Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Momentum Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook

Tyndale Momentum Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Review 1 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Waking Up from the American Dream

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Rhinestone Jesus, Kristen Welch tells her story and shares about the journey God has brought her on. She shares about high school, the early years of marriage, and the challenging days of motherhood. She shares about the hard things God brought them through as a couple and as a family. She tells the story of travelling to Kenya with Compassion International and her heart being broken there. The time in Kenya shook her awake from her American dream, and soon a dream for a maternity home in Kenya began to grow.
I loved reading Kristen’s heart in these pages. She is real and honest in Rhinestone Jesus. She will be the first to admit that their family isn’t perfect, but they are striving to glorify the Lord in all they do. In the process of telling her story, Kristen also shares practical tips and ideas for nurturing our own families, growing closer to one another, and keeping our family focused on glorifying God.
Throughout the book, Kristen encourages other Christians to follow the Lord and say yes to Him in whatever He calls them to do, no matter how “big” or “small” it is. She says, “Saying yes isn’t really about doing it all. It’s about saying yes right where you are. It may seem small or insignificant, but any time you love someone or care for another person’s needs, you’re changing their world, and yours, too. It’s about looking up from your everyday life and seeing opportunities around you to make a difference. It’s about loving others as we are loved.”
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of Rhinestone Jesus. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:June 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book! I learned about the wonderful ministry of Mercy House just this year. How amazing to read the story of how God brought it all together! The book is more than just the story of Kristen's journey. She wrestles through so many things that I wrestle through, too. She talks about loving the poor and yet living in rich America. How do you buy a couch when people around the world are dying of hunger. She talks about bringing her whole family into service together. She talks about the highs and lows of trying to follow Jesus with her whole heart. I was challenged and inspired by this book. It is very well written and well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for an exciting life of faith

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Godzheart
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes its just not enough to be a Christian! We need more of Jesus in our life, not in the form of our cross pendants, bumper stickers or Jesus T-Shirts but the Jesus Who can transform the world through us. This is exactly what drove Kristen Welch, the author of the book Rhinestone Jesus, to her own world changing adventure with Jesus.
In her book, Kristen takes us through her own adventure with Jesus Christ. As she desired to do more for God, God did open ways for her to do just that and in ways she had never imagined. She walks us through this journey describing all the ups and downs, not shying away from mentioning the moments she felt like giving up. Yet in all the experiences she writes, she has an encouraging undertone. Her writing is free from all the frills and decorations, presenting a Christ centered life like it is. At the end of each chapter she has a section named "Unpinned Faith" where she encourages the reader to interact with her story in their own way. Questions that may help uncover some of the issues the reader themselves may be dealing with.
I was greatly encouraged and challenged by this book and would definitely recommend this book for those who have become callous to their life in Jesus Christ and want out of the mundane life of easy faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ammace
Location:Lynden, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book inspires and encourages you right where you are to say Yes to what god is asking you to do. Kristen tells her story of how she came to her Yes and what God has done through her. She is open and honest bout the ups and downs along the way. At the end of each chapter, she asks questions that help the reader reflect. Buy this book, you won't regret it. But honestly, you should buy two because this is a book you'll want to share!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Say YES to God even in your mess!

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennis
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book wrecked me in the best possible ways. When the book came I was in the midst my yes- well this one. I was planning and packing for a three month mission trip to Zambia, Africa with my husband and five year old daughter. I've followed Kristen's blog for years and "know" the story of Mercy House Kenya. In reading Kristin's story I feel like I lived it with her. From ministry, motherhood, marriage, and everything in between. The words resonated with me. It's a beautiful story of how Jesus is changing the world. Don't say no to God based on your circumstances! Say yes right there in your mess! Philippians 4:13. I can't wait to see how God continues this story! It's powerful stuff! Pray for your yes (even in the everyday) and follow hard after it. You're not alone in that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So encouraging and challenging!

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhinestone Jesus, written by Kristen Welch, shares the story of what the Lord has done with one ordinary woman’s “yes” and how He brought about the extraordinary work of a maternity home in Kenya. This book is about to hit store shelves, and you will want it. Ever since I finished reading it, I’ve been contemplating its message. This idea of being willing to say “yes” to Jesus, no matter what that means. In the big, in the small, and in the not so pretty. You see, I’m just an ordinary mama, with no major ministries going on or maternity homes across the ocean that I’m trying to build, and that means I could easily dismiss Kristen’s story in this book because it’s not mine.
But I’d be missing the point of the entire book. You see, no matter where we are in life, we are being called. Called to offer our “yes” to a Father who knows what is best for His children when we don’t have a clue what tomorrow may bring. And that’s a really scary thing sometimes. Kristen’s “down to earth”, honest voice throughout the book will help take away those fears, and encourage you that it’s God who is waiting to do the work, and He will do it in ways we can’t even imagine if we are just willing to offer Him our “yes.”
Much easier said than done, isn’t it? That’s why I needed this book, and I believe every other woman does too. I am one weak woman, fully dependent on the Lord and always needing to rely on His grace and strength to help me in my mess each and every day. But when you read someone else’s story of saying “yes” and it’s presented as beautifully as Kristen’s, doesn’t it make you long to say “yes” more often? And don’t you feel a little braver when you know that others around you have been willing to say “yes” too?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saying Yes to Living Courageously

