Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy

Crossway Books & Bibles When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy

"It is utterly crucial that in our darkness we affirm the wise, strong hand of God to hold us, even when we have no strength to hold him."
---John Piper

Even the most faithful, focused Christians can encounter periods of depression and spiritual darkness when joy seems to stay just out of reach. It can happen because of sin, satanic assault, distressing circumstances, or hereditary and other physical causes. In When the Darkness Will Not Lift, John Piper aims to give some comfort and guidance to those experiencing spiritual darkness.

Readers will gain insight into the physical side of depression and spiritual darkness, what it means to wait on the Lord in a time of darkness, how unconfessed sin can clog our joy, and how to minister to others who are living without light. Piper uses real-life examples and sensitive narrative to show readers abundant reason to hope that God will pull them out of the pit of despair and into the light once again.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Review 1 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have all been there. In a place where we cannot find joy or peace in our lives. Where a heavy darkness descends on our shoulders and weights us down.
When the Darkness will not Lift is a book designed to help people move through this season of darkness. While waiting for the Lord to move in our lives, the author encourages us to walk closer with God. To cling to Him as your life line. He also encourages the reader to be actively involved in helping God’s kingdom in whatever way He directs you. Helping others always takes our mind off our own problems.
He also includes a large amount scripture that the reader can refer to.
I know that some people will expect more from this author, but in all honesty when you are in this type of season, a smaller book is less overwhelming.
The book itself is only 79 pages of actual text, with the introduction being 22 pages long. The price is not too bad if you can find the book on sale.
Although when I read this book I was not going through this type of season, I still found it to be an encouraging book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dane
Location:Mankato. MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was just what I needed at a critical time in my life and I am sure that I will refer to it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
LL1970
Age:35-44
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I usually enjoy Piper for depth of insight. This was basic and not that helpful. For the price I was expecting more. The book is very small with larger print so there is not much here to give it value for the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great.

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Big B
Location:Owego, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I have just began reading this book I have found it to be really comforting due to the recent home going of my wife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brad
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Piper did an excellent job of dealing with a topic that most of us deal with at some point in our life. His approach is one of helping and not condemning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short and Sweet

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ian7
Location:Phx, Az
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book title really hit me so I purchased it. As I have read this book I found it to be very helpful in understanding why I have low's in my life. I don't believe that you will always be happy in life because many times our growth comes from our pains, but Piper uses scripture to help us understand the darkness or hard times. The book also helps with relating to others and how to minister to others that seem to never have the darkness rise out of there life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mr Piper has proven again, God is Awesome

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donald Stanton
Location:Ocala, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God has given Mr Piper a talent for explaining God's words and ways in a very understadable way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal Cook
There is nothing more life changing when you read (or listen I purchased the audio book) to the season your "stuck" in being explained. The bible is ALWAYS a must read but sometimes when you're yet again in this pit it's hard to read your bible and feel Gods love. The last two chapters had me in tears because I know that I'm not alone when I go through dark seasons. Great book and even better audio (finished it while taking a hot bath)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alpha Floral Designs
John Piper is an excellent bible teacher and pastor. He has poured his soul out as usual and I recommend anything he writes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anthony Carr
This book really opened my eyes to a higher way of looking at the sacrifice of the cross. This is a good read and is definitely encouraging if you are willing to be encouragable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Ruble
Wonderfully inciteful and encouraging. Taking the Word and believing it brings joy! We've been inundated by secular thought and the Scriptures still have all the answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When the Darkness Will Not Lift: Doing What We Can While We Wait for God--and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
Piper, being a melancholic himself, understands the issues of those who battle with depression. This is a simple book offering understanding to those who battle the dark clouds. The author with sensitivity gives helpful insight and encouragement to those who battle depression. If you have ever been there you can appreciate the very fact of the book's conciseness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.