Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Biblical Studies Press NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Biblical Studies Press NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black

The NET Bible is a completely new translation of the Bible with 60,932 translators' notes! It was completed by more than 25 scholars—experts in the original biblical languages—who worked directly from the best currently available Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek texts.

Turn the pages and see the breadth of the translators' notes, documenting their decisions and choices as they worked. The translators' notes make the original languages far more accessible, allowing you to look over the translators' shoulder at the very process of translation.

This level of documentation is a first for a Bible translation, making transparent the textual basis and the rationale for key renderings (including major interpretive options and alternative translations). This unparalleled level of detail helps connect people to the Bible in the original languages in a way never before possible without years of study of Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek. It unlocks the riches of the Bible's truth from entirely new perspectives.

Features
  • Extensive notes consisting of translation, study, and textual commentary
  • NET Bible Concordance
  • 9-point text
  • Stunning full-color satellite maps and geographical phtography
  • Index to Net Bible maps
  • Double column text
  • Section headings
  • Abbreviations, cited works and manuscripts used
  • Detailed Table of Contents
  • 10 pages of black and white maps
  • Smythe sewn binding for durability
  • Cromwell premium bonded leather binding
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Review 1 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nanoo
Location:Morden, Manitoba Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with the NET Bible and a little overwhelmed when I realized that I had thousands of interpretations at my disposal. The type is a good size and it makes an excellent study Bible. I have nor regrets with this purchase. I am just beinning to use it so am unable to comment on how it will support my regular Bible Study. I am sure, however, in first review, it will be an integral part of my study over the coming years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for Study

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Becker
Location:Blue Springs, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying that the NET is not my favorite bible translation; i generally prefer a Bible that is more word-for-word. However, the NET Study Bible is a fantastic study tool. When the text strays away from a more literal translation, the footnotes provide the original and often a commentary on why the selected translation was used. The notes are organized very coherently, and this makes it a great tool for personal study, especially for those who have little grasp on the original languages.
Overall, regardless of whether or not you prefer the NET, there is no arguing with the fact that this study Bible is of immense value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
LisaW
Location:Mid-Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible. Lots of extra study information for those who want it, though it would probably be overwhelming to a new believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good quality bible

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
khrisb
Location:Trinidad and Tobago
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bonded leather of this Bible is smoother than usual but it feels good to the touch. Its in my opinion too large to carry to church meetings. It is very good for personal study but I miss the red letters though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Translations and useful notes for Pastors!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matress44
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great translation and very useful in scholarly study. I have read from other sources even the NIV translator team referenced this Bible for additional clarity! Easy to read and I use it often. I wish they would offer a genuine leather cover that is not $99.00! I bought the Premium Bonded Leather and it is nice, not cheap or plastic feeling and sturdy, but still pliable. Binding is very nice as well. Buy this bible you won't be disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kenneth
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had enjoyed using the online version of the NET Bible for some time. The printed version is exactly what I had expected. It's a great study Bible. I especially like the translators notes.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong's Exhaustive Concordance can have a rest...

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cecilia Torres
Location:South Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using it for a few weeks now.
If you are one of those who is always looking for the meaning of words in the original language, you have found a gold mine with this Bible. The commentaries as to why a certain word was chosen to translate from the original language's word will enhance your understanding so much more! Concordances provide you with the cut-and-dry method of checking through numbers the equivalency of a word. This Bible tells you "why" a word was chosen. Truly priceless.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study bible

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really surprised by the notes. Not a bible to take to church to follow sermons, but certainly one to study about the sermon later !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well described

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
rzebmom
Location:Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my initial thought: larger and thicker than imagined, however with the great amount of descriptives contained within, it's easily explained.
i will use the bible for home use as [due to it's size] would be cumbersome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was better then I had hoped for

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
thundercloud
Location:Carmel, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was nice and thick which is what I did not know. I have already used it in the preparing of my sermons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frank Prescott
I have used this bible for 3-4 years. It is an excellent translation. The translators notes are incredible. I do not know Hebrew or Greek but can read through all of that and still make sense of what is being said. The study notes (sn) are also very helpful. It is a new translation, not a revision of another translation. I will read differently but it does not alter any meaning of scripture. Modern English and no archaic phrasing or words. I use this along side of my Holman Christian Standard Bible on a regular basis. The CD included is great for running the NET Bible on the computer. I especially like their translation philosophy. This translation is completely free to use, quote and share (the CD also) to as many as you want.The quality of this Bible is very good too.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keizo Sasaki
This bible is not well known but excellent, quite interesting and full of detailed notes at every page of translation and so forth. Translation is fresh and gives new light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Many would assume that this edition is meant especially for those in ministry or those who know the original languages but this isn't the case. The translators' notes of the first Edition are meant to help people get a better idea of what the original languages said and of the translation process that went into the NET Bible. Personally I love the extensive translators' notes of this edition, they are very useful and interesting. Even though I can't read Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek I still find the notes fascinating and comprehensible, although I'm sure someone with knowledge of the the original languages would find this edition even more helpful. Many times I find myself using this Bible along side other study Bibles to get a better idea of what the original languages said. This edition lays flat while reading, which is very helpful when studying or while comparing translations. The Net Bible First Edition is a good choice for study because of the extensive translators' notes and the wonderful maps.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Tuggle
The NET Bible is of the best quality and truly in a class of its own. The translator notes gives you a "behind the scenes" view. As far as I can see the comments and notes are fair and honest. The Bible that I purchased included the CD. The CD accents the Bible in many different ways. So, it is best purchased together if you are able. Everyone as christains needs this Bible and or CD to know the: what, when, how, why, where, and becauses of the Bible. With cults, unchurched, and even churched, people need to know the reasons for our faith and the honesty of translations from the manuscripts. I found this Bible through the neXt(no typo) Bible online. These resources together will give you a full plate and true understanding in Gods Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Craig Taylor
I love the bible... HOWEVER the bible (which I paid extra for fast delivery) has spinal cracks along the inside of the first few pages. now if I send it back, I don't want to do, because I will loose the time I paid for fast delivery. Who knows how long it will be before I will get it back!! So my advice is if the people making the bible wants to charge $50 for it it should be inspected for things like that. THIS IS NOT THE SELLERS ISSUE. it is a manufacturer's issue! So I would give this bible a 5 STAR rating except for the issue of the defects!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruby
I have been waiting a long time to find the right study bible for me. I like the NET Translation. I have been going to the NET Website and I fell in love with the translation. I also bought this bible for the translators' notes, which are extensive. I love it, and I like the size of this bible. Others have said that it is too large to carry to a bible study, I don't agree. It is just perfect.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anne Glensherrill
I think you will be hard pressed to find a better Bible for this amount of money. It is very well made period. For me the notes, maps, references and tools, push it to the top of the over sixty Bibles I own. Buy it, you will not regret it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leonard Edloe
I read about this Bible in the Logos magazine Bible Study. It lived up to the review. Great for Bible Study and preparation for preaching
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Lee, Sr.
This Bible was on my wish list for quite awhile. I put off buying it because there was no discount. I kept waiting for a price reduction. What I can tell you is the price reduction is built in. This Bible is huge and top quality in every way. Easily worth double the retail price. And the CD that comes with it is frosting on the cake. This Bible immediately became my favorite and I own 50 or more Bibles. I love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NET Bible First Edition, Premium Bonded Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patty Stoner
The Bible is much larger in size than I would prefer. It is a good reference Bible and does have excellent notes and guides. But it is not the size you would carry to a study or church -- it is too large
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>