Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan

For two decades, until his death in 1917, Oswald Chambers brought untold richness and depth of insight to the Scriptures through his messages and ministry. His insight still finds a large audience today through the dozens of books that bear his name, such as the much-loved Christian classic My Utmost for His Highest.

The ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible combines 365 days' worth of select readings from the gifted preacher's works with the full text of the fastest-growing English Bible translation—the English Standard Version—to give you a deeper, more meaningful experience of God's Word and a systematic, practical window into relevant Bible passages from Genesis through Revelation.

Features:
  • Daily Reading Plan for reading through the Bible in a year
  • 365-daily devotional readings by Oswald Chambers
  • Scripture Index to the devotionals
  • Subject Index to the devotionals
  • Table of weights, measures, and monetary units
  • 9.5-point type
  • Double-column, paragraph format
  • ESV Concordance
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon marker
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Review 1 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dottie
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was reluctant to buy this Bible because many versions do not hold true to the King James Version which I use daily. This version which is easy to read, compliments the King James Version Bible without changing or confusing the intended message.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
murphymamma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bible. The quality is amazing for the price. And I love the Oswald Chambers devotional readings throughout - so that it can be read in a year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Location:Trenton, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a lovely devotional Bible. Oswald Chambers thoughts are a delightful addition to God Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional Bible

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
GCCAmy
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying the insights and challenges Oswald Chambers gives in this devotional Bible. I am also pleased with the ESV translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good bible

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
outdoors
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bible is a nice size, and seems to have had good workmanship as the cover is nicely made and looks sturdy enough. The print size is good without being too small or too large. It is a brown color which is easier on the eyes. i chose this edition because I wanted one without all of the distractions of study notes and references etc., on the pages. That part is nice. I was expecting something different for the devotional material. It is scattered between the pages of scripture. It is ok, just not what I envisioned. I may have missed that part in the sample pages. Not a problem really. The only catch I have seen is that the last few pages seem misaligned from all of the previous pages, giving the impression they may come loose or come out at some point. They do appear to be attached, just out of alignment from the rest.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Difficult to navigate

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
jmac
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Bible is extremely hard to find passages in because the devotional pages are interspersed randomly throughout the text. It would have been much better if the devotional text was all together at the front or the back. I would have never bought this Bible if I had realized how it is arranged.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent devotional Bible

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Gilchrist
Location:Columbiana, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The overall quality of this product is excellent. The type is easy to read and the size of the Bible is perfect. The devotionals are excellent and help keep on a schedule to read through the Bible in a year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible has many really nice features.

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrandmaP
Location:Hemet, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy Oswald Chambers and was pleased to find his devotions throughout the Bible. I also like the ESV version. When it came I was very pleased with it--though the print is a bit on the light side, but all in all I am very pleased with this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This has an excellent daily devotion

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Alley
Location:Clinton, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend bought me one of these as a gift; it's an excellent way to do your morning devotion AND read thru the Bible in a year. I have always admired Oswald Chambers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki Staudenmyer
A beautifully made Bible, but not quite what I had expected. Chambers insights are always rich and convicting!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, TruTone, Navy/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dwight Coffman
If you love the ESV and you are a fan of Oswald Chambers, what's not to love about this bible that combines the two. The cover actually feels much more expensive than it is. All around great devotional bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.