Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook

Revell Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook

A seamstress at a swanky bridal boutique, Gabi Delgado dreams of doing more than ripping out seams and fitting dresses to doe-eyed brides. She wants to see her own dress designs gracing the young women of Texas. When Jordan Spencer, the editor of Texas Bride magazine visits the shop to do a feature, Gabi is devastated to lose her job in his very influential presence. Convinced she'll never get her dreams off the ground now, Gabi needs lots of encouragement--especially from her friend Bella Neeley--to take a chance and start her business. And as she gets to know Jordan, she discovers that she may have to take a chance on love as well. Could it be that she'll have to design her own wedding dress soon?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laugh Out Loud

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is not a good idea to read The Dream Dress in a public place. Unless you want people looking at you like you are crazy. It starts off with a lot of laugh out loud moments. Oh my goodness! This is the first book I have read by Janice Thompson. I had no idea how funny her books were. The character of Gabi and her friends were hilarious. What a fun movie this book would make. If you need some humor in your life, you need to pick up this book.
Highly recommended. 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
The NerdHerd Reads
Guys. I don't know what it is about this series or this author. It started with the Weddings by Bella series. I was absolutely hooked. There wasn't even a reason why I loved it so much, because it wasn't my usual type of read, but I just did. I fell absolutely, completely in love, and that love has continued to her spin-off series, Weddings by Design. While Bella's series was all about, well, Bella, each book in the Design series has a different MC, and I loved that just as much.
Gabi is an alterations girl by day, closet wedding dress designer by night. She doesn't dare tell her boss, the infamous Demetri *insert pretentious sounding something here*. Until the day she gets humiliatingly fired, in front of a (very cute) reporter, no less.
One of the reasons I like this series so much is the people. I mentioned how I loved Bella's series, and it was most in part to the absolutely crazy, lovable, mixed-up family she had. So I love how the author brings all those people back in. It might seem a little crazy at times (in fact, I would definitely recommend reading Weddings by Bella before this one because of all the people), but that is just part of the charm. I LOVE culture, especially when talking about food ;). So each new MC bringing in her own culture and differences makes it that much more special, and Gabi is no different. I love the family aspect in each story, and absolutely adored Mimi Carmen.
Gabi herself was such a cute character. She was hard-working and sweet and loyal, and just wanted to do what she loved. And Jordan...can someone say sa-woon? I will say, the romance seemed a bit underdeveloped in this one. It seemed to just...happen without any reason or substance. I know that all the romances in this series have seemed to happen really fast since they only got one book instead of three, but this seemed faster than most.
This book had plenty of moments that just made me laugh. Demetri and his "Fab Five", the Splendora Sisters (Lord, help us all), even Guido the parrot has his moment (yes, he's in this book too). I loved Bella, and how she was a part of this one, as well as Scarlet and Hannah from the first two books.
I realize that some people might have problems with this book, in how cheesy it can come across, how everything works out just perfectly, how Gabi's fascination with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers is overdone, especially considering Scarlet did the same thing with Lucy in The Icing on the Cake. And, even I will admit that this is all true. But I don't care. This book just made me really, really happy. I have no doubts about giving it the rating I did, because when it comes down to it, this book did exactly what a book is supposed to do. It entertained, it made me laugh, it made me swoon, it made me just all-around happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Dream Dress a Dream finish to a great series!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
slglankow
Location:Stewardson, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson has done it again!!! With her wit, charm, and delightful skill as a storyteller Thompson has ended another wonderful and delightful trilogy Weddings by Design. In this final book, we meet wedding dress designer Gabi. She is a wonderful character who dreams of someday being more than she is. With a wonderful cast of characters to help Gabi along, including our beloved ones from the Weddings By Bella series, she starts on a journey of self worth. She learns that her Father in heaven is always there for her, she learns what true loves really looks like, and she learns that dreams can come true. If you want a funny, wonderful, heart-warming story read the entire series Weddings By Design. This ending book is perfect! As always, I can't wait for more by this great author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dream Dress is the third book in the Weddings by Design series by Janice Thompson and reconnecting with the characters from the first two books was great! There are also some interesting new characters that are thrown into the mix that makes the plot just zing along. Ms. Thompson delivers in spades when it comes to a good clean romance read,peppered with great humor while providing interesting characters that are dealing with real life issues. Gabi Delgado is a character that is so easy to connect with, she is someone who dreams of designing her own dresses, but finds herself stuck working as an assistant to someone who doesn't really value her, things get worse though when she loses her job and the timing couldn't have been worse because Jordan Spencer, the editor of Texas Bride magazine is there to witness it all. This character seemed so real, with her self doubt, being something that she needed to overcome. The relationship that she has with God was quite refreshing. I loved that she had friends that were there to help encourage her. Her growth and change blossomed as the story progressed. Of course since it's a romance one can't help but wonder where things will go between Jordan and Gabi. Anyone who enjoys romance laced with humor, very relatable characters and good christian theme woven through will enjoy not only The Dream Dress but the entire series!
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another quirky, fun-loving, release from Thompson!
Whenever I need a pick-me-up I run straight to Thompson's books. In moments I'll be laughing my head off while cheering on whoever I'm reading about. In The Dream Dress we get to know Gabi, someone we met in The Icing on the Cake. I love all the many angles of the wedding business and, though my favorite is probably photography, I did like getting into Gabi's head and watching her create. Create is such a lovely word, isn't it? Moving on...
My heart broke for Gabi over and over again. The poor girl didn't get any breaks! However, the reoccurring reference to Cinderella might have made me smile once or twice- only because I saw the truth of it. I felt like Gabi's story is a perfect example of overcoming one's past, letting old wounds heal, and leaning on the Lord for strength. This is what makes The Dream Dress my new favorite but stick around because it will probably change again. Haha!
As far as male leads go, Jordan was great. He always showed up when Gabi needed a boost and when she needed a little nudging toward God. Something else I really liked about he and Gabi's relationship was how it began with friendship, stepped toward innocent flirting, and then danced to a deeper relationship. ;-)
This brings me to the close. I'm always happy and excited to read one of Thompson's books and this one was no disappointment. I hope we get to visit Galveston again soon!! I recommend this book to romantic comedy lovers out there. Aside from a few winks to the wedding night and some kissing, Thompson keeps the book clean.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Trip Back to Galveston

