Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook

Revell With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook

Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne, Wyoming, to establish her medical practice thanks to the wooing of her two older sisters who extolled the beauty of the land. She's certain she'll have a line of patients eager for her expertise and gentle bedside manner. However, she soon discovers the town and its older doctor may not welcome a new physician. Even more frustrating, the handsome young attorney next door may not be ready for the idea of a woman doctor. For his part, Jason Nordling has nothing against women, but he's promised himself that the woman he marries will be a full-time mother.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 3694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice historical with a twist of mystery.

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Autumn's Return kinda started out like a typical historical novel but it didn't exactly stay that way. I was totally not expecting the murder mystery near the end, it was a great who-done-it within a historical.
Amanda Cabot has written a great story of love, friendship, and family. There is a wide variety of characters. From the adorable little girl named Rose, to a man raising his daughters on his own, a spoiled gold-digger, and a loving mother that just wants a sibling for her son. Each with their own story and foibles.
I think one of my favorite things about the story is that, while Elizabeth knows she is called to be a doctor she still struggles with some of the things she has to give up in order to do so. Will Jason be able to see beyond his prejudices and be able to show her Elizabeth the woman?
Another neat thing was the setting of 1880's Cheyenne, Wyoming. It was interesting since it is not often that particular city makes it into stories.
If you love historical novels where a girl has to beat the odds and has a touch of mystery than you are in for a treat in With Autumn's Return.
(I received a copy of this book from Revell through The Book Club Network for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical with a bit of Suspense

Date:May 23, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Autumn’s Return we are arriving in the town of Cheyenne with Elizabeth Harding who has come to set up her physician’s practice. She has chosen the town of Cheyenne for soon her sisters will be settling there as well with their new husbands. We learn about each of their stories in the previous two books, which I had not read prior but in no way did I feel lost in this story. Elizabeth has to face a lot of prejudice with being a woman doctor from most of the townsfolk and her very charming next door neighbor, lawyer Jason Nordling. There is an attraction between the two, who both fight their growing feelings thinking a romance could not work between them. However, Jason grows to see Elizabeth’s abilities as a doctor as he witnesses first hand her care of her patients. Elizabeth is a very loving doctor and cares for each of her patients when they start coming, even risking her reputation in caring for the local brothel girls. When rumors start and her reputation is under scrutiny, Jason steps in as a friend to temporarily court her. But neither of them are prepared for the fallout from the lies they told themselves and then they both must rely on each other when a murder of a prominent citizen occurs. Not only do we get to see the unfolding love story between Jason and Elizabeth, but also of Gwen (her roommate) and Harrison (her new brother-in-law’s brother). This was an engaging read. I plan on going back and meeting the first two sisters and reading their stories. I received this book from The Book Club Network, Inc. and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Autumn's Return is an exceptional book. It is Book 3 in the Westward Winds Series. But is easily understood being read alone. The book revolves around Dr Elizabeth Harding. She graduated near the top of her class in the east but came to Wyoming to set up practice because her two sisters lived there. She faces discrimination of various types along the way. There is romance, murder, adventure, love, family, trust issues, weight issues and other problems that are encountered in daily life in the old west. I can't wait to read the other two books in the series.
I recieved this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the late 1800s a woman was not looked upon as possessing the capacity or skill to become a doctor, much less be accepted into medical school and graduating at the top of her class. In this novel Elizabeth Harding had received her medical degree and moved to Cheyenne to set up her medical practice, expecting to become a successful doctor. Unfortunately the residents discredited her skills and scoffed at her. Attorney, Jason Nordling occupied the office next door. His attitude and most recent court case unfortunately raised Elizabeth's indignation, an incident that didn't help her gain his friendship. Mingling with high society did little to bring patients to the doctor's office, and old Doc Worland offered no help, degrading and belittling her. Diphtheria threatened her friend and unborn child, and despite Dr. Worland's intercession she taught the housemaid to treat the disease. Soon thereafter Jason developed diphtheria and became her first infirmary patient. Their rocky beginnings had begun to develop into a deepened friendship, and Elizabeth refused to allow Jason to die.
With Autumn's Return is the third in a series called Westward Winds. I had not read the prequels to this book, but found it to be a successful standalone novel aside from a bit of confusion regarding the numerous characters. That did not take away from the story which involved numerous subplots running alongside the development of the relationship between the main characters. The setting was well delineated, revealing a picturesque representation of the landscape of Wyoming, and the numerous characters were defined in detail, a wide array of varying individuals from all walks of life. Amanda Cabot is a talented author of historical fiction and her research is evident. I enjoyed this book, and hope to read the prequels at some time in the future.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Revell and the For Readers Only program through Book Fun in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenge in Cheyenne

