Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Review 1 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Courtney
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love to hear Sheila talk about Jesus! I first heard her speak at The Women of Faith conference this past year in my (current) home town. I was drawn in by her passion for teaching women about Christ (and her accent is pretty awesome, as well!). Now, I can't help but hear Sheila's voice in my head as I read her words from her most recent book, The Storm Inside.
Sheila focuses on "big picture" feelings in her book, whether it be shame, fear or insecurity. Because of this, she provides a fairly holistic account of possible feelings that we as women could encounter throughout our time in this life. I think that this book will hold a special place on my bookshelf, along with other books that I deem "reference material." Whenever I am experiencing these feelings, I can go back to Sheila's book and focuses on the specific chapter pertaining to my life at that moment. It definitely is not a substitute for speaking to God or hearing his Word, but Sheila points you to the fact that Jesus is there for you and will not leave you amidst your storm. Thank you for that reminder, Sheila!
I recommend this book to anyone who may encounter times in their life when their own strength is not enough to pull through the storm (i.e., all of us!). Keep this book handy for those times and keep your Bible even closer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not quite my cup of tea

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris Bush
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
*I received this book as part of the booklookbloggers program.*
I was so looking forward to reading this book however after I got it. I couldn't get past the Introduction. It was as if the rest of the book didn't quite live up for me. I see this book for the person who is down and out and in need of a good encouraging word. This book is about giving up your feelings about who you are and accepting God's truth about who you are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book!!!

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
lorealle
Location:pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Throughout the last few years of my life, chaos has seemed to become a new member of this family. There were days where sun up to sun down felt drenched with chaos. And these last few months, ack, we won't even go there. To say I'm an emotional person is an understatement. So a book that would help me deal with chaos and the emotions that go along with them? Yes, please!
I thought this book was a great read! There were times I laughed with her and a few times some tears were shed. It's easy to get drawn into the conversation from the author. Each chapter addresses the storm topic and ends with a section on how to "stand through your storm" which included a few tips and a prayer. This is in no way a one-and-done book nor is our struggle. This is a book to read over and over, learning something new each time. This would be a great gift to someone you know is struggling.
This book was provided to me free of charge by Book Look in return for my honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Storm Inside

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is what I call a self -help book. Shelia talks about 10 different subjects that happen in life and considers them GOD's trials and difficult situations. We all go through it, but we all have different answers and choices that we make. We all blame ourselves, someone else or GOD for having an unhappy time in our lives. Shelia talks about how she has had these times and also shares others stories that have shared with her. Her answers are biblical and she does supply bible verses to back up what she is writing about. She also puts a spin on situations, that some of us (me included) would not think about as the answer that GOD wants us to know and learn during this time.
I would recommend this book to those that are going through a difficult time and would like to be encourage to get through it. I like how Shelia has always put GOD first in her writings and will always stay true to his word. If you need a plain, easy read for helping during hard times this book is for you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliantly expressive and theologically sound

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
BritMum
Location:Dallas, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sheila Walsh is a WRITER, a REAL writer and with her beautiful style she will encourage you to meet the Storm-Stiller of the Bible, Jesus. Not only does she share her own story with beautiful transparency, but she also unpacks Scripture in an authentic and helpful way. This book is for you if you have ever felt the sting of heartache, disappointment, fear, bitterness, unforgiveness, anger, regret, abandonment, shame or insecurity. Sheila delves deeply into each of these topics in her book 'The Storm Inside'. It is a MUST read! Do yourself a favor and buy one for you AND a friend!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ginger2760
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I'm a huge fan of Sheila Walsh and this is easily her best book by far. The book hit to the heart of me with it's truth and honestly. We don't have to live with the shame, regret, disappointment and so many other things from the "storms" of our lives. We are beautiful children of the heavenly King who loves us so much.
Sheila brings us to the feet of our Savior and helps us to see that we can truly let go of the things that bring us low. Thank you so much Sheila for this amazing book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laurie K
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God has a great way of getting my attention. Earlier this year I joined the launch team for this book. It came just at a time when I needed it most. Sheila Walsh is great at showing how anyone can have storms and we can get thru them. We are not alone in what we face. Thank you Sheila for the opportunity to help launch this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Hope for the Inner Storms

