Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook

Beth Thatcher just graduated and her goal is to become the best teacher she can; but she didn't expect that her first assignment would land her in the tiny mining town of Coal valley, in the teaching position that no one else wants. Should she take this position, leaving behind all that she knows? Her inspiration, the diary of Aunt Elizabeth and her father's encouragement to pursue her dreams and ambitions finally allows her to press forward, take the risk of something completely new and accept the position...at least for now.
Average Customer Rating:
4.208 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Review 1 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A long-awaited, heart-tugging story by beloved author Janette Oke, set in the Canadian Northwest, carries on the tradition she began decades ago. When Courage Calls tells of Beth Thatcher, who leaves her privileged life in the East to go to the rugged frontier to teacher coal miners’ children in a remote village. Struggles abound, along with suspense, in this story of a young woman finding herself and maturing amidst adverse circumstances. The book moves more slowly than I remember others by the author, but presents a sweet read and encouragement to overcome one’s own trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Sequel

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Where Courage Calls is part of the When Calls the Heart series. It follows the life of Beth Thatcher as she accepts a teaching position in western Canada, where conditions are rugged, and takes a look at the struggle that is going on in her heart as well, as she tries to decided between two Mounties. I enjoyed the book a lot, but in order to get more out of it, I should've read the beginning of the series first. It's been awhile since I've read the other books so it was hard to remember exactly who some of the characters were. The book did make me want to start watching the Hallmark Channel series based on the books, but sadly with school, work, and life in general, I don't have the time for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christian Historical Fiction With a Message

Date:May 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Feeling a deep sense of social justice and a keen spiritual commitment to ministry, Beth Thatcher answers the call of her heart to take a teaching position in an out-of-the-way mining community in Western Canada.
The conditions she met when she arrived in the small coal mining community of Coal Valley were far worse then she could ever have expected. “Where Courage Calls” is her story of facing the challenge, persevering in the face of trial, and the choosing between the responses of her heart as she is being romanced by two young men who have contrasting backgrounds and offer a diverse promise of her future.
Jeanette Oke has established herself as the pioneer of Christian romance fiction and is still a pacesetter in the genre. She has not lost sight of her original vision to provide Biblical truth and principles through the medium of inspirational fiction.
Oke’s writing is compelling; she weaves action, drama, conflict and resolution throughout her plot and subplots. Just as her protagonists a sense of relief they find themselves facing a new crisis testing their endurance and strengthening their character. This is not the genre I usually read. I sometimes felt bogged down in detail and felt the protagonist was unrealistic in her expectations and idealistic expectations.
Janette Oke collaborates with Laurel Oke Logan in “Where Courage Call” a ‘When Calls the Heart” novel. Readers will welcome this series a companion to the Hallmark Channel’s TV series.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
GRITS
Location:Georgia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I wasn't sure at first if I would like this book, I'm not very partial to ones set in Canada. But once I got into this book, I have to be honest I kept turning the pages trying to figure out what would happen next! This book is being turned into a movie, whether it is for TV or not I'm not entirely sure. But I can't wait to see it when it comes out. These two authors make a great team! They have you routing for both young me in Beth's life, while you are secretly hoping she just makes it through the year.
It has its comedic points, I mean a privileged girl comes to a town that has know tragedy from a mine collapse leaving it pretty much without any men. The school is held in a saloon, and there isn't even a bathroom! lol. It is fun to see this world through Beth's Eyes and read how she falls in love with the town and the children, and leaves you hoping she will be coming back next term!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where Courage Calls

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth is made to endure a going away party her mother has arranged for her which was against Beth's wishes. Her mother has invited the very elite of society. He main comfort and support at the party is her father. Beth has taken a teaching position in the remote foothills of western Canada. This is a great undertaking for such a refined lady but she is sure she up to the challenge. After all her aunt had taken a teaching position in a remote area in Canada several years back.
When Beth arrives at her destination of Coal Valley the conditions were poor. The families had very little in shelter, clothing and food. Many of the families had lost their husbands and fathers in a mine cave in. She is also informed she will be holding school in a pool hall. Her mother would be mortified. To her great pleasure the people of this mining town were mostly pleasant. The town was protected by the Canadian Mounties. Which gave her a small sense of security.
This was an informative read. I remember watching shows with the very impressive Canadian Mounties. I like historical novels and this book was an exceptional read .
The authors write of a brave woman that takes on such an adventure where she would be in danger on a daily basis. This was the wilderness of all wilderness. She had a very big heart and a great desire to teach children in order to give them a chance at a better life.
I see Janette Oke as one of these women cutting a path for our young women to follow in her footsteps. I have so much love and respect for women authors who have given me many hours of reading pleasure.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity Group/Bethany House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

COURAGE CALLED & LEFT A GREAT MESSAGE!

