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Constant Versus Change and Romance

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathleen Armstrong in her new book, “One More Last Chance” Book Two in the A Place To Call Home series published by Revell introduces us to Sarah Cooley.
From the back cover: Some things never change…and some things change you forever.
Sarah Cooley has come home to Last Chance, New Mexico, for one reason–because it doesn’t change. After an engagement gone bad with a man who wanted to change everything about her, Sarah is more than ready for the town whose motto may as well be, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”
Chris Reed, on the other hand, wants nothing more than to spark some change in the little town. As the new owner of the Dip ‘n’ Dine, he’s shaking things up to draw folks from all over the Southwest into his restaurant.
As it turns out, the winds of change are blowing into Last Chance–just not in the ways that Sarah or Chris might expect.
With the same evocative writing and fascinating characters that won fans for her debut novel, Cathleen Armstrong invites readers back to Last Chance for a soul-searching, romantic story of two people navigating the twists and turns of small-town life.
I cannot help it I just like the name of this series, “A Place To Call Home”. And the name of this place is Last Chance, New Mexico. Together they bring to mind cozy, easy places and people because when you are home there is always another chance. What do you do when you desire a constant in your life while others are really working for change? Sarah has come home for the constant so that she can rebuild her fractured life. Chris wants the change and finds resistance not only from within but from the people he wants the changes for, including Sarah. Then there is the situation with his sister, Kaitlyn, and her daughter, Olivia. And then, of course, there is the romance. This book is all about relationships, good and bad, and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Armstrong has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mardell
Location:Spokane WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of people go to college with the express idea of getting out of town and looking for a new life that is more exciting than their home town. For Sarah Cooley coming home to Last Chance, New Mexico has always been her plan. Last Chance never changes and that is exactly why she wanted to come home and teach school like her grandmother before her. Sarah left behind a broken relationship with her college sweetheart who wanted to live the high life with his upward climb to success.
Chris Reed bought the Dip 'n Dine, Last Chance's favorite, only restaurant. He has big plans to serve foods that will put the restaurant on the map as a dining destination. His cook and waitress balk at any changes to the Dip 'n Dine and so it appears do the townspeople who want things to stay the same.
Sarah, who missed everything about home, resents Chris for wanting to make any changes to the menu. Her plan is to come to the Dip 'n Dine every day for a week so she can order each daily special. Chris is stunned when he sees Sarah, struck by the old fashioned lightening bolt of attraction.
Everyone has baggage and for Sarah, Brandon and his big plans for their life together in Chicago. She doesn't want to leave Last Chance. Nor does she want to feel the control he wants to have on their life with every minute planned his way.
Chris has Kaitlyn, his younger sister that he cared for and protected most of his life. A single mother who looks for the fun and love she missed out on in life, she often leaves her daughter Olivia alone. She comes to Last Chance and leaves Olivia with Chris. Misguided, she heads out on a trip that promises everything she missed out on by being stuck as a single mom.
Learning about the true nature of those we encounter is often a surprise. Whether we are looking for the promise of a better life or the comfort of a familiar life with no upheaval there is a higher plan. Whether we see that and embrace it is important. Life is full of lessons and One More Last Chance is a good story that one can relate to as most of us have similar people in our own lives. Cathleen Armstrong has a gift for creating characters who are believable, endearing and frustrating! I am eager to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time for another chance...

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I adore this series.
Cathleen Armstrong's books are delectable. Sometimes bittersweet, very down-to-earth and always uplifting, they've got a perfect tagline: Grace with a side of Green Chile.
How could I not love last Chance, New Mexico? The folk of this town are salt of the earth, from Juanita who ends every piece of advice with "Just a word to the wise," to Ben, the Sheriff's Deputy who's right there when you need him.
They appreciate their humble roots, retain their rural ranching heritage, and are active about establishing community.
This second novel, One More Last Chance, is a fine complement to Welcome to Last Chance, and while it can stand alone, I don't think you'd want to miss the whole series.
This is the story of a girl- Sarah Cooley- who loves her hometown, and a guy- Chris Reed- who seems determined to change it.
Well, to be honest, he's not interested in big changes, he just wants to shake up the menu at the Dip 'N Dine.
But that's not the point. The point is that he shouldn't change anything about Last Chance, even if he's the new owner of the cafe!
All Sarah's best memories are wrapped up in this place, and she needs it to stay stable and sane and the same.
But then it seems like Chris needs Last Chance to become his home too, and it seems to Sarah like he could use a friend.
So, why do I love these characters?
Sarah is a school teacher, who genuinely enjoys teaching and working with kids. It's not just thrown in there to make her "maternal," it's a real part of her nature. She values laughter and family and time-tested traditions.
Chris... he reminded me of an uncle of mine, who's also extremely caring, has a great sense of humor, and would drop anything and come help you.
It makes sense that Chris is Uncle Chris before the story is over... no spoilers, but a wonderful part of the story is his niece coming to live with him.
Olivia is a wonderful little person, all by her seven year old self. She's had some tough times in life, and she alternates between being love-hungry and stand-offish, innocent and tough.
Watching Sarah and Chris come together, naturally, out of love for Olivia was my favorite part. It makes the story so rich.
Yep. I'm packing up and moving to Last Chance, and I'm gonna live right next to Sarah's Grandma Elizabeth. We'll crochet away the evenings, and we'll have waffles on Sunday nights. Time to take a chance on Last Chance.
A Place To Call Home is one of the most satisfying contemporary series I've read, and I'd recommend it heartily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can I go visit Last Chance?

