Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook

B&H Books Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
Review 1 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A WWII story of history, love and faith

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am familiar with one other of Cara's books. I loved the one I read before, just as I loved this one. Cara's style of writing is descriptive and flowing and really hard to put down. I was excited to read this book after hearing about the movie about the Monuments Men. My favorite part of a book, any book, is where the author spells out words that paint pictures in my mind. I can see where they are and what they are doing as if I was there.
Rachel Justice is a girl on a mission. She has convinced her editor that she should go to Italy to report on the war as it moves through. She is assigned to work with Lt. Scott Lindstrom and the adventures and near death experiences keep you reading more and more. It is very interesting what the work of the Monuments Men is and how they do it. I, myself, am glad there were such men to do this job.
Romance and faith are delicately woven into the story as it leads to its conclusion. You will enjoy every word. I would recommend this to all who love historical novels. I am looking forward to reading more of Cara's works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Romance Set in World War II

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Jordan
Location:Texas
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve always enjoyed historical fiction books set in the World War II era, so I chose Cara Putman’s new book, Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men, to read recently. And I thoroughly enjoyed the read.
American journalist and photographer Rachel Justice accompanies Monuments Man Lt. Scott Lindstrom to Italy in his efforts to recover and preserve the great monuments and works of art from their destruction by the Third Reich. But Rachel’s mission includes more than searching out and snapping emotional war photos for her newspaper, though well-placed ones could bring the needed monetary support for her mother’s illness back home.
She’s also searching for something—or someone else. Desperate to find the father she never knew, Rachel falls into the treacherous arms of war—and love. And in the process of wading through deceit and danger, she discovers a divine love relationship as well.
If you’ve seen the movie Monuments Men, Cara’s book (written before the movie) adds a deeper, richer flavor with its romance, suspense, and drama for this otherwise little known effort during World War II. She’s woven an intriguing story, well researched from a historical setting that brings that period of time alive with fascinating characters and escalating adventure.
I highly recommend Cara’s book. It’s the first book of hers I’ve read, but it won’t be my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beauty in the Ruins of War

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Regina Jennings
Location:Oklahoma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because I went to see the movie "The Monuments Men" while reading this, I'm afraid I can't help but compare the two, and I loved them both.
"Shadowed by Grace" tells the story of Rachel Justice, a photojournalist who is assigned to work with a U.S. soldier tasked with protecting culturally important works of art as Germany withdraws from Italy. Scott Lindstrom is the Monuments Man who is relying on his contacts in Italy to foster trust and to facilitate locating the artworks. Little does he know that Rachel's primary purpose is a personal quest that might interfere with his mission. Added to their sometimes conflicting agendas is the fear that someone is stealing the priceless masterpieces right from under their noses.
The George Clooney movie uses humor to ease some of heartbreak of WWII, while Cara Putnam takes us there, viewing the devastation through the sensitive lens of Rachel's camera. The effect was powerful when Rachel stopped to perfectly frame the scene and to describe what she was seeing. Another difference between the movie and the book was that the movie gives a broad overview of several different teams as they fan out across Europe. "Shadowed by Grace" allows us to invest emotionally in one couple and their journey, giving it a much richer feel.
Kudos to the author for the wonderful story. Whether or not you've seen "The Monuments Men" movie, this novel offers a more developed characterization of the men and women who rescued the treasures of our civilization.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ARTFUL WRITING TO THIS MONUMENTAL READ

