Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job

Thomas Nelson Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job

Writing in an accessible style, Courson---founder and pastor of the Applegate Christian Fellowship has created a comprehensive verse-by-verse commentary that combines scholarly exposition with practical applications. His fresh insights, ideas for sermons and lessons, and how-to guides also yield a bountiful harvest of devotional reading for clergy or laity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Review 1 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara Glibbery
Even though I truly enjoy listening to John Courson teach the word of God. His commentary left me wanting. I had purchased them to assist me in my personal bible study time. I was in the book of Nehemiah chapter 7 and he ended his commentating at about verse 7 or so and there are 67 verses in that chapter! Guess thats all he had to say bout that?? At any rate it is more of a "devotional" than a commentary so if your wanting a verse by verse commentary for your studies I would pass on this one..sorry brother Jon. I returned them and opted for a Warren Wiersbe set MUCH better!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry C
I purchased the whole set of three books. I have looked at them a little now and I like them. If you want a good set from Jon Courson then I say buy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maryanne Liscio
AMAZING!!!! I reccomend this to EVERYONE! I am now on my third year of reading through the Bible and this commentary has been so helpful and easy to understand. Pastor Coursonmakes the Bible come alive and fun to read!This will be the best purchase you could make!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Wood
Jon Courson has a style of writing that is both scholarly yet very easy to read and understand. This commentary has the King James Version of the Bible in bold with Jon's comments interspersed in normal print. Truly a blessing. Also includes several of Jon's Sunday teachings. You won't be disapointed in this commentary. I find myself primarily using this and J Vernon McGee 90% of the time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Howard
Fresh succinct insights interleaved with the KJV text. I also have the NT commentary and am waiting for CBD to ship the 2nd OT volume. I find myself going to these commentaries frequently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I have all 3 of Courson's application commentaries, new and old testaments. I have several other reference books that are great, but these give me a different, fresh perspective. They help me to understand difficult passages, and to see familiar ones with new insight. These books have really enabled me to personalize scripture. I highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rey
Jon Courson has truely been blessed by God, his insight on the Bible is quite remarkable! I have all 3 volumes and by reading the Bible and the help with his commentary they have opened my eyes on how awesome, loving, Graceful and merciful God really is. I recommend this to all. May God bless you in your reading and understanding HIS WORD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Teresa Coffel
I love listening to Jon Courson on the radio. He is fun to listen to and makes the Bible easy to understand. I had been looking for a Bible commentary and when I found out he had one I decided to get it and I have been enjoying it. I would recommend this series to anyone who really wants to know more about the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Courson's Application Commentary on the Old Testament, Volume 1: Genesis-Job
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Henry
This is a great applicational commentary with some good historical referencing. Jon Courson does an excellent job of taking the Old Testament - no matter where you are - and bringing it into the light of the New. Making it very reachable and applicable to all. Thanks Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.