Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Focus Publications Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy

Christian Focus Publications Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy

Meditating on two portions of scripture each day with applications relevant for today's Christian, Spurgeon's characteristic comments hit home with a wit and elegance rarely found in other writings. This edition of his beloved and classic Morning and Evening is featured in a high quality diary-style finish with a matte burgundy cover. The gold gilded-edges, with presentation page and bookmark, make this luxurious, unabridged edition perfect for gift giving, or for your own personal devotion time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Review 1 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best devotional found!

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
randy
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The print is bold throughout, no fading at all. Cover is of good quality. Spurgeons morning and evening is the best devotional I have found yet! I recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite devotional book

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Regenia
Location:Linden, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book. It touches my heart. I can see why they called C. H. Spurgeon the prince of preachers. I have given copies to my loved ones and best friends. It is the best devotional I have ever read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome study tool

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
IDEAL
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a gift for my sister who Receives it online and really likes his work. She was so happy to get it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nice Way to Begin the Year

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charles Spurgeon is one of those names that Christians hear about over and over. I read these as a new Christian years ago but am delighted with the updated language of this version. It still preserves the original feel without being hard to understand. I read mine last year and bought more for my children this Christmas. It was a great way to start the year. Also, we all remarked on how lovely the "leather" cover is. It's just a pretty book, with something worth reading on the inside.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a beautiful devotional!

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Rasmusson
Location:CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a beautiful devotional! I purchased this for myself, & a gold one for my husband for Christmas. We love this updated version of Charles Spurgeon's Morning & Evening. The cover is very much like leather, imprinted very nicely, & the font & layout of the book as very beautiful. The devotionals are meaty with Scripture references, & consistent in their content. It is medium sized & makes a great giftbook for anyone. Couldn't be happier with this purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

absolutely wonderful

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
tracy7506
Location:Crown Point, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for wisdom and great spiritual insight in a short devotional setting, this is the source to have. Spurgeon lived in the last century, but his God-given insights are just as relevant today as when he first gave them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:East Taunton, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality & appearance of this book are extremely attractive and worthy of great care. My expectations were exceeded and I find the author to be of great insight and help with my daily devotions to my Lord & Savior. I always look for ways to advance my education and faith through teachings and writings of the Word and greatly renowned scholars both past and present. Thank you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobeseeley
Location:Fort Laudedale, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better then most devotionals, I have seen, much more to my self understanding, and very direct.
Unlike sugar coated instructions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great devotional

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Van Dyke
Location:Rochester, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank you so very much for sending this product..it was a gift but had another one so know of its quality and blessings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
rose paoletti
Excellent! Spurgeon was so gifted at sharing his love for Christ and it really comes through in this devotional and throughout the rest of his writings. God blessed me through reading this book- I always get so much out of reading it. This copy is really beautiful in particular- and it's compact enough to fit in your purse so you can take it on the go. You'll love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Don King
I read this little book every morning and night and it just warms my heart I highly recomend this book to every one. I am going to be giving these to my family for gifts, as this will bless anyone who reads it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
This review is fromMorning and Evening.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aggie
I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to "chew" on some truly deep and spiritual scriptural commentary. Spurgeon, while sometimes difficult to understand and digest, is a man after God's own heart. I have been challenged, convicted and even comforted by His Godly insight. This is a good jumping off point for a daily quiet time with God. Keep this book close by and be amazed how God will speak to you through His servant, Spurgeon.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Glass
This a an exceptionally beautiful, quality, leather book. I have the book in hardback, but ordered this as a gift. I am delighted to give such an inspiring, wonderful book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Cowden
This product is sturdy, beautiful, and handy in size. The print is small to my middle aged eyes, but clear when I have my glasses on. My children, who usually avoid bible reading, enjoy the short, to the point, biblical messages each day. The print is easy to read for them. Well worth the money! Products came much sooner than expected and in perfect condition. Always a pleasure to shop at Christianbook.com. Thank you for your service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Morning & Evening - Matte Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betsy Dettloff
This is like nothing you've ever read before. You could meditate on it all day long and not exhaust the content of one page. I've been reading this daily for five years now. Amazingly, every day it "registers" with what is going on in my heart and life that day. If I miss a day and go back, I see how it would have fit that day and how blessed I could have been had I read it. Get this, you will be glad.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.