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The morning after I finished reading Shadowed by Grace, the daily newspaper had a front page article about the movie Monument Men, and I immediately flew to my computer and wrote an excited note to Cara Putman that went something like this:
Hello Cara, Just last evening I completed reading your wonderful book Shadowed by Grace. This morning I picked up today's edition of the Ft Worth Star Telegram and my eye immediately fell to the lower left column on the first page. There was a picture of Robert Edsel above the words “Dallas man drove movie on WWII art rescue”...and went on to talk about the movie made about Monument Men, based on his book about the group’s heroic efforts. Of course, my attention was caught immediately because I had just read his name in your personal notes at the back of the book. Just wanted to let you know....your story made quite an impression on me...imagine finding this article this morning!! Best of God's Blessings, Barb Shelton
Not only did reading this article put real faces to the imaginary names in Cara’s story, it enlightened me to the thorough research she immersed herself within to write this fascinating story. Now, I could see Lieutenant Scott Lindstrom as George Clooney (instead of Gregory Peck) and had already imaged Anne Hathaway as Captain Rachel Justice.
Cara Putman’s story is indeed based on cultural affairs….and I do not mean that word loosely regarding Rachel and Scott! Each, the epitome of respectable ethics in an ungracious period of history. Some of the characters in the story rank as unscrupulous and conniving, while other’s exhibit bravery and faith in God to grace them with safety and daily provisions of which there was little. It was dangerous to lose direction while traveling by jeep, especially if the driver had already lost his way spiritually
.
This is a love story surrounded by treacherous conditions of war. Ms. Putman’s exclusive subject on saving historical art masterpieces was literally unknown to me and I reverentially appreciate learning how this world has been able to continue the study and enjoyment of historic art because of a few military men assigned their duty as Monument Men.. God is our eternal guardian and brings about good from the worst of circumstances through his children and angels
.
If you have noticed the absence of story details in this review, that is on purpose. You can read those in other fine reviews of Shadowed by Grace and on the back cover of the book. The uniqueness of this story is complimented by the unusual civilian career as an art museum curator held by Scott Lindstrom; and the fact that a woman photographer, Rachel Justice, assigned to the war zone during that time in history was not a common happening. Will the mystery of finding the father in Italy Rachel never knew be “wrapped up?” Will Scott be allowed to understand why Rachel is so afraid of falling in love? Why is Rachel’s ill mother so unwilling to offer Rachel the answers to her birth? This story is about war, peace, love, culture, fear, bravery, searching, redemption, and God’s grace fulfilled. Oh, by the way, Cara Putman graciously replied to my note, and my respectful regard for her as an author and friend is sincerely touched. Her writing fulfilled my expectations because it taught me something important about history I did not know. I eagerly anticipate reading her next book. You need to read this story!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadowed by Grace is a dramatic story inspired by the Monuments Men of World War II by acclaimed author Cara C. Putman. Desperate to save her dying mother, Rachel accepts her newspaper’s assignment to travel to Italy to capture images dangerously close to the front lines of WWII. Her real motive – to find the father she never knew -- an artist she hopes can offer the comfort and support both she and her mother need to survive. It’s an unlikely situation for love and faith to flourish, but soon Rachel not only finds herself, but also her long-lost earthly father, and ultimately, the man her Heavenly father created to cherish and provide for her.
My Review:
Rachel's search for her father was, in a word, heart wrenching. I cannot believe how emotionally involved I got from just reading about the lengths she went to find her father! Putnam wrote Rachel as a very determined young woman, innocent to a point about the world, yet mature enough to realize that life has it's ugliness. Rachel was a solid character, with the perfect balance of personality, action, and vivacity.
The story plot itself is edge-of-your-seat material; you won't want to put it down! I had a hard time getting my nose out of this book, because the story moved right along and kept my attention the entire way through. I did wish we could have had more on the relationship between Rachel and her mother, but ultimately, it added to the mysterious elements of the story. I really enjoyed this novel, and I can't wait to see what else Putman is bringing to the table with the Story of Monuments Men series.
This book was provided by the publisher for free through Litfuse Nest in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Utterly fascinating! I had never heard of the Monuments Men before and what great timing for this book to be released just when the movie is hitting theatres. Putman does an incredible job of bringing history to life in this historical drama laced with a hint of suspense. Danger lurks everywhere, even within the ranks of the allied forces and makes for a thrilling read.
Rachel is a captivating heroine. An interesting combination of gusty and forlorn. She faces an impossible quest with intrepid desperation. :-) And she has incredible faith journey that inspired me. Of course, Scott is smitten, how could he not be? And intrigued. And exasperated. And cautious...but there's something about living in the middle of a war zone that sharpens emotions and makes you realize how precious time...and love is. Definitely a toe-curling romance that brings a fresh hope to a bleak time.
Awesome read from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WWII, History, Adventure and Romance

