Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook

Thomas Nelson Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Review 1 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learn to communicate more effectively

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
tomjamieson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I generally enjoy reading books by John Maxwell. They are usually informative, engaging, well-written, and easy to read. Maxwell is committed to using language that is direct, clear, and easy to understand. As a result, his books are always a good read.
Everyone Communicates, Few Connect is no exception. In this book, Maxwell effectively and efficiently communicates many truths about good leadership, specifically as it relates to communicating with your audience. He successfully relays this information in three distinct areas: one-on-one communication, small group communication, and large group communication.
Maxwell expertly conveys the “how to” of effective communication and connection in a way that allows the reader to apply these principles to his own life and leadership style. Maxwell skillfully demystifies the illusion that communicating and connecting are innate instead of learned.
I found this book both easy to read and easy to understand. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone, whether you believe yourself to be a leader or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
I love reading personal and professional development books. Maybe it's because I've been self-employed for 2 years and counting that these types of books interest me now more than ever. There's no annual job review with a manager where I have to report back which goals I've missed and what courses I'll be taking to help meet the organization's goals. It's just me myself and I trying to better myself and my connection with others.When Thomas Nelson gave me the opportunity to read Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by leadership expert and international speaker, John Maxwell, I couldn't wait. I've heard great things about John Maxwell but have never had the chance to read one of his books.In his newest book, John Maxwell talks about how readers can connect with others one-on-one, in a group setting or with an audience without being distracted by the 30,00 other messages we receive daily (Yes! Can you believe it? People are bomabarded with 30K messages a day? Commercials, email, text messaging, messages on social networking sites etc). No wonder the book is titled Everyone Communicates, Few Connect!Maxwell packed this book with insights and practical tips by himself and others. He teaches readers how to turn their natural abilities into connections. His approach is simple focus on what you can do personally to bridge the gaps that may exist between yourself and the person (or group of people) with which you are attempting to communicate.I like that Maxwell's advice can apply to my professional life and my everyday communications with my family (including my daughter).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
L. Nelson
John Maxwell attempts to demystify communication principles in a way that enable people to actually make a connection. He focuses on a range of audience considerations, investigating how to communicate one-on-one, in small groups, and with a large audience. The book features two sections around principles and practices of connecting. The main principles of connecting involve realizing that connection is not fundamentally about you; the main practices of connecting involve concrete actions.Overall, I found the book to be accessible and about as interesting as a book on communication can be. I wasnt looking abundantly forward to reading this book, but Maxwell did a solid job at presenting some fairly new ideas. In particular, his discussion about the role of simplicity in communication stuck with me. As an academic, its my job to appreciate the nuances of complex phenomena; but it is equally my job to make the topic transparent. Additionally, I picked up some valuable insights about why it is a bad idea to retreat immediately after class. Connection with my students needs to be about them.This book isnt a book for everyone. If people constantly praise your connection skills, youre probably not going to get a lot out of the content. Yet, it is a clear presentation of accessible pointers for connecting if you are the type of person that has some more difficulties. I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishing with a commitment to review the book. I was not required to submit a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rick Phillips
While I found this book to be relatively easy to read and informational I couldn't help but to be disappointed. John Maxwell has done a great job of motivating his readers but he seems to have all but abandoned his Christian roots. With his circle of influence he could do such great things for Gods Kingdom but he has chosen to remain silent. As a book on communication I would rate it okay maybe even above average. However, as a book from a Christian author and publisher I would rate it poor. It saddened me to see so many missed opportunities to share Gods word in a relevant and relative way with those that might otherwise pay no attention.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle D Evans
Everyone Communicates Few Connect by John C. Maxwell. I chose to read this book because I would love to learn how to not only communicate, but to really connect with people on a deeper level. John C. Maxwell used social media to enhance this book. He would post a chapter at a time on a blog and advertise through Twitter, asking for feedback. The faces of the people who did give feedback or suggestions have been included on the cover of the book.At the end of each chapter Maxwell includes how you can connect one on one, in a group and to an audience, with the skills from the chapter. The book is split into two parts: Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices. I really didnt read anything new or innovative, just re-hashed ideas presented in John C. Maxwells style.This is the second Maxwell book I have read. I find he uses a lot of American political and sporting stories which would appeal to the average person but I had to push myself to get to the end. To me the book isnt great, although Im sure many would get a lot out of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jordan Wright