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Springdale, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Trade the chaos of how you feel for the truth of who you are." The subtitle drew me in to consider the storm inside.
Sheila Walsh shares deeply and honestly about the storms that rage inside us--heartbreak, disappointment, insecurity, despair, insignificance, rage, regret, fear, shame and unforgiveness. Each chapter concludes with a section "Standing in the Storm" that offers insightful questions, Bible verses of hope and a prayer. Sheila points the reader to the Lord, the One who can quiet those storms. "Our culture throws broken things away, but our Savior never does" (p.18).
This is her best book yet. Thank you, Sheila, for your honesty and openness that will help many to heal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't just survive storms - thrive through them!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
See Emily Review
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Earlier this year, I was invited to be a part of the launch team for a new book by Sheila Walsh entitled “The Storm Inside.” I first heard Sheila speak at a Women of Faith conference several years ago. Since then I have read several of her books, always appreciating their blend of spiritual truth, practical stories, and an honest kick in the pants when I need it :) Here is my official review of “The Storm Inside,” which comes out today!
“The Storm Inside” is a thought-provoking look at what it means to follow Christ through the not so good times of life. it seems like faith is easy when the storms are calm; but, when the waters are raging, it can sometimes be hard to remember Who can calm any storm in life. We so often create our own storms and hold on to our ship as it sinks. This book reminds us that it’s not just about us and our ability to survive the storms intact, but that God wants us to survive the storms in joy, living fully in who He is and what He promises. Nowhere does it say that there won’t be storms, but we are promised that the storms will not beat us, as long as we hold on to God.
Ms. Walsh writes like she speaks; with honesty, vulnerability and integrity. This book references the parts of her life that qualify her to speak into the storms of a reader’s life without asking for pity or making the reader feel like their personal storm isn’t scary enough. Through honest discussions on shame, guilt, forgiveness, pain and acceptance, “The Storm Inside” is the perfect, challenging read for someone who feels like the world is raging against them or even those they love. Full of practical wisdom and solidly built on a foundation of God’s word, “The Storm Inside” is a must-read for people who feel like giving up may be the only option. Walsh’s understanding of scripture and deep faith in God shine on every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Star123234
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila Walsh has done it again! The Storm Inside has hit me so deep. You can tell that God was defiantly writing this book through Sheila because every line and every subject has hit me and made me reevaluate my walk with Christ. It made me deal with many things I had going on in my life. This book is a must read for every one whether your dealing with a storm or not. It is guaranteed to make you think about things that you have stuffed or things you thought you dealt with. GET THIS BOOK AND READ IT ASAP!! 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God has something to say to YOU!!!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Caara
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't often take time to write an online review. I feel much differently with Sheila Walsh's new book. I'm taking the time to encourage you to get a copy of this book!! It's that important!!! God used Sheila to pen this book and HE has something to say to you! No matter how huge the storm is God will get you through! One of my favorite quotes from this book is on page 152. "I believe with everything in me that God is raising up an army of ragtag women of all shapes and sizes around the world who have grown tired if listening to the enemy's no and are ready to believe God's YES!" ~Sheila Walsh - The Storm Inside #storminside
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sheila Walsh scores a touchdown with this book!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
MarsKids
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila writes from her heart and shares very personal stories about how God has helped her deal with the storms in her life....and she has come through some big ones!
In life we all face storms. Some people are currently in a storm and some may have just come through a storm. For some a storm may be about to hit. Sheila's book will help you deal with the storms whether they are in the past or are currently happening and it will help you prepare for the ones yet to come.
In this book “The Storm Inside” Sheila shares amazing nuggets of truth which our hearts and minds can truly grab on to. As you read this book you will wonder how Sheila knew exactly what you were facing. Her story is our story. While we may have all faced different storms in our lives, the wonderful message in this book is relevant to all. Sheila writes like she is speaking directly to us because she has been through the storms like we have and had found God’s grace, love, forgiveness and mercy through them all.
Don’t just buy 1 copy of this book. Get one for a friend or family member who needs an uplifting message to help them through the storms of life.
“The Storm Inside” is a book that you will read more than once…and will get something new from it each time.
Thank you Sheila Walsh for your openness and honesty in the struggles you have faced and for allowing us to be open with ours. Thank you as well for taking us to the throne room of God's grace and mercy through your writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical, uplifting, solid Bible teaching

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila Walsh seems, at first glance, to have it all together - a successful Christian music artist, talk show host, world traveler, Women of Faith speaker.
But in reading this book, you will learn that she has faced many personal storms. She has also been on the front row of the storms in the lives of others. She knows that life can take your breath away with gale force winds of shame, fear, anxiety, and pain. But she also knows that God's power can reach through any storm that this fallen world can blow over us and bring purpose to our pain. Sheila uses strong Bible teaching and practical life application steps in every chapter to show us how we can trade the chaos of the storms of life for the peace of God. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Conquering the storm.