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara C. Putman in her new book, “Shadowed By Grace” Book One in the I’ll Be Seeing You series published by B&H Publishing Group gives us A Story of Monuments Men.
From the Back Cover: She found peace in a time of war.
Desperate to save her dying mother, an American woman accepts her newspaper’s assignment to travel to Italy where she takes photographs dangerously close to the front lines during World War II. But Rachel’s real motive in this journey is to find the father she never knew, an artist she hopes can offer the comfort and support both she and her mother need to survive at such a desperate time.
In her quest, Rachel becomes involved with what will become the Monuments Men effort to save great monuments and works of art from the Third Reich. Soon enough she will find more than she ever imagined–in war, in love, and in God.
History and romance, I do not believe that there is a better combination for telling a story. And what a story Ms. Putman has provided us. World War II, Italy and a group of Americans have been given the task of rescuing from destruction the priceless artifacts that the Nazis have stolen and now have been ordered to destroy. The Americans were called The Monuments Men. Rachel has gone to Italy to make money to help her dying mother and find her father. Now she and Scott are running across Italy, while the war is still being fought, to find and preserve the great works of art. Ms. Putman has given us characters that are marvelous, meticulously crafted, and each one literally breathes on the pages. The story is exciting, the romance is terrific and the history is vivid. Cara C. Putman has written a well done novel that I liked a lot.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing history - brought to life

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I love stories set in WWII, but I love it most when authors put a twist on a familiar setting by finding something I really didn't know about and bringing it to life for me through amazing characters. That is exactly what Cara has done in "Shadowed by Grace". First we have a female photojournalist, Rachel, who gets herself sent to the frontlines in Italy in an effort to not only try to capture the Pulitzer moment but even more importantly to find the father she has never met. She is partnered with Scott who is part of the Monuments Men that are there to locate, protect and preserve the rich art in Europe that is getting pilfered, destroyed and pillaged. The questions become... can Scott do his job effectively when someone seems to be sabotaging his efforts? Can Rachel find her father with the one lead she has brought with her when her mother won't tell her anything? Can Rachel and Scott find the ultimate reason God has brought them together in the middle of such evil and destruction?
Toward the beginning there was quite a bit of referencing to the unsureness that both Rachel and Scott had as far as romantic notions go... but once the book got going it seemed like that worked itself out and Rachel and Scott became a wonderful couple that I loved learning more about.
My favorite parts of the story were in seeing what the Monuments Men were really about - amazing pieces of history wrapped up in wonderful storylines, scenic countrysides of Italy and moving characters. Very enjoyable and I would love to see a follow up with these characters and more Monuments Men facts and scenarios!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shadowed by Grace brings the WWII Monuments Men to

