Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1

Avon Inspire Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1

A woman is wrongly accused--and one man will risk everything to prove her innocence and save her life.

The last thing Jack Mansfield ever wanted was to arrest his former sweetheart--especially with her crying five-year-old hanging on to her. But Jack is the police chief of Bullard, Texas, and records indicate Charli has embezzled more than $100,000 from the bank where she works. Charli swears she's innocent, but Jack must abide by the law.

Charli thought she had pieced her life back together after her first husband left her alone and pregnant. But now she sits in a jail cell, accused of a crime she did not commit! , with a little girl waiting on the outside. Charli's faith has always kept her steady during the ups and downs of life, but she can't deny she's now close to despair.

Jack has harbored unrequited love for Charli for over a decade; and that love drives him to task himself and his private-eye brother, Sonny, to prove her innocence and find the perpetrator. But Jack and Charli will never have their happily-ever-after if she goes to prison or is murdered by the person who framed her. Will they find the true culprit in time to save Charli's life and finally give their love a chance?

Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Review 1 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vivie
Location:Bellflower, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It grabbed from the beginning and I really enjoyed the characters. I especially like where it gets right to the point and solves the problem quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
This review is fromTexas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1, Large Print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzy Kolk
Debra White Smith has done it again! Believable characters who communicate with gut-level honesty. And when she delves into contemporary issues (like co-dependency in this book), nobody does it better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brittney Greene
I absoultely loved this book! Being a native Texan, I could really see everything happening in the novel. Debra White Smith has mastered the regional approach to writing, which has undoubtedly captured the atmosphere of the great state of Texas. Throughout the novel, I found myself captivated by the suspense, romance, and spiritual battles that each character faces with the progression of the story. Ever since I read my first Debra White Smith novel, one of her Jane Austen series, I have been hooked on her writing style. She paints vibrant scenes and really knows how to make the reader hold their breath, in anticipation, to find out what happens next. I see nothing but success with the Lone Star Intrigue series and I cannot wait to see what happens next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shelly
I love Debra White Smith's easy writing style. She draws you into the characters and her stories are always full of great plot lines. I really felt for Charli since she was a single mom who had been abandoned by her husband and left to raise a five year old daughter. She regretted being swept off her feet by someone that she honestly didn't know very well. The love that she and Jack still carried over the years was very strong and I found myself wanting to prod them and get them together. This was a wonderful mystery full of twists and turns! You will not want to put this book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Gildroy
Debra White Smith is, by far, one of my favorite authors. She has a way of writing stories that captivates her audience and pulls the reader into the story. Texas Heat was one of her best! The story was very interesting! It is one of those "cannot put it down" kind of books. I found myself right in the middle of Bullard, Texas watching the story unfold. As a busy mom of three kids, I use reading as a way to relax and unwind. I always try to keep one of Debra's books on-hand to read. She can tell a story in a way that few can. You will not be disappointed in this book. It was awesome!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen
Another winner from Debra!! Texas Heat has mystery, romance, and characters who tug at your heartstrings. I'll definitely be looking for the next one in the series. Thanks, Debra, for entertainment that is clean, and written from a Christian worldview.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
K. Lowe
Things are heating up between Jack and Charlie in texas heat. Their tumultuous story comes full circle in this page-turning romantic thriller. Full of surprises, texas heat is hard to put down. Realistic well thought out characters get caught up in events that will force them to determine the course of their lives...together, or apart. I'm looking forward to the next installment in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norma Merle
Debra White Smith is one of my favorite authors. She knows how to tell a story and keep your interest thru out.Her books are a must read! I always look forward to her next book as I will with the next one in her newest series "Lone Star Intrigue". I can hardly wait for book #2 in the Series. Book #1 was extraordinary. Norma Merle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dianne Petersen
This is the first book of the Lone Star Series and I for one cannot wait for the next book to arrive. Debra White Smith is a wonderful down to earth author who keeps Chirst at the center of her books. Charli had moved back to town five years ago and now has been charged with embezzling a hundred grand from the bank where she has been working.Jack, her friend and police chief, arrests her for the alleged embezzlement. Charli has a five year old child that needed a place to stay while she is in jail. I loved this Christian book that I could just sit down and read and I am still wanting more. Texas Heat is amazingly witty with lots of surprises and a number of faith promoting experiences. If you like love, mystery, intrigue, and romance you will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karoleigh Lebsack
Debra White Smith just may have created something very habit forming if Texas Heat is any indication of the stories to come with her Lone Star Intrigue series. The characters in this book were so captivating and real! I felt as though I were reading about actual people and that I may just bump into Charli coming out of Brookshires Grocery store. I am more than ready for the second book, and wishing that I wasn't already finished with the first! Texas Heat is the perfect getaway at the end of a stressful day if you like to escape with the aid of a great story. Texas Heat is a page turner. The unpredictable suspense will keep you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda H
