Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set

Moody Publishers Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set

* Want to build a strong foundation for spiritual growth? This quartet of resources will deepen your knowledge of God's Word! Ideal for individuals and small groups, this essential set includes Epic: The Storyline of the Bible; Foundation: The Trustworthiness of the Bible; Context: How to Understand the Bible; and Walk: How to Apply the Bible. Four slipcased softcovers, from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Review 1 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small Books Pack a Big Punch

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lauren Yarger
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set of four, small books packs a big punch for those who want to understand the bible a little better. The bible is one of the most influential books, but many people haven't read it in its entirety, or feel intimidated while reading it. This four-volume set is a guided tour.
The easy-to-read text in each book (about 130+ pages in an approximate 5 x 7 x 1.5 package) is broken by subheadings and pull-out quotes. They are a handy reference for anyone exploring the claims of the bible, wanting a better understanding of it or for small group leaders. Each chapter offers a study guide at the end.
Epic -- The Storyline of the Bible focuses on redemption.
Foundation -- The Reliability of the Bible explores doctrine
Content -- How to Understand the Bible fits the pieces together by looking at various settings
Walk -- How to Apply the Bible offers practical application
Most appealing is that each little book isn't overwhelming. They don't intimidate with volumes of heady information that only biblical scholars have time to sift through. The compact (and in my case paperback) booklets seem an easy read over a cup of tea or during a couple of daily quiet times. The information contained, however, is pretty meaty. This isn't the USA Today version of the bible, but a detailed breakdown and road map. It's also written in a style that is appropriate for either beginner or experienced bible study leader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good introduction to Bible study

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible Savvy Series is a four-book series by Jim Nicodem that lays a strong foundation to study, interpret, and apply the Bible.
The series consists of four books: Epic: The Storyline of the Bible, Foundation: The Trustworthiness of the Bible, Context: How to Understand the Bible, and Walk: How to Apply the Bible. Each book contains a study guide for each chapter in the book. The study guides are great for small group study.
Epic: The Storyline of the Bible
Epic shows how the Bible is a complete story that focuses on single main theme of redemption. It starts by talking about what the Bible is and then gives a quick overview of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation.
It’s hard to cover the entire Bible in just one small book. Nicodem spends too much time talking about things that are outside the Bible- such as TV shows, nativity statistics, and just stories in general.
Foundation: The Trustworthiness of the Bible
Foundation shows how the Bible is the Word of God and not just a man-made book. It shows that the Bible is accurate and trustworthy.
This book needed some footnotes for further study. There are lots of archaeological evidences given to help show the Bible is the Word of God, but there are no references given to show where the information came from.
Context: How to Understand the Bible
Context gives rules for interpretation of Scripture.
Some of the advice could be a little better. For example, Nicodem makes the comment, "But you don't need to pay attention to multiple definitions of a word that you are studying. Simply select the single definition that fits its setting best." Here’s where I would recommend using study tools such as lexicons, dictionaries, and the original languages to help determine the best definition to choose. It’s not very wise to choose pick a definition you think might fit the best.
Walk: How to Apply the Bible
Walk focuses on application. It shows how to use the themes and teachings in the Bible to apply to your life.
The Bible Savvy Series is a good introduction for small groups, classes, and personal study to show the Bible is the Word of God, how to study, and how to apply it.
Conclusion
The series does cover some good material. Overall I thought there was too much time wasted on things that didn’t pertain to the Bible. It was too conversational. The author talked about TV shows, movies, etc., and gave too many stories for comparisons with Biblical events. As with any book that includes doctrine, I caution readers to do their own study as there are several theological points that can be interpreted with other points of view. The series is well written and easy to read and follow, it just needed to stay focused on the Bible.
Moody Publishers provided these books free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bible Savvy Series Review

Date:August 14, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband teaches a class at our church called Overview of the Bible, and this series of books would fit in perfectly. Jim Nicodem writes this series of books very plainly so that anyone can pick them up and understand what is being said. However, at the same time, he doesn't insult the reader. I felt like I was in a conversation with Jim rather than reading a book.
New Christians, or people wanting to know more about Christianity, will learn a lot about how the Bible is put together and get a better grasp of what is in it. Those who have been Christians longer will be able to gain a better understanding of concepts they know (or think they know).
I recommend these books to everyone wanting to grow closer to God by getting better at reading the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Bible study or small groups