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadowed by Grace brings the WWII Monuments Men to Life...
Set during World War II, Cara C. Putnam's newest novel Shadowed by Grace is a deftly researched book. Where she used her skill to paint a picture of what it was like to be the Monuments Men, in Italy, during World War II.
The story begins with Rachel Justice, a young photojournalist, who makes the tough decision to leave her ailing mother to go into war torn Italy. Why? She is hoping to find the father she never met. She is also hoping that if she finds him, he will be willing to help with her mother's mounting medical bills. Because she has never met her father she brings along with her a sketch pad her mother had hidden away. The sketch pad contains pictures of what Rachel believes to be the Italian countryside and a woman who looks like her mother. The only clue that she has to her father's identity is the artist's initials, RMA. Finding an artist in Italy with only his initials, is much like finding a needle in a hay stack, but our heroine is up to the task.
Lt. Scott Lindstrom, has art degrees from Harvard, and had worked as a curator at a small Philadelphia museum. Now he is one of the Monuments Men working in Italy to try to preserve her priceless art and keep it out of the Third Reich's hands.
After Rachel arrives in Italy, she is assigned to work with Lt. Scott Lindstrom. At the time the assignment seemed like a burden; but time together allowed them to become friends. Then their friendship blossomed into love.
Does Rachel find her father? Does her mother survive? Can Scott save the priceless art from the Third Reich? Is there someone else trying to rob the Italians of their priceless treasures? You need to read Shadowed by Grace to find out!
I highly recommend Shadowed by Grace by Cara C. Putman to anyone who loves to read historical fiction and especially historical fiction set during WWII. Cara drew me into the book with her vivid descriptions and although I have never been to Italy, her writing made me feel like I was there traveling from Naples, to Rome, and through the northern front. I also enjoyed getting to know the characters who were the true stars of the story.
**Shadowed by Grace by Cara C. Putman was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fighting for History

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
As an avid WW|| reader I will just about read any book written in that era. I love learning about the war and reading different points of view, and this book was no exception. In Shadowed by Grace you see a new angle to World War || history mainly through art. Lieutenant Scott's job was to track and protect priceless art masterpieces all throughout Europe. We witness a battle fought not with bombs and bullets but a battle to persevere cultures and history!
Cara Putman definitely ranks high in the originality department. Her writing style was very serene and simple drawing me instantly in to the WW|| "feel." I enjoyed her Characters Rachel and Scott, but would have loved to see them developed more. They seemed a bit surfaced and not super relatable, but still likable. The plot was very centered on Rachel finding her unknown father and through each place visited and adventures encountered that was the reoccurring theme, so the ending felt so quick and lacking.
Overall I think it was a well written remarkable historical side to WW||. I really enjoyed the photographic and artistic side to the story. There is a lot of mystery, action, and sweet romance.
I received this book for free from Litfuse in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saving The Irreplaceable

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ara Putman has wonderfully put the story with the Monuments Men to paper, I had never heard of them before, how awesome that we had these men. The story weaves a tale of War, we get shot at many times. We find a plethora of irreplaceable masterpieces, and now I have an idea of what these men preserved.
Rachel Justice a determined young woman. Her Mother is out of options to help her TB, and is literally dying. They need money! She is a gifted photographer, and heads to Italy as a newspaper photographer. She is hoping to find her father there, whom she doesn't even know his name. She does have a few clues.
Also we have Private Scott Lindstrom, a Monument Man, determined to make sure the treasures are there and kept safe. What both don't suspect is a bit of romance?? You will also be surprised at some of the other happenings during war time! Make sure you wear your helmet, you are going to be staying in a country that is being attacked.
What a great glimpse into history!!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadowed by Grace is a dramatic story inspired by the Monuments Men of World War II by acclaimed author Cara C. Putman. Desperate to save her dying mother, Rachel accepts her newspaper’s assignment to travel to Italy to capture images dangerously close to the front lines of WWII. Her real motive – to find the father she never knew -- an artist she hopes can offer the comfort and support both she and her mother need to survive. It’s an unlikely situation for love and faith to flourish, but soon Rachel not only finds herself, but also her long-lost earthly father, and ultimately, the man her Heavenly father created to cherish and provide for her.
My Review:
Rachel's search for her father was, in a word, heart wrenching. I cannot believe how emotionally involved I got from just reading about the lengths she went to find her father! Putnam wrote Rachel as a very determined young woman, innocent to a point about the world, yet mature enough to realize that life has it's ugliness. Rachel was a solid character, with the perfect balance of personality, action, and vivacity.
The story plot itself is edge-of-your-seat material; you won't want to put it down! I had a hard time getting my nose out of this book, because the story moved right along and kept my attention the entire way through. I did wish we could have had more on the relationship between Rachel and her mother, but ultimately, it added to the mysterious elements of the story. I really enjoyed this novel, and I can't wait to see what else Putman is bringing to the table with the Story of Monuments Men series.
This book was provided by the publisher for free through Litfuse Nest in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unique Perspective on WWII