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dream Dress is the third book in Janice Thompson's Weddings by Design series, and follows the romance of Gabi Delgado who's a closet dress designer relegated to the alterations room of Galveston's Haute Couture Bridal Shop. On the side, she dreams of designing gowns of her own style for brides, like the one she's creating for her friend Scarlet (heroine of Icing on the Cake, Thompson's previous book in the series). Maybe one day her high-maintenance boss, Demetri Markowitz, will see she has talents of her own and promote her to the design team.
Gabi's issues include the fact that her father abandoned her family when she was a child. She has difficulty trusting men. She also feels unworthy to succeed. After all, if she were any good, her father wouldn't have left.
On the day Jordan Singer, reporter for Texas Bride magazine, shows up at Haute Couture to do a piece on Galveston's upcoming high society wedding, everything goes wrong. The bride has the fancy gown on and doesn't like it, Scarlet shows up with chocolate eclairs and Gabi manages to trip and get chocolate on the gown…and Demetri fires her.
Jordan realizes it wasn't Gabi's fault and tries to make things up to her. As he continues work on the article and connects with the various wedding vendors on Galveston (Bella and crew), he tries to convince Gabi of her creative skills and that all men are not like her father.
This single point-of-view, first person contemporary romance story will speak to any woman who struggles with her self-worth, for whatever reason. But it isn't all deep and serious. Thompson's signature humor shines through like a sunshiney day. If you like stories about the wedding biz and stories where the characters show development and growth, you'll enjoy The Dream Dress.
I received a copy of this book from Graf-Martin Communications for the purpose of a review. Opinions are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wedding Dress Designer, Destiny and Romance