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book 3 in the Westward Winds Series but can be read as a stand alone.
Dr. Harding arrives in Cheyenne full of hope as she sets up her medical practice. She expects to be so busy and it will be wonderful. She has made it despite being a woman. Will it be as exciting as she thinks? There is already one male doctor in Cheyenne but she hopes they can be friends.
Jason Nordling, a young attorney, seems to be like the residents of the town regarding a female doctor.
Jason's office is above Dr. Harding's office. On the first encounter with Dr. Harding, Jason has just won his court case and his client was free. So was he in a good mood or not when he meets her? Why or why not?
Since he seems to disapprove of a female doctor, will they ever become friends? People in Cheyenne begin to throw them together in a romantic way but will it work?
Prejudice against the female doctor increases when Dr. Harding begins helping the women in a brothel. Is this good or bad for her reputation?
The book is well-written and has both romance and intrigue. The characters are well-developed and you begin to care for them. Will good or evil win the battle in Cheyenne?
I received this book to review by bookFun.org for my honest opinion. CBD has a great price for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great historical fiction novel set in the 1800's in Cheyenne, Wyoming. A place of hardships, struggles and overcoming obstacles especially for women. The book contains well written characters, patience, courage, overcoming prejudices, mystery, romance and love.
After earning her medical decree, Dr. Elizabeth Harding heads out west to Cheyenne to start her medical practice. Her two sisters will also be living there. Elizabeth feels that being a doctor and healing people is what God is calling her to do. She is excited and knows she will have patients lined up to see her. However, she realizes right away this is not the case. Jason Nordling, an attorney who occupies the office next door to Elizabeth in the same building is recovering from his last court case regarding what he learns about his client. He decides to welcome the new doctor and is shocked when he finds a female doctor. He is rude to Elizabeth but there seems to be some sparks between them. Doc Worland who has been the doctor in Cheyenne for many years is very prejudiced against female doctors. He scoffs and ridicules Elizabeth. Tells her no one will come to her for healing, but she gradually begins to get a few patients. You will be surprised to see who some of her patients are.
Jason and Elizabeth forge a friendship and work together to solve a murder.
Will their friendship develop into something more? Will the townspeople ever accept Elizabeth as a doctor?
This is the third book in the Westward Winds series and although it can be read as a stand alone book, I would like to read the first two in the series. A very good read.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith, Drama, and Romance

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third and final story in Amanda Cabot’s Westward Winds series. It follows the third sister, Elizabeth, as she begins her new life in the newly formed city of Cheyenne as their first female doctor. The story reintroduces the reader to familiar scenery and familiar characters, as well as many new characters. I loved the realistic feel of what it must have been like to be a female doctor in a time when the world still thought all women should be kept to their place in the home. Although this is the third in a series, it easily stands alone as its own story. But, I promise, it will leave the reader wanting to read the other two stories as this town is full of adventure and interesting stories! There is lots of romance with several of the characters and it emphasizes how critical faith was to the success of these early towns. 5 stars for Amanda Cabot and I look forward to her new contemporary series coming soon.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightfully Written