Date:January 29, 2014
Cara Putman's Shadowed by Grace gives readers a unique glimpse into a part of World War II that I would guess most readers are not familiar with. This novel follows the journey of Scott, a lieutenant in the US Army whose mission is to track down and protect priceless works of art in Europe. We also get to meet Rachel, who is sent to Italy to photograph the war (a bit unusual for a female during this time) and is searching for the father she has never met. So it's quite a different perspective on World War II, and I was looking forward to seeing how it played out!
The book moved at a slower pace, building slowly rather than being packed full of action. As the story gradually built, I became engaged. While the story interested me, I felt that it wasn't always developed as fully as I would have liked. I felt this problem across the board, with character development, plotting, setting development, etc. Rachel had some issues that were introduced early on, but I never felt like things were fully explained or that we got to see her full character. Additionally, with her search for her father, that story line seemed to be a major one to the book but wrapped up very quickly in the last few pages. As far as the story itself, there were times when I wasn't fully caught up in it. It seemed the author was telling me what was happening more than drawing me in. I wanted to fully engage, but I just couldn't. I also felt that the story was a little "modern." Without the specific references to WWII, this could have been just about any wartime setting. There were several times when I just wanted ... more. One last "complaint" would be that the romance seemed a bit unlikely at times. There were several instances of great danger/trauma followed immediately by a passionate kiss. I just wasn't sure how probable that would have been in the midst of war and in the 40s.
Despite these things, I still enjoyed the book. I enjoyed my "visit" to Italy (who wouldn't?!) and thought the art history details were neatly woven into the story. I felt that these tidbits enhanced rather than detracted from the story, and now I'm itching to go check out some of this art for myself! I'm also very intrigued to learn more about the Monuments Men and will definitely be seeing the movie that releases next month. Readers who enjoy WWII novels, art, and/or sweet romance will enjoy Shadowed by Grace. [3.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from B&H Books through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Images of War