You have done it again. Like all your books, this one was a page turner...action, mystery and romance. Most importantly, you portray that faith in God prevails. (It just wasn't long enough!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Moore
Talk about torn! How does an honest sheriff sworn to uphold the law reconcile arresting the woman he's loved and longed for for eleven years! Yeah, she dumped him for a smooth talking Romeo long ago, but that jerk left her, and Jack has hoped ever since that Charli would one day get over the distrust of men Vince taught her, and turn to him. How likely is that, NOW?! After all, virtually every criminal, even Charli, claims to be innocent. But could she fake her stunned reaction to the charge of embezelment? Jake does his duty - he arrests her, fearing he has slain his hope of a future with Charli. Well, he almost killed it. Hope keeps trying to sprout, even as the situation with Charli gets more and more complicated. Sheriff Jack uses his office not only to uphold justice, but also to hold out mercy.As always, Debra's characters are people you know and like, and seeing them work thru emotional and spiritual issues opens your eyes to similar issues in your own life. Why does insecurity lead not just Charli, but me, to make poor decisions? Self-talk doesn't really hype me into "healthy thinking" - but God's truth can. Where is security to be found? not in people, but in their (and my) Creator and Redeemer. In Debra's writings, God uses extreme difficulties, whether from totally unjust victimization or from personal bad choices (sometimes coming out of past victimization), redemptively. Her books sing, "There is a Redeemer, Jesus, God's Own Son." And THAT'S why they are true to life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doris Bernethy
Texas Heat is one of Debra's finest works to date. Charli has returned to her home town after a failed marriage but has a delightful daughter. Her old flame is now a sheriff who is devastated when he has to arrest Charli for a crime for which she has been framed. Sparks fly as Jack and Charli work to prove her innocence and Charli becomes the victim of a stalker who is bent on murdering her to hide his own crimes. This is a most fascinating story of love, intrigue, and restored faith. I can hardly wait for the second book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Diaz
Debra White Smith has a gift for "realness", real people, real dialogue, and a real but not preachy presentation of Christianity. Her main characters exhibit high moral standards as they face the trials and temptations of life; not just the everyday things we all face but those that feature in the exciting plot line of embezzlement and attempted murder. Romance fans will also be drawn in by the complex relationship between the two main characters. Enough backstory is provided about the villain to make him (or her) quite interesting. Put all together, "Texas Heat" provides a good read for fans of Christian romance and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jana Ellis
Texas Heat was a wonderful tale with characters that you could actually find in real life. It is always refreshing to be able to identify with the feelings and reactions of the characters in a story. So often in Christian fiction, characters can almost become Christian robots without any of the struggles that actual Christians face. Debra White Smith has a gift of allowing the reader to experience the character's struggle to depend on God in order to overcome the daily battle of sinful natures. Jack and Charli both faced the issue of enabling and co dependency. Each had to learn to depend on God so they could be free of those chains before they could truly experience a healthy relationship with each other. Their struggle will touch many lives.Thank you for writing such a touching story of learning to love one another with freedom from the chains of sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Fields
This is a must read, I could not put it down.when you start reading this book, you will not do anything else until you finish it.I can not wait for Texas pursuit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Em
Debra White Smith wraps intrigue,romance,faith and suspense all into one package! She does it very well I might add. I was sad when it was over, because I enjoyed it so much. I can not wait until Texas Pursuit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Williams
This was one of the best books I have recently read. Throughout the entire book, I kept wondering if the villain was going to get Charlie. I also enjoyed the view into the actions and thoughts of the villain. I loved how she brought to the eyes of the reader that Christians do not have to be perfect or live perfect lives. Redemption is for the imperfect not the perfect. Debra White Smith has a way of writing stories that get the reader involved: you have to keep reading to find out what happens next. And that brings the character of God to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
tabitha dickson
I love any thing that debra white smith writes and this was no exception the story line was great it kept you in to it and would not let you go. all i can say is keep up the good work. I can not what for the next book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Texas Heat, Lone Star Intrigue Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Jack Mansfield has it bad, but he has always had it bad, where Charli is concerned. Eleven years earlier, she had broken his heart and dumped him for a no-good, that she married. Vince, did not take long to show her just how no good he was. He left her and the baby and headed out for parts unknown, and Charli came home.Jack, now the police chief, has been trying slowly to get her to warm back up to him. But she has changed, she is not the same person he once knew. How much has she changed is the big question? Especially after he has to arrest her for embezzlement. Charli is innocent, and Jack is convinced that she is also. But how to prove it, when the evidence is so overwhelming. Jack's brother a private investigator is on the case. Jack is in protection mode. And someone is upset, that she is fighting back and now Charli is in danger.This story unfolds, you will be amazed at the depth of the story. This is not just a romance, nor is it just a mystery. The author deals with deep situations in life, such as abandonment, mental illness, co-dependency and deaths of loved ones. Debra White Smith, has brought a awesome story to life in this book. Discussion questions are included at the end of the book, for book clubs or study groups. You will be pleased to know that this is the beginning of the Lone Star Intrigue Series. There is an excerpt for the next book at the end of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>