Date:May 19, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can I go visit Last Chance? What an endearing town Cathleen has created, a place I would love to call home.
Sarah is a tough kind of girl on the exterior, but maybe not so much on the inside. She’s running from something. I love how Cathleen sprinkled little clues, so subtly, through the book that let you know Sarah was avoiding something and someone. She keeps letting the phone ring, admitting she isn’t ready to deal with some situation. Hmmm, that made me want to keep reading.
Then there’s Chris who is trying to make changes in this small town through his restaurant and it isn’t going so well. But there are a few people who reach out to him and encourage him. He is also dealing with the fact that Sarah has captured his attention and he has captured hers but not quit in the same way.
There are a couple of funny/awkward moments that can often happen when you are trying to learn more about another person. Cathleen made this book very real with this budding romance.
I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good romance set in a small town.
A copy of this book was given to be by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable story

Date:May 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have really started to enjoy contemporary fiction lately, so when I saw One More Last Chance, I knew I wanted to try it. I had heard some good things about Cathleen Armstrong's first book, Welcome to Last Chance.
I enjoyed this small town community. People looked out for each other and helped. It amplified my desire to move to a small town. The main characters really popped in this story, along with the minor characters.
Sarah is desperate to get back to her old way of life. To live in the norm again. She is ready to be who she used to be and enjoy a town that doesn't change. It's amazing when you have dealt with a situation that makes you shift and change ever so slightly over time who you are, how refreshing it is to get back to what you know and comfort. Sarah's portrayal of this was spot on in my eyes as I read this book.
Chris is the polar opposite. He came to Last Chance for the specific purpose to make a name for himself and to change up the only eatery in town and make it into a destination stop. However, Chris isn't just into changing a restaurant, as the story progresses you see that he didn't have the best of childhoods and he is the only one who is responsible in his immediate family. He has a responsibility thrust on him and as you get to know Chris, he really grows on you and his character shines.
The progression of the story unfolded at a good and realistic pace. The trials that were faced were real and the reactions were just as real, as I have seen these situations first hand. When you are apart of the situations, it isn't so clear to see, but when you are an observer, it is clear.
I enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series and going back to read the first.
Thank you to the Revell Blog Tour, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
The NerdHerd Reads
Let's just get it out of the way: I had huge problems with the main character. From the get-go, she annoyed me. Although that was one of the reasons I couldn't fully enjoy this book, I also found myself not really being able to get into it, fully emmerse myself in the story.
Now, I will say, I didn't read the first book in the series. But as this was one of those series where the MC's of the first book only make an appearance, and there are all new MC's, I didn't have any issues. There may have been more family background, but nothing vital was missing.
Chris has moved to the little town of Last Chance. He has bought the local diner, and had plans to change things up a bit. He never imagined that he would face such opposition from the people of the town. He also never imagined his sister would leave her 7-year-old, Olivia, with him. The poor guy has hands full trying to run a sinking diner, and now care for a little girl when he has no clue how to do either.
Sarah has moved back after being away at college. After breaking things off with her long-time boyfriend, she just wants a place to refresh, a place where things never change. Except, she finds out that not only is there a new guy in town, he's trying to change things up.
There was no excuse for Sarah to treat Chris the way she did, and that was really set the tone for how I felt about her. She comes back to town, finds out Chris might want to make some changes (additions, really) to the menu at the Dip 'N Dine, and treats him so rudely. …what? I just didn't understand. And then yeah, the poor dude had a very obvious crush on Sarah, but she continues to be rude and embarrass him. She does redeem herself a bit with taking Olivia under her wing, and she seems to mature as the book goes on. Until Brandon comes back into the picture.
This love triangle also got on my nerves. I mean, I'm with Sarah's grandmother in thinking that Chris was the obvious choice. He was sweet, and kind, and shared her faith, and took in his niece. But Brandon, her ex-boyfriend comes back, feeds her some crap about how he loves her, and she falls for it. That wasn't the part that bothered me, necessarily. It was that she should have had some confidence in her new found independence after escaping from under his oppressive thumb (not abusive…more like stifling creativity) the first time. I think the author was trying to write a strong, independent character in Sarah, but it didn't really come through.
The redeeming parts though! Definitely Chris and Olivia. Chris is going through a lot, but he doesn't let it stop him from caring about other people, especially Olivia. The way he cared for her and loved her was just so sweet. And although he is frustrated, he doesn't assert himself as a dictator, which he easily could have done, being his restaurant. Instead, he listened to his employees, and was willing to compromise with them.
Olivia will just break your heart. The poor girl has been through so much, and is so bitter, you forget she's only seven. And while all her problems can't be fixed by the end of the book, there is a lot of change in her. Chris and Olivia were the main thing that kept me so interested, enough to keep going.
Sarah's grandmother was another redeeming part. She was so sweet and caring, even if she was a bit biased toward Chris ;) The rest of the townspeople, with their meddlesome ways, will keep you on your toes and make you laugh.
So do I recommend this book? If this is your usual type of book, then yes. I think you will enjoy it. If it isn't what you usually read, it might be better to hold back. I know most people won't have the issues with Sarah that I did, so take from that what you will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average Contemporary