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson in her new book, “The Dream Dress” Book Three in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Gabi Delgado.
From the back cover: Big dreams take big leaps of faith . . . but what if you trip on the way?
A lowly seamstress at a swanky bridal boutique, Gabi Delgado dreams of doing more than ripping out seams and fitting dresses to doe-eyed brides. She wants to see her own original dress designs gracing the young women of Texas. But when Jordan Singer, reporter forTexas Bride magazine, visits the shop to do a feature, Gabi is humbled in his influential–and unnervingly handsome–presence.
Convinced she’ll never get her dreams off the ground now, Gabi needs lots of encouragement–especially from her friend Bella Neeley–to take a chance and start her business. And as she gets to know Jordan, she discovers that she may have to take a chance on love as well.
Gabi Delgado is a dress designer who daily works hemming and altering other designer’s wedding dresses for soon to be brides. To take a person with the talent to design dresses and turn her into a seamstress is a lot like bottling an active volcano. Sooner or later something is going to blow. Welcome back to Galveston Island and a whole new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Jordan Singer is a reporter for Texas Brides magazine and when he meets Gabi here comes the beginning of the blow. During the course of this story we watch her grow and mature and step into her destiny one step at a time. Plus there is also dancing involved. This book is all about embracing who you are and who God called you to be. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. Have fun by looking at the chapter titles they are all either Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movies or song titles. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2014
The first book by Janice Thompson I read was Fools Rush In. It is from the Weddings By Bella series which is the precursor for this series. My whole book club loved it because it was so widely appealing. It had depth and humor.
This new series, Weddings by Design, and in particular The Dream Dress continues that great writing style of Janice's that we have all come to love and expect. This particular book focuses in on Gabi Delgado, a wanna be wedding dress designer consigned to being the alterations girl at a prestigious salon.
Gabi is somewhat patiently biding her time trying to work her way up to being a designer. The situation seems pretty bleak but she is determined. Then one day along comes Jordan Singer, a reporter from a well known magazine, and her world turns upside down.
This book strikes just the right cord. There are new characters to get to know, family members that you want for your own, and old friends that you can catch up with from past books. The women at Haute Couture Bridal are an interesting group and the boss Demetri Markowitz keeps everyone hopping. Gabi's grandmother, Mimi Carmen, is an absolute delight. Who wouldn't want a grandma like that? Bella and the whole crew at Club Wed are so much fun to be around. Makes you want to be part of the family.
I really think that you can read The Dream Dress as a stand alone title. But if you want my experienced opinion you really should read the whole Weddings by Design series. Actually you should absolutely indulge yourself and go back and start with the Weddings by Bella. You won't be disappointed . . . I promise!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What's your dream?

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I was preparing to write this review, a scene from the movie Pretty Woman kept flashing into my mind. The scene is at the beginning and end of the movie and has a guy asking the people around him about their dreams. "Welcome to Hollywood. Everybody has a dream. What's your dream? What's your dream? Hey, Mister, what's your dream?
One of the reasons I love Christian fiction is that it's never just about the story. Because the authors are led by God, there's always an underlying message that speaks to me. Sometimes I don't want to hear it, but it's there. I know for most people, especially writers that are just starting out, they are not working their "dream job". They are working the job that will pay the bills, but every night they go home and write. Not because they have to, but because it's a passion that builds up inside of them until nothing else matters but the story that's in their head screaming to come out. Your dream job is the one where you say I get to instead of I have to. So...what's your dream?
Our heroine, Gabrielle Delgado, was right there. She had a job in her dream industry, but she made alterations to other people's designs. She had pictures that just floated out of her head onto paper, but she had to help pay the bills for her, her mother, and her grandmother, so she worked at her not so dream job in a not so fabulous environment for an entirely not so fabulous boss. But as happens from time to time when God says you're ready, circumstances conspire to get her out of her comfort zone and into the place where God designed her to thrive. With the help of some very good friends, family, and a very persistent reporter, Gabi moves into where God wants her to be.
Now that I have waxed philosophical, let me tell you what I liked and didn't like. I thought the story was good. Anyone who has read any of my reviews know that I'm not a big fan of first person stories mainly because I usually don't think like the heroine in the story; however, Ms. Thompson was able to make me forget that. I thought some of it was a little cheesy, but all in all, it was a fun story. I think the only little thing I didn't like was that I didn't know where it was set. I knew it was in Texas and it was on some sort of Island, but not being familiar with Texas Geography, I didn't connect it with Galveston. In all fairness to the author, she did mention that the dress shop was Galveston's finest, but I just didn't put two and two together. So, just in case you miss it when you read the book. This book is set in Galveston and it's an island. There! Now you know! :-)
All in all, a good book, which I would probably read again and would recommend that you read at least once.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Baker Publishing Group's book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/wa...; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Laughter and Happily Everafter