Everyone communicates. Looks, motions, your words, deeds, and perhaps even thoughts, all form some sort of communication. But how often do you really, truly connect with someone? Is it worth your time?Not very often. And yes, it is.As John Maxwell explains in his book, Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, connections are vital to achieving your communication goals.The book is full of sound connection advice, memorable examples, and a large number of useful quotes.As a speaker and debater, I have found this book a useful tool in achieving my goals, competitively and in real communication situations.This book is a must for anyone who struggles, suspects they struggle, or has been told they struggle with communication. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
A House Upon The Rock Reviews
I received Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, by John Maxwell from Thomas Nelson Publishers several weeks ago. It's taken me a little bit longer to get through this book than most, but that does not mean that it is not a good book.It is because I am generally not interested in leadership books. I asked to review it because I was intrigued by the following synopsis. In Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, John Maxwell takes readers through the Five Connecting Principles and the Five Connecting Practices of top-notch achievers. He believes that a persons ability to create change and results in any organizationbe it a company, church, nonprofit, or even a familyis directly tied to the ability to use the teachings of this book.This book is not just for business or leadership, but the principles are good for interacting with people everyday. One of the things I liked most was that there were valuable insights on becoming better communicators, which includes being better listeners.I would recommend it to others. Especially anyone in business, or in our case, trying to start their own businesses.Disclosure of Material Connection: Hate these, but apparently it needs to happen nowanyway, as I said, I received this book from Thomas Nelson to review. I am not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Geoff Snook
Did you like that person you just met? Ever wondered why you dont like someones first impression? John C. Maxwell knows why, and he explains all in his book, Everyone Communicates, Few Connect.Maxwell writes about the principles and practices that master connectors use to communicate effectively one-on-one, in group settings or to an audience. He also dispels the myth that youre either born a connector or youre not, teaching the reader how to become a better connector in all areas of their life.As a regular communicator, I was excited to read this book. Parts of it lived up to my expectation, reminding me of key principles and jogging my thinking about how to be a better connector. However, I found the book firmly placed in no-mans-land. Its not aimed at the experienced connector, being too basic in its message. Neither is it aimed at the beginner, being too long and wordy. I struggled to get through the book as it didnt hit any specific mark. It would be better used as a resource for getting a communicating pep-talk.(I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
bob garbett
There is a training exercise which is based on an old Native American practice using the Talking Stick. In it, folks sit in a circle and the only one who is allowed to speak is the one holding the Talking Stick. When that person finishes, he passes it to the next speaker and she is the only one who can speak until she passes it along, etc.In John Maxwells Everyone Communicates, Few Connect he used the Talking Stick approach to write the book. In so doing, not only did he communicate his message, he connected with his audience by posting the chapters on his website then inviting comments from readers. Thousands participated and some even had comments included in the book (mine are on the bottom of p. 239).Maxwell draws on his years of experience as a communicator to audiences from one to thousands to offer valuable lessons not only on why we should connect, but how to do it. The book is divided into two major sections on Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices. He closes each chapter with pointers on how to apply specific lessons covered in a setting of one-on-one, small group and larger audiences.Everyone Communicates, Few Connect is vintage Maxwell and is well worth the read.(I do these book reviews as a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger Program www.booksneeze.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cory McCaig
In the book Everyone Communicates Few Connect, we are given an insightful journey into the art of communicating that grasps peoples attention or connects. John C. Maxwell explores true communication barriers and provides a hands-on approach to really connecting with others. Maxwell introduces 5 Connection Principles and 5 Connecting Practices that can be used in a one-on-one setting, a group setting, or even an audience setting.Overall, I believe this book truly lives up to its title. In it, Maxwell truly outlines the difference between just talking and really connecting. Its content challenges each reader to be proactive with their communication. Maxwell also holds your attention with stories of personal experiences, as well as inspiring quotes from great communicators of the present and the past. However, I must admit that the chapters at times seem to be packed a little full and make it difficult at times to focus. On the other hand, the applications at the end of each chapter are truly helpful.As a pastor, I find the principles and practices in this book to very helpful in improving ones art of communicating. I would definitely recommend this book to any leader, minister, or person seeking to really connect with those around them.Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review. Further, the links to the book in this review are affiliate links.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chew Keng Sheng