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hanessa
Location:Wilmington, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've followed Kristen's blog, "We are THAT Family", for years and was so excited when she announced the upcoming release of her latest book, "Rhinestone Jesus". As a member of her launch team, I received a complimentary copy and was able to read this amazing book before the official release, and I was so enthralled with its contents that I finished in no time at all. Kristen encourages us to live courageous, messy, bold lives for Christ and to be open to stretch our faith by being willing to say yes to God.
Kristen and her husband, Terrell, are so transparent in writing about the struggles they faced in their marriage and throughout the process of starting and continuing to run Mercy House, a maternity home in Kenya. She truly speaks what she feels God is calling her to share with her readers...
There is so much encouragement contained in the fourteen chapters and one of my favorite quotes is on page 152: "The bad in our lives gives God ample room to show up and prove His goodness. He doesn't promise we won't have hardships; He promises us we won't be alone in them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Can Say Yes in Your Mess!

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Janes
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm reading Rhinestone Jesus as part of Kristen's launch team, and I haven't been this excited to share my thoughts on a book in a long time. As Kristen shares her story, she allows us a glimpse into her life---the good, the bad, and the ugly. Along the way, she encourages us to turn to God and to make our own families a priority so that we can see what God has planned for us and what our own YES will look like. We may not start a non-profit overseas, but God has a plan and a purpose for each one of us and for our families. As we choose to live counterculturally and to look to Him for direction and guidance, He will show us the way.
Be sure to read with tissues in hand! I have cried almost every time I have picked up this book, and I have prayed all the way through, as I read. I want to know God more deeply and to see what His absolute best is for me and for my family. I am excited to see what He has in store for us as we pursue authentic faith accompanied by action.
If you're interested in seeing what authentic faith looks like in the lives of one average American family and how God can turn ordinary into extraordinary, and if you want to be challenged to pursue a deeper relationship with Christ and to surrender everything to Him once and for all, then read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational & Beautiful!

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Washington, DC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heartily recommended for anyone desiring to dip even a toe into the stream of possibility to dream of what God could do in and through them! With compassion, the written words allow one to glimpse into how God can show up in ones humanity and invade hardship and destitution for His glory.
Having first met Kristen in 1992, when we shared the same dormitory hall in undergraduate school, her character even then was graced with a sincere passion to write truth and make a profound difference. Having just finished the book, the pages encapsulate her faith in God and obedience in the midst of sincere humility and transparency. One can see the beautiful transformations take place in multiple situations where to the human eye, it resembles nothing more than a "mess". In obedience, the theme of "yeses" become a beautiful portrayal of humanity and God's redeeming transformation and provision in a God-sized task and the story of His work of drawing others with like-minded hearts to make an eternal and global difference.
It is practical embracing motherhood, marriage, family life, and reaching beyond the borders of home. It is profound in that Kristen's story, when given to God, becomes a glorified example of what He can do with a "yes," even when that yes comes with personal cost and undeniable joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you only read one book in 2014, choose this!

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teri Lynne Underwood
Location:Russellville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I literally read the book in 24 hours. I could not put it down. I underlined and wrote it the margins. I stopped to pray several times. This book is the story of Mercy House, a ministry birthed from a blogging trip with Compassion International. This book is the story of a marriage redeemed and made stronger. This book is the story of children and chaos. This book is the story of a woman who was willing to say yes to God in the middle of her mess.
But most of all, this book is the story of a God who looks at us in all our smallness and says, “Yes, those things you do, those things you think are small, they matter. They matter to Me and they matter for eternity.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rhinestone Jesus: Saying Yes to God When Sparkly, Safe Faith Is No Longer Enough - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learning to Say "YES" to God Right Where You Are

Date:April 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
LeeAnn Taylor
Location:North Carolina
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhinestone Jesus is a peak into Kristen's heart as she shares candidly how God turned her from a teenager on fire for God but content to live a "safe" Christian life, into a woman broken through life's challenges and unexpected experiences, now willing to say "yes" to God and trust Him in each moment, regardless of the outcome.
The book is a call to authenticity in the Christian walk. She challenges us to push through the fears of "what if" and instead to ask "what next God?" as we move forward one step at a time in faith.
Kristen shares her personal struggles in ministry, motherhood, and marriage and paints a picture of God's incredible redemption through it all.
Not just a memoir, the book walks the reader through his or her own journey of learning to say "yes" to God's call by providing thought provoking questions at the end of each chapter that beg for reflection and action.
She reminds us that "saying yes isn't really about doing it all, it's about saying yes right where you are."
This book is for you if:
You've ever wondered if your ordinary life can make a significant difference in God's kingdom
You're not sure if God can use your broken life for His glory
You need some encouragement and a reminder that world-changers have sticky floors & dirty laundry on the floor too
You want to be inspired by someone who said "yes" to God and it changed everything {in a good way!}
I received a complimentary pre-release copy of the book for review from Tyndale House Publishers. All opinions are my own & I'm proud to recommend this book, as it had a powerful effect on my own journey of learning to say "yes" to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.