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While anticipating the honor of writing a review for Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan’s novel When Courage Calls, I pondered if my words could give proper merit to such creative teamwork from these two superb authors. As a long time reader of Janette Oke – often relating her skilled gift to Laura Ingalls Wilder, I perceive the same in Laurel Oke Logan. I am sincerely humbled to be reviewing this work of perfection
Beth Thatcher touched me deeply – she had the true heart of a missionary, with a spirit of kindness within a soul full of God’s Holy Word. All those wonderful characteristics plus courage to venture into the unknown enabled her to face challenges with belief that she could be the impetus to change things through her deep faith in God. Beth made a daring decision to accept a position as the school teacher in remote Coal Valley, an indigent mining area in Western Canada. Beth finds herself in a bit of culture shock without the conveniences of home and wealth she had been privileged to know in Toronto. One of my favorite characters, Molly, the boarding house owner where Beth lived, was delightful and quite appropriately written into this beautiful story. Oh, but then there is Frank…. and the children…..and the unlikely school room…and the Italian miners – there is no end to the unique quaintness versus durability of the people of Coal Valley. When Beth played her violin and enthralled the community to envision the miracle of Christmas…. my heart felt the glory. When you read this story and find out why Beth’s violin played a part in a huge surprise, you will soon realize there are many surprises in store to keep the pages turning.
Edward Montclair and Beth were lifelong friends, however Beth considered him an annoyance and was not intending to gratify their mothers’ presumptuous plans that the two would one day marry. Beth’s exhaustive train ride from Toronto to Coal Valley had some unpleasant and unpredicted surprises; in a bizarre way concerning Edward. Beth envisioned no dreams of romance then or after arriving in Coal Valley. However, this is a love story in my estimation about how God’s love can turn hopeless situations to promising. It is no surprise that the authors created the characters of this story to breathe and come alive on the page. Sensational writing includes the vindictive and evil side that plagues the community with mystery. When the hint of romance comes into the story with Royal Canadian Mountie Jarrick (Jack) Thornton, my own heart palpitated a bit and wondered if Beth would have secret thoughts about this warm and charming Christian believer.
Before I forget myself and deluge too much – you can find out from the back cover an excellent synopsis of this solid story, as well as peruse many fine written reviews as to why you should acquire this book and read what’s between the covers for yourself. Interestingly, I learned When Courage Calls is a special companion story to Hallmark Channel’s “When Calls the Heart” TV series. You know you are getting the best when you see it on Hallmark. Where have I heard something like that said before? Unfortunately, I have not seen or read the prior episodes of this series on the Canadian West. Through further information, I found this series of seven books was republished in 2005 with updated covers. These novels will be added to my library as time permits.
It is my hope that the Ms. Janette Oke and Ms. Laurel Oke Logan will write another novel in this series continuing the story of Beth and answer all my questions about what happens next. My curiosity is as real as my admiration for the authors. Thank you ladies, for blessing your readers through Beth’s story. I feel blessed having the pleasure of reading it.
Thank you to Litfuse Publicity for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I absolutely LOVED this story!