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Autumn’s Return is the third book of the Westward Winds series, but it was the first of Ms. Cabot’s books that I have read, and I absolutely loved it. Although I had not read the first two books, I was able to get into the story without any problem and it made me curious to read the first two books.
I’m not sure we realize just how hard it was for women to break into the professional world of medicine. Perhaps we have taken for granted the path forged by the women pioneers. In a time when medicine could be practiced by any man, even without a doctorate degree or higher education, women who were educated and qualified were ignored and ridiculed for trying to practice medicine.
This book has many messages intertwined with the romance of a head strong woman doctor, Elizabeth and the attorney, Jason, who despises her and then finds himself falling in love with her. The line between love and hate is truly a thin one here. I loved the way the main character, Elizabeth, was able to combat prejudice and ignorance with truth and reason in her arguments.
Elizabeth is a smart, beautiful and extremely capable woman who is determined to follow the calling God has placed on her life. She faces ridicule and ostracism when she opens her practice, but in time, she is able to prove her ability and her devotion to medicine. Elizabeth struggles with balancing being a woman, a doctor, and the possibility of being a wife and mother someday. Does having a career mean she must forget about having a personal life?
Jason is a handsome, brilliant attorney who cannot fathom this woman doctor in his town. In spending time getting to know her, he finds his own prejudices challenged when he needs Elizabeth to save his life. He finds that people are not always truthful and the gossipmongers are willing to believe whatever they want to.
With Autumn’s Return is a great book with an enticing plot, believable characters, and intriguing story. It is more than that however, it is a story illustrating the real struggles that women faced as they fought for the right to be professionals in a strictly man’s world. I would highly recommend this book to readers of all ages as I believe it would be beneficial especially for young women to see the battles fought for them so many years ago.
I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT!!!

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With Autumn Return by Amanda Cabot read like a Soap Opera. I really truly enjoy the story of Dr. Elizabeth Harding who is a female doctor in the late 1800's in Cheyenne. Her struggle to be respected as a doctor and to succeed in a world of a Man's position during the 1800's. It read like a soap opera to me. It did not only talk about Dr. Elizabeth Harding, but also of people's lives that surround the good doctor. Unhappiness, Uncertainty, the good, the bad, and what positive outcomes of each of the people's lives in the story. I received the book from The Book Club Network to review. I recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book - and doesn't rely on books 1 and 2

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those of us who always want to know what happens to other characters in a previous book, you will enjoy the third book in Amanda Cabot’s Westward Winds trilogy, With Autumn’s Return.
The youngest of the Harding sisters, Elizabeth has reached her life’s goal to become a doctor. Years spent learning how to help those who are suffering is all that she has ever wanted to do, and she has finally become Dr. Harding. This has not been an easy goal to reach, as there is much prejudice against a woman becoming a doctor.
Her sisters have urged her to move to Cheyenne where there is a need for a doctor, and so it is with a feeling of pride and apprehension that she sets up her office. Interestingly enough, there is a young lawyer right next door, but romance is not on Elizabeth’s mind at this time. However…well, read to see. ☺
I appreciated the way that other characters from previous books were brought into the story, but only in a way that made Elizabeth’s story more interesting, and completed the series. You do not need to have read the first two books to completely enjoy With Autumn’s Return, but you will want to! I think that With Autumn’s Return is a book you will not want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

