Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know

Moody Publishers First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know

First Time Dad offers soon to be dads and new dads a head start on the stuff a dad really needs to know. Co-host of the daily "Focus on the Family" broadcast and father of 6, author John Fuller helps you avoid common fathering mistakes, keep your marriage alive, set priorities, and understand the power of your words. Learn how to cultivate a lasting parent-child relationship and get excited about being a father! Paperback. Focus Recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Review 1 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

John Fuller hit the high points.

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
gracenote
Location:IA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our son was hoping to find a source to help him get ready for his first child, and this book's low key approach seemed the one to ease a bit of stress. Good information from a seasoned dad who knows the power of having God's help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short and sweet

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Irving, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a good Biblically based book to help you raise your children, then this is the one you need. If you're looking for a survivial guide, then you may want to look else where.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and Spiritually grounded

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris F
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using First Time Dad as a resource for a Men's class at our church of 650 members. It is a very helpful book for new fathers and hits many needed areas. We especially like that it addresses the importance of keeping your marriage strong, emphasizes your walk with God and also practical ideas for relationship with your kids. I would highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFP004
Location:Madison, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Time Dad is a excellent read for not just the first time dad, but all dad's who are looking for some great advise!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not just for New Dads!

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rodney Clements
Location:Polkton, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How I wish I had had a book like this before my first son arrived. I'm sure I read books on parenting and fathering, but I still was not really prepared for just how much my (our) life was about to change!
John Fuller, the author, is most qualified to write about this life changing topic. He's a father of six and is the co-host of the Focus on the Family radio broadcast. Rest assured that the book is written from a Christian viewpoint.
I was interested in this book because as a Pastor I always try to put something in the hands of new parents to help prepare them for the adjustment that is coming. First Time Dad fits the bill perfectly.
The book is not just about having a baby and the changes that it brings, John goes much further in discussing the role of fatherhood, the importance of marriage, and the differences between girls and boys, just to name a few.
In all honesty, the title of the book may not do it justice. At the time of this writing I have a 6 and 4 year old, yet I found the content of the book very interesting and helpful even at this stage of the game.
With only 168 pages the book is small enough for even a non-reader to tackle. I've found that expectant dads are interested in this kind of stuff even if they aren't huge readers. This would make a great gift for yourself or someone you love.
Thanks to C. Grant & Company for the copy to review and another to share! I gave it to an expectant Dad at our church; he seemed quite grateful.
Happy Fathering!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for new (and not-so-new) fathers!

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Fuller, father of 6 and Focus on the Family cohost, wants to help fathers prepare for all the surprises that are coming with the arrival of their new baby. In First-Time Dad, he addresses the deeper side of being a father:
the importance of being an engaged dad
building your marriage
bonding with your children
knowing your child
gender differences
keeping your priorities straight
spiritual training
overcoming negative examples of fatherhood in your past
Mr. Fuller is honest about his own mistakes and struggles as a father and husband in this encouraging book. He shares authentically and doesn't present himself as a perfect example. The book also draws examples from the lives of other well-known men like Jim Daly, Truett Cathy, Steven Curtis Chapman, Dr. James Dobson, and Paul Harvey.
My husband shared his own thoughts for this review:
Despite the title, Mr. Fuller offers encouragement to fathers (actually, both parents) throughout the spectrum - from those expecting their first to those experienced fathers of many. He exhorts those further along to share their wisdom with those beginning.
The book is well-organized and formatted, including suggested resources at the end of each chapter. The action lists which occur frequently through the book are helpful resources which I will refer back to as I need reminders.
This is a wonderful book for men who want to be prepared to be a godly father. This book will help new fathers walk successfully through all the changes that children will bring into their life ... so they won't have to muddle around and figure it all out on their own. It's a thought-provoking look at what being a father really means, from a man who has six children of his own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You Think You Want to be a dad?

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
SBlumer
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John is the vice president of Audio and New Media at Focus on the Family and cohost of the daily Focus on the Family broadcast. He spend nine years cohosting the program with the founder, Dr. James Dobson. As a father of six, he writes and speaks about strong marriages and effective parenting. John and his wife, Dena, are also advocates for orphan care and adoption.
First-time Dad is a great book for any person getting ready to be dad. The book is only 158 pages and is written like a conversation with a seasoned dad, sipping your favorite drink while sitting on the front porch. At the end of each chapter, he references several books in which he gleaned some of the wisdom. It’s like getting the best of over 30 books into one. He really gets to the heart of the issue of being a dad for the first time. He doesn’t fill up the pages with long drawn out stories and with filler writing. He gets to the point, tells you what to expect, what to do and things to think about.
He also focuses on what having kids means for the marriage and the change that will take place between the man and wife. This focus nearly covers half the book! Basically, you live at home more and have no life outside of caring for this baby. Although that’s not completely true, freedom and spontaneity doesn’t happen very often. Your attention changes and your wife’s attention changes. I often joke that women get married so they can have kids and then once the kid comes along, there’s no need for the husband. All seriousness though, having a child together is a wonderful thing, but life is not going to be the same. I wished someone talked to me long ago. Not that I would change what we decided, but I would have been better equipped to be a good first time dad and husband.
He talks about how to help your child find success, how to get in touch with who they are and how to help them develop their spiritual formation. He talks about the difference between boys and girls’ personalities and ways they respond. He talks about how parenting a child cannot be done like a formula or even done with the same formula for all children. Developing a lasting relationship with that child is not going to be easy and it doesn’t have to be scary, but it will take some work. I wished someone talked to me long ago. Not that I have completely messed it all up, but not all lessons have to be learned the hard way.
When my wife and I decided to have a child after 4 years of marriage, I had no idea what that really meant, other than that’s what married people are suppose to do: have kids. I also knew that equaled more sex (at the moment). I was going to graduate school getting my Master of Divinity and I was working 50+ hours a week as a manager at a local supermarket chain. My wife and I were also involved in our local church’s youth ministry. In one sense for me, I thought it was just going to be one more thing on my already busy plate. It would be just a slight time management issue and I would be all set. It was going to be no big deal, right? YEAH RIGHT! No one talked to me about what to expect (outside of the shotgun advice during the “congratulations”). No one talked to me about how I would have to change my priorities or even how to do that. No one talked to me about how to be a dad or even a good husband during this whole process. I wasn’t much around for the first two years and I still completely fumble on what it takes to be a good husband and father. But while reading this book and now being married for 13 years and having two sons (one adopted) and involved in foster care, I understood a lot about what he was saying. I just wished someone talked to me long ago like John does in this book. It’s an encouraging, positive and informative book with a grasp on reality.
“We are given a role to prepare the way- and then to step back and let the future generations make something of our work. We may not (and probably won’t) see the end product. We cannot control what those who follow us will do, or how they will choose. Yet we strive with everything within us to provide them what they need. We do this, not to serve ourselves, but to serve them. And their children’s children. Here’s to work that will last a long, long time…”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift for a Dad to Be

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
amyclare
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a quick read, but it's packed with wise and practical advice and encouragement. Unlike books that tell you how to get a baby to sleep, how to address a fever, etc., this book focuses on deeper stuff - like readjusting priorities, recovering from your own father's mistakes, navigating life (and growing in it) with a wife who is now a mom, strengthening your marriage and building your child's character. I gave it to my brother for his birthday (he'll be a new dad in a few weeks) and plan to make it part of every baby shower gift from here on out. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for First Time Dad: The Stuff You Really Need to Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Icefox24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for my husband and I both. We read some cahpters together and some he reads alone. We r trying for a baby and this book helps him feel more confident about being a good dad, husband, and man of God
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.