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson does it again. In The Dream Dress she delivers another delightful tale, weaving a tapestry of hope, encouragement, and dreams realized. We are immersed into the heart of a group of wonderful friends. As with The Icing on the Cake, one of the things I like best about this story is how the author wove Christian values and testimonies into the storyline. The Christian message is not forced, but is a very natural part of the characters lives. Gabi's questions and struggles with understanding the life of a Christian are thoughtful and insightful. I enjoyed pondering the perspective that the author gives through Gabi.
The Dream Dress is written with Janice Thompson's lighthearted sense of humor which shows in her funny one-liners and truly lovable characters The end result is a fun-filled romance with just enough romantic tension to keep the pages turning. The author's tagline for writing is “Love, Laughter and Happily Ever After” and she definitely delivers that in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family, friends, love, forgiveness and faith

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dream Dress by Janice Thompson
Gabi Delgado dreams of being a dress designer, she has the talent but not the confidence. Her boss is a nightmare to work for and fires her at the drop of a hat and then expects her to come back at his beck and call. It seems all the men in her life have let her down, how can she be expected to give her all to a heavenly father when the earthly guys have proved unworthy. Life for Gabi takes an upward turn when Jordan Singer a reporter for Texas Bride Magazine, does a feature article on Haute Couture Bridal the shop she works for and one of there bride’s. With the help of Jordan and good friend Bella, Gabi’s spirit soars and her view of God the Father and men in general become increasingly positive.
This is the first book I have read by author Janice Thompson. I found her writing style to be easy to follow and enjoyable. I fell in love with this storyline. With each book I read I find the author leaves a little part of herself or himself behind. In this case it was the story of creation that touched a part of my inner most being. Like never before I understand the teaching of creation and how God is in the business of creating. With the help Holy Spirit, He stirs within each of us and gives us the ability to create too. I give The Dream Dress five stars. I highly recommend it to all readers who enjoy contemporary, romance, and Christian fiction.
I want to thank the author Janice Thompson and publisher for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me. I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Wow, I just love stories with a wedding theme, and I am just nearly 100% positive this one is my favorite. I loved re-visiting old friends like Bella, the Rossi family, and the Splendora Sisters. They seem like family, you just relate to each one of them. This story was over the top with romance. Jordan was one romantic guy and he knew how to woo his girl. I love everything about this story. A great story that I read until the wee hours of the morning to finish. Just cannot say enough how much I enjoyed the story, it was awesome. Definitely 5 stars from this reviewer! This book was provided by Revell for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet romantic comedy