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
LifeofLiterature
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One More Last Chance is a light read, the pages breezing by with stories of traditions and transformations. The characters are mostly likable and simplistic; although Sarah seems judgmental, arrogant, and rude at first, she somewhat redeems herself with her love for her students and teaching. Chris is gentle and patient in his care for his niece and becomes a good friend to Sarah. The novel is short and would have been a better read if there had been more descriptions of the scenes to help the reader more fully envision all that Last Chance had to offer. Many of the dialogues and events in the book feel rushed and hurried, which makes it a little hard to connect with the characters. However, the overall themes and plot of the novel are enjoyable and it is recommended for those looking for a contemporary, easy read.
I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

True-to-Life Pace

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the second novel of "A Place to Call Home" series, readers will re-visit the small town of Last Chance, New Mexico. Although "One More Last Chance" is a stand-alone novel, Cathleen Armstrong introduces two new main characters while also highlighting colorful supporting characters that are well-known to readers of "Welcome to Last Chance."
While Sarah Cooley is a Last Chance native who is returning to town to find stability and comfort after breaking up with her boyfriend, Chris Reed is a newcomer who threatens her familiar routine. Both Sarah and Chris face challenges in their personal lives, but they are drawn together by one troubled and vulnerable little girl, Olivia. As a reader, I was interested in Sarah's story and her struggles as she tried to find the path to her future, but I was most compelled by Chris and Olivia's story. As Chris's niece and Sarah's student, Olivia is a character that pulls at the reader's heartstrings. Armstrong conveys Olivia's interactions with Carlos and Juanita at the diner and Sarah's grandma, Elizabeth in way that brings each character to life. The most touching moments are those between Chris, Olivia, and her mom, Kaitlyn. Chris's level of commitment to Olivia and his sister Kaitlyn conveys his love and strength of character. These actions do not go unnoticed by Sarah and other town members, and they will endear readers to him as well.
"One More Last Chance" moves along at a pace that is true to life. While it has a climatic moment and a fitting conclusion, the winds of change will keep blowing through Last Chance. There are hints that Kaitlyn, Olivia's mom, may be searching for another chance as well. I am interested in reading Kaitlyn's story in the Cathleen Armstrong's next installment of "A Place Called Home" series.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from Revell through Net Galley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Addition to the Series!