With Autumn's Return by Amanda Cabot

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With Autumn's Return: Westward Winds book 3***** by Amanda Cabot
It is finally happening! Elizabeth Harding is opening her doctor's practice in Cheyenne, Wyoming Territory. She has high hopes that it will be different here than it was in the East where women doctors were frowned on and ridiculed—it is 1887 after all and times are changing. An added bonus is that both her sisters, Charlotte and Abigail, live in Cheyenne too. However, both Charlotte and Abigail are away. Charlotte had found her an office in a perfect location before her arrival. Her office is now ready and she tries to wait patently for the first, hopefully of many, patients to arrive.
There is another office on the other side of the same building occupied by a lawyer, Jason Nordling.
Jason knew of the new doctor setting up “his” practice but has yet to meet “him”. Today, however his mind is occupied with the last day of his clients trial. When he does meet the new doctor he is shocked to see that the doctor is a “she” not a “he”. Needless to say sparks fly when he makes a not very nice comment about women doctors. Elizabeth certainly expected more of a welcome and far different attitude than Jason gave her.
They both must get past their differences and work together when a murder occurs and Elizabeth is sure that the accused is innocent. Joining forces they find a web of deceit, danger, lies, a life in danger and many obstacles in their path. Forgiveness, trust, hope, justice, romance, love and faith are interwoven through these obstacles and certainly captures the readers attention to the last page.
~~I received a copy of this book from Bookfun Network for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

somewhat disjointed

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Elizabeth moves to Cheyenne, Wyoming fresh from medical school back East. She remembers the harsh words and scepticism she received from her classmates and others while in medical school, but things in Wyoming are supposed to be different. Here women were allowed to vote, sit on juries and there were even woman bailiffs! Unfortunately becoming accepted as a full fledged doctor by the citizens of Cheyenne is harder than she had anticipated.
Jason Nordling is the attorney whose office is next door to Elizabeth's doctor's office. He is one of her biggest sceptics in the beginning but quickly comes around. He figures that a woman's place is at homes, and when he marries he wants someone who will be devoted to the care and keeping of their children. Definitely not someone whose first priority is to their patients.
Elizabeth and Jason go from arguing to halfway in love in the blink of an eye and all of a sudden all of his concerns about her practicing medicine and the impact it will have on their lives just seems to disappear. The rest of the story is in my mind somewhat odd and disjointed . . . and very unlikely. The writing is not as polished as I would have expected, having read and enjoyed a couple of her other books. I wouldn't know it was written by the same author.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne, Wyoming, to establish her medical practice thanks to the wooing of her two older sisters who extolled the beauty of the land. She's certain she'll have a line of patients eager for her expertise and gentle bedside manner. However, she soon discovers the town and its older doctor may not welcome a new physician. Even more frustrating, the handsome young attorney next door may not be ready for the idea of a woman doctor. For his part, Jason Nordling has nothing against women, but he's promised himself that the woman he marries will be a full-time mother.
Despite their firm principles, Elizabeth and Jason find that mutual attraction--and disdain from the community--is drawing them ever closer. And when the two find themselves working to save the life and tattered reputation of a local woman, they'll have to decide how far they're willing to go to find justice--and true love.
My Review:
Elizabeth is written as a very strong character, yet gentle with her patients. I really enjoyed how she didn't care about the gossip or people's opinions and how she put her patients first. Cabot did an excellent job in portraying Elizabeth, and she is a fictional character I can genuinely admire. Taking care of the women from a brothel is not something a doctor from 1887 Wyoming territory would have enjoyed doing, but that Elizabeth was so willing to care for what is seen as the lesser of society, I can't help but admire her in her strong beliefs and faith.
The romance between the Elizabeth and Jason was textbook, but sweet and endearing nonetheless. Again, a woman having a career in this time period was something very uncommon, so one has to see it from that point of view. And we all know that when you put a man and woman on complete opposite sides of anything, sparks will soon fly...
This is a wonderful story, with solid characters, solid plot, and lot's of interesting history. Lovers romance and history alike will enjoy this tale and the previous two books in the series, and I recommend it very highly!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great right from the start

Date:March 11, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book from the beginning. The characters were real and invited me into their lives and one by one, I became invested in the outcome of their story. Elizabeth, the tough as nails doctor, soon becomes Elizabeth, the vulnerable woman. We watch her grow into her own as she suffers trials and tribulations that go along with being a woman doctor and starting a practice in Cheyenne, Wyoming.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sometimes life changes with the Seasons