Date:February 24, 2014
As expected, Janice Thompson delivers a sweet romance with plenty of humorous moments in The Dream Dress. I'm loving this series all about weddings. It's making me remember fun moments of my own season of wedding planning—which was so fun!
Gabi is a talented wedding designer, and it was fun to see her friends rally around her to encourage her to follow her dreams. Jordan was a great guy as well, and he matched Gabi well. I laughed out loud when reading the scene when Gabi's grandmother mistakes Jordan Singer for the Singer sewing machine repairman! So funny!
My biggest complaint was that there didn't seem to be much conflict within the story or the relationship. There were no angsty moments or times when I wasn't totally sure how a situation would be resolved.
Overall, though, I enjoyed my time with Gabi, Bella, and their friends. Readers who enjoy sweet romantic comedies will definitely enjoy this story! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each novel in the Weddings by Design series includes many comedic scenes written with flair by the author, Janice Thompson. Each book centers on a particular female character along with her specialty in the wedding business. The titles alone give a clue to the story written in the pages. For instance, The Icing on the Cake and Picture Perfect now join the latest publication, The Dream Dress. These unique tales have chapter titles that coincide with the theme of a particular part of weddings. Here, in the third book, the chapter titles are from Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers’ movies with some of the quotes underneath are from Fred or Ginger’s life.
Light-hearted, faith-filled and family centered are the various threads that are woven in stories. They draw the audience in as the main Person all the books point too is the Lord. The humility of the main family featured in all the books, who runs a wedding business, is inspiring as they never lose sight that sharing about the Lord is foremost what they are called to do. Some of the characters don’t understand the nuances of a faith where talking to God is like talking to a friend even though no one sees Him. In this story, Gabrielle is being drawn to the love of God and because of Him she learns what can bring freedom to her captured heart.
At times I would burst out laughing either at the antics in the novel or it would remind me of something funny in my own wedding and married life. Each character is written by the tender heart of their creator/author. None of them are perfect in anyway which makes the book more alluring. Once in a while I enjoy these light-hearted, entertaining tales because they lighten my heart when real life can sometimes be very hard.
I hope you take time to read all three novels in the Weddings by Design series because you will absolutely enjoy them. You will come away with a bigger appreciation and knowledge of how much God loves and knows each and every part of you. When I turned the last page, I already began wondering if there would be another in the series along with who the main characters might be. So let you imagination fly as well as your heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sugar Candy for the Brain

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Gabi Delgado, the protagonist for this Christian fiction, easily connects with readers. She's an unappreciated, talented, single lady who is working in a Cinderella-like situation. While others in the shop work in an ample space, Gabi works in a cramped closet.
Her Prince Charming, Jordan, a reporter for Texas Bride magazine is introduced early in the novel, and the author takes the time necessary for romance to build.
Gabi's dream models are Hollywood's dance stars Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. Jordan incorporates them into the most romantic date ever. The expected plot includes a happily-ever-after ending. I liked this; it's a fun, sugar candy for the brain book.
Thank you to Lanette Haskins at Baker Publishing and Revell Books for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third wonderful visit here. Have loved all of these books and characters as they come alive and become friends. Thank you Janice Thompson!
A story about forgiveness, and how it hurts the person who is holding on to it. This one is on a personal level and a work level. Gabi, is working under Demetri Markowitz, whom I wanted to smack. He didn't appreciate her...she is very talented, and he has her doing alterations.
Then we have Grandma, you are going to "love" her. Wait until she wants her sewing machine serviced....ha ha!
We are around so many people who walk their faith, and the results are awesome. Come and reunite with Bella and Club Wed. We also enjoy meals with the Rossi's ...ah I would love that!
What awesome talent Gabi has, and I love how she has such inspiration, and finds out where it is coming from. Be ready for a bit of romance her too. Jordan Singer, a reporter with Texas Bride magazine, is smitten. Add a bit of Fred and Ginger, and your in for a real treat! Don't miss this one! Also, you can read this one alone, but why would you want to!! Enjoy!!
I received this book through Revell's Blogger Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet story.

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dream Dress was such an interesting idea for a story. Usually in a romantic book, the story is a build up to the proposal/wedding. Here, we get to experience the fun and frustrations of planning weddings right off the bat, just not that of the main character. We get to experience the stress and strain of wedding through that of Gabi, a seamstress at a high end wedding dress boutique, who dreams of one day being able to create and sale her own designs.
I also enjoyed this story for another reason. Yes, there is a budding romance between Jordan and Gabi, but the love story in this book focused more on Gabi discovering God's love for her. Throughout the book, Gabi is faced with hard choices in her job and personal life and through these choices she grows as a person and slowly discovers what God has planned for her and her life. That part of the story really touched me.
It was a little hard to get settled into the story at the beginning. Gabi has low self esteem. It's hard for me to connect to a character that berates herself, however, as I read through the book, Gabi grew on me because she was able to work on her fears and start putting her faith in God and having more faith in what she herself can do and not listen to the people around her. Gabi's transformation in The Dream Dress was a delight.
Thank you to Revell Blog Tour, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dreaming of the Perfect Dress