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photojournalist, Rachel Justice achieved authorization to travel to Italy in the throes of World War II with the pretext of catching real-time photographs of the effects of war. Her ultimate goal, however, was to locate her father, a man she had never known. Her passion to find her biological father stemmed back to early childhood when she was looked down upon because her mother was unmarried. The ache to know her earthly father consumed her at this stage of her life, particularly because her mother's health was declining as a result of tuberculosis. Their finances had dwindled to next to nothing and Rachel was certain her father could help.
Rachel's mother had studied art in Italy as a young woman. With that information Rachel was armed with her mother's diary and a notebook of sketches done by an Italian artist whose name she didn't know. The only clues to his identity were his initials. Her mother refused to divulge her father's name, and forbade her to search for him, but Rachel believed that if she could locate him, he could offer financial assistance toward her mother's care and provide her the father figure she craved so much.
Private Scott Lindstrom received his assignment as an officer in Monuments, Fine Arts and Archives Division, a division of the army devoted to locating and protecting priceless art and monuments. In Naples his general assigned Scott to accompany Rachel through war-torn areas as she sought newsworthy photographs for publication back in the United States. Scott's mission was to preserve the history of Western Civilization, the masterpieces and sculptures that he could locate. Having a tag-along wasn't his idea of accomplishing his job. The Monuments division followed behind the warring troops, dangerously close to the front lines, their jobs inspecting local monuments, beginning reconstruction and assisting in protecting priceless works of art.
Throughout this wartime novel Rachel observed Scott's strong faith in God even when tragedy was all around them. His prayers were simple and conversational, awakening questions in Rachel's mind about her loss of faith and a heavenly father. This underlying current is beautifully blended into this strong story of war and its casualties, unimaginable scenes of destruction and danger. An incredible amount of research has gone into the writing of this novel.
Cara Putman has created a masterful novel of classic proportion regarding events throughout Italy during World War II. The development of the characters throughout this poignant story is natural and human, realistic and at times painful. The author has done an outstanding job at creating settings that become visible through her descriptions. I found this book very difficult to put down; however, I did not want to rush through the book. I savored every detail. This is a book that I highly recommend and will read again.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Shadowed by Grace* is a very well-paced historical novel where the writing is sensory.
I could feel the pounding in my head after the shells fell, I could see the glow of candlelight in the tiny restaurant where Rachel and Scott found near-normalcy for a short while, and when I read about Scott and Tyler flying along the roads in the Jeep, I wanted to grab for the dash-board!
The plot of this novel hinges upon an obscure and fascinating aspect of the war years.
I had never really thought about the art in a place like Italy during the war... art that was lost or pillaged and destroyed as the bombs fell and the armies entered and retreated.
As my friend pointed out, a people's art embodies their history, flows out of their culture, and carries their hopes.
So it is really neat that we had a contingency of men working to rescue and preserve the art and artifacts. They were called The Monuments Men.
And that's what Lt. Scott Lindstrom is.
Here's a quote from Shadowed by Grace to introduce you to him:
"If he looked back, he'd see everything he had left behind in Philadelphia. He'd spent his education and career developing expertise in Italian Medieval and Renaissance art. He felt destined to help protect it..."
Scott is a confident and quiet man.
Another scene: "Scott approached the table and stood at ease. 'I'm here with the Monuments and Fine Arts Administration of the United States Army. We desire to work with you to protect Rome's great artistic treasures and shore up any damaged monuments. If we can help with locating lost art, we will do that as well."
And here is a glimpse into out heroine's psyche, as she wondered who would miss her if something happened while she was overseas: "There was no-one to wrap an arm around her and pull her close, whether to ward off the chill or because he couldn't get close enough."
You can tell that Rachel is a woman with a tender, longing heart, and a desire to make a difference.
She wants to use her camera skills to bring the war home to Americans, who can't imagine the horror and hope that mingle in a battle's wake.
As Rachel says about her role, "Captain Rachel Justice, sir. Photographer with United Press. "
Something that stood out to be about Rachel especially was the way she reacted to the world of war.
Sometimes she was brave, and sometimes she was timid. I found that to be just as it should be.
If Rachel had never wavered in fear, she wouldn't have been real.
And one more item of note, pay close attention to the love story.
Scott upholds high standards of honor and uprightness toward Rachel, even before there is any romance. Oh for a time when the majority of men would treat women this way, protecting them and treating them with respect and dignity even in a war zone.
Thank you Litfuse for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Preserving the art during WW II

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This historical novel takes us to World War II Italy. This is not your typical war novel. It concentrates on army personnel who did not fight yet were essential to the overall war effort.
Lieutenant Scott Lindstrom is a Monuments, Fine Arts, and Archives Division soldier. He helped locate and protect fine art, acting as a liaison with locals to save priceless works, some of it going back two millennia. He had been an Italian Medieval and Renaissance art expert back in a Philadelphia museum. Now his passion was to locate and save the great works in danger because of the war.
Rachel Justice was a photographer, a good one. Many of her photos had appeared on the front pages of the newspaper. She had managed to convince her editor she needed to go to Italy and photograph the war torn country. He had come through with the credentials and passage. Rachel had to go to Italy - to find her father, the man her mother had met the year she studied art there. The year she came back to the states, having been seduced by a charming Italian, Rachel in her womb. Now Rachel had to find the man because her mother was dying of tuberculosis. She hoped that now he was a famous artist and he could provide the money for her mother's expensive treatment.
It was very interesting to read about the two main characters and their role in the war. I had not really thought about these kinds of people who participated in the war effort. As Cara writes in her Author's Note, she has done a great deal of research to accurately portray the efforts of journalists and art protectors. I appreciated reading about how some of the priceless works were successfully hidden from the Germans.
It was interesting to read about Rachel's role too. She was not strictly part of the army but they gave her a uniform and provided her transportation and supplies. The impression came through loud and clear that women were not appreciated by the army men. My, how times have changed.
The emphasis of this novel is the work of the art preservation so there is generally no heart stopping action nor page turning romance. For those appreciating historical novels dealing with the second world war, this is a nice change from the typical concentration on battle scenes.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through the Litfuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good one-time read...

