Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook

Thomas Nelson For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook

When a tragedy or loss occurs, we are saddened and angry. And full of questions. How could God allow this? What good could God possibly bring from this? In these pages, Max Lucado searches for some answers. Along the way, he offers God's peace and understanding that reaches beyond our circumstances.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Review 1 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Bush
I love to read Mac Lucado he seems to make the books he writes come alive and make you feel like you are right there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley McClay
This book deals with the struggle of watching life fall apart around you and all the questions and frustrations that boil out. God is still in His temple. He is still on His throne. And He's still in control. Max helps point out the answers through Scripture and his awesome stories that keep me turning page after page.Its short, sweet and to the point. It would be a powerful full length book but as a gift book it really does well. It covers the topics enough to wet the interest and stir the waters of someones heart to turn to God in those hurting times.Its a great book to set on your bedside stand to read in snippets or to give to a struggling friend with a basket of goodies, or even as a secret friend gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Craig McDole
This is my first review as a part of the Book Review Blogger group I have become a part of through Thomas Nelson publishers. This book is another in a string of well-written books from my personal favorite author, Max Lucado. In our lives, we all go through trials and tribulations, loss of loved ones, unexpected tragedies, etc. This book goes through many of the trials that we might possibly face and offers a Biblical perspective of how we can find hope in these situations.Have you ever faced a difficult situation and wondered where God was, or how could He let something like this happen to you? Have you ever wondered why God seemed silent when you were looking for answers? What about if your house was destroyed by natural disaster? How could a loving God let His own be hurt like that? Well, these and other situations in life are covered genuinely and confidently in this short book of hope for those who are hurting.If you have been struggling with questions that seem to have no logical answers, pick up this book and see the hope that God gives. Thanks, Max for another inspiring book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trace Kuhn
Max Lucado is a gifted writer who has written dozens of books. His writings never seem to tire or repeat. God has given him a unique ability to translate his thoughts to paper with feeling and passion. Just as a preacher can communicate through metaphors & stories, Max Lucado speaks to your heart in a way that is easily understood and visualized. His latest book, For The Tough Times is a small, compact book. It would be perfect to give away. I'm thinking about keeping a few copies around to give to people facing difficult circumstances. Have you ever been through a hard time? Ever felt like life was unfair or harsh? Or, do you know someone who may be experiencing a dark time? This book is perfect reading during when uncertainty approaches.Max Lucado uses excellent imagery when speaking of how much God is for us. My favorite is that if God had a car, my name would be on the bumper sticker. Love that!Overall, I would highly recommend this short book. If you pastor a church, teach a bible study or just have a heart for people, I would recommend picking up several copies. Listen to people today, they are hurting. This book may be what they need to receive a glimpse of God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen
"When all that is good falls apart, what can good people do?" -PSALM 11:3 This is the very first thing that you will read in this book. What a profound question. This was my first Max Lucado book, but definitely not my last. I found this book very inspiring and comforting. It opened my eyes to some of the most common questions and many new thoughts. It inspired me to open my bible and follow and read along. I would recommend this book to anyone and would give it as a gift to everyone. A must read for all ages. Short but stunning ~ I urge everyone to pick up a copy of this book. If you are going or been through a tough time or not.... It will be an inspiration to you all. Not just those that are currently going through a tough time, but it will inspire those who are content with life. This little book packs a big punch. It makes you realize that God is everywhere at all times. When tragedy strikes, when your marriage falls apart, your family or friends are taken from you, when youve lost everything and youre asking how could God allow such a thing? Is He really in control? What is He thinking? Can I really put my faith in Him to take care of this?These are questions that we all ask. In this book you will find the answers and learn how to request God's peace and understanding. Ending with a prayer titled "Do It Again, Lord. A Prayer for Troubled Times" You will finish this book with a tear in your eyes and a smile in your heart and your face. Awaiting your reunion with him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie's Mommy Brain
"When all that is good falls apart, what can good people do?' The Lord is in his holy temple; the Lord sits on his throne in heaven." - Psalm 11:3-4."Isn't David's question ours? When all that is good falls apart, what can good people do? When illness invades, marriages fail, children suffer, and death strikes, what are we to do?" - For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope by Max Lucado.Don't we all ask those questions at times? I know I have. When my Grandma died after battling cancer. When we left a church after 7 years. When I endured a miscarriage at 8 weeks.I find great comfort in knowing God is sitting on his throne!In this small book Lucado does an excellent job of reminding us that God has a plan for each life. Not even Satan can derail the plan of God. In fact, Satan is often an unwilling participant in God's plan.This small (only 83 pages long) book would make an excellent book for someone going through a difficult time. Or as a Gift Book for an introduction to Lucado's books.It's a quick read. Not terribly meaty or deep but it will make you think about God, prayer and Heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doug Hibbard
