Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Moody Publishers Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic

Invite your 6- to 12-year-olds to journey to the Celestial City---with this special version of Pilgrim's Progress adapted just for them! Featuring child-friendly vocabulary and simplified concepts for young readers, Taylor's abridgment leaves Bunyan's unforgettable story line intact. Now fresh illustrations bring the classic to life for contemporary "travelers." 256 pages, softcover from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Review 1 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product is good reading for children.

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
kkw65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I used to read Little Pilgrim's Progress with our three girls when they were small. We purchased the books to give to children at church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wendy Demastus
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am reading this book to my class at church. They are enjoying it. Some of the vocabulary is still a little advanced for the younger ones though. I was very pleased to find this version available it has a wonderful message to tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie Murphy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this book to help an adult student to learn read. There are not many books that have themes appropriate for adult learners. The vocabulary is wonderful, but the story is simply written. She is loving this book.The Pilgrims Progress has long been one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Retelling of Classic

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this book as part of our home school curriculum because it retells Pilgrim's Progress in an easy-to-understand fashion, in words that children will understand. My daughter and I truly enjoyed traveling to the Celestial City along with Little Christian, seeing the kinds of troubles he met along the way. This book is an excellent retelling of the original and really gives everyone who reads it a taste of what John Bunyan wanted to bring to life. While I feel the book would be best utilized with younger readers in having it read to them or read with them - not to let them try it on their own. Readers aged 10 and up would have little to no trouble reading it on their own and it's a great way to prepare them for reading the unabridged version when they are older. Reading this book as a family makes for great, quality time together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Book!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
moderndayhippy
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so much enjoying reading this book to my son. He sits there and listens to me read for extended amounts of time, which is something rare for him (the sitting still part). My daughter who is nearly 5 does not seem quite so interested yet, but maybe in a year she will be. My husband and I are having just as much fun listening to and reading this book as my son is. Very interesting and thought provoking. I am also having fun drawing the correlations between what is in the book, and the real Christian walk with Christ. I have a feeling that this will remain one of our family's all time favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Read!

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
sarabolli
Location:Arvada,CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Pilgrim's Progress and was excited to be able to share this easy to understand version with my older boys. They are 9 and 7 and they couldn't wait to read more of the book each afternoon...they would beg me to keep reading! :)
I still can't wait for them to be old enough to read the "real" book, but this was a great introduction to the classic and I am sure it will be treasured in our family for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an INCREDIBLE book!!!

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronda
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We read it to our 5 year old boy in the evenings and he was enthralled right from the beginning. He could re-tell any part of it when asked, and could explain what was happening in the pictures even when we had forgotten that particular part of the book later. It is excellent, and has such a good message, for kids, teens and adults. We loved it!!!! Will buy for birthday gifts and will read it together again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My grandkids love it!

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
JC loves books
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7yr. old grandson read this book in one day and loved it. My 6 yr. old granddaughter began reading it immediately after her brother finished it. She, too, was intrigued. All families should invest in this excellent work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent version for young children

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pauline50
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent adaptation for young readers ages 6-12. It will prepare them to read the unabridged version when they are older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for children to read!

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BFamily
Location:Chillicothe, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this book for my son in 4th grade. It is excellent! I wish the book were hardbound but otherwise it is excellent and I would highly recommend it for a childrens reading book. It has very nice pictures and my son couldn't wait to start reading it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
DebA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this book as part of our Sunday School program for our 5th graders. It is a good analogy of the Christian walk in life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
jane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. Everyone in the family enjoyed it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pilgrim's Progress for kids of all ages

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Believer2
Location:N. California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is a great edition of the wonderful book by Paul Bunyon, written in a way that is easier to understand for kids of all ages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Richeson
I was already familiar with the book. I am using as my curriculum with my 4th and 5th grade Sunday school class. They are enjoying it. I am on the lookout for a curriculum guideline with activities to accompany the novel. If you are aware of any, please let me know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Reed
I bought this book for my 11 year old and after hearing her rave about how good it is I read it myself. It is one of the best books I have ever read. Even though it is written for children the content can speak to us all. Now my 7 year old is reading it and we are discussing it. I just order her a copy for her very own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherry
I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed reading this book!!! My daughter was 5 1/2 when we read it and she LOVED it! We are a homeschooling family. Once we started this book we put everything aside to coninue on! Just couldn't get enough. It opens the door for wonderful spiritual conversations with your children. A delight and blessing to our entire family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Gaston
This is the first version of "Pilgrim's Progress" which I read in 4th grade years ago! It is so easy to read & understand that both adults & children will love it.I read it to my children as they grew up. I highly recommend all Christians read this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Camille
We love this book! Our children have heard us read it to them over and over. We give it away as gifts to families we know who don't own a copy. We think every Christian home where there are children should be blessed with a copy of this wonderful book. It is faithful to the original work by Bunyan and has been a blessing to even us as parents. Highly recommended!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dasha
This was a great book! My son(7yrs old) read it in 2 days. He simply could not put it down. It was not a difficult for him to read and having the Christian background made it easy for him to comprehend the message being written. Its great when you see your child retelling a story with such enthusiasm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Little Pilgrim's Progress: From John Bunyan's Classic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
Excellent for family reading! Simple enough to keep our 5-year old's attention and yet interesting for adults. Prompts meaningful questions from children giving parents opportunity to discuss the gospel and share experiences from their own journey as a King's Pilgrim. A must read for every family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>