Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown

With easy-to-read 12.75-point type, the Large Print Bible makes the ESV accessible in every sense of the word. This edition features an extensive reference concordance, introductions that summarize the central theme and message of each book, full-color maps that pinpoint key sites in Jesus' life and ministry, and the words of Christ in black.

Features:
  • Book introductions
  • Extensive reference concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Table of weights and measures
  • 12.75-point type
  • 1,408 pages
  • Double-column, paragraph format
  • Words of Christ in black
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gilded page edges
  • Size: 6.75" x 9.5" x 1.5
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
55 out of 6092%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Review 1 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maxeen
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice Bible. The print description should be changed from large print to giant print, 12.75 is really very big. I found this Bible at CBD and they have always meet my requirements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful bible

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
susan
Location:illinois
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these Bibles I have purchased. The first one was for myself. It is easy to read and I am enjoying the ESV. My daughter asked for one just like it for Christmas, so that is why I purchased the second one. I can't wait for Christmas to give it to her! The first one had a few stitches coming loose on the front of the cover, but the second is perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
mimi
Location:Lexington, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very comfortable reading for the "older" eyes :) promptness from order to delivery was great !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Bible is Excellent, The First One Wasn't

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Retired Grandparent
Location:Archdale, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first (or I really should say second) ESV Bible. The quality is excellent, CBD's price was great, and being that it is large print, it is easy to read. When I received my first copy from CBD, I scanned it briefly and was shocked/amused to see that about 50 pages had been collated incorrectly by the printer. All the pages were included but some were in the wrong order. (Pages 365 through about 410 had been inserted after page 304 rather than after 364). I called CBD, explaining my predicament. They mailed me a new copy the very next day and I received it a couple of days later, along with prepaid postage to return the defective copy. This was by no mean's CBD's fault, and they were very gracious and timely in rectifying my problem. Who would have thought that a Bible would have been assembled incorrectly? Anyway, I love my second copy and look forward to spiritual truths that I know the Lord will teach me as I read and study His Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible has great features

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Old Orchard Beach, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The print is very easy to read. The chapter sub-headings are excellent. The book introductions are short but to the point. The maps are very good. The concordance is larger than what you find in most Bibles. It is easy to work with because it stays open when laid flat on a desk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lower Quality than Expected

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
CGGJr
Location:Ty Ty, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I shopped here at the recommendation of a friend. I was looking for a new Bible with larger print to use teaching Sunday School and wanted a leather-bound Bible. I guess I should have went with a more expensive version, because the one I ordered (and the subsequent replacement) were both of poor quality. My wife has the same Bible, but with the imitation leather cover and hers is a better Bible.
On the first one I received, both corners of the front corner were unglued and frayed. To the great credit of Christian Books, they immediately sent a replacement. Sadly, it is not much better. The corners are glued, but they appear as if they will come unglued at the slightest bit of use.
Considering that my wife's Bible was cheaper and uses imitation leather and is sewn around the edges, one would think that a Bible in this price range with a leather cover would be sewn instead of glued.
I don't know if this will prevent me from buying from CB again, because you couldn't ask for better customer service, but they really need to do some quality control.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Is Large Print

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
ElainaM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a Bible that really is large print. I am 34 but already have very poor eyesight and astigmatism in my right eye making reading certain print a challenge. This Bible is great, the print is large, crisp, dark and clear. I can actually lay the Bible on my lap and read comfortably. The Bible itself it large but it is not heavy, very comfortable to hold and carry to church. The cover is beautiful and soft. Binding/stitching looks very well done and looks like it will hold up through many years of use. I am also very pleased with margin space, plenty of room on both sides of the page for notes. If you love the ESV you will love this Bible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
George
Location:Parrish, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was everything that I expected. I read from it daily and find the large print easy on my eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lacks overall quality.

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reilly
Location:BC, Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My mother got this as her first ESV. The translation is excellent, but the book itself didn't live up to her expectations. I once bought a $30 trutone NIV which was superior to this one. I mean, it gets the job done, but expect a cracking sound every time it opens. She's quite gentle on her Bibles, but it wouldn't last more than a couple months with me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mewsman
Location:Pittsburgh
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted to try an ESV. The Bible itself was attractive and very easy to read. The ESV is easy to understand and faithful to the original greek.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent bible

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mmohio
Location:cincinnati ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading the ESV, it is very clean and very refreshing, and i love the flow of the words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Large Print Bible

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christ Follower 63
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bible! Our church just changed to the ESV version and really enjoy this version of the Bible. Just the right size print for my aging eyes! Beautiful cover and color. Received as a gift at Christmas and have loved reading it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read, light weight and compact.

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
TimB
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this product is an excellent value and suits my needs to a "T"! Would recommend it to anyone who asks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joshua Rosdahl
Location:Puyallup, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grabbed this for my mom for a Christmas present and she loved it! She wanted a bible that had larger print because she has trouble with her eyes, but not so big a bible that she couldn't bring it to church. This was the perfect size. Also CB always does a great job imprinting the front of their bibles. Totally recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great bible

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
john
Location:texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice large print,bible put together well. esv translation is great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

There Was No Other Choice Out There

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
CrispinRobles
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After searching high and low for an affordable large-print ESV Bible in softcover, I had no choice but to shell out $40 for this one. It is sad that Crossway does not print a Bible in a font size of at least 10 in a softcover edition. I do have the large-print pew Bible, which has a 12+ font size but find it bulky for carrying in my bookbag to the school where I teach. It is interesting to note that publishers of the KJV, the NKJV, the NIV, the NLT and the CEV offer Bibles of 10 to 12 point font in softcover editions. I have bought every one of them and go to them from frequently, especially Tyndale's NLT edition titled The Book. All of the aforementioned are eminently affordable.
Now let me say that this TruTone edition under review is nothing more than the pew edition with an imitation leather cover and silver page edges. Jacking up the price, Crossway elected to include some color maps and a 12,000 word concordance, both of which I could have done without. Therefore, if you need the large font and do not mind reading daily from a hardcover edition, buy the pew Bible and save your money.
All this reviewer was asking for was a readable paperback Bible. Having had ischemic optical neuropathy in my right eye, I need the larger font size, and since the ESV is my translation of choice, I first purchased the pew edition. Unfortunately Crossway offers no larger print Bibles at a price point somewhere below or between the two editions I now own. Maybe someone from Crossway will read this review and rectify the situation. Then, again, probably not.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Sharon, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted and ESV in large print as our pastor now uses ESV for his teaching and sermons, so much easier to learn and follow along in church, but have found my at home Bible reading time is much more pleasant and productive since the large print is less straining on my eyes, and this version reads like we talk without losing anything in the translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary Wagoner
Location:Champlain, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice quality product; second one I have purchased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful AND readable!

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely cover opens to the real treasure of easily read large text! No more squinting or carrying extra glasses to church!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
tshdwh
Location:Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product was as I expected. The pages contain large print which is easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.