Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. The Child's Story Bible

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. The Child's Story Bible

Originally published in 1935, this beloved Bible storybook is still a favorite with today's children, parents, and teachers (including Ruth Bell Graham). More than 200 stories from the Old and New Testaments are retold in simple language appropriate for 4- to 12-year-olds, while remaining faithful to Scripture. Also, the colorful illustrations enhance the text.
Average Customer Rating:
4.926 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Child's Story Bible
Review 1 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr Dee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful story Bible unlike any other. It reads like a child's storybook going chapter by chapter through the Bible. We have only been reading it for a week and I have learned as much as my daughter. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best Bible storybook ever !

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mama
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We own and have read many children's storybook Bibles. There is none that can compare to this one. It is really like the Bible, with the wording adjusted and stories expanded at a level that is both so engaging and understandable. I actually enjoy reading it as much as my children love to listen and I've learned from it ! It is now the only children's storybook Bible I will purchase for a gift and the only one we need in our home. Fantastic ! You won't be disappointed !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Children's Story Bible Ever!!

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
mimom26
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loves this story Bible! It is so easy to understand and accurate with all the details~ something many children's Bibles lack. Probably suited for age 5 and up~ my teenagers still enjoy hearing the stories!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonya Brouillette
Every family should own this Bible. Biblically sound retelling. AMAZING! We read it at meal time, and my children ask for "just one more chapter". I purchase it for everyone I know that has a child. It is my standard gift of choice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Cook
Wonderful Bible to use with teaching my Kindergarten Sunday School Class. Easy to read. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chelsey Araujo
Love this book! My kids love it too! Really captures a young child's attention, and so fun and interesting to read! We were going to read just one chapter a day, but we couldn't stop reading. You won't want to put this one down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Thomsen
The Bible storys writen in a story form are captivating my boys-8 and 7. They know the bible storys we are reading in the Vos Story Bible but the storys provoke a different questiion for my boys-one that is deaper. The Story Bible also creates a fun time for all of us to read large concepts God is trying to give us but easier for my boys to grasp. Love this book. Our Home school co-op interduced it to me and I am soooo glad I got it. It is a must right next to my Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane Wright
I bought this Bible as a gift for my grandchildren - everyone loves it, parents included!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Tomisser
Our sons were given this book as little boys in the 70s. Wonderful book from Genesis to Revelation - We are now reading it to their children and bought them each their own copy. They love the stories and family time is enriched.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Molly Loder
What a fabulous addition to our library! We are a home-school family, primarily Charlotte Mason method, and bought this as it was highly recommended on several CM reading lists - it is also recommended in "Honey for a Child's Heart" by Gladys Hunt, with her description: "First published 60 years ago and still going! For All Ages". My husband (a pastor) and I have read several of the stories and plan to make it part of our daily morning devotions for our 5-yr-old twins and 8-year-old this fall. For kids anywhere in the 4-9 age range, this is a fabulous alternative when the Bible stories are either too long or too confusing to hold their attention completely, but you still want something that holds true to the original text. It's not "watered down," just condensed enough to read each story in one sitting and still have the kids get something out of it. 110 Old Testament Chapters, ranging from "Chapter 1: In the Beginning God" to "Chapter 110: Nehemiah, the Governor of Jerusalem" and 92 New Testament Chapters, ranging from "Chapter 1: The Priest Who Could Not Talk" to "Chapter 92: The Visions of the Apostle John". Each story is 1-3 pages (readable in one sitting) and there are several illustrations throughout. Also includes a glossary of "tough biblical words explained" in more "kid-friendly" terms. Highly recommend - great quality hardcover collection, huge value for the price, an heirloom for your kids to read to THEIR kids in years to come!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
C. S. Burgess
I absolutely love this book. It is the Bible but with an easy to follow story format. We read daily from it for our Bible lesson for homeschooling and I have also used in Children's Church and for my AWANA Cubbies. The kids stay interested in the story and learn so much. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Mckinney
My son is in 1st grade at a classical Christian school. His teacher recommended this book for him to read at home because he has been wanting to read the complete Bible, but it is too challenging. He is a very good reader, and this book provides a nice challenge for him. It is excellent -- allows him to read the Bible in a easier format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Reed
This bible nicely combines the story-telling part of the bible with the accuracy of the scripture. It is a wonderful transition from preschool devotionals for my 1st grader. We both really like it!! The illustrations are a bit dated, but it somehow wouldn't seem right to modernize them too much either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Thornhope Church Of Christ
I was very pleased with this book. It was recommended by the late Ruth Bell Graham, who was a remarkable woman. After reading it and giving it to other people with children, I have nothing but praise for this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Mclouth
My family used this book for years.We read it at the table every night after supper.Those memories are very precious to me.I bought this book for my daughters family and I pray that it will mean as much to them as it has to me and my siblings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melissa Palmer
My children love this bible!!! We homeschool and really enjoy our mornings together, its a great start to our day! Its always good when the children ask you to read more!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Virginia Prewett
I have looked a long time for a book of Bible Stories that are faithful to Scripture for my Sunday School Class and Grandchildren.The Child's Story Bible would also make a great gift for a baby shower.Thanks againVirginia Prewett
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
4KleineNederlandsJongens
The Child's Story Bible is exactly what our family was looking for! It keeps the interest of all of our children. (Except the 17 mo. old! But even she will listen and look at the pictures for a FEW minutes!) It has enough detail to interest our 8 yr. old and 6 yr. old, and is still easy enough for our 4 year old to understand. Written in a great "story-telling" style. Simple without being boring. I'd highly recommend it as a "must" for any family who wants to teach their children to love the Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
SavedByGrace
This is an enjoyable book with a strong emphasis on the redemption of Christ for fallen man. The author does take a few liberties in the narrative that aren't exactly Biblical or true, but over all it is a great resource as long as the reader realizes that nothing is gospel truth except for what is found in the Word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Child's Story Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura Brown
A copy of this book was given to me and my sister in 1962 when I was only 3 years old! My mother read to us from this book faithfully to which I credit our love and knowledge of God's Word. I now read from the very same book to my children - ages 9-22. I especially appreciate how it is true to scripture, includes the scripture reference with each story, and is so well written that a young child can understand it, yet an older teenager - or adult - can glean from it without being "talked down to." I know I learn something new every time I read through it! I now keep copies of this precious book on hand to give to new parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>