Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse

Moody Publishers Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse

Written by someone who has felt the shame and believed the lies about sexual abuse, Hush encourages readers who have experienced this abuse to break the silence that only serves to enslave them and empower their abusers. And while learning to forgive, they must also realize it is not their fault. By speaking out, they not only free themselves, but help bring freedom to others.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Review 1 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue
As a survivor myself, I immediately felt a heart connection with Nicole like no other author I've read on this trajic subject. I found myself nodding my head throughout the whole book, identifying with the many horrific sins done to us at the hands of those we trusted. This is the testimony of a brave little girl, who dared as a young woman to expose her wounds and scars to Jesus. It is her account of how Jesus takes our tattered and broken hearts and heals them in ways human hands and hearts never could. You won't have to remain the same after investing this time with Nicole.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
RE
This book is a REAL blessing in my life. With this book God is helping me understand what my daughter is going through, she still young (10). But I Know that God has complete healing in Him, and I know that my daughter will have everything that was stolen from her.Nicole is a blessing in many lives, and she will continue to be in Jesus name.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Liz
I have worked with teen and young-twenties girls for over 14 years. In my ministry and work I have dealt with the issue of sexual abuse many times. Of all the resources I have read, this has had the biggest impact on me as one who walks beside survivors. I had the chance to meet Nicole in person at an Indiana college where she spoke. What a powerful living testimony to the healing that comes through Jesus Christ. Nicole is a great example of what is possible for those who break the silence and courageously ask for help and choose to heal. This is a MUST resource for anyone who knows a sexual abuse victim/survivor or for anyone who has suffered from abuse personally. Though she writes from her own female perspective, she speaks to both male and female victims/survivors. I have handed out several copies already and will continue to do so. From a counseling/psychology perspective, this is top-notch and right on the mark. What makes it excellent how Nicole weaves in her faith and the truth that there can be no true and total healing without Jesus Christ. To God be the glory!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason
I am licensed therapist and used this book last week with a client who was sexually abused as a child. After I read a portion of it to her she was very eager to get a copy. I plan on using this resource with other clients. Great resource!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sara
This book is nothing but real, down to earth and heartfelt words of love to those who've experienced the real life hurt and pain of sexual abuse. Nicole offers such a perspective that only can come from someone that truly cares. When you read, you'll feel like you're talking person-to-person with her. I would recommend this to anyone who has gone through the abuse or is connected somehow through family or friends. Looking foward to the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
~Amy
Nicole did a beautiful job explaining the COMPLETE process of healing - from the beginning of coming forward with your story (the truth), through forgiveness and even to ministering to others and bringing glory to God through painful experiences. I praise God for her courage to write so honestly and appreciate her positive way of handling such a delicate topic. This is a fantastic healing book for victims or families coping with sexual abuse as well as many other challenging circumstances. You will not be disappointed - I guarantee!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Edna Grabill
I found this book to be right on target and it covers most of the important issues in recovery from child abuse. It is extremely encouraging and compassionate, and I plan to share it with my hurting friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Wilton
"YOU ARE NOT ALONE" is the most freeing of all truths Nicole shares in Hush. It touched the deepest parts of my heart where there had been only brokenness and pain for so long. Her words brought truth and clarity to areas of my life that had long been in turmoil. Nicole's life story is one that breathes hope and freedom to all who have experienced any degree of childhood abuse. I'm so thankful she was willing to share her story...if she hadn't been so brave many others could not find such healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hush: Moving from Silence to Healing After Childhood Sexual Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anna Maria
Nicole delivered her message at my Christian college several years ago and have eagerly anticipated the publication of "Hush." There really isn't another book out there like it. It is much more than an autobiography, a self-help book or even a personal look at a tough issue. There are plenty of those out there, but 'Hush' is unique.Nicole speaks and writes from the perspective of a survivor of childhood sexual abuse. She boldly dispels the common myththat abuse doesn't happen in "respectable, loving Christian families" without writing off the help and healing that can be found in the body of Christ. Nicole asserts that "sexual abuse is the best-kept secret in our nation today," and her courage to break the silence is inspiring for those of us who have survived other things too. Nicole has inspired me to be courageous enough to minister out of the tremendous amount of healing God has already brought me.'Hush' was well worth the wait. Whether you are a survivor, know a survivor, or think sexual abuse isn't a huge problem, this book is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.