Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apologia Educational Ministries Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook

Apologia Educational Ministries Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook

Give your junior high students a fun and helpful way to build study skills while reinforcing their lessons from Apologia's Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition textbook. The colorful pages integrate photos, graphics, diagrams, and trendy fonts that provide a fresh, up-to-date feel, while the associated textbook page numbers referenced at the top of assignments will keep everyone on track.

This accompanying student notebook journal includes 16 modules that correspond to the 16 modules in the text. This interactive resource includes graphic organizers; "On Your Own" questions (with room to answer them); study guide questions; "What Does God's Word Say" investigations that point students to scripture; "Digging Deeper" exercises that provide hands-on or web-based activities; and summary questions, creating a convenient notebook to study and prepare for tests. Lab report forms for each experiment in the textbook's module are also provided. The back of the book includes fill-in-the-blank module summaries; these are optional, and provide extra practice for students who are having difficulty studying for the module tests.

A complete daily schedule breaks down the text, notebook pages, and tests into weekly and daily blocks; following the schedule will enable students to finish the course in 34 weeks, working at approximately 30 minutes to 1 hour per day. 453 pages, softcover, spiralbound.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Review 1 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
teaching mama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a good companion to the text. Great for future review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MomNova
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids, a boy, age 11 & a girl, age 12, are LOVING science this year, in part, because of these notebooks. The activities keep the kids engaged in the lessons, and help to reinforce what they're reading in the text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to the cirricullum!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
tammy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the notebook as a supplement to the textbook and CD ROM set. Very happy with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Student Journal is an excellent aid to the General Science textbook. It is colorful and easy to follow. It gives ample space for all the questions asked in the textbook. It really helps you keep track of what you have learned so that you can easily review it later for the tests. If you do everything in the journal it is a lot of writing. This may be a little hard for slow or hesitant writers, but it has been really good for my child so far.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Notebooking Journal EVER

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassie
Location:Jackson, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've used several different texts that have associated notebooking journals, and when we choose a text for our homeschool co-op, one of the things we always look for in our science class is a notebooking journal, as they are very helpful when trying to keep up with a larger group than the typical homeschool.
This spring (2013) when we began planning for our 2013-2014 co-op year, we had just come off a year of astronomy, which the kids really enjoyed, but we knew we needed a more challenging upper level science course that was still flexible enough to meet the needs of kids from grade 5 (science genius) to grade 9 (average science knowledge & ability). Big task to complete, to say the least!
We looked at several textbooks, and we did like the General Science text and thought it would be a good fit for our group, but the real clincher was this notebooking journal. I have NEVER seen a workbook/notebook product that I have been more impressed by. This notebook has so many features that I really like, such as:
1. There are spaces for the students to take notes on the text. Some of these are somewhat pre-formatted, like the sample unit's pages with the names of the scientists beside a text box which the students are to fill in with his achievements. Others are simply spaces for the students to use to make a note of things they found important in the text.
2. The end of each section's "On Your Own" questions are included in the journal, so answering those questions is convenient and we don't have to worry about pages being lost.
3. The end of the chapter study guides are in the journal (they are also in the text), saving students from having to write the questions / answers out.
4. The lab reports are in the journal. Again, I like having everything in one place. No matter how many times you tell them, students as a group tend to have difficulty keeping a large loose-leaf binder in order! ;-)
5. The chapter summaries are excellent review for each chapter, and provide a more structured method of review for students who are intimidated by the often open-ended nature of the study guide questions.
I cannot recommend this book more highly. I would venture so far as to say it is beyond essential.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great organizational tool!

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
TFul
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this notebook to help transition my middle-schooler into more independent study. It has fulfilled that need with plenty of prompts to take notes, answer all the "On Your Own" questions from the book, complete labs and fill-in study guides. What a great tool for any student!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps keeps students on track and organized

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teacher
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has been very helpful for my children. It has a great "Daily Schedule" that helps them stay on track and be organized. There is lots of space to answer questions and take notes. It is helpful to have the Lab Reports all laid out and the Module summaries are helpful as they prepare for their tests.
We find this tool very helpful in our Science class.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thorough but readable

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shawn
Location:Harrisonburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 12 year-old is using this book. It is challenging but she is enjoying it and we (the parents) are even learning some new facts! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynne Nielsen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used the Apologia workbooks in the past and have been very pleased. This year is a little more dry, so the notebook really helps the kids to focus on the most important parts of the text book. It helps them to be able to see an outline format and also helps keep track of their experiments. Very nicely laid out!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome product

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
AnnG
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how it is layed out and is easy to follow. This is a great way to start practicing how to document science projects for the future. We love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Alton, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is not a science person by no means. It is not a subject she particularly enjoys. So far she has done very well with this book. I think she actually is enjoying science a little for a change. She enjoyes the challenge. We bought the lesson plans and the science kit as well. It has been so nice. It has taken a load off not having to sit down and figure out what to assign each day. I love the kit as well. It has separate bags for each module(chapter) with everything you will need for that specific module within each particular bag. It is so nice not to have to go on a scavenger hunt for each chapter. I love having it at my fingertips! We also purchases the Student Notebook. If you purchase the Student Notebook it has lesson plans inside of it and there is no need to purchase the separate lesson plans....we weren't aware of this because ours was backordered. All in all I feel this is a very thourogh science curriculum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exploring Creation with General Science, Second Edition, Student Notebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nicely Organized!

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
happyhippo
Location:VA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The notebook has very good layout and keeps my middle school student organized.Daily assignment schedule is included.I gave a "4" rating because Apologia is not the cheapest curriculum.CBD sale price made it affordable!
Con: They give a lot of lines on each page for answers that are meant to be very short.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.