Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith

Zondervan Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith

Step out of your comfort zone! Pastor Hybels shows you how to follow Jesus' model of personal evangelism by "living in 3-D"---developing friendships, discovering stories, and discerning appropriate ways to approach others about Christ. Learn how to share the good news of redemption with people living far from God---and across the room. 221 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Review 1 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Want to grow in your walk?

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
mtraindrop
Location:Billings, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a truly encouranging and challenging. It puts such a simple outlook to sharing our faith. It is what the Lord asked us to do, and this book simplifies it for our daily living. Definitely worth reading and sharing with others! Go, share the best thing in your life (Jesus Christ) with others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Todd
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! The stories in it alone are worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Evangelism for every day.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy in Texas
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fabulous read! I hate the word "evangelism" which brings to mind pushy, shouting, dramatic Christians trying to force Christ on others. Hybels explains that God provides opportunities everyday for average Christians to share their "secret" love and faith in Christ with others. He provides many examples backed by scripture but explained in everyday terms. I have already read and loaned this out twice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Walk Across The Room

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
mopadre
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
This had some really wonderful ideas for our mens group and I thought it was really well done. Simple, direct and effective!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Spiller
Location:Pasadena, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was challenged and blessed by reading Just Walk Across the Room. The stories and honesty help keep the book moving along and holds the reader's attention. If we as a Church could grasp the content in this book, we would be more effective at reaching the un-churched. I highly recommend reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book on personal evangelism I have read.

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ted P
Location:Kingston, Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will challenge all Christians (including the 95% of them that do not tell others about Jesus) to make the walk across the room, and become more intentional about their response to the great commission. Very realistic, spirit led, and flexible approach to personal evangelism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Will Kenward
This is one of the best books I've ever read, & I'm in my 80's! I ordered the volume for an interested friend, too.I've already taken Rev. Hybell's challenge, and the initial results are startling! I didn't 'walk': neighbors were coming to me! Only started reading "The Power of a Whisper." It teaches us how to be confident the Lord is leading us to "Just Walk Across the Room" as well as in our other life activities, and receiving His words of incouragement and blessing when needed. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
I experienced a Christian friend of mine trying to save my Jewish husband by "erupting" over the phone one evening while I was gone. He had been slowly warming up to going to church with me and after that he neverset foot there again. While I agree that in some cases Bill does seem to drag his feet, how worse it is to moveso quickly that you scare and anger someone to the point that they never want anything to do with Christianity again. I love his ideas and examples, and the book motivated me to try to reach more people for Christ and to have "my story" ready to tell in a concise yet heartfelt testimony.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles Huntington
Bill Hybells book Just Walk Across the Room is a Life Changer for the average Christian who sees himself/herself inadequate to the task Jesus gave us in the Great Commission. Bill's book gives us a clear picture of the process at work in a person's coming to Christ and provides simple, winsome steps to follow to be about our LORD's work. If you suffer feelings of inferiority when the subject of Evangelism is raised, this book is for you. You can do it--in fact, you may already be mightily involved in ways you never imagined. Be blessed! Read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Paul
Oh my goodness! I couldn't put this book down. My copy has highlighted sentences on nearly every page!It is full of encouragement on simple ways to show God's love with those we come in contact with without being "preachy" and overbearing. It is a wonderful tool to teach us how to spread the intent of the gospel and the gospel itself! I plan to read it over again and I have ordered more copies to send to my daughter in Texas so she too can get up and "Just Walk Across the Room!"Thank you Bill Hybels for listening to God's directive in sharing this!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Casano
Very good approach to making evangelism do-able. Simple and to the point with illustrations from Hybels life experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sonia Irwin
Although there are good examples of how to engage people in conversation, there are very few examples out of the Bible and it's very limited in scripture references. I was disappointed in this book as it just seemed like human ideas and examples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandy
I think the book by Bill Hybels was a great inspiring read. It contained some simple and direct truths that help give one a nudge to go "walk across the room". My husband and I direct a high school youth ministry and our staff is reading this book together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sam Isaacson
Excellent challenging and highly stimulating book, providing you read it quickly! The first four chapters are absolutely excellent, then Bill Hybels goes on to tell some stories and encourage in different ways so do buy it, read it and be challenged, then quickly plow through the rest!Above all however we are all called to evangelise so a very good topic and, although I do not agree with all his theology, a very good practical challenge is put forward by Hybels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark Stamper
I've had the pleasure of seeing Bill Hybels speak at Willow Creek and his book is very similar to how he converses to the congregation: straightforward, humble, simple yet profound, and laden with examples and illustrations that I can relate to. "Just Walk Across the Room..." is a book that will inspire you not because of lofty ideals and inherent guilt, rather, through a series of exercises, challenges, and Bill's ability to take you on a journey that will redefine your own expectations of yourself. A book worthy of more than one read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark
I liked this book very much. Bill Hybels talks about some practical examples of moving people forward. Unfortunately, I think some of the other reviewers are disturbed by style. Hybels encourages a more gentle, indirect approach than is appreciated by some other readers. His point is that you have to have a relationship with someone to truly disciple to them. To form a relationship with some, you likely have to get out of your comfort zone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nelson L. Garcia
Pastor Bill Hybels has done an excellent job in teaching The Body Of Christ how to reach people for the Lord through this amazing book. It will help those who have never shared their faith & for those who have a friend or a family member that is living far away from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tiffany Simmons
If you enjoyed, Rick Warrens Purpose Driven, and any reading of Max Lucado, or John C. Maxwell. Then you will know this is true you can't put down Bill Hybels book Just Walk Across the Room. Our Church is holding Classes to teach about Evangelism using this very book. After reading this book you can't help but want to step out of the boat. It covers everything from your own personal fears and failures to Victory!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin
I think Hybels has accomplished what he set out to do--help those who are scared or nervous about sharing their faith in Christ. I have read "Tell the Truth" by Metzger and it is wonderful. But Hybels makes sharing your faith very practical and easy for the new believer and immature believers alike. As a pastor, one of my biggest challenges is to get my flock to see the need of getting involved in people's lives in order to share Christ with them. After teaching through this book once, I have seen more people in my church have a willingness to "get involved." Way to go Bill Hybels and keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
GenesisPublishingGroup
Shockingly, Hybels is content to "be friendly" to those headed for hell, usually for 5 or 10 years before "feeling the freedom" to invite them, not to the Savior, but to church! In example after example, he tells of people who ask directly about God, admit they are confused about spiritual matters, are dealing with death, and still he fails to utter the gospel message; the only thing that is the power of God to salvation. The only message he shares with the lost (if at all) is merely one of life enhancement: come to church/Jesus for a better life; rather than the biblical gospel of repentance and faith. Worse, he never misses a chance to mock and belittle those who have enough compassion for the lost to actually verbalize the gospel message. In addition, the book is littered with biblical errors. I agree wholeheartedly with the advice in Doug's review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>