Date:August 5, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This new series by James L. Nicodem is one that I know I will go back and use many times. These short and concise books make them easy to carry along and they are also easy to read. I like how they are written for the everyday reader to understand. The books market themselves as good for those who are new believers to believers who like to study the Word. I'm impressed with all the topics covered within these 4 books.
The first book, Epic: The Storyline of the Bible, goes from Genesis to Revelation and tells a quick and very brief summary of what happens throughout the different chapters of the Bible. I like that these books lend themselves to Bible Study use or small group use. At the end of each chapter, there are study questions that take you into the Word and the sections of the Bible that you are reading about.
.
The second book, Foundation: the Reliability of the Bible, is just as the title of the book states. It's a book that questions whether or not the Bible can be trusted and if everything on the pages of the Bible are true. It also is a great resource for group studies and I think it would lend itself to some very deep discussions. The study guide is well laid out and easy to use.
The third book, Context: How to Understand the Bible, is probably my favorite. So much in today's Scripture quoting is taken out of context. It's great to memorize it, but context needs to be understood to understand what God's promise is for His people. It covers the historical setting, the literary setting, theological setting, and the immediate setting. It also gives many examples to help show the reader what he is trying to say. The study questions in this book are also great and would lend itself to great discussions.
The last book, Walk: How to Apply the Bible, gives feet to what has been discussed already. It shows you how to take Scripture and be able to apply it to your life. It gives you things to pray about and really think about. After all, living it out is the hardest but most necessary part of our Christian lives! As you can imagine, the study discussions to this book alone would bring some very intense discussions. I think many churches need to do some classes with these books!
_______________
I received these books free from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and Practical!

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Title: Bible Savvy (4 Book Set)
Author: James L. Nicodem
Date I Finished Reading: July 21,2013
My Rating: 5/5
I love when I come across a book that is just practical, yet still full of truth. I do! They are biblical, easy to understand, and easy to apply. The Bible Savvy Series is one of those reads. Based on scripture, easy to read, and full of biblical, practical applications, I found this series to be very beneficial to me!
Epic: The Storyline of the Bible
In this first installment of the series, NIcodem walks through the Bible, making a brief overview of it’s vast plot. Working his way from Genesis to Revelation, he shows how all of scripture is one common theme. Even though there are 66 books within the Bible, they are all part of one plot: The story of redemption. He discusses the outline of redemption prompted, redemption prepared, redemption prophesied, redemption purchased, redemption proclaimed and redemption perfected. Seeing how all books and divisions of the Bible fit together under one common story line helped me to better comprehend how the pieces fit together as well as to be reminded that each portion of scripture is important and not to be overlooked as unimportant.
Foundation: The Reliability of the Bible
In this second book, we are shown just how we know that the Bible is what the Bible says that the Bible is (comprehend?). The key topic throughout is how we know that the Bible is truly the word of God? How do we know that it is God-breathed? How do we know it is true? How do we know it is without error? How do we know that we can trust the Bible? Basically, it describes to us why and how we can have confidence in the Word of God. In today’s culture it has become extremely important that we know what we believe, and how to defend that belief. This book proved to be a wonderful tool in answering those questions, and giving me knowledge to pass on to others when this topic arises.
Context: How to Understand the Bible
Out of all of the books in this series, I believe that I found this one to be most beneficial and helpful to me. In this particular volume, Nicodem discusses each genre of scripture and presents you with how to properly read and understand them. He discusses books of poetry, books of prophesy and everything in between. As I read it I was encouraged to better study and search scripture as well as to better utilize outside resources in order to better understand the context under which different scriptures were written, which will help me to better understand the meaning of God’s Word.
Walk: How to Apply the Bible
I feel that this book did an excellent job at wrapping up the Bible Savvy series and showing why this is relevant and applicable to our personal lives. He also walks through the COMA outline and provides wonderful examples that allow you to both learn how to as well as actively practice searching out the context, observations, message and application of scriptures. It was extremely helpful in helping me to comprehend how to better understand scripture as I read and study God’s Word.
I would most definitely recommend this series to you if you desire to better understand, study and apply scripture to your life!
Note: I received this series free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get some Bible Smarts!