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
AndiinNampa
Location:Nampa, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabi is a talented dress designer, but it seems that Demetri keeps her hidden away in a small office doing alterations. Gabi dreams of designing beautiful dresses. When Demetri is interviewed for Texas Bride magazine, Jordan the reporter, throws everything Gabi believes about men out the window.
Her grandmother, thinks he is the local Singer repair man, because his last name is Singer.
Gabi's mom, and grandmother are absolutely hilarious.
Janice writes a book that is full of fun loving characters, and a great story line, yet she doesn't slack on the spiritual aspect.
Since Gabi has had men fail her, her trust level is low and that means she is not quick to trust God either.
Bella says to her "Gabi, trust me, there are men out there with sticking power. You have to find one who's solid in his faith. If he's in a good place with God, he'll be in a good place with you."
Here is another great quote, that I can totally relate too, because after my divorce I learned that if God wasn't the lover of my heart, I couldn't love anyone else, or be a good partner.
"And maybe God--aka Prince Charming -- would help with the loneliness in the meantime. Again, for some girls. But what about girls like me? Seemed like all of my waiting just got me one thing: more time alone in the closet.
Janice has hit the ball out of the park with this book. It encompasses every girl's dream wedding, and God's dream for us. Highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Dream Dress by Janice Thomposn

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE DREAM DRESS by Janice Thompson is an interesting Inspirational Contemporary Romance. #3 in the "Weddings by Design", but can be read as a stand alone with re-appearing characters. "The Dream Dress" is a classic Janice Thompson tale of love, laughter, faith, forgiveness, family and romantic tension.
Gabi Delgado dreams of owning her own original dress designs.
Jordan Singer is a reporter for the Texas Bride magazine.
With engaging, lovable characters and an interesting storyline, you can't go wrong with "The Dream Dress". A quirky, fun read that will leave the reader in awe. If you enjoy weddings, designs, laughter and a plain old great read than you are in store of a treat with "The Dream Dress". And of course, you get to visit with Bella Neeley and her family some more too. You must take a leap of faith for your dreams to come true. And you just may find love along the way.
Loved this tender, sweet romance! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Coming in February from Revell Books*
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dream Dress, The (Weddings by Design Book #3): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Finale to Weddings By Design Series!!

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson is one of those authors you just love. Her books are interesting, funny but not slapstick comedy, and thoughtful without being corny. Okay, you will probably laugh hysterically at some things, but other parts will make you swoon or wipe your eyes with a hanky. The Dream Dress is part of the Weddings By Design Series and it would really help to read these in order. I have read them all, reviewed them all actually, and it was so fun to see previous characters and be able to catch up with them. At the beginning of each chapter is a quote from Fred Astair or Ginger Rogers or some other person. One of my favorite quotes in the book is the following found at the beg. of chapter 27. "I have no desire to prove anything by it. I have never used it as an outlet or a means of expressing myself. I just dance."
I have to say, my favorite part in the whole book is where Jordan proposes to Gabi. I am talking good enough to have the emotions swell and the tears flow. Beautiful and thoughtful, I double dog dare you to read it without tearing up. Jordan is the type of guy every girl dreams of marrying. But even more than being handsome and the money he is so sweet. Caring actions go a long way for a guy. And of course we can't forget Mimi and Daniel. We are talking cutest senior couple!! Daniel is a sweetheart:)
No matter what your type of book, this is one I would urge you to pick up. Yes it is modern and I prefer historicals or mysteries but one you can totally fall in love with. You did it again Janice!!
I received a copy of this book from Revell for my review purposes. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>