Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause

Moody Publishers Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause

Let's face it; PMS and peri-menopause symptoms can alter how you feel physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Offering wise counsel, practical help, biblical wisdom, and humor, Lorraine Pintus explains how hormones affect your body and relationships; suggests coping strategies; and helps you keep a positive, God-honoring perspective through it all! Great for 25- to 45-year-old women. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Review 1 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every Christian woman!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dandy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author is both frank and funny while also presenting the spiritual side to womanhood. Without a lot of medical jargon, she gets down to the point with practical applications for dealing with PMS. I loved the book so much, I bought copies for my mom, sisters and best friends! I wish I had had this book when I reached puberty! A must read for any Christian woman - from puberty to post-menopause!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope with Hormones

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
CKaye
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After hearing the author interviewed on Focus on the Family, I bought this book as a gift. One of my gal friends really struggles with personality changes, depression and a host of other issues - only when she is hormonal. She has some hope after reading this book. She told me, "This writer sounds like me!" She likes the Scripture used throughout and plans to share this book with her daughters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Jump off the Hormone Swing"

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was so good for me, and I would recommend it to all women! I can't tell you how many times I thought, "How does she know exactly what I am thinking?" or "I am so glad I am not the only one to think/feel/do that!" while reading this book. Bringing the spiritual aspect into this topic really tied everything else (the practical, the mental, the physical) together into a whole.
There is also a 10-week Bible Study in the back of the book, which was such an excellent resource. I was able to incorporate it into my regular Bible study easily.
Lorraine Pintus has created a wonderful tool to help women understand themselves more fully while realizing that ultimately we are accountable to God. This book helped me come to a place where I can better handle every day of the month knowing that God's grace, strength, and forgiveness are always available to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish I'd read it sooner!

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorraine Pintus has given us a valuable resource in Jump Off the Hormone Swing. If you suffer from PMS or perimenopause... or even if you don't... you'll want to read this book. Before I read it, I didn't think I had any hormonal problems. But then I read this:
"Oh, the inner turmoil when one moment I was on my knees compassionately praying for my neighbor, and the next moment I wanted to strangle her and kick her ugly dog."
It startled me! It made me laugh out loud... And then I thought "How does she know me?" Page after page she was writing my story. I couldn't put it down. I couldn't believe what I was reading. She knows exactly how I feel and what I'm going through. So that must mean... I'm not the only one!
Before I read this book, I would have never related my feelings to hormones. I thought I was just a weak woman. I couldn't figure out why I couldn't get it all together. Now I know. Hormones.
Lorraine takes on tough questions like:
•How do I manage the swing between feeling super confident and energetic one day, and incompetent and listless the next?
•How do I handle my self-hatred after downing an extra large bag of peanut M & M's the day before my period.
•How is it that I suddenly find my husband so annoying?
•How can God possibly love me when I hate myself?
Unlike a medical book, Jump Off the Hormone Swing addresses EVERY aspect of PMS. Physical, Mental (Mood), and Spiritual. She gives a very simplified explanation of what part each hormone plays in your body... the effects of too little, or too much. Lorraine gives advice on diet and exercise, relieving stress, planning ahead for the days that you know will be the hardest for you (Who would have thought?), and most of all... she reminds us to invite God into these issues as well.
Lorraine shares from her heart and a Biblical perspective. She shares many of her personal 'aha' moments with us. She shows us how to 'do' life... how to be a Godly woman even in the middle of a hormonal storm. You will also find a 10-week Bible Study in the back of the book, along with a symptom tracker.
There is so much in this book I'd like to share that I can't recommend it highly enough.
*I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. ~Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed this book to save my marriage & my husband's sanity! Thank You!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Woman Needs To Read This

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
TrenchMommy
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Encouraging. Inspiring. Convicting. Comforting. Exciting. Practical. Just a few words I would use to describe this book.
As a woman, have you ever thought about how your hormones and monthly cycle are a reminder of God's redeeming love?
Yeah. I thought not.
Neither had I...until I read this amazing book by Lorraine Pintus. Until now I have hated hormones and their affects on my body. But now I have a new appreciation and perspective on God's amazing creation in the female body. Not only has my thinking been changed about such matters, but I am now armed with a whole lot of understanding and practical ideas to embrace my hormones rather than antagonize them.
This book is extremely practical and very comprehensive as it not only addresses the physical and emotional components, but the spiritual ones as well. Lorraine, with both love and humor, shows us how the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects are all tied together and how we should treat them individually and as a whole. Reading this book will open your eyes to God's grace - even to a woman who can go from feeling wonderful to crummy in 5 seconds flat.
This book is a perfect handbook for woman of any age - from teen to post-menopause. It will enable you to understand your own body and be more compassionate to the women around you. I also highly recommend it as reading for husbands who truly want to be a student of their wife or for a Mother/Daughter study together. Anyway you read this you will be blessed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resource for Women!