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim O
Location:Murrieta, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christians that I meet do not all seem to understand their Christianity very well. To be blunt, they are ignorant of what they believe. Part of the reason may be that a lot of books that would help them become more informed are either too technical or too simplistic. Moody Publishers has just recently released a set of books that should help. What a great title! That’s what Christians need. A little savvy!
This is a set of four books designed to help both new and established Christians understand the Bible. They are designed for both individual and group study. Helpful study questions at the end of each chapter will help guide you through a thorough understanding of the Bible’s message and trustworthiness, as well as how to study it and apply it to your life. Those are the four areas covered by each of the easy-to-read volumes.
Book one covers the Bible's storyline, showing that the overall theme is redemption. He does a survey of the major sections of the Bible, showing how that theme is developed from Genesis to Revelation.
Book two shows that the Bible is reliable as the inspired, authoritative Word of God. He also shows how we got the Bible that we use, as well as covering the doctrine of revelation, showing that God wants us to know His will. The last chapter of this book provides excellent tools for learning the Bible through hearing, reading, studying, memorizing, and meditating on God's Word.
Book three introduces the topic of studying the Bible by understanding the context. Here he examines four different settings that need to be considered in order to properly understand the Word of God: historical, literary, theological, and immediate setting. He provides excellent rules for the proper interpretation of scripture.
Book four then builds on the study of scripture to bring the student to application. He uses the COMA approach, (Context, Observation, Message, Application). I was a little confused with his distinction between Message and Application. Some of his comments about message seemed to go more towards application. But he does provide a couple of good examples on how this approach will work for a person in a couple of different literary genres.
On the whole, this set of books will prove valuable in helping Christians use their Bible more effectively. I did not agree with all his conclusions or interpretations, but the information given will help anyone become a more savvy student of scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Concise guide for new Bible readers

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Bible Savvy Series consists of four short books designed to help you read, study, understand and apply the Bible. The Series, written by James L. Nicodem, begins with “Epic” which is an overview of the Bible and its 66 books and summarizes the Bible giving you a taste of what you will find from Genesis to Revelation and how they all tie in together.
“Foundation” covers the reliability the Bible and discusses why the Bible is trustworthy and answers all your questions about why certain books were included while others were not. “Context” shows you how to understand the Bible based on the context of the Scripture—the setting, the culture, the people—everything that we need to take into account in order to accurately interpret what we are reading. And, finally, “Walk” shows us how to apply the Scripture to our lives once we’ve read, believed and understood the Bible.
Each book in the Bible Savvy Series is practical for those who have struggled with reading the Bible or who are new to the faith. It’s a great resource for those who want to make Bible reading a habit; however, it is not for those who have been reading the Bible for a while and don’t need a simple, practical explanation.
I was put-off by the constant jokes and the author trying to be funny. It took away from the topic and, although not inappropriate, was unnecessary.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Moody Publishers, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bible Savvy: 4 Volume Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Colten J
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible Savvy series is a great tool to develop your Bible study method. This four books series is an easy read and good for all ages. The first book deals with the entire story line of the Bible. It helps the reader understand what the main message of the Bible is. Trying to figure it all out can be difficult and confusing at times, but the first book "Epic" helps you easily understand the purpose of the Bible. The second book "Foundation" helps the read or anyone skeptical of the Bible, understand that Bible is true and reliable. Foundation hits on major topics including Inspiration, how the Bible was put together, and how we were given the Bible, revelation. The third book "Context" is exactly what the title of the book is all about, context! Context is the most important thing that we need today in a world of people that want to make the Bible say whatever they want it to say. Nicodem runs through how to find the context of scripture through understanding the historical setting, literary setting, theological setting, and the immediate setting. The fourth book "Walk" helps us understand how to apply the Bible to our lives, and live a life that is pleasing and honoring to God. Nicodem offers a structured way to apply scripture to our every day life. This is a great little set that I would encourage anyone to have. It makes think a lot more simpler and easier to understand.
I was given this Bible Savvy series by Moody Publishers for the purpose of this review.
coltenjam.wordpress
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.