For weeks I have been waiting for this book, not just because one of my comments in John's blog is featured in this book (page 35, Chapter 2), not just because my name is listed in the list of people who have read through the pre-printing manuscript in the blog, but because this book is loaded with so much wisdom, practical tips, quotes, etc that have to do with more than just the topic of connecting with others. I would say, this book is another indispensable book from John. Typical of John's style, he has packed in so many goodies in it that one can go back to the book, re-read it again and again, and yet there are still things one can learn from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrs Herrera
John Maxwell se ha lucido con este nuevo libro. Si quieres comprender la base de la comunicacin debes de leerlo. En sus pginas podrs encontrar consejos tiles y prcticos para poder conectar con la gente de manera directa, con grupos y con una audiencia grande. La clave es ponerte en los zapatos de t audiencia, ser autentico y practicar. Un gran comunicador no nace se hace.Este libro es una herramienta clave para cualquier persona que trabaja en el rea social y quiere impactar a la gente. En mi opinin, es el mejor libro que he ledo hace mucho tiempo. Me motiv mucho y sobre todo me mostr cmo hacer las cosas para poder conectar con la gente. Cada captulo tiene preguntas que te ayudan a llevar a la accin lo que has ledo. Adems, hay un sin nmero de ejemplos, citas e historias muy interesantes que ilustran de manera genial lo que Maxwell quiere ensearnos. Si eres un lder y quieres llegar a la gente, es hora de conectarte con ellos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
vernie espanola
Relationships whether it is personal or in a business level is vital. To be able to communicate our thoughts properly or convey our ideas is a needed skill. By nature, human beings is sociableever notice why social networking such a Facebook, twitter and maintaining a blog is so popular?It boils down to one thing!Our need to reach out, bridge the gap or to connect!And this is what the latest book of John Maxwell is all about--- to improve our relationships in what ever stage you are, whether you are in a business, in an organization, cell groups, meetings or engage solely in family life.The message of this book is simple ---to connect is one thing, to connect effectively is a skill we should all learn.John Maxwell is a world renowned speaker and author of several books that deal with leadership and self-improvement. In this particular book, this is another showcase from his wealth of experience.The book contains thought provoking topics, some are broken down into bullet-ed lists for easier reading experience, filled with stories or real life examples and what I like best is the sidebar or boxed quotes of famous people found in several chapters to get you motivated.So if you are a John Maxwell Fan,Someone who constantly conducts meetings,Do PowerPoint presentations like me for instance, (Youll benefit from WHAT MAKES PEOPLE LISTEN? on page 1o1).Wants to improve your family relationships so you can at least avoid strife.All I can say depending on your situation--- this is worth your dollar. Consider this book as an investment if you think like me that considers good communication skills as being essential in todays thriving world.THIS BOOK IS PROVIDED FOR FREE BY THOMAS NELSON AS PART OF THEIR BOOK REVIEW PROGRAM. THE OPINIONS I HAVE EXPRESSED ARE MY OWN. THIS IS ACCORDANCE WITH THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Bloom
John Maxwell has a clarity and writng style that cuts to the heart of the matter with practical ways to address the issues and find ways to improve. Communication is an age old discussion point, no pun intended. From the first breath uttered in that garden of eden we have misunderstood, and misrepresented ourselves, or spoken in ways that are missed, overlooked, or undervalued by others. I appreciate the five principles and five practices Maxwell outlines because they are easily understood, and his writing helps you to make course corrections to improve your communications. Yes, i don;t think this is essentially new material, but I think his fresh application is what kept me hanging on every page.I enjoy communications of all forms, and have worked to understand my audience, hone the message to be understandable to the target and effectively communicated. If you are like me the process of communicating is a work in progress, always improving, always striving to do it better. This book can help and I would recommend it highly. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
ridhi
I'm normally not much into non-fiction, but this book by Maxwell was really really good!The author takes us through 5 Connecting Principles and 5 Connecting Practices of people who are top-achievers. Basically, if one can learn how to communicate well, you can get your idea across to your friends, peers, clients etcThere is only one thing standing in the way of you and success... and that thing is- Right communication. This book will help you in keeping your communication simple, capturing people's attention, inspiring people and building relationships.Overall- a must read... I'd give it a 7 out of 10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