I once had a pastor tell me that he had read some of Max Lucado's books, but found the writing to be 'simplistic' and therefore of little value. Well, this weekend I read Lucado's book For the Tough Times. That's right, it's a nice little book that took just about an hour to read. And I would agree with a portion of that pastor's assessment. This book is definitely simplistic. Pastor Lucado tackles the problem of suffering and the seeming silence of God, and does so 79 pages that are 4 inches wide and a little over 6 inches tall. Not a lot of words.Yet those words are effective. Taking Biblical examples from the narratives of Old and New Testament, empathizing with the anguish of the Psalmists, and seeing the answer of God in the prophets and ultimately the life of Christ, this is a short, guided walk along side markers of the suffering, chaotic world with the reminder that God has never, and never will abandon His own. The length is actually quite comforting, as it does not take days of reading to find out what Lucado thinks God has to say about the issue.The answer is, in fact, quite simple. But for a people called to believe with faith like a child, isn't simple closer to true? Do we really need massive theological constructs to understand the world? Or, perhaps, should we learn to accept that "God is in control" is not just an answer to consider, but the answer to hope in?As far as the broader scope of Max Lucado writing 'simplistic' books, I should know...I have nine on my shelf, one I wish I could find again, and they are ever present helps, drawing me back to the simple nature of faith, remembering that God is my help. Sometimes, simple isn't just better. It's right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee D
For The Tough Times (Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope) by Max Lucado is a small by powerful book. This is would be a wonderful encouragement for those who are facing some trying times. Where do we get our strength to carry on when the "bottom falls out", or seems to; by looking "toward heaven for hope. When we or others face the loss of a job, a loved one, an emergency situation, devastating news of an serious illness, or what ever has been thrown at us, this little book is loaded with promises to hold on to and get us through "the tough time."I felt immediately as I was reading through the material, that this would be a great gift to give to those who are struggling with the challenges they are going through. I have friends and family who have recently lost loved ones and they would find hope within these pages. Of course, Max Lucado is looking to Scripture for the insight that only the Almighty God and the Lord Jesus Christ can give. He writes in such way that it gives hope and guides the thinking of the one in need to see a way out of their tough time. Because the book is small, the chapters are not long and drawn out and Max packs much in each one. The chapters are: Where is God?, God's Great Love, Eyes on the Father, Good Triumphant, The Bitter Taste of Revenge, In the Silence God Speaks, In the Storm We Pray, and From God's Perspective.I highly recommend For The Tough Times
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jason Whitehorn
Today, in my quiet time, I got a chance to read Max Lucado's For The Tough Times. At well less than 100 pages, this book is a small read - but speaks volumes of truth of how God always has, always is, and always will be in control.Placed in the down-to-earth modern language of today that Lucado is known for, this book will inspire you to remember to let go...and let God. You'll look at familiar stories from the Bible in a new way while reading this book. I particularly liked Lucado's take on the story of Job.All in all, the book is perfect for anyone going through any type of struggle or dark day in life. You'll find scripture-based inspiration to let you know that everything is in God's tender hands...even "for the tough times."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Lickel
Max Lucados For the Tough Times doesnt need to be any longer. At 80 gift-book-sized pages, it packs enough punch that any more encouragement would be overkill. Lucado runs the gamut of the depressed souls questioning the Maker and Defender from how could God do that to the answer of sometimes its not just about you.Lucado uses scripture to beautifully illustrate his uncanny ability to make the smallest phrases have the biggest meaning. Taking the reader deep into the story and challenge of Job, Lucado shows the reader how God uses our earthly experiences to teach us to crave the better life of heaven. Our God refines us, uses the frailest part of our being, and reminds us how much He loves us. Our shortcomings were more than made up for by His sacrifice. Lucado reminds us that we are no longer in the age of fluff. Yes, God is love, but that love is more than cotton candy goodness, it is real and sometimes painful, because real love has a goal: to get us to the other side, no matter how hard we dig in and scream. We want the here and now. He wants us to know the always and forever. He is in control even of evil.God acts when we ask Him to. Sometimes its hard to know how our prayers work. If God knows what we need, why does He still want us to ask? Lucado tells the reader that our prayers move God to change the world. We dont need to understand the mystery behind it, we simply need to let Jesus hear.I thought often while reading of people to whom I could give this book. Upon reflection, I think Ill buy more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For The Tough Times: Reaching Toward Heaven for Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nichole
It is an incredibly timely message. Max Lucados helpful message will lift up those who are in search of hope during such tough times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.