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I've read almost every Christian fiction book that has been set in WWII. I really love the intrigue, emotion, and history of that era. However, the story of priceless art that disappeared during Hitler's reign is fairly new to me after reading Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey's book a few years ago, Chasing Mona Lisa (I guess I did see a Hogan's Heroes rerun that involved some stolen art...but, um, although enjoyable, I haven't based much of my WWII history on that sitcom).
Anyway, I was excited to read Shadowed by Grace, which dealt with the 'Monuments Men,' men who were given the task of recovering and protecting Europe's invaluable art.
Yes, there was excitement and intrigue...but, not enough to keep me glued to the pages. It seems I'm in the minority, but I had a hard time liking Rachel from the start – her mom seemed too sick to leave, no matter the good intentions of getting help that seemed absolutely impossible in such a time and place as war-torn Italy! Sure, it's fiction, but still...running off to battlefields in Europe hoping to find a no-name man... Well, it made me question Rachel's sanity.
And the romance wasn't really there for me, either. Yes, long courtships aren't realistic during wartime, but I just didn't feel much of a spark between Rachel and Scott.
And Tyler was just unexpectedly crazy!
Ok, honestly, the story wasn't that bad! If you are enthusiastic for WWII fiction, you'll likely enjoy the tidbits of history and style in Shadowed by Grace. For me, though, it was a 3-star kind of book: a good 'one-time' read, but not one I'd stay up until midnight to finish or keep on my shelf to read again.
*I received a free book in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this story!

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sue from Midwest
Location:Midwest
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really appreciate Putman’s research into the work of the Monument Men during World War II. I am more likely to remember the details of a novel than the studying I did in history class way back when. So to read a novel based on historical happenings is a win-win for me. I learn while enjoying the story.
My only complaint is that I now wish I could visit Italy and see the beauty of that countryside, as described in Shadowed by Grace.
Putman puts forth an engaging story of hope in the midst of an uncertain future. I thoroughly enjoyed Shadowed by Grace and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She found peace in a time of war!

