Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word For Today Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey

Word For Today Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey

Meant to be read alongside the Bible, these verse-by-verse guides provide a concise, practical overview of Scripture. They include definitions of common Hebrew and Greek words; excerpts from Smith's Calvary Chapel Distinctives; maps, charts, and diagrams; and study questions to test your knowledge of each book. 496 pages total, two softcovers from The Word for Today.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Review 1 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was an amazing value.

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
peggy2myfriends
Location:Hesperia, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good study companion. I used it at our Bible Study at our home and recommended it to everyone there. Pastor Chuck Smith was my pastor for many years when I lived in the Costa Mesa area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product was not exactly what i was expecting

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marsha Anderson
Location:Aliance, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these books for my own personal use and will work for now. If I was using them to use in preparing lessons they would not be of much use. Some chapters only touch on 1 or 2 verses in the whole chapter. I get more use from the study section in my Bible. The only thing I have found helpful is the meaning of some names. I came really close to returning them, but decided to use them the little bit I can, but I will be looking for something much better next year for my Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful Bible Study Aids

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Connie HJ
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family have found these to be great tools in our family bible study efforts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful tool to have when reading my Bible.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The verse by verse study and the key word definitions really help me understand my Bible. The maps also help me paint a picture of how the locations were back then. All in all, this is a great resource to have for anyone who wants to study the Word of God more thoroughly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quick shipping

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blainette
Location:Jamestown, Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my order quickly and am enjoying adding to my bible study! Great addition to my study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really well done.

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ariel
Location:Calgary
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a new-ish Christian who is taking on reading the Bible cover to cover for the first time, these two books are like gold. They are able to give me background knowledge of events, and extrapalate on ideas and words found in the bible. I'm not so much a fan of the work pages at the end of each chapter, but they are easy enough to skip. All in all a really great tool for when I am reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dyana Welch
I haven't had the opportunity to delve in too deeply yet. However, I believe I will find it to be very beneficial in my individual Bible study.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liz Doud
They were not what I thought they would be, but they are still a nice set of books to have. Chuck Smith can not write anything bad.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
These books are a great study tool. They give you great questions and facts to whet your appetite for the word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Old and New Testament Study Guide Set: Genesis Through Revelation verse-by-verse Survey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Sylvester
When I found out that Pastor Chuck wrote this verse-by-verse guide I just had to have it! I LOVE all the little extras that he has in this i.e., the maps, explanation of words, etc. An excellent addition to my study library and easily fits in my backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.