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Coral Springs, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With Autumn's Return is book #3 in the Westward Winds trilogy. I have not had the opportunity to read the first two books in this series and was able to still enjoy this one. I feel like if you read the other two you would have a little more details to some of the characters, however it is not necessary to enjoy the book.
With Autumn's Return is about Elizabeth Harding and her journey in finding that being a female doctor in a 'not so small' town is not what she expected. She is constantly feeling as if she is defending herself as a woman doctor. When she meets Jason Nordling, the attorney next door, sparks fly. He has to struggle with some bad decisions, his past, and the fact that a woman doctor is capturing his thoughts. They are not at all what the other expected.
This book is full of good dialogue, quick wit, mystery, love and much more. I enjoyed that we are following Elizabeth and Jason, however there are others in the book who fall in love and have problems of their own.
I enjoyed the book and look forward to reading more by Amanda Cabot.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:N/A
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As you know from past book reviews, I enjoy Christian historical fiction. With Autumn’s Return by Amanda Cabot is one of those books. I wanted to read it because I have read the first two books in the Westward Winds series (Book 1 and Book 2). This book was about Elizabeth Harding, the youngest sister in the Harding family.
Elizabeth Harding is a female doctor in Cheyenne, Wyoming during the 1800′s. I appreciated her fortitude to do what she felt called to do despite the disapproval of many. Women doctors were not popular or accepted easily in that time in history. Dr. Harding’s fortitude is something I could use a good dose of on my bad days! Ha! I also related to her struggle as a working woman and her fears and concerns over having a family with her chosen profession. She had working mom guilt before she was even a mother, but I think many of us must struggle with this when we choose to work or are forced to because of circumstances out of our control.
Dr. Harding showed godly character when she chose to treat the ladies of one of the local brothels. She treated them with respect and dignity despite their profession. I think this is something lacking in today’s Christianity. As Christians or followers of Christ, we are called to love, yet there’s still so much hatred in the world against those who may be different from us and that’s not just outside the church it is within it as well.
I enjoyed the friendship between her and Jason. I think friendship should be the basis of any romantic interest and like it when it’s portrayed in that light.
The book wasn’t all a bed of roses. Mystery, murder and deceit were woven into the plot to spice up the book and make it more than just a romance novel. Don’t get me wrong it was not a mystery novel but it definitely those elements made it more than just another boring romance.
Was the book predictable? Admittedly, yes. Was it interesting? I’d have to say so since I like reading about that time period. Was it one of my favorite books to read? No, not really, but I enjoyed it and give it a thumbs up.
Faith and Family Reviews received a copy of this book in exchange for a review. All thoughts and opinions are our own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lady doc with few patients but patience....

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With Autumn's Return by Amanda Cabot is a captivating book about a young woman doctor fresh out of medical school, opening up her practice in Cheyenne, Wyoming, in the late 1800's. Elizabeth Harding is confident that the people in the town will welcome a new doctor. However, things don't turn out as planned as she learns that prejudices against women doctors doesn't just exist in the east.
She is quite patient, though, and eventually wins over many in the town. She is even able to win over her neighbor, Jason Nordling, who was so rude upon her arriving in town.
Then they both work as a team to discover the truth behind a murder. Amanda always thought that choosing the profession of a doctor would mean no man would ever want to marry her. As her practice grows as she becomes more busy does she have time to love? Can she perhaps have both? Or does she need to face the reality of the profession she has chosen?
This was an engaging read that I thoroughly enjoyed. I loved the historical setting, and the peek inside the changing of practicing medicine during this time period. Elizabeth is an easy character to like, and she is surrounded by some loveable and totally unloveable characters. There is a little girl named Rose that stole my heart! The book has history, romance, intrigue, and mystery all woven together in a wonderful read. This is the third in a series, however it stands alone as a great read. I haven't read the other two in the series, but I plan on fixing that, and soon! This was an enjoyable read, and I definitely recommend it. This is the first time I've read a book by Amanda Cabot; I'm looking forward to reading more!
I was given this book through The Book Club a Network for my honest opinion which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doctor, Lawyer and Romance

