Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover

For two decades, until his death in 1917, Oswald Chambers brought untold richness and depth of insight to the Scriptures through his messages and ministry. His insight still finds a large audience today through the dozens of books that bear his name, such as the much-loved Christian classic My Utmost for His Highest.

The ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible combines 365 days' worth of select readings from the gifted preacher's works with the full text of the fastest-growing English Bible translation—the English Standard Version—to give readers a deeper, more meaningful experience of God's Word and a systematic, practical window into relevant Bible passages from Genesis through Revelation.

Features
  • Daily Reading Plan for reading through the Bible in a year
  • 365-daily devotional readings by Oswald Chambers
  • Scripture Index to the devotionals
  • Subject Index to the devotionals
  • Table of weights, measures, and monetary units
  • ESV Concordance
  • 9.5-point type
  • Double-column, paragraph format
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ordered for a friend for Christmas

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Erieka Raber
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for a friend for Christmas and I saw this and thought of my friend she loves anything Oswald Chamber. She was so excited to get it. I would highly recommend this for anyone who loves Oswald Chambers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for devotions!

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Camden, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oswald Chambers was, indeed, a gifted preacher. His spiritual insight makes him an outstanding devotional leader. This bible with its sprinkling of select devotions, interspaced through the English Standard Verson of the WORD of GOD, makes it a valuable tool for meaningful devotion time. Delightful for personal use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful devotions with deep thought and praise.

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
sheila
Location:wv
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love EVERYTHING I purchase from Christianbook and this Devotional Bible is no different. Wisdom & truth is ageless & this one proves it. You will enjoy this devotional Bible. I own many Bibles and love to compare information from each one and build my knowledge from many different views. Everything I have ever purchased from Christianbook is above my best expectation and I have purchased a lot!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

disappointed

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
skip
Location:MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was expecting the devotional daily to correspond with the reading for the day. It is not that type. Also Need a dictionary to know what some of the words mean. my husband is reading it also a has the same view as I do.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the ESV and the devotionals are great.

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerr
Location:Cherokee, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this Bible. The ESV is a really good translation and the devotionals are very good as well. Oswald Chambers was one of the great Christian writers. I read this copy of God's Word very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mira Tibbetts
Location:Caliente, Nevada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the comments from other authors, it really helps you understand more of the scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional Bible

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
briarpatch
Location:Hardy, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never thought about buying a "hardback" Bible, but wanted one to leave in a drawer at work, accessible to others. What a surprise! Love reading Oswald Chambers devotions. This is my first ESV version, which I am considering for any future Bibles, as well. It has a Smyth-sewn binding (why cannot everything?) and the pages are high-quality, feel-good, and easy to read without my reading glasses! It is formatted to read the Bible in a year, because of the spacing of the devotions. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Retta Joyce
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for my daughter-in-law. She was totally thrilled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will bless me daily for the whole year

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Pacific North West
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always admired and learned from the writings of Oswald Chambers. Over the past years I have used his Bibles for daily devotions, have worn out two devotional Bibles and am delighted to now have a new one. The English Standard Version of the Bible is new to me...so far I really like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Quentin Caswell
This version of the Bible is excellent and theChambers thoughts very stimulating. I find it helpful to have a daily guide in devotions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Oswald Chambers Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Vermillion
This bible gives the best of Oswald Chambers and I love the translation of God's word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.