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women feel the storm activity all around. We find ourselves teetering somewhere between everyday chaos and crisis.
We can feel a storm brewing, we are in the middle of a storm, or we are facing the aftermath of a storm. But don't be afraid because it is possible to grow through turbulent times.
Storms show you what's really going on inside, reveal what you really believe, and actually make you stronger. In this powerful book Sheila will help you: Redefine your failures as a new beginning instead of an end. Replace the words "always" and "never" in your life with positive declarations of hope. Know with confidence how to help a friend in chaos or crisis.
Wow. This book is everything I wanted it to be and so much more. Sheila Walsh has been my favorite singer since I was a little girl, so reading this book was a real treat.
In The Storm Inside:
From heartbreak to strength
from disappointment to hope
from unforgiveness to freedom
from rage to restoration
from fear to joy
from shame to love
from regret to rest
from insecurity to confidence
from insignificance to courage
from despair to faith
In each chapter, Sheila shares what stories in the Bible are relevant, who's story can help us in today's world? I love this! I also love how much Sheila shares with us about her life. I could hear her reading it with her accent the whole time! Then at the end of each chapter, she calls it Standing Through Your Storm and she gives you some clear and helpful ways to go from one to the other, biblically.
Sheila says, "Fair doesn't live here anymore but Jesus does." --
Read this book, you won't regret it ONE bit!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life is a storm sometimes.

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
amylee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life is a storm sometimes. It's true, isn't it? Life can be tumultuous, tossing us with winds of misfortune, grief, shame, or stress. And when we are being tossed so hard that we feel like we can barely hang on., it can be hard to remember there is Someone who can bring peace -- and guide you through your storm. You can come out the other side a stronger person!!!
Have you ever been so consumed with your problems and personal concerns that it seemed there was no immediate relief in sight?
Through the pages in this book, Sheila points each reader directly to the One who can calm the storm!!!
This book lifted my spirit, soothed my soul and warmed my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Conquering the Storm

Date:February 11, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila Walsh has amazing, God given insight into women. She doesn't write her books on an academic level but on a real life level. The Storm
Inside is something that every woman needs to read. Walsh takes the 10 big issues we face (like anger, shame, and heartache) and she breaks
them down and addresses how God feels about those issues and what His word says to guide us through them. There is no condemnation in
this book. Only loving guidance and the offer of redeeming ourselves through God's word. It really is a salve to the soul. If you are like me you
will glance through the 10 topics and pick a few that you know are a struggle for you but then as you read the book God will reveal the emotions that you hide even from yourself. So while I was interested in this book just because I am a Sheila Walsh fan, I found it to be heart changing. I recommend it as a must read. I received a free copy of this book as a member of the Launch Team in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must read

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
kim rhodes
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all go through storms in life. Sheila has a way of guiding you through them. She has been there and learned from her experiences. I plan to read this book over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read! How to Stand through your Storm....

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Liz C
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever at any time of your life felt Heartache, Disappointment, Fear, Bitterness, Forgiveness, Anger, Regret, Abandonment, Shame or Insecurity? Then you need to read The Storm Inside! Sheila Walsh breaks down each one and gives you the tools to Stand Through Your Storm with the help of our Lord Jesus. As I read through The Storm Inside I felt I could identify with the stories. My storm(s) paled in comparison to those in the book however it was a storm nonetheless. Jesus will be there no matter when others fail. He is always there! We need to seek God through His word and constant communication with Him through prayer. The more we know of Jesus, His love for us and His word the less room there will be for the feelings listed above. These 10 chapters show over and over again how you need to seek Jesus to weather through your storm. Thank you Sheila Walsh!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Val W
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to be on the launch team for this book. Since My first WOF event in 2011, I've become a Sheila fan-I guess you could say I'm "hooked." How I loved this book, every chapter has something that a woman can relate to, and if you can't relate now I'm sure sometime in your life you will. I really resonated with the last few chapters the most. Although I have tons of highlights I loved this little and simple quote (on pg. 169) "God's steadfast love never ceases. His mercies never end." I can't wait to get my hands on this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Storm Inside: Trade the Chaos of How You Feel for the Truth of Who You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Storm Inside

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
A Greater Yes
Location:Vale, NC
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the opportunity to see Sheila Walsh two times at Women of Faith events near my hometown. I love hearing her speak and I love reading her books. What she has to say speaks straight to your heart and gives you that feeling like “Wow, she knows exactly what I’m going through or exactly where I have been!!” When I found out that she had a new book coming out about the storms in our life, my first thought was I have to have this book, she wrote just for me. Needless to say, I was right and boy do my toes hurt!!!!
Do you have trouble with forgiveness? Not only with forgiving others but asking for forgiveness also. I do and the moment I started reading I knew right then I had amends to make and I did, I didn’t hesitate to contact those people. Not only does she tackle the storm of forgiveness or unforgivenss, she tackles insecurity, fear, disappointment and many more topics that we as women face.
One quote from the book that cut like a knife is:
“Forgiveness is not about removing someone else’s liability, but about setting our own hearts free.”
Powerful words from a powerful woman of God!!! I definitely recommend this book to all you will not be disappointed.
I received this book from Booksneeze for my honest review, all opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>