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Jump Off the Hormone Swing" is a book that lets women suffering from the emotional symptoms of PMS and PMDD know that they are far from alone. With insight and a great deal of research, Lorraine Pintus provides humorous as well as painful examples of how PMS/PMDD symptoms wreak havoc on women and the people in these women's lives. I laughed at some of the situations described, because they were exactly like my own. And I felt sadness for these women as well, because I knew what they were going through, and the embarrassment and shame they felt.
Pintus provides understandable explanations of the science behind PMS. Most women who are suffering from PMS/PMDD will have already read this information, because it is generally the sole focus of other books on the topic. However, Pintus quickly moves on to provide practical tips and strategies for dealing with symptoms, both physical and emotional, and how to alleviate these symptoms.
She honestly admits that PMS symptoms aren't something that can be eliminated altogether, but she provides useful advice on how to get through these symptoms with grace, how to trust in God when the symptoms are raging, how to rest in God's love and forgiveness through the symptoms (and beyond), and even how to see the good in menstruation, PMS and perimenopause (yes, there actually are good things!!).
Using wonderfully chosen Bible verses, quotes and testimonials, the author shows the reader how to live fully even in the turmoil of PMS and perimenopause. She gives the reader absolutely no justification or excuses for rude or mean behavior, or for acting out against family, friends or strangers. She puts full responsibility for actions on the individual--after all, we are the owners of our own behavior. But, she stresses that God is with us through our symptoms, and as usual, the devil is against us, and will find every way he can to make us feel like soiled, nasty, evil women who are undeserving of God's love and forgiveness. He will make us try to believe him, instead of God's promises.
I loved that this book addressed that spiritual battle, that the author stressed that God loves us even at our worst, and will forgive us, but also stressed that we have no excuse for bad behavior. We can't blame our PMS for our hatefulness--it's not an excuse. What I really gleaned from this book is that we have to mindfully and gracefully walk through our PMS and perimenopausal symptoms, reminding ourselves daily that we are daughters of a loving God, and that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. And that women must use that knowledge as motivation to diligently strive to treat others (and ourselves) with love and respect, even in the midst of our worst symptoms.
I'd recommend this book to any woman with PMS or PMDD symptoms, and any women going through perimenopause and even full-blown menopause. This book really will help women feel that they are not alone in these symptoms, and that they really ARE NOT crazy (even though we all feel like we are losing it at times!!)!!
Please note I received a copy of this book free of charge from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions presented here are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jump Off the Hormone Swing: Fly Through the Physical, Mental, and Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Coping with PMS

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I had kids, I was generally pretty even keel through the month. Then, I had kids. And everything changed. My hormones never quite returned to normal. I realized this year that I have really begun to struggle with PMS.
A few weeks ago, I discovered that Lorraine Pintus wrote a book titled Jump off the hormone swing: Fly through the Physical, Mental, Spiritual Symptoms of PMS and Perimenopause. I felt very hopeful that it might give me some clues as to how I can cope with what is going on in my body!
The day this book arrived, I opened it up and read the first page. I breathed in a deep breath of relief and surprise as I discovered that I am not alone! That pit--that horrible pit where I tell myself what a horrible person I am and what a failure I am--she's been there! As I began reading the book, I found myself deeply enjoying it. Isn't that ironic--I enjoyed a book about PMS?! Ms. Pintus mixes humor throughout her book that is engaging and lighthearted. She has the ability to speak straight and be both encouraging and convicting at the same time.
She first addresses the physical things that we can do to help us cope with PMS. She then moves on to the mental symptoms. There's even a chapter on ways we can stretch our brains and cope with stress better. Finally, she addresses the spiritual symptoms. She does not let women use PMS as an excuse for hurtful behavior towards others. She acknowledges how hard it is and then talks about walking through PMS with God. The final chapter is about the blessings and testimonies of women of how God has used PMS in their lives.
After finishing the book, I can't recommend it highly enough. If you struggle with PMS, I highly recommend reading this book. I hope it will encourage you as much as it has encouraged me. I now have a list of things I need to process and consider. I have some changes I need to make in my life.
Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Moody Publishing.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.