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"YOU HAVE ONCE CHANCE to make this fly." Bobby Hamilton leaned across his broad desk and stared her down." I had to pull more strings than I knew I had to get the brass to bite on sending a woman to Italy. Who sends a woman to a worn-torn country? Getting credentials? What a mess." The man waved his beefy hands down in a dismissive gesture. "Then getting you on the Queen Mary?" He chomped hard on his cigar.
Rachel perched on the chair in his crowded office as the Andrew Sisters belted out "Bogie Woogie Bugle Boy" on the small Kadette radio sitting atop a stack of papers on Bobby's overloaded credenza. She kept her back so straight her men's-style tailored blazer pulled her shoulders back.
She didn't blink, couldn't give a single sign of weakness. Her editor may have taken all those steps, but she'd had to convince him first, all while watching her mother waste away day by day.
"I hope you know what you're doing, Justice."
"I do." she put as much force behind the word as she could without shouting.
He leaned back in his chair, unlit cigar poised to punctuate a thought. "You've got talent. A way with that camera."
She stroked the case, feeling as if it naturally extended from her.
"Don't let me down. Send back photos that will wow readers." He didn't have to mention his bosses.
"Yes, sir." Rachel lurched to her feet and straightened her skirt's front pleat as she hurried from the room before he could call her back.
:There was so much to do. Too much before she could join the mass of soldiers and handful of civilians who would cross the Atlantic aboard the HMS Queen Mary. If she hurried, she could finish cleaning the apartment and still make it to the hospital before visiting hours ended. It was a stop Rachel had to make, yet dreaded. How could she explain to her mother what she was doing while hiding her secondary purpose?"(Excerpt.)
In the latest novel from best selling author Cara C Putman, Shadowed by Grace takes readers into the heart of Italy in 1944 following United Press photography Rachel Justice as she attempts to locate her father whom she believes can help provide the money to help her mother battle tuberculosis and get well. The only clue she has is her mother's journal and a sketchbook from an artist with the initials RMA.
Her only ally in the process is Lieutenant Scott Lindstorm who is assigned as an officer with the Monuments, Fine Arts, and Archives Division to escort Rachel along the way to shot photographs for the division in need of good press. He was there to help shore up classic buildings that had stood since the Roman Empire that aerial bombings destroyed. Or locate priceless pieces of art created by the masters of the thirteenth century to ensure the fighting hadn't destroyed them. Or plan for the restoration of those that had been touched by the war. The tales that art disappeared behind the lines made it more important than ever that he leave the city for the locations where the sculpture, paintings and altarpieces were housed. He wasn't looking for a tagalong.
What ensues will cause them both to question their true purpose for being in Italy during WWII and in the process find a much deeper meaning into why their paths crossed after all!
I received Shadowed by Grace by Cara C. Putman compliments of Litfuse Publicity and B and H Publishing Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This took me into a side of the war I never knew existed as a division of men know as the Monument Men, protected the culture of the country by guarding and locating precious works of art. This is based on true life events that transpired during the war along with a touch of romance to keep the story interesting. Being a huge fan of WWII history I absolutely LOVED this and wanted to know how it would all play out with WWII Italy being the backdrop. I was not disappointed and easily give this novel a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shadowed by Grace: A Story of Monuments Men - eBook
This review is fromShadowed by Grace.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended for WWII fiction fans

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Justice is about to cross the Atlantic on HMS Queen Mary, bound for war-torn Europe, to photograph the fighting as America liberates Italy from the Germans. Her real motivation isn't to bring the war to the minds of her US readers--although that is part of it. She's going to Italy, in search of the father she never knew. Rachel needs to find her father because her mother is suffering from tuberculosis, and is likely to die soon without more medical treatment—treatment Rachel is hoping her father can help pay for.
Lieutenant Scott Lindstrom is an officer in the Monuments, Fine Arts and Archives Division, better known as the Monuments Men. I’d never heard of them, so this was a pleasant surprise which elevated the novel from interesting into something more original, which I like. (The division will also be the subject of an upcoming film, The Monument Men, starring George Clooney and Cate Blanchett. After reading Shadowed by Grace, I’m looking forward to seeing the movie. And not just because it’s got George Clooney.)
Rachel and Scott meet when he is assigned to show her around. Fate keeps throwing them together as the fighting moves north, closer to Tuscany, where Rachel believes her father lives. The plot works well on several levels, with the romance between Rachel and Scott developing as they spent more time together, supported by subplots of war, missing artefacts and Rachel’s search for her father, and for faith. Overall, the book flowed well, and presented an original plot, likeable and interesting characters and an underlying Christian message.
The one thing that annoyed me was when a British character introduced himself as “Leftenant Alistair Barkley”. Yes, I understand they are trying to show us the different accent, but in that case, why not introduce the Americans as Lootenant? And wouldn’t a Southerner pronounce words differently than someone from Los Angeles or Boston? So why weren’t these words spelled differently? (And why was Barkley referred to as Indian? The British ran India in 1945, and Barkley’s family was from England, so he would have considered himself British or English, not Indian.)
I have read a couple of Cara Putman’s contemporary novellas, and while they were solid, they weren’t special in the way Shadowed by Grace is. I just hope we see more in this series—Shadowed by Grace is published by B&H, who announced last year they were closing their fiction line. It would be a shame if this were Putman’s only novel in this vein.
Recommended for historical fiction fans.
Thanks to B&H Books and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>