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Cabot in her new book, “With Autumn’s Return” Book Three in the Westward Winds series published by Revell takes us into the life of Elizabeth Harding.
From the Back Cover: She’s planning on instant success. She didn’t plan on love.
Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne, Wyoming, to establish her medical practice thanks to the wooing of her two older sisters who extolled the beauty of the land. She’s certain she’ll have a line of patients eager for her expertise and gentle bedside manner. However, she soon discovers the town and its older doctor may not welcome a new physician. Even more frustrating, the handsome young attorney next door may not be ready for the idea of a woman doctor. For his part, Jason Nordling has nothing against women, but he’s promised himself that the woman he marries will be a full-time mother.
Despite their firm principles, Elizabeth and Jason find that mutual attraction–and disdain from the community–is drawing them ever closer. And when the two find themselves working to save the life and tattered reputation of a local woman, they’ll have to decide how far they’re willing to go to find justice–and true love.
The medical and legal professions are all skillfully woven together in ”With Autumn’s Return”. This time the focus is on Elizabeth as she attempts to become the first woman doctor in Cheyenne. Jason is the lawyer and he has definite feelings about the place of a woman stemming from his childhood. Now the two have to work together against all sorts of obstacles to save a life and find the truth. On top of all of this there is the romance. This book will keep you guessing and turning pages leaving chores unattended and it is so worth it. Ms. Cabot is an excellent writer and makes all her characters believable and you care deeply for them as she deftly unfolds the plot before us. I am sorry to see this series come to an end but I am sure Ms. Cabot has new adventures awaiting us in her next series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Feisty Female Doctor locks horns with Attorney

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vickie McDonough
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Dr. Elizabeth Harding goes west to Wyoming, she’s certain she’ll have more patients than she can handle. But she soon realizes that the prejudice toward female doctors is just the same as it is back east.
Attorney Jason Nordling thinks women belong at home. The pretty doctor next door catches his attention, but he’d never take a second look at a woman who preferred a career over a family.
When one of Elizabeth’s patients is suspected of committing a heinous crime, she and Jason must work together to prove her innocence. Will Jason recognize what a jewel Elizabeth is before he loses her?
With Autumn’s Return is a heart-warming story of a woman determined to make a difference. Jason is a hurting hero with wounds inflicted on him as a child. Readers will love both characters and how they clash and mesh throughout the story. There is also a sweet secondary romance that readers will also enjoy. As usual, Amanda Cabot does a wonderful job of vividly portraying the Old West town and its townsfolk. This sweet romance, with some intrigue and delicious sparks between hero and heroine, finishes off Cabot’s Westward Winds series with a satisfying read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for With Autumn's Return (Westward Winds Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A gentle lovestory

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Cabot's With Autumn's Return is book 3 in the Westward Winds series. Even with Summer of Promise and Waiting for Spring coming before it, With Autumn's Return was a joy to read as a stand alone book. If Cabot's first two books in this series, are as good as this book I am certain I will love them just as much.
Amanda Cabot has written such a gentle love story. As such, it was just the vacation my soul needed. I have to agree with Kim Vogel Sawyer, as quoted on the back cover of the book “One thing I know to expect when I open an Amanda Cabot novel is heart”. This statement perfectly describes what I found and felt as I read this book.
The ease with which Elizabeth and Jason related, after their initial meeting, and the thoughtfulness they had for each other was so easy and kind. All of the dynamics; the situation at Phoebe's Bordello, the relationship between Gwen and Harrison, the expected arrival of Elizabeth's sisters, and the joint purpose that Elizabeth and Jason found, were intertwined and masterfully written by Amanda Cabot. It was easy to imagine myself as one of the residents of this town standing in the shadows just watching the story unfold.
If you like feeling that you are a part of the plot, and enjoy reading the type of book I described above, you will want to run to the bookstore and pick up With Autumn's Return as soon as you can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>