Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook

Thomas Nelson Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
At first I was a little put off by this book because the main character was so self absorbed, but at the end I was laughing out loud at her antics. As a final note, I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone on a diet. It will have you dreaming of brownies and sundaes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Good read. I'm not sure about the theology in this book, but it was entertaining. Phoebe Grant is an interesting character, & her antics made me laugh out loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Oh, I LOVED this book! Had me laughing the whole way, and I can't wait to read Dreaming in Technicolor. It was kind of refreshing, the way the whole story was not centered around a guy and a girl interacting (not to say there wasn't any of that!). It was also about the importance of family and friendship, and those you hold dear. Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cristina Hutuleac
This Book Was HILARIOUS!!! No Joke!! So fun and you can relate so well with Phoebe!!! Great book for sure!! Totally recommend it to all the single ladies out there!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2006
I will not lie. I am a movie trivia buff and I am proud of it. I watch the Academy Awards and the Golden Globes every year (would watch the SAG awards but alas I don't have cable). I love all sorts of movies (hence why I would include movies on that deserted island of mine). Therefore Phoebe Grant would probably be my new best friend. Out of all the chick lit books I've read so far, this is far and away my new favorite book. Funny, touching, and with TONS of movie references I didnt want the book to end (and yay there's a sequel). Phoebe is a working class woman who is not afraid to be single. Movies and her friends are the source of her life, until she loses her job in Cleveland and is forced to go back home to help her mom out in her small town in California. The characters are multi-dimensional and FUN! I honestly never had so much fun reading a book. I feel like I'm gushing too much about it! Her reactions and emotions are perfectly reasonably in certain situations. And she eats! And while yes she would like to lose weight, she is not obsessive about it, like other characters in other books. She is also not in search of finding a husband. If one turns out, great, if not she'll live. And yes Phoebe is a Christian, but the book is not preachy at all. My only complaint is that the book came out before the 2005 edition of Pride & Prejudice with Kiera Knightly. I'm sure Phoebe would have loved it too! Great books, highly highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Although this book was a bit predictable, it was very good nonetheless. Funny, too. I recommend it for anyone who's looking for a deviation from the typical Christian romance novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jill Johnson
"My thighs were at it again." Laura Jensen Walker's debut novel came out of the gate running. Phoebe Grant is a refreshingly "plump" heroine without the Hollywood hair, but with Christian values instead. An obsessive movie buff, Phoebe endeared herself to me with her all-too-familiar thighs, foot-in-the-mouth disease, and her dream of seeing her name in print. The girdle scene ALONE is worth buying this book, ladies! Laura had me laughing so hard I was afraid I'd wake the neighbors! Recently named Best Contemporary Fiction Book of the Year by the American Christian Fiction Writers, "Dreaming in Black and White" is a must-read for the single, Christian 30-something as well as any young woman needing a good laugh and a heart-lift. Can't wait to see what happens in "Dreaming in Technicolor!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2005
This was a wonderful book that accurately depicted life as a single, Christian, thirty-something woman. There were parts of this book that were absolutely hilarious and other parts that were very touching. All the characters were well developed. Phoebe, the main character, was superbly written complete with flaws and she was very easy to relate to. At the beginning, I got a little tired of hearing Phoebe complain about her weight, however since most of us women are guilty of dwelling on our appearances every once in a while, Phoebe dwelling on her physical flaws was realistic. As a movie lover myself, I enjoyed all the references to movies.The thing I really enjoyed about this book was its excellent message. One of the themes of the book was letting God control your life and another was not being prideful and thinking before you speak. This is a great book! I cant wait to find out what happens to Phoebe next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Phoebe Grant is a not-so-young, single journalist who, after finishing her stint in the Air Force, lands a job at a daily newspaper in Cleveland, Ohio. Then big-city newspaper mogul Alex Spencer buys the Cleveland daily, and Phoebe finds herself out of a job. Dreaming In Black & White is the first chick lit book Ive read, and I loved it! Walkers clean, first-person writing and descriptions of the mysterious Alex pulled me in to the story immediately. I often found myself chuckling aloud. Phoebe embodies the unspoken thoughts of so many women, myself included. Although Im married, I could certainly identify with a lead character who thinks constantly about her weight even as shes eating another hot fudge sundae. Whether you love chick lit or, like me, are worried it might be too pink and frilly for you, I encourage you to try Dreaming in Black & Whiteitll put some color in your life. Look for Walkers sequel, Dreaming in Technicolor, in bookstores September, 2005.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Alicia Manley Lawver
I enjoyed "Dreaming in Black & White" so much I couldn't put it down. I finished it in less than two days and was hungry for more. "Dreaming's" chick, Phoebe, leads the reader through the classic chick-lit tale of a sassy 30-something struggling with job issues, man issues, and various life issues in a way that is definitely Christian chick-lit without smacking you over the head with the fact. I love the film references, including at least one that only black-and-white-movie fans will spot. I love the fact that Phoebe struggles between her love of the bustling city and her ties to her tiny home town, a struggle of the heart that hits close to home for myself and I'm guessing many others. I love the fact that you know Phoebe's running from Mr. Right and that they simply must to get together in some way, shape or form, but you have no idea how, when or if it will actually happen. I laughed, I cried ... I can't wait for more and am so glad the sequel is coming soon. Hey Laura! Hurry up and write more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sandy Nelson
What a hoot! So much fun to read! A great book to enjoy on vacation or to read as a "pick me up" when your life is in the not-so-funny mode. Laura's book is a wonderful mix of humor, real-life characters, and "I can't wait to see how God is going to use this situation" type adventure. A ditto to all the positive comments that Camy made in her review. I dare you not to smile/laugh - especially when reading the "girdle" scene! I can't wait to read the sequel, "Dreaming in Technicolor." Way to go Laura! I'll be watching to see how God continues to bless your career!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dreaming in Black and White: A Phoebe Grant Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Camy Tang
Fabulous! Hilarious writing--dialogue, scenes, characters--I was laughing my tail off. The humor is truly witty, versus sarcastic put-downs.The characters are genuine people I cared about and related to. Phoebe Grant is more like "every girl with her obsessions and outlook on life. Phoebe struggles with her single status and nagging relatives just like Bridget Jones, but with less emphasis on sex as the basis for attraction and more on the personality differences.Readers who have attended Christian Singles groups at their own churches will find Phoebes group both funny and frighteningly familiar. The characters are not over-the-top, but they stand out as caricatures of anyones real life friends.The movie trivia peppered in the prose makes things interesting. I had seen some of the movies mentioned, although not all of them, but it didnt matter because the references are always explained and I felt as hip as matinee-hopping Phoebe. It made me put those old movies on my Netflix queue. Haha.This was fabulous entertainment from page one to the end. I wouldnt hesitate to hand it to any high school girl because its good, clean fun, although the fears about getting older and being single might go over the heads of young women who are nowhere near the 3-0 mark. I found this on par with Kristin Billerbecks Ashley Stockingdale series, but with a very different sort of heroine who is nevertheless equally endearing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.