Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown

The reliable and readable ESV in a trim portable size for every day reading.

An excellent choice for personal reading and study, and for teaching, preaching, and worship, the English Standard Version translation is founded on the belief that the words of the Bible are the very words of God. Setting itself apart from other translations by sacrificing neither accuracy nor readability, the ESV is an "essentially literal" translation that seeks to duplicate the original texts while taking into account the differences between modern English and the original languages. ESV sets a new standard - and is truly a Bible for all people.

Features

  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Double-column format
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edges
  • Durable sewn binding for extra strength
  • Imitation leather charcoal crown design cover
  • 8-point text size
  • 8.75" x 5.75" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Review 1 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Quality

Date:April 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hunter
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife gave this bible to me when we were dating back in 2008. I has held up extremely well, and a great carrying size. Well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great bible!

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alex JM
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the massive ESV study bible and I was looking for something a little smaller that I could carry around and travel with. This bible is great. It's everything I was looking for. It's very attractive with the crown of thorns on the cover and the silver lining and imprinting. For the price, there isn't anything better. I'm very happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very eye-catching and well-priced

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
sue of nc
Location:Greenville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible was a Christmas gift for my son, who is a senior in college. He told me that he has already had strangers make comments to him about the uniqueness of the Bible's cover. In less than a week, it opened the door for at least 2-3 conversations with people who were curious about his faith. In addition to being attractive, the Bible is also portable and easy to read (print size). Makes me think I should buy a couple more to keep on hand to use as gifts. This Bible was a great choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
yiya
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was a gift to my grandson. He absolutely loved it. When he saw the crown, he was totally excited. The cover was very beautiful and it was a perfect gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible for carry anywhere.

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
SteveO
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Discipleship Pastor I meet people in coffee shops, restaurants, or whatever is convenient for them. This smaller bible allows me to carry it and use it wherever I go! The type is large forva small bible, and it is easily read. This is Prolly the best value in a bible I've seen. The crown of thorns motif on the front and back cover are unique and very well done! I have been asked about my bible by complete strangers. Believers and nonbelievers. This is a great bargain. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the ESV, great size for travel, great price, and good font!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jon M
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted. Lightweight, easy to read, easy to travel with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Purple Lady
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a Bible that was easy to carry with me to church and Bible studies. This definitely fits the bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
kharlee
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible came quickly and is very "cool" looking. My son loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Handy size with great design

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mohan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was impressed with the quality and design of this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
kobrien
Location:Downingtown,PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my 15 year old son for Christmas. The quality is outstanding for the price I paid. My son loves the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Bible! This translation makes it very clear while at the same time providing the who depth and meaning of the scriptures, it is such a good Bible and helped me and the 12 other people I know that have it in there personal time with Christ in His word so much more clear and the meaning of the scriptures know and understandable. It's a big blessing that makes clear Christ word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product and price

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
firemanvfd
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased for a friend who is a new believer. It is compact, but loaded with excellent tools for beginning to moderate studies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
jordon24
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with the ESV about 6 months ago, so I bought the study bible. I am a bible college student and I bring a bible with wherever I am on campus and the ESV study bible was way to big to fit in my backpack. So I decided to buy an ESV thinline, and when I saw the design on the cover on this one I just had to get it. As much as I love this bible, I do wish that the font size was a tiny big larger.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nathaniel Geist
I thought the color was slightly lighter than shown in the picture, but am still very satisfied with the product overall. I'd recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Breanna Sylvia
I bought this bible for my husband on his birthday. It's a beautiful bible and the personalization is perfect! I would highly recommend this bible. Thank you Christian Book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark
An excellent Bible for teens and young adults. The translation is the best I know of and is easy to understand and read without taking the Word of God and putting it into the worn-down style of speech used today. The Crown design is inspiring, and the Bible itself looks great with engravings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alexandra Hipp
LOVE THIS BIBLE! It's small but not too small. Perfect for anyone who wants a cooler bible look. I bought this and have had many compliments on it. It's small print, Red-Letter words with a nice concordance. This particular cover only comes with ESV. I wish it came with other Bible Translations!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan
We had bought this same bible for my husband two years ago and were very pleased with it, but the one we ordered for my son is not of the same quality. The paper is not as nice,and the type not as easy to read. I noticed that my husband's was printed in Belgium, and my son's in China. Still a nice bible, but definitely a lower quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Thinline TruTone, Charcoal Crown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Travis
Awesome Bible...I was looking for a smaller bible to take with me places church, college, work, etc.great size and the translation is great. The cover is another great feature soft and durable.... I think the crown design is cool. Many bibles have plan covers I like something different, I needed something that matched my style as well as a translation that is not watered down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>