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The When Calls The Heart series has always been dear to my heart. The first four books were given to me by my Mom as a gift when I turned 10, they were my very first Janette Oke books and I read them through two or three times. Later I bought the fifth and sixth books on my own. I was so thrilled to find out that Janette and Laurel had decided to revisit that wonderful series and tell the story of a new Beth Thatcher. Where Courage Calls did not disappoint any way!
I really liked Beth. She was the image of what every growing Christian should be, she prayed for strength, she asked God to help her with her failings, she did her best to share her faith and encourage the faith of others. She might have been a little idealistic but with her own sense and the wise help of some good friends she manages to genuinely help the town in her time there.
The romance was light and understated. I honestly wondered which of the two men would start to catch her interest though I had my own favorite the entire time.
Two of Beth's more interesting relationships are between her and the mother figures in her life. Her relationship with her mother is a bit rocky with her mother's over-protectiveness. The woman that runs the boarding house encourages, instructs, and helps Beth not only aid the town but also learn a little bit about real life.
Janette Oke has been a staple in Christian Fiction for years and for good reason, she knows how to write a good story and it seems like they only get better with each one. Her daughter, Laurel Oke Logan, brings something extra to the stories that they write together, I remember how powerful Dana's Valley was as to me as a then-teenage reader.
I really can't say enough positive things about this book! The only problem was.... that it isn't longer!
I enjoyed every page of Where Courage Calls, the characters were great, the scenery was well painted, and most of all it was a good story. I sincerely hope that there is a sequel to this story published in the near future, I would most definitely read it!
(I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An easygoing and relaxing read from Oke and Logan!
Set in Western Canada in the early-ish 1900s, Beth Thatcher steps out in faith to follow God's call. This setting is a change for me as a reader. I can't recall the last book I read set in Canada. Not that this is a bad thing, it's actually quite the opposite! The backwoods, small-town culture reminded me a lot of our own country in some ways.
Beth possessed a great deal of determination. She truly felt called to teach so she did. Not everyone has the courage or faith it takes to take that first step. That being said, Beth's personality was almost borderline similar to so many other historical novels set in the same general era. This didn't put me off completely due to a few differences that made her stand out. The first would be that this novel is probably set in the 1920s. We are never out right told so this is an assumption, but it's a fairly good one, I think. Most novels with that single, out-going, stubborn, nonconforming woman are set almost twenty years prior, thus Beth's ambition would be better received. Another thing that singled her out was her faith. She stepped out and followed God's lead and stayed there. I can't tell you how many heroines I've read about that sway or do their own thing completely. Beth never did.
This is definitely a personal opinion, but I found the pace of this novel very slow. Almost crawling at times. Again, this is my opinion probably because I enjoy mysteries and a quicker pace. Something that confused me was the Edward or Jack love triangle. Without spoiling anything, I'll say I rooted for Edward. I can't really delve into why, but I wish the author(s) would have made the romance more clear. All in all, however, it was a good afternoon read. I recommend to all of Oke's past and present fans.
I received this book from Bethany House in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My own expectations were too high

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
daischop
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
One of my favorite books is When Calls the Heart. I've read numerous books by Janette Oke over the years, but that particular series is my favorite. So I was looking forward to reading this book. Unfortunately, I think my expectations from were too high from the beginning. First, I saw the first (or maybe it was the second) in the series on Hallmark. I wasn't really pulled in or intrigued to watch another episode. But I blame that on me. I thought I was watching the series version of When Calls the Heart!
So when I selected the book Where Courage Calls, I had one scene already in my head that was not in the book. I don't see how the two can be considered companion pieces, when scenes in the book are drastically different from the book. In the tv series, there is a stagecoach robbery. In the book, there is no mention of such, rather a theft of a different nature.
But putting all that aside, my overall reaction to the book is disappointment. I thought it moved along very slowly, parts of it delightful, but other parts I kept waiting for something to happen. It's almost as though the writers were told, let's make this one book into a second part, now drag it along.
The characters I didn't really get to know, other than the main character. Her "love" interests, I never got to know, I had no sort of affinity for them. The drama of the book didn't captivate me, because it almost seemed trite. And the event at the end, again, I didn't feel any sort of clues or dramatic event to lead up to it. The most disappointment was the ending of the story. It leaves too much of it open ended.
Overall, it's an okay book. Written well, but lacking in areas. It was a book I could set down and have no urgent interest in finishing it, but I did finish it.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any other compensation and all thoughts and opinions are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet and uplifting

