Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family Radio Broadcast A Man Called Norman I-II

Focus on the Family Radio Broadcast A Man Called Norman I-II

On this classic Focus on the Family program, the Rev. Mike Adkins tells the humorous and poignant story of his efforts to befriend and share the Gospel with his neighbor Norman, who was a recluse and a social outcast.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Man Called Norman I-II
Review 1 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
St Mary
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the story and purchased it for my son who has befriended someone like Norman. It would be better if the two days were edited into one story and leave out part of the broadcasting parts. The story is wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Radio version of story

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bro Tim
Location:Springfield, Mo.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is Focus on the Family Radio broad cast of the story that was told on video. The story is POWERFUL and a great testimony of God's loving work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

rebroadcast with interruptions

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
vernamay
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I believe this is a rebroadcast. I purchased the CD because I had once owned the tape version. This rebroadcast contains too much talking by the commentators. The message stands alone and I would have prefered to here all of Mike Adkins without all the comments. In addition, I distinctly remember the first version. And this version has portions deleted, probably to make time for commentators. It is still worth a listen, but the original was much better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very inspirational and entertaining story!

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris O
Location:Ford City, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew of a man named Lee who was mentally challenged. His community took care of him and he moved from home to home, living as a member of each family, until he died an old man. The Bible says that you care for Christ when you care for the less fortunate. Norman's story was inspirational and riveting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A man called Norman

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy Ray
Location:Hesperus, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A funny, loving tribute to a man others had misunderstood and was not given a chance because he was "weird Norman". Makes you laugh, cry and change your ways with other people when you start to see them as God does. Love! Highly recommend this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving and inspiring.

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Eastpointe, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally I heard this broadcast on Focus on the Family. It has touched my life so I ordered it and have had my family listen to this message as well. My son is autistic and it hit home in a very personal way. I hope others who hear this message remember to be sensitive and caring to those around them - we are all created by God in a unique way and we all have something to contribute!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great story,touches the heart.

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
racerbob
Location:Troutdale,OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a touching story. It is a great example of the great commandment. It motivates us to be aware of those around us and meet the needs of those who otherwise would be ignored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great true story.

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone should find someone a little different and befriend them. It will make the person feel that someone cares about them and you will be greatly blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the order very prompt, & it was packaged well.
I was so glad to find the "A man called Norman" story on your site! It will make a great gift for our son, who grew up listening to his cassette tape over and over. I believe that it helped him be the compassionate person that he still is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Story...Problematical Interruptions

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Location:Belton, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story was wonderful; however, the constant program interruptions were quite distracting. I appreciate Mike Adkins heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judi
Location:Madison, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hope and pray that there are millions of stories out there like this one that are true and I just have not heard them yet. It would be so reassuring to know there are millions of people out there that love the Lord as much as Mike did and to see what God can do when we are willing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
miss v
Location:Corydon IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The first time I heard A Man Called Norman on Focus on the Family I ordered it. I really loved the story told by Mike Adkins and how it relates to people and the opinions they have of others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:Jefferson City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard this many years ago and wanted my hustand to hear it, also. It's very funny, yet an inspiring story for all to re-evaluate our own personal walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Feiok
I loved this CD and have been sharing it with everyone I can think of. It really made me think about others less fortunate than I and the many things they could teach me. Thank you for offering this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Vaccaro
Enjoyed this CD so much. Does make you look at your neighbors differently. Good lesson on humbling yourself for God's glory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Williams
After a recent discussion with a coworker about this broadcast, I decided to loan my CD with this recording to her. Imagine my dismay when I realized I have loaned to someone and it has not been returned. For a moment, I was thought a primal scream was warranted. This account of agape love is a classic and should be heard annually, to remind us of our responsibility to those who are the least among us. I am ordering a replacement today. >
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Bush
I have loved this story since the first time I heard it. It is a real emotional roller coaster.The movie is also great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Irene Niemyer
I was expecting the video not audio disc. It is still good listening but I would not have purchased it if I had known it was just the Radio Broadcast.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Randa Tiner
I work in an agency that works with the disabled and elderly. I had seen this in Junior High about 15 years ago. I decided to show it to my staff (caseworkers) and show them how it could be used in our job as well. It was a wonderful opportunity for christianity to be used in the workplace. It was wonderful! Everyone was teary eyed and the discussion was great on how we should show respect, intergrity, safety, and things that we do in our job. We deal with Norman's in our work every day and I am so thankful to see such a great example like this. Someone made the suggestion of how Mike had met his physical needs before he shared Jesus and how impressive that was. What truth to that. The bible was not shoved down his throat, but shown by his actions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Man Called Norman I-II
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Pickett
This is a life changing message that challenges Christains to get out of their comfort zone and really practice what Jesus always intended us to do in his precious, holy, name. Until we are willing to be ministries to "the Normans in our lives" we are falling very short of what Jesus has planned for us to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>