Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9

Zondervan Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9

When the Israelites left Egypt, they were finally free. Free from persecution, free from oppression, and free to worship their own God. But with that freedom comes a new challenge - learning how to live together the way God intends. In this ninth volume of Faith Lessons, discover how God teaches the Israelites what it means to be part of a community that loves him and the lessons we can begin to live out in our lives today. A leader's guide is included with the DVD. The participant's Discovery Guide is sold separately.

Six Faith Lessons:
  1. 1. The Lord Who Heals You - Red Sea & Sinai
  2. Not by Bread Alone - Sinai
  3. Their Blood Cried Out - Serabit al Khadim
  4. The Mountain of God - Jebel Katarina
  5. I Led You Like a Bride - Jebel Katarina
  6. The Whisper of God - Jebel Katarina
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Review 1 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Sanford
Location:St Cloud, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Connection Group has been using the videos weekly and have learned a great deal through them. It is part of an excellent series. The price has gone up sharply over the previous videos I have purchased, however.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Springdale, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy Ray's insight and presentations. I can see that his interpretations are from a lifetime of study, and I know that I shouldn't envy him, but I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kat R
Location:Norridgewock, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These DVDs are so neat. They just add so much to the insight of what scripture is talking about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Product

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Barlow
Location:Duluth, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own nearly this entire series starting with the first one which was produced in 1993. They are all well suited for small group, Sunday School or individual use. You will benefit from these videos whether you are a new Christian or have been a believer for many years. Ray Vander Laan is a solid theologian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful images and insight into familiar stories

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kenny
Location:VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As always with RVL videos, the deeper meaning of the Biblical text/story is delivered. I have now viewed 6 different Faith Lessons series (about 30 episodes), and love them. I never really felt a need to visit the Holy Land, until I saw these videos. They have impacted my personal relationship with the Lord, and have made for good small group lesson discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought as a gift - have not watched it yet

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
buncoladyj
I bought this as a gift and have not yet seen the video. I'm sure it will be good as I have enjoyed all the other videos in the series.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caryn Frerkes
My husband and I love this DVD. Beautiful on-site scenery combined with teaching that is clear and compelling. Ray VanderLaan has a unique understanding of Jewish customs, history, language as well as the Bible. Extremely well done in every way. Purchased this particular video after hearing an excerpt on Focus on the Family of Ray talking about the Ten Commandments being a marriage contract between God and His chosen people (Lesson 5). Will definitely share with our small group and purchasing additional faith lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janeen Dawson
truth lessons taught using the area where what is discussed took place--makes so much more sense when you put the truth in the time it was taught--looking at what they would have been looking at
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Brown
After having this as a bible study as part of Exodus it was a joy to view and use with the class for a better understanding of what the Israelites went through and how they learned to be a people together.Great scenery, awesome video of the area with some great local interpretation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Del Rio Christian Church
Excellant product. My small group enjoyed it tremendously. The author has a way of bringing the topic to life and bring it into perspective. The fact that it is filmed on location brings the story to life even more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
W. Thomas Bellegante
Our Friday morning men's Bible Study group that seems to struggle with nearly everything, (in a good way), has been greatly enriched by this whole series. From beginner student to Founder of Ministries we all benefit greatly. I don't know whether we are getting better or Ray Vander Laan is getting better but this last series, Fire on the Mountain is as powerful as we have seen. It could only have been better if we were actually there with him. I agree with one of the other reviewers, "I led you like a bride" was especially meaningful. Our group always looks forward to another release.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Abrahamson
What a powerful presentation by Ray Vanderlaan. It is wonderful material for Sunday School or Bible study. It relates our lives to those of the Israelites. Our faith walk is not so different.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice R Cramer
Ray Vanderlaan is a favorite in my adult/somtimes-intergenerational Sunday School class/group. The DVDs are so well done that we are right there, wlaking in the same dirt as those who preceded us. Ray just gets better with every new program.This study is well worth the money and effort to teach it well.I use the Participants' Guide as guide for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Libby G.
The lessons from Fire on the Mountain were absolutely life changing for me! I would & have recommended this to everyone I know! I think especially if you are going through a rough spot in your life, where you feel tested, or discouraged, this is the one for you to watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Don Wilder
This entire series, volumes 1-9 are just an interesting and informative collection. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret Marquardt
I love these faith lessons. Would like to go on one of the trips. The one titled " I Led You Like a Bride" is fabulous. What a wonderful way to look at the Ten Commandments. They will always have a newer meaning for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trygve Forsythe
This DVD video series, That The World May Know" is outstanding. I use them for a men's breakfast and for adult Sunday School and as a resource. I have viewed them many times and learn more each time. They are a resource every church should own. This latest one, "Fire On The Mountain" is filmed where one of my favorite Bible leaders in the faith followed God's call. It brings the story of Moses to life. Ray Vander Laan is an exceptional Christian Historian. Pastor Tryg Forsythe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Florence Petrie
The Faith Lessons have been great teaching tools for our small group. We look forward to using Fire On the Mountain in our lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fire on the Mountain DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 9
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary
I could not wait to receive this DVD because I knew it would be worth waiting for. ALL of the "That the World May Know" series are exceptional and this one did not disappoint. I will watch it over and over just like I have with the other 8 lessons and still do. These are worth more than what you pay for!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.