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently read Welcome to Last Chance and fell in love with the small town and the people of Last Chance, New Mexico. So, I was very excited to read the second book in the series. I was not disappointed. If you have not read the first book in the series, don’t worry, you won’t be lost. One More Last Chance can definitely stand alone. But I am glad I have read both books. Each one is very good.
In One More Last Chance, Sarah Cooley has come home after college and is ready to start her teaching career. She is looking forward to things being the same in her small home town. She is very resistant to change. Chris Reed is new to Last Chance. He has purchased the town’s diner and hopes to make changes that will put the eatery on the map.
I enjoyed reading about Sarah’s growth in this book. She has to realize that life is always full of change, and that it is not necessarily a bad thing. She also has big relationship decisions to make. I found Sarah to be a very interesting character. She is strong in many ways, but she struggles with knowing her own heart’s desires.
Chris is a wonderful character. He is so caring and loving toward his niece, and even toward his wayward sister. He is able to be firm about things with his sister, without being cruel. I really enjoyed watching Chris become a vital part of this small town. He shows incredible patience toward Sarah as she tries to discern God’s plan for her life. One More Last Chance was a very enjoyable book to read and I really look forward to the next in the series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first look at Last Chance won't be my last

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first look at Last Chance with Cathleen Armstrong, and it won't be my last. This book can read as a stand alone novel, but I will definitely be picking up the first one. Change is hard for some people to accept. The people of Last Chance are no different. I loved the feeling I got of Last Chance. It is a place where everybody knows everybody and word spreads like wildfire, but there are no greater people in the world and everybody has your back. At least, that's the impression the author gave me!
Sarah Cooley is a short little spitfire who is trying to find herself after a relationship gone bad. Chris Reed is the new owner of the Dip 'n' Dine, and is determined to breathe new life into the restaurant and Last Chance. When their paths cross, sparks fly. I would have loved to see a little more character development on Sarah's part and I would also have loved to see more sparks fly between the two. I definitely agree they belonged together, but I just didn't feel the flame.
Each character faces change in different ways. Their faith in the Lord, that He will guide their paths, is something each characters learns. The ending, for me, was a little rushed and anticlimactic. It felt like there was a bang in Sarah's life, then all of a sudden we're at the end (that's the only way I could explain it without spoilers, so forgive me for the vagueness!). Overall, it was a very engaging story and I would recommend it to readers looking for a laid back, easy read.
**Thank you Revell Reads for providing me with a free copy in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reunited With Love Ones

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh how wonderful to be reunited with loved ones, that is exactly how I felt when I picked up Cathleen Armstrong’s new book One More Last Chance. This is a story of a returning college graduate, and Granddaughter of Elizabeth, Sarah Cooley. She wants to return to Last Chance, the place she grew up in and begin her teaching career.
A new comer, Chris Reed, now owns the Dip ‘n’ Dine, and we enjoy again the antics of Juanita and the famous cook Carlos. You will enjoy the banter between these folks; they are always threatening to quit. While Chris is trying to put his stamp on his new place, Carlos gives him a lot of opposition. With the need to bring in more customers to keep the place out of the red, you will love what happens and how things pull together.
Chris also is very concerned about his niece Olivia, his sister Kaitlyn is struggling as a parent, and I was aghast that she left a seven-year-old alone, wait until you find out how she solves the problem, after Chris finds out. Olivia does come for a visit, or stay, and she will worm her way into your heart really fast. She is a tough little cookie for a little girl, and has won her share of fights.
This is a place where almost everyone is there for each other. Loved how they all rally around when there is a need. We also find a bit of romance in the air for Sarah with her long time boyfriend Brandon. He has settled in Chicago, and although Sarah has found him very controlling in the past, has given him another chance to resume their relationship. She does not want to leave her town, and they begin a long distance romance, mostly by phone.
This is a real page-turner, and a very fast read; you just have to know what is going to happen. I really enjoyed this sweet read, and recommend you read it too. Now this is the second book in this series, you don’t need to read the first, but don’t deprive yourself, it is also great!
I received this book from the Publisher Revell, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for One More Last Chance,A Place to Call Home Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small Town Story of Faith, Family, & Love!

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
randomamb
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One More Last Chance is the second book in Cathleen Armstrong's A Place to Call Home series. Sarah Cooley grew up in Last Chance and has recently returned, seeking a place where change is not likely. Relationship problems led her home, and she's hoping to get a fresh start in Last Chance. Chris Reed is new to town and the new owner of Last Chance's single restaurant, the Dip n' Dine. He's not used to small town life and is quickly learning the residents don't like anything to change. While struggling with decisions about the restaurant, his wild sister and young niece show up unannounced. The real story begins there!
One More Last Chance is a small-town story about family, love, and dreams. It was the first title of Armstrong's that I've read, but I purchased the first book in the series so I can see what happened before this one! I really enjoyed this story. All of the characters are realistic, and you'll find yourself rooting for and against certain ones. Gran (Sarah's grandmother) is one of my favorite characters. She's supportive, solid, and spiritual. One More Last Chance offered the perfect balance of drama, suspense, family, and romance. I recommend this book to anyone who likes christian fiction, family stories, or just clean fiction! I'm looking forward to the next book in the series!!
*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>