Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black

The ESV Study Bible includes more than 20,000 notes, written specifically for the ESV Study Bible. These notes focus especially on understanding the meaning of the text, giving answers to frequently raised questions, and providing theological, historical, and archaeological background—all for the purpose of helping readers to understand the Bible in a deeper way.

The ESV Study Bible also provides a wealth of additional resources. Thus the introductions to each book include essential information about the author, date, and place of writing; an extensive chart of key themes; a summary of how the book fits in with the rest of the biblical storyline; a description of literary features; an outline of the book; and a large full-color map showing the setting of the book.

Another unique feature is the inclusion of over 50 helpful articles on topics such as the authority and truthfulness of the Bible, reading the Bible for application, the Bible in worship and prayer, the reliability of the biblical manuscripts, the relationship between archaeology and the Bible, an overview of biblical theology, and many more.

Other key resources include a system of 80,000 cross references and a concordance (which together facilitate easy location of important words, passages, and biblical themes). In addition, over 200 color charts, located throughout the Bible, provide clear, concise presentations of essential information.

View a complete list of editors, contributors, and articles.

Features:

  • The ESV Bible text is set in highly readable 9-point type, in a single-column, book-text format.
  • Section summaries are highlighted for easy location throughout the notes. Summaries provide an overview of each main section and correspond to the outline shown in the introduction for each book.
  • Over 200 full-color maps printed throughout make events and places in the Bible come to life.
  • Over 25,000 notes focus especially on understanding the Bible text and providing answers to frequently raised issues. Words from the Bible text are printed in bold for easy reference.
  • Over 80,000 cross-references provide easy access to key words, passages, and themes throughout the Bible.
  • Numerous diagrams bring fresh understanding to key places and events in the Bible, based on the best, most recent historical and archaeological research.
  • Over 200 charts provide concise, “at a glance” summaries of important themes and teaching.
  • Presentation page
  • Family Record pages
  • Ribbon marker
  • 7" x 9.75" x 2"
  • Gold page edges
For Bible covers see our Extra-Large Bible Covers Store.
Average Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(713 Reviews) 713
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (713 reviews)
5 stars
601
4 stars
85
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 star
4
285 out of 29298%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Review 1 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Number One Bible- hands down!

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hunter
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like a lot of people I own several bibles in different translations. First of all the ESV speaks to me the “loudest”- both in accuracy and comprehension. The notes and guides are unparalleled to any other study bible. Don’t be discouraged about the smaller font. (I’m not sure why some make this mistake in the first place given the fact you can easily find the font size for any bible before a purchase is made.) I can honestly say this is the number one tool that has helped me for understanding God’s word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lettering is way to small. Difficult to read.

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
WrayAnne
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the ESV Study bible because I have it downloaded to my logos bible software and I use it daily on my computer and I absolutely love it. So I decided to purchase the bible ( a hard copy) to read with my family. But I am so disappointed with this bible because the lettering is way to small. Its so small that I actually need a magnifying glass along with my glasses to read it. If the lettering were larger I would recommend this bible, but sadly I cant.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's God's Word

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
tcbarnabas
Location:Antlers, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always loved the Word in all of His forms. The notes and helps are, of course, helpful and, seemingly, appropriate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is of no value to me.

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
sueeva
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed with the ESV Study because the letter are too small and the words of Christ are not in red. If I had known this I would not have made the purchase. I am going to return it or give it away. I am not able to us it for myself.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Study Bible

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Schenectady, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent modern translation, which I value for being more word-for-word rather than another odious "dynamic equivalency" work. The translation, combined with the extensive and meticulous notes and study helps makes the ESV Study Bible a tool that will provide valuable service for many years to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
dredwon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice quality bible, with the accuracy and content expected from the award winning ESV version. This is a great study bible with excellent commentary and notes throughout. Bible was a gift and they love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
This review is fromESV Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My granddaughter was very excited over receiving.

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
lakeladyginger
Location:Guntersville Al
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the Bible that my granddaughters youth group recommended. She was very excited to receive this and the cover to go with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a welcome replacement

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
golfnut
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a relacement for my ESV I lost in the fire. This fits the bill. My wife suggested the study BIble as it is her favorite in the NIV. My only complaint is the weight as I have arthritis in my thumbs. I will figure out a way to hold and not be distracted. Thank yo for making this available to me. It is of great quailty and will last me a lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
marks
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice quality leather. Some weight to this bible so certainly not for a pocket! Page quality feels like a bible should. Opens fully and lays flat. Only comment might be the quality of the printing on the outside. Not as crisp as it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent Study Bible

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Ken
Location:Manheim, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Through all my years and Bibles, when speaking of a single volume Bible and Study / Helps this one rates with the Top.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the money

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jock
Location:SYDNEY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Full of notes and explanations on each page for each page...
Plus maps for each page that talks about a fort or city, on that page, Showing a picture of it to scale.....Keeps up the interest...
Beautiful pictures of the City of David, forest of lebanon,
and the hall where Solomon put the Arc of the covenant...
Plus detailed picture of the tent that they kept it in for traveling for over 40 years....And this is just 2 of the beautifully colored pictures inside......
Well worth the money as it has a full money back/replacement
guarantee for LIFE....from the bibles maker, not its seller,
if it ever fails or falls apart etc...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive Bible.

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Atticusmom
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband who has read three to tatters. This one will last! Beautifully formatted with plenty of study notes, maps, charts, and brief summary of the books -- not to mention the supplementary information. My husband keeps saying how much he is enjoying this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ESV Study Bible

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
omab
Location:Spring, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the study Bible in larger type. I just wish it had been indexed, but when I searched for this version in larger type and indexed, there were none available. I knew it when I ordered it, however, so there was no room for disappointment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product exceeds expectations

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrew L
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful, beautiful volume, with no real drawbacks. I can see why it won an award.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Bible

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Garren Griffith
Location:Ohio State University
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a few bibles but I was looking for one to own for a lifetime and one day hand down to my family. It has wide enough margins to write in and is high enough quality to stand the test of time. I would suggest to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Study Bible is a very useful tool.

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larry S
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After seeing what I purchased in this ESV Study Bible I was glad I bought it. It is a well made bible and the study format is very useful in my bible study. I would recommend it to any serious bible student.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful translation, great study Bible.

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alfonso234
Location:Abilene, TX
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband on recommendation from another person. He loves it! He raves about the study version and uses it for his classes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great study tool!

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Granma
Location:Kingston, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of great resources are included. The articles are informative and helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
This review is fromESV Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This study bible is really helpful.

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Armando615
Location:Nashville,TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The esv translation is really easy to understand and with the study notes, you get an idea of the the passages mean.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Study Bible--Genuine leather, black
This review is fromESV Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every penny

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
JC929
Location:Woodbridge VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful explanations and insight contained in the notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...36Next >>>