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan's collaboration, Beth Thatcher, middle daughter of a wealthy Toronto family, strikes out from the norm and decides to teach school in the far west, much like her aunt before her. When she arrives, baggage-less, she is immersed in the "primitive" culture even more than she anticipated. While learning to cope without the luxuries to which she was accustomed, she also learns that she has a heart for the families of the poor town - not just the school children, but even the Italian immigrant miners. However, her contract is only for one year - can she make a difference in the lives of these people in so little time, and will she even want to come back if given the opportunity?
Beth grows considerably through the story, from a coddled peace-maker who can barely stand up for herself to an independent young teacher reaching out to outcasts. Left frail from a childhood illness, her mother has always been overly protective of her, keeping Beth hemmed in and safe, but not really free to be herself. By striking out on her own, she is finally given the opportunity to grow into her potential. Though she may never be terribly strong physically, she becomes a strong woman of faith.
While Molly is full of nuggets of wisdom, one that hit home for me (and one that I need constant reminding of) is to cast my cares on Jesus, not try to carry that burden myself. Molly says, "Cast yer cares and worries at His feet, and in trade He gives ya a burden you can lift. Amazing how hard it is to carry all them worries - and then it turns out that the burden of the real work ain't near as vexin' as yer worries been." (227-228). It really is true - there is little that can weigh one down faster than anxiety and worries, and God asks us to give those to Him to shoulder. In exchange, His yoke is easy and His burden is light.
Where Courage Calls is not so much about courage in the face of grave peril, but rather courage to go where God leads, even if it is not where others would choose. I love that the story is not really about the romance, but rather about Beth's decision to come west to teach and what she learns along the way. Reading this novel, I remember again why I so loved the Women of the West books on which I grew up. It is a book that I can recommend without reservation to anyone from young adult on up. I hope Oke and Logan choose to continue the story. 5 out of 5 stars!
Thank you Bethany House and NetGalley for providing a free e-copy for the purpose of review; I was not required to make it positive, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic retelling of a somewhat mediocre movie

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew right away that I would like this book better than the movie that was made about Where Calls the Heart. And it’s not at all a surprise.
Books are almost always better than movies – not to mention, the movie was actually the story Janette and her daughter have written here - when the storyline was supposed to be about Elizabeth and Wynn.
In the movie, Elizabeth’s niece – Beth was reading about her aunt’s story as she embarked on an adventure of her own. I don’t know if the movie was always meant to be a gateway into a series for Hallmark (if it was – I would have thought they’d cast the people they intended to stay through the series…) or not but that’s how it turned out.
I don't know if Janette Oke ever envisioned her stories being made into movies but I can not imagine that she truly had "that" picture in her head when she wrote the wonderful stories that Hollywood has twisted into their very own versions.
Personally I don’t care for some of the things that were added into the movie and I am thrilled to see that Janette and her daughter did not put them into this new novel. But that’s not surprising either. Janette Oke is, and has always been, a superb writer. She writes each story so well, you feel as if you’re right there with the characters.
I can remember listening to my mother as she read the Love Comes Softly series to us as young children. Janette painted such a beautiful picture through her wonderfully vivid descriptions and the truly realistic plots. Each book was a treasure-trove of intrigue and adventure.
I think Janette Oke was the first writer who inspired my own stories. She made it all sound like a wonderful fairy tale while also making it feel like you were listening to a story about one of your own ancestors – passed down through the generations.
This story is no different. She hasn’t lost a bit of her touch and I’m thinking that it also bodes well that he daughter collaborated with her on this latest novel. The story is so much like her others, it feels less like a collaboration than a true meeting of the minds.
BRAVO Janette and Laurel!
I hope we see many more stories from the two of you!
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Gentle and sweet, but left desiring more

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
LifeofLiterature
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In Where Courage Calls, Beth Thatcher leaves behind a comfortable life to move to a remote mining town in order to become a school teacher. Coal Valley is rustic and Beth finds herself initially missing the conveniences of home, especially when a mishap leaves her without her carefully packed trunks. However, as Beth settles into the small town, she is soon moved by the plights of her students. Her gentle heart motivates her to provide for her students in new ways, to strive to eradicate prejudices between the miners and the town, and to integrate herself into their simple lifestyle. The first half of the book moves slowly and other readers may also struggle to continue the story. Unrealistically, Beth has almost no flaws, despite this adventure being completely outside of her comfort zone. The second half of the novel does introduce a bit of mystery and suspense, but the little romance is forced and the story concludes with the reader desiring more. It is a simple read with a predictable plot and the lack of depth causes the reader to feel disconnected and unsatisfied. However, the main characters are sweet natured, and Christian messages are woven throughout to provide additional truths for the reader’s enjoyment. This candid review is not meant to discourage readers who wish to enjoy a simple tale, or who may be admirers of Ms. Oke’s work, but the much too tidy storyline and shallow plot left this particular reader craving some realistic depth.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet story.

