Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1

Thomas Nelson Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1

Rob Morgan's inimitable style will help people reacquaint themselves with the hymns of the faithful. His goal is to keep these traditional hymns vital and meaningful to all generations. Don't look for a dry recounting of boring stories. These devotional-style stories will show the emotion and drama behind the hymns of faith that have changed many lives throughout history--the people whose faith led them to write these wonderful hymns and the people whose faith was affected by reading, hearing, and singing the songs. Designed to be personally reflective, these stories will speak to your soul and add depth and meaning as your worship God through song.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Review 1 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent addition to worship

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
revron
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I preach in a very small church. Adding contextual info for the hymns greatly enhances the people's understanding of the lyrics. Highly recommended
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product has all my favorite hymns

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
George
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned both editions of Then Sings My Soul for several years. When my daughter, who is a church musician, was home for a visit recently she indicated a desire for copies of the books. She is was very excited to receive her own copies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chronological!

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Green
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with all of the other glowing reviews, but I must add my favorite part--this book displays the hymns in chronological order! This feature is an ENORMOUS help for a homeschool mom who wishes to add enriching subjects (such as music) to her family's history studies. What a blessing! I'll definitely explore other volumes in this series.
Also, I purchased an "imperfect" version of this book for less than half price. There is a small crease on the back cover--that's ALL. What a super deal!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyl
Location:Hazel Crest, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I am a member of a senior bible study. We enjoy the old hymns, which have great meaning to us. The history behind each hymn is of great interest to us, making the hymn even more meaningful. We use one of these hymns at the end of each bible study and feel a real sense of unity amongst us. We love this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Old Hymns

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mello
Location:Conover, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these old hymns plus their histories. A beautiful way to praise God during prayer time ... or any time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Rose
Location:Mauk GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The background information about the origins of the songs is fascinating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good resource for lovers of hymns

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carly
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
We wanted a change for our morning devotions and thought singing a hymn and then reading about it as well as reading the scripture that it's based on would be just right for a morning worship time. We are using both Volume I and II.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grandma Dee
Location:Rocky Hill, CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent compilation of hymns, with accompanying narratives. Understanding how and why a hymn was written truly enhances the beauty of the hymn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Smith
I still love the old hymns. By learning how they were inspired and some interesting facts about their authors, the hymns are now more meaningful than ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Belinda Nored
I love the information about the beloved hymns in this book. It's a great way to share the hymns with your children, and the great history behind them so that they are not forgotten. I'm learning a lot too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Fishnick
Oh, how I enjoyed reading where ,why and how my favorite hymns came about. And then to have the hymns music sheet right there along with the story. Wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Fleming
This book is just wonderful. I use it every morning and beyond giving me an understanding of the writers, their lives and experiences, it gives me the joy of worship through the old hymns that I have loved all my life and seldom hear these days. May God bless many others in the same way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
wendy
I've been hunting for such a book for a long time & was very happy & surprised to receive this as a gift from my husband. This will always be one of my favorite book! Especially touching to read about the sad stories behind some of the most beautiful hymns. I'd recommend this book for those who love hymns & would like to know more about their history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Then Sings My Soul, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
mary
this is a great book. I love the fact that the hymms are on one side, and the story behind them on the facing. The hymms include the music as well as the lyrics. It is inspiring reading. If this is the same book as I purchased elsewhere (which it appears to be!)the edges of the pages are a torn edge, which really grabs the eye and makes the publishing unique. This would drive my husband crazy, but many who have borrowed my copy love this feature as much as I do. I would definitely recommend this book to those who are interested in the good old hymms of our faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.