Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Flywheel - eBook

Thomas Nelson Flywheel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flywheel - eBook
Review 1 for Flywheel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jay Austin has all his ducks in a row, and thinks he's got it all together. A beautiful wife, a young son, and another one on the way. His own business at a used car lot, employees that follow his example to a tee, and he even tithes on Sunday. Nothing can stop him from becoming the greatest husband and father a family can ever want or have.
But then little details about his life start to seep out. His empty tithe envelope in church. His dishonest dealings with his business. His short fuse with the people he loves the most, Judy and Todd. And suddenly, his life isn't so put-together and worthy of envy. When Jay is forced to look at the man in the mirror, will he rescue the man he's become and become the man he knows he can be? Or is he in too deep?
This story was very intriguing to me, with a title of Flywheel. I got the connection between him and cars, obviously, but the final triumph comes when you realize for yourself what it really means. This novel comes full circle, and will teach you that the true meaning of love and family is in the One who gave them to us in the first place.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, paperback.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jay Austin has all his ducks in a row, and thinks he's got it all together. A beautiful wife, a young son, and another one on the way. His own business at a used car lot, employees that follow his example to a tee, and he even tithes on Sunday. Nothing can stop him from becoming the greatest husband and father a family can ever want or have.
But then little details about his life start to seep out. His empty tithe envelope in church. His dishonest dealings with his business. His short fuse with the people he loves the most, Judy and Todd. And suddenly, his life isn't so put-together and worthy of envy. When Jay is forced to look at the man in the mirror, will he rescue the man he's become and become the man he knows he can be? Or is he in too deep?
This story was very intriguing to me, with a title of Flywheel. I got the connection between him and cars, obviously, but the final triumph comes when you realize for yourself what it really means. This novel comes full circle, and will teach you that the true meaning of love and family is in the One who gave them to us in the first place.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, paperback.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awakening!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg Pilgrim
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this story especially for men. This story is a powerful reminder of how God can and does work in our lives when we give our entire lives to him. He wants to work in EVERY facet of our lives, not just the big issues or decisions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, paperback.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The first in the series

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frank Gotch
Location:Austin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never saw the movie "Flywheel" until after I had seen "Facing the Giants". Frankly, I was surprised at how great both the movie and this book are. If possible, I would suggest people read the entire series in order (Flywheel, Facing the Giants, Fireproof, Courageous" since you can gain so much in your Christian walk with each book. Regardless of what order you read them, they all are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rose Haayema
Did not enjoy at all. It would be so nice if life could be as perfect and easy as this book suggests. People just aren't like the characters in the book. I know it was fiction, but it should be classed under fairytale. I like my fiction a little more realistic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
KW
The movie was wonderful but the book is really fantastic! Much more in depth. Know so much more about the characters and their struggles. Get both the book and movie as they compliment each other wonderfully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah G.
This is a great movie that I really enjoyed! It is even better, when you know that it was done by a Christian group!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammie
My Husband has restored vintage trucks 2 in total and 1 car. I ordered Flywheel for him for a Christmas present. Our whole family loved it. Its a great movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eden Kleefisch
I saw the movie when it first came out but it was edited and I just had to get the book. I just couldn't put it down and it teaches great lessons and I laughed a lot!!! It was well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Goelz
Another Awesome work by this group! Would love to see the movie! Ordered this after seeing Fireproof....A WONDERFUL Movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Victor Gregory
Great book and movie. They out did themselves again. Good life lessons on how to trust in the Lord in all things. Your business has to operate in this world but you have to follow the higher standards of our Lord and Savor Jesus Christ. Proverbs 16:8-9 Better is a little with righteousness than great revenues without right. A man's heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Allan Roberts
This movie was... just ok.Look - it really did have a great story. (Selfish salesman goes through a REAL repentance where he repays cheated customers - and his life turns around.) But the WONDERFUL story was dramatically let down by bits included to show distinction between Christian and "worldly" characters/behaviour.For instance... In one bit the "greedy car salesman" joke of their dishonesty and the comment is made that one of them "is slicker than snot".There is just no need for this kind of disgusting rubbish to be included. It did not improve the movie. In fact it turned what could have been an excellent one into a disappointment.Another issue was gluttony. (An overweight man jokes and gets teased about his uncontrolled habit of donut eating.) Yes this is minor to some, but since gluttony is a sin, it probably shouldn't be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Nordstrom
I originally ordered the movie but was sent the book instead. I really enjoyed reading it. I had a hard time putting it down. If the movie is half as good, it will be wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura Brewer
Great movie. I really enjoyed it. It was a bit harder to "get into" then the first but never the less, I was very good. We don't always have to understand up front why God asks us to do things that to the worlds standards are "crazy" but if we walk in obedience, God WILL take care of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vivian Brumfield
This movie is awesome. Besides being extremely entertaining. It will have you laughing one minute and in tears the next. Its Gospel message is outstanding. There is so much in it that will connect with everyday situations, I can't imagine that there is anyone out there who isn't deeply touched by this film. Bravo! to God and the Kendrick brothers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sharon Wratchford
This was one of the best movies I have seen. What an awesome story to reveal how GOD takes care of HIS children. I have recommended it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Flywheel - eBook
This review is fromFlywheel, a Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lorrie Ney
Alex Kendrick portrays a believable, modern man, doing his human best to make a living at selling used cars. But as a lukewarm Christian, he's failing miserably as a husband and father while he rips off his customers and dangles on the edge of bankruptcy.While working with a friend to restore an old car, he gets a revelation about his life, and winds up on his knees rededicating his life to Christ, family and fairness. And it turns his life upside down!Our entire family enjoyed watching this young husband and father turn his life around learning to be honest for the first time in his life. It changes his relationship with his wife and son, and then turns the dishonest car salesman on his ear, along with his entire community. If you love a happy ending with an emphasis on reality, you'll enjoy watching this movie, and be proud to show it to your kids!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.