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janette Oke's books hold a special place in my heart. Her books introduced me to Christian historical fiction. I have read all of her previous books and I still look forward to her new books. So, it was safe to say I was thrilled when I saw Janette Oke and her daughter Laurel Oke Logan were releasing a new novel, Where Courage Calls, part of When Calls the Heart.
It was enjoyable to dive back into the When Calls the Heart stories. Instead of continuing with the original characters, we are introduced to newer characters. We did see Beth briefly in the original series, but as a little girl. Here, Beth has grown and made it through college and is ready to put her knowledge to use, just like her aunt, in the wilds of the Canadian frontier.
It was a delight experiencing the quiet, but busy life Beth had as a teacher in a small coal mining town. Beth faces many challenges, but she does her best to push through with her intelligence and with her faith. She is also quick to make friends and as she becomes accustomed to the town, this small town starts to become her home.
There is a small romance that buds in these pages, but it isn't the main focus of the story. I saw this story as Beth finding out who she is and who God wants her to be. She has been led by her mother to be certain ways, but here in Coal Valley away from her mother's nudging, Beth is able to discover what her own strengths are. I liked how Beth was finding out who she was before pursuing a relationship. That shows a wonderful strength in her.
The story was left open to possibly continue, I hope it does, I would like to see where Beth's story takes her.
Thank you to Litfuse Publicity and Bethany House, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth Thatcher lived a life of privilege. With a wealthy father and mother she never lacked for anything. But she had a heart for people, a desire to help and a love of teaching. Seeing the courage she displayed when she left a home of wealth to travel alone to an unknown land to teach was so encouraging. She stepped out into the unknown to walk a path she knew in her heart God had predetermined for her. In doing so she left the only home she had ever known and the family she loved. I loved when her father, on her departure to Coal Valley, gave her the compass she had treasured since she was a child.
________________Book Quote________________
"Please," he insisted. "I want you to have it. I know you've always loved it." That was true. Father's compass had been special to Beth since she was a little girl, enamored by anything that had to do with her father's work at sea--but this object more than any other was her delight. And it had been a symbol to them both of his love and guidance to his daughter.
Then her father added huskily, "So you will always be able to find your way home."
_________________End Quote_________________
That was a very emotional part of the book for me as it reminded me of my own dad who passed away almost five years ago. Saying goodbye is always so hard and it was very hard for Beth to leave her family behind. Where Courage Calls is the perfect name for Beth's journey. Her time in Coal Valley was fraught with hardships but the love of her students and the wonderful people she met more than made up for it. The people in this small town were so lovable. Frank Russo, and Italian immigrant that worked in the mine until he lost his hand in a mining accident. I loved it when he pulled out his violin and played the most beautiful music Beth had ever heard. Philip Davidson who was a circuit preacher that came to Coal Valley once a month, Edward Montclair a young man Beth grew up with and was expected to marry, Jarrick Thornton, an officer of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police that patrolled the area, the adorable children and Miss Molly who ran a boardinghouse and took Beth in for the duration of her stay. I loved Miss Molly. She was so full of wisdom and Beth often came to her for advice and sometimes received it even when she didn't ask.
________________Book Quote________________
"Now, dearie, ya gotta take care. That word should, it's a slip'ry one. Who gets ta measure shoulds? Only God gets ta say. If He says ya should, then ya mind Him. If folks say ya should, ya jest go back an' ask God. Don't need more'n that to measure up to." She smiled to herself and reached for the next plate. "Good thing 'bout getting old--ya don't think near so much 'bout what folks think of ya--what they say ya should do. Ya spend more time wond'rin' what ya still can do. Wish I could go back over my own life and not bother with all the silly things folks said I should. Sure woulda made life more simple--less confusin'."
_________________End Quote_________________
One Bible verse was carried throughout the story, it's my favorite verse and it gave Beth the courage and strength she needed to do what had to be done. Philippians 4:13 which says, "I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me." Beth faced some very difficult times during her one year tenure and the courage and strength she displayed was nothing short of inspiring. This is a story of hope through adversity and spiritual as well as physical healing. The romance takes a backseat and doesn't really start to take root until two-thirds of the way into the story. The main focus is Beth's calling and God's faithfulness to see her through. I really enjoyed this book. It was a huge encouragement in my own life because it reinforced the lessons I have already learned, to wait on God and trust in Him for my every need, hope and desire. I would love to have seen a tad more focus on the romance aspect simply because I am a romance reader at heart but I still loved the story, nonetheless, and I sincerely hope and believe we will be hearing more from Miss Elizabeth Thatcher. Where Courage Calls is a must read for Janette Oke fans as it holds true to her style of writing where God takes center stage and is woven throughout the pages. A beautiful story of courage in the face of numerous adversities. Highly recommended!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine alone. If I recommend a book it's simply because I enjoyed it. I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding New Family