If you are looking for a book about improving your communication skills, "Everyone Communicates Few Connect" may be a good choice for you. Think of it as a basic textCommunication 101, perhaps. On its pages, leadership expert John Maxwell clearly outlines how to communicate effectively in order to truly connect with the people around you whether one-on-one, in a small group, or before an audience.The book is divided into two sections of five chapters each. Connecting Principles tells the reader five important things to know about connecting with others. Connecting Practices gives practical advice for communicating more effectively. Each chapter ends with specific ideas for applying the information in the three settings mentioned above.I really appreciated the simplicity of the book. Maxwell really does have a gift for communicating effectively. The book is presented in such clear outline form that, having read it, I can now go back to review key points as needed. Well-chosen words will quickly bring illustrations and explanations back to mind.Not everything in the book rang true to me, but most of its pages delivered solid, practical advice. Parts of the book reviewed information available in most books on this subject, but I also found new ideas to try. If this is your goal, you may be pleased with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Maxwell speaks very clearly on connecting with people and how to engage beyond a simple hi, how are you? He breaks the book up into two sections Connecting Principles and Connecting Practices. In the first section Maxwell shares with the readers how connecting increases our influence in every situation, how it is about others; it goes beyond words, always requires energy and is more a skill than a natural talent. The second section of connecting practices talks about connecting on a common ground, doing the difficult work of keeping it simple, creating an experience everyone enjoys, how connectors inspire people and how we as connectors need to live what we communicate. This book is a great read for anyone. As someone preparing for ministry it is a good book to understand how to connect with people on a personal level where people feel a connection; whether it be personal, or in a church. Maxwell captures the importance of connecting with people in such a powerful way. I give it five stars and a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave
I was first introduced to the writings of John Maxwell as a Bible College student studying for ministry. Since that time I have read nearly a dozen of his books and always look forward to reading his next work. Everyone Communicates did not disappoint. In fact, I would rank it in his top three books as far as its applicability and ease to understand.Maxwell spends the first half of the book describing the principles of how to connect with others. As is his style, he mixes simple concepts with real life illustrations in order to demonstrate the principle in action. As he says, "it's simple to understand, but difficult to apply." The second half of the book is where he rolls up his sleeves and shows us how to connect through five simple practices. As you read, you can't help but notice how he follows his own advice, even with his writing style.I found this book to be extremely helpful. My profession requires me to connect with people as individuals, small groups and larger audiences. Every chapter ends with practical advice on how to connect on each of those levels. Some of the advice is simplistic and common sense, but often we complicate the simple and overlook the common and it was good to be reminded of those principles. A definite must read for anyone who is in leadership, or even for those looking to better connect with the people in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Colburn
What do the most effective leaders do differently when they communicate with people? Everyone communicates, yet some folks are able to connect with those they are speaking to - in an almost magical way. Is this a gift divinely endowed and written within the genes of a select few? Is this ability to successfully grab and hold the attention of others an art that anyone can learn? Or, is this knack for connecting more about character formation, the heart, rather than merely a technique? Maxwell engages this subject with his usual engaging form, introducing us not only to his own insights on this topic, but also to dozens of others that he has cleverly invited to participate in the creation of this book. There are plenty of great stories, quotes you'll want to keep within easy reach or at least share with friends, and a well thought through reviews at the end of each chapter. The other strengths of this book include Maxwell's many years of experience as a leader and speaker, his ability to humorously illustrate his points, and his abundant research.If there is anything on the less enjoyable side it would be the redundancy of ideas and just too many illustrations making the book about 75 pages longer than really needed. In fact, it was on page 166 that Maxwell included this insight regarding how he speaks, yet not well applied to how he writes: "I've also discovered that when I speak for less time and do so more succinctly, people remember it better and longer. Isn't that ironic?" Yes, it is. Overall, I found far more to be blessed by - practically so - by the book and would recommend it to anyone interested in truly connecting with those they are speaking to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Everyone Communicates, Few Connect: What the Most Effective People Do Differently - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daryl Neipp
Everyone Communicates Few ConnectBy: John MaxwellI always look forward to a new John Maxwell book - and I emphasize the word new. The author or publisher or both seem to put out a myriad of redundant editions which I guess I can't really blame them for wanting to get as much mileage out of each tool as they possibly can. However, because of this the buyer cannot always distinguish between new material and that which is being recycled. So the good news for readers is that this book is all new! The bad news is that it isn't one of Maxwell's best books. This was a tough book to evaluate because there is some really good information here and it's an extremely important topic for leaders. Some leaders tend to have great relational skills and lack administrative skills but far more seem to have a great organizational skill-set but little or no people skills. Maxwell effectively makes the point that connecting with people is something that can be learned even if it isn't an innate characteristic for you. Ironically, the book was rather dry which comes as a surprise from an amazing communicator who has written a book about communication and connecting with others.At the end of the day, material from Maxwell is almost always worth the read. There's some good stuff here... push your way through the dry parts and you'll have some useful tools as a resource.In an attempt to provide full disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>