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw that one of my all time favorite author had a new book out, co-authored by her Daughter Laurel Oke Logan, I knew I had to read it. Again, I was not disappointed.
In this book we have Elizabeth's niece Beth. Beth comes from a well to do family, and has always had a delicate health. When she decides to take a teaching job out West in Coal Town. Her Mother doesn't want her to go, but her father prevails and Beth is off on a new adventure in her life.
Long time family friend Edward, meets her as she gets off the train, he has been there on the train with her all along. He precedes to help Beth getting to her hotel, and hires a man to take her things there. I find this quite a funny part of the story, as Edward is in his Royal Mounted Police uniform, and pays the guy....who steals everything.
What a start to a new life?? Arriving in a new town as the teacher, with no clothes or books, or anything...no underwear! Now this is a small, small town, you cannot go out and buy what you need. Thank goodness Mom comes to the rescue.
Through out all of her stay here, she finds a new family. The people make her feel so welcome, and Beth keeps coming up with new ways to help these miners and their families. I can see God's hand in a lot of what happens here. He seems to answer a lot of prayers.
We will sympathize with the plight of the families here, and hope something can be done for them. Beth sure is trying!
You will wonder if there is a bit of romance in the air, and I see at least three possibilities. Will any of them work out?
I hope that there will be more stories coming, I feel like I need to know what is going to happen next! Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Coal Valley, Wonderful Characters, Adventure & Rom

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan in their new book, “Where Courage Calls” published by Bethany House takes us into the life of Beth Thatcher.
From the back cover: Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected…
Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father’s wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.
But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she’d feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don’t even speak English. There isn’t even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth’s heart is torn between two young men–both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.
Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she’s had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?
A special companion story to Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart TV series
Welcome back to Coal Valley. The Oke’s have done a previous six book series that featured Elizabeth. ”Where Courage Calls” starts a new series that features Elizabeth’s niece, Beth. Beth wants to be a school teacher and Coal Valley is the place to start. The Oke’s have given us plenty of wonderful characters to fall in love with, lots of adventure and romance. There is a lot going on in Coal Valley and the Oke’s know how to take us through each event by letting us in on the lives of the participants. This is a great start to a new series. I have enjoyed it immensely and I look forward to the next book to see what will happen with Beth.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reading a Book by Janette Oke is Like Going Home

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Janette Oke's books for a number of years. I enjoy the life stories that she creates which allow the reader to truly get to know the characters. I also enjoy that I am able to learn some of Canada's history while reading the books.
Beth Thatcher is a teacher headed from her life of luxury in early 1900's Toronto to the Western Canadian mining town, Coal Valley, to teach its children. Many of whom have recently lost their father or brother in a mining accident. It wasn't easy for Beth to adjust to her new life in this unfamiliar town, but she quickly came to love the people of the town and several became like family during her year of teaching there.
Janette and her daughter Laurel continued the standard of quality that was set with the Love Comes Softly series with their newest book, When Courage Calls. This book is longer than Janette's other books, the length lent to the opportunity for the authors to spend on character development and character relationships. This is not a fast paced book, if it was I think it would take away from the heart of the story. Life on the Canadian Prairie (as well as the American Prairie) was not fast paced, like today's world. It was hard. The story really did give the reader that impression. I'm looking forward to the sequel, when it becomes available, because I'm certain that Elizabeth's story has not yet been completed.
**Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a romance, adventure and faith-filled tale filled with scenes of danger, times of loneliness wrapped up in each character learning about life, love and how much God provides for them. Long ago, after graduating college and being employed, one of the joys I looked forward to was reading purely for the sake of reading. I was grateful to be done with memorizing facts, taking tests or writing papers, though learning the Word is a lifelong pursuit for me. So one night I was in a local library looking for something to enjoy and I came across Janette Oke and her Love Comes Softly series.
Now, decades later, I once again discovered the latest writing of Janette Oke along with her daughter Laurel Oke Logan in Where Courage Calls. Within the book is a story of a young woman who believes she is answering God’s call to go West and teach children in a mining town all by herself. Though her parents are believers one can sense the turmoil within their hearts of letting their daughter spread her wings in the frontier instead of just settling down near them.
Throughout the novel I felt compelled to just picture the scenes in my mind that the printed words painted. The time of the story takes place when women were expected to marry and not go to college or leave the nest before setting up their own homes with their husbands. The people Beth meets in the coal town are uniquely different than those Beth left behind. Yet, throughout the story Beth is learning what really matters and Who really matters most.
I loved the interactions between the various characters, most of all the praying that Beth does as God is smoothing the rough edges off her character. In looking at the poor within the small community, Beth draws conclusions then acts accordingly, and through these experiences her faith is expanded and challenged. It isn’t hard to understand why Janette Oak is such an inspiring author; I have to believe it flows from her own relationship with the Lord. Where Courage Calls, I believe, has reminders for those living today about faith, love, hope, compassion and more. I sure hope readers pick up more than one copy to share with family, friends and anyone the Lord leads them to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice Weekend Read

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alice
Location:http://readingwithalice.blogspot.com/2014/01/dear-
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where Courage Calls was a sweet story of faith and love, and I enjoyed the nice, quick, easy read. However, to me it lacked depth. I felt like you never really got beyond an acquaintance with any of the characters besides Beth, and I kept wondering if there was really much of plot, because it didn't really start til after halfway through. But when it did it moved quickly and was enjoyable! It was strange to read during the turn of the era; Coal Valley felt like a western/prairie town, and Beths hometown in Toronto was all up to date with the roaring 20's! A huge contrast. But it wasn't anything against the book, because like I said, times were changing- it was just strange to read it! :)
My favorite character was Molly- the mother-hen figure in the story. (I usually end up loving those!)
I was really pleased with how everything turned out with "Beth's torn heart between two young men". ;) And also, that the romantic theme didn't overpower or get annoying.
It was clear that this book was written for the Hallmark TV series. With that in mind, I was able to enjoy it and look past the little things that seemed missing.
A nice weekend read. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Where Courage Calls: Return to the Canadian West #1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where Courage Calls

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This novel picks up years down the road from one of my favorite collections: When Calls the Heart. I read these little mass market paperback books enough times to wear out my parent’s copies until I finally got my own where they hold a coveted place on my book shelves.
But I’m afraid I didn’t love “Where Courage Calls” as much as I felt I should and as much as I wanted to. There wasn’t any surprise to the characters, nothing was really left to my imagination to wonder and explore as everything was simply laid out in front of me. Much of the story simply moved forward without a great deal of action and instead much internal processing.
I wouldn’t say I completely disliked the book or didn’t have anything about it that made me want to stop reading it. I liked how Elizabeth took on the town and brought a sense of grace and upstanding to their schools, while also being changed from the person she was when she got there. And there is certainly room for further stories in the series. But I’m afraid that this title didn’t garner enough interest in the characters to read further.
I don’t write this review to discourage other readers, because the story is sweet and means well. It just hasn’t been my favorite of tales so